Preview R2: Changes v Port

• Thread starter Thread starter Scorpus

Ive got a bloody good feeling about Shooter if he stays in this week. We all know how shit pitTARD is when the heat is on and Mclov was our best at putting the heat up the clackers of the opposition last night. I can just feel him getting of the leash. Ports defence is definitely their weakness, we need to make them grovel; to quote tony greig.
How I hope we line up vs port:
Betts/Impey (LOL) Jenkins (Trengove) Mclov (Pittard)
Lynch (Hombsch) Walker (Carlisle) Knight (Broadbent)

Not to mention bringing in Cameron for some more dash.
Betts (Impey)
JJ (Alipate)
McLovin (Hombsch)
Tex (Jacker)
Lynch (Pittard)
Knight (Broadbent)
Sloane (Hartlett)

Make all their backs accountable and hard for them to generate rebound.

My only question would be whether a single game is enough to suggest that Milera is struggling at the level. I hope we give him at least a couple more, we are generally happy at selection to overlook a bad game from guys with 100 games in them, whereas we can't excuse a poor one from a guy on debut. If he's struggling after 3 games, then fair enough, down to the 2's to get your hands on the footy again.

With a talent like Milera you invest games. He needs the games mileage. One game is not enough. I cannot understand how there are calls to throw out a talented first gamer because he didn't quite get enough ball, compared to the blind faith shown to repeated substandard team lowering performances of some senior players. Milera needs to be shown some faith. We have lots of 'blind faith' we could easily transpose in his direction.

i think we have room to take in one first gamer and invest games - i'll go with McGovern. Milera is a smart footballer that one taste will be enough to show him the level... a couple in the magoos will do no harm at this stage in fact a bit of hurt may not be a bad thing.

Has M Crouch been reported before? Are there still various bonuses available for first-timers?

No I'm pretty sure all that stuff is no longer available. Only bonus is the early plea

Very worried about their midfield. No Danger plus Sloane was ordinary and BCrouch still getting up to the pace.

Gray and Wines could dominate the centre square.

Time for Luke Brown to really step up on Wingard. Need him to deliver.

Yes. I came away from the TV late Sunday PM with a very hollow inside feeling. The Pear structure at ball-ups was almost fail-proof and the growing pressure they exerted in pressing forward was inexorable. I only saw the last quarter but they looked slick and well patterned. They are very well equipped. Nobody stood up against NM. We will need it this week.

How likely is crouch to be suspended?
I reckon he will get a game.
Very likely despite not actually hitting Waite in the head at all

Surely anyone with a pair of eyes will be able to see the truth in the vid, but the AFL being the VFL as we very well know, will probably twist it to suit whatever agenda they have.

Thankfully we're playing a non-vic team next week so they might care less :D

The vision clearly, clearly shows that contact was made in the allowable area.

MGJCekq.png

No Changes

The coaches will stick by their selections for another week or two.
Then make some decisions based on players form lines

Yes. I came away from the TV late Sunday PM with a very hollow inside feeling. The Pear structure at ball-ups was almost fail-proof and the growing pressure they exerted in pressing forward was inexorable. I only saw the last quarter but they looked slick and well patterned. They are very well equipped. Nobody stood up against NM. We will need it this week.

Do yourself a favor and watch the first 3 quarters of yesterdays game. You'll feel a lot better. Crows were solid on Saturday night, I think a lot of the problems shown were simply because of it being the first game of the season.

Jacobs will tear Lobbe a new one in the ruck so Crouch should get more of an opportunity to boost his confidence.

Both forward lines will be a problem. It seems that Port going tall will prove to be a problem for the Crows. We don't have anyone that can match up on Betts so I'd expect him to have a big game. Also when you have a bloke that can effortlessly kick a goal from 50m+ out then you're going to give a team headaches.

Important game... No idea who wins. Put money on the underdog. :thumbsu:

Our 2 best players in the SANFL were rookies. Can we upgrade these to the senior list?
I know we need to hold a spot open for RoB but Jonno Beech was impressive. May put some pressure on Lynch to pull his finger out.
We can currently upgrade one rookie, but only one. We have Jaensch on the LTI list, but that's it for now. We get a free nominated rookie upgrade from R12 onwards.

It's not a matter of blind faith, it's a matter of how best to develop a very promising and talented young player.

There are things he needs to learn, starting with how to get more involved with the game and get more of the ball. I believe that the best place for him to do this is the SANFL.

Just saw the other angle of Crouch's hit on Waite shown during the Bounce show. Didn't even get him on the head but on the shoulder/upper back.

Waite dive confirmed.
And should cop a fine.

Very likely despite not actually hitting Waite in the head at all

Should not have even been a free kick. Umpire blatantly guessed which is a disappointing. I hate it when they assume something happened but are out of position to call it and they are proved wrong. Umpires should be forced to review the reported incident after the game and decide whether its worth taking it to the next stage or withdrawing it. Its just wasting everyone's time making clubs wait until Tuesday to see if there is a case to answer. The Crows need to take a stand and send in a letter of please explain as to how the umpire came to the conclusion he did when the replays clearly showed it didn't occur. Just bad umpiring.

Umpiring seems to get worse every year. This round has been full of absolute shockers

After watching the Port game yesterday its clear they have the same issues they had in 2015 and late 2014. A complete lack of run and star players wanting the easy ball over the top. I like the fact they ran over a st kilda who used all their petrol tickets and stopped running late in the 3rd quarter. Its going to give them this false sense of fitness superiority which isn't there, back by the advertiser headline should make their heads swell. The fact is, st kilda out played a lazy Port for 3qtrs and really should have kicked Port out of the game by half time but lost their run which allowed Port to get on top. I saw nothing from Port yesterday that says they should be confident about anything. Dixon was hopeless and only beat a tired opponent. Based on yesterdays game, Port will struggle to make finals. Excluding a showdown which is a tough finals type game, a Geelong, Hawthorn, WestCoast, Sydney probably would flog Port off the park if they played like that.