Rudest/Nicest player you've met?

Not really on a personal level as i have with some of the other players, but it wouldn't suprise me if he was. :D

But as i said before Nathan Foley is an champion, is willing to give anyone a talk, top bloke.

Foley is pretty handy around the clearances too!:thumbsu:

So is their old man!

sat very near old man cloke and mrs cloke in burbank oval stands waching willi v box hill coupla years ago and david seemed okay

from my own limited experience with swans players, jude bolton is a gem, absolute gentleman, ted richards a good bloke, amon buchanan and luke ablett also good, heath grundy a really nice young feller, and darren jolly always seems to be smiling, seems a good bloke too
oh, and saw andrew dunkley and his family at taronga zoo years ago, and he was pretty good with fans wanting to talk to him, even though he was with family and obviously on a private outing
adam goodes is another bloke with time for fans

Nice.Jeff farmer - Quite a nice bloke, on the footy field he was always a little **** though, always up for a yarn.

Byron schammer - Nice, But a bit up himself

Troy longmuir - Really nice.

Rude.
Peter bell - Ignorant little bitch.

Pretty sure everyone is ignorant about something?

Belly is an absolutely top bloke, maybe he wasn't friendly to you because he realised you are a w***er?

Never met any AFL players. Saw someone mention Shane lee to be a ********, i sat next to his parents once in a Shield game between NSW and Victoria, seemed like a good bloke. Other cricketers ive met include Stuart Clark who is an absolute champion and Ponting who seemed like a decent bloke. Got autographs from a few others as well.
And if any of you follow rugby league, Rod Wishart (former steelers player) is an absolute legend, outstanding bloke. Luke Bailey is also a good guy.

Never really encountered any jerk sportsmen, which is fortunate.

Pretty sure everyone is ignorant about something?

Belly is an absolutely top bloke, maybe he wasn't friendly to you because he realised you are a w***er?
Pretty sure I'd know more about belly than you :)

Ungrateful little bastard who feels he always has to prove something to everyone.

from own club, previously solly and currently mark johnson have always been top blokes, willing to have a chat and really down to earth
rama is also awesome in giving fans his time

rudest? zantuck was a w***er but i think everyone knew that

from other clubs,alan didak is an unbelievably nice person, must just be the booze! Brad Fisher shouted me drinks and just had an awesome chat about footy for about an hour last season, same night(carltons mad monday) had unfortunate privledge of meeting nick stevens, who was just extremely arrogant and even my carlton mates thought he was a deadset w***er

Met a couple of players...

Nice
Peter Matera -
Was doing autographs up in Geraldton when I was younger, was there with Sumich. They were told to leave and not do any more signatures as they had to be somewhere else.. (signing was inside a shop), I missed out crowd was too big, even thou he had one of his minders telling him he had to leave, he just stoped n signed my shirt for me (sumich just kept walking) and even had a little chat while he was getting told to hurry up. :thumbsu:

Chris Waterman - Seemed like a nice bloke.

Dean Cox - Again seemed like a good bloke, shook my hand and said hello.

Des Headland - Chatted at casino one night, even thou my mate was telling him I was an eagles supporter :p (was only 2 weeks after selwood incident) seemed again a good bloke.

Ian Healy - Watching a sheifield sheild game, he came past to go up the race after warming up, told us kids he would come back out soon.... Did as he said, (his team was batting) he obviously showered n came back out and signed autographs and chatted which I thought was great, when he could of just sat down n watched like rest of his teammates.

Not so....

Adam Hunter - Seen him at a nightclub, sorta standing/acting like he was too good for everyone, said hello to him.. wasnt up for a chat (fair enough he was getting hassled by sydney supporters earlier) but wouldnt say anything too bad, I mean, it must get bloody annoying people talking to you drunk in clubs.

Some of these stories are pretty amazing. I wonder how sports people in other countries compare? I know here in the US, NFL players live in a bubble of bodyguards and hangers-on. I wonder if they ever just sit and chat with fans? Somehow I doubt it, so many of them seem up themselves.

I remember going to a club in Glenferrie and Fev would be there with Mick Martyn every now and again. They were just standing and having some drinks and chatting - amazing how approachable AFL players can be. Wasn't a bodyguard in sight. I do remember how bloody big they were - Fev is just a monster. Didn't speak to him myself though but he did seem pretty chatty and cheerful.

Not so....

Adam Hunter - Seen him at a nightclub, sorta standing/acting like he was too good for everyone, said hello to him.. wasnt up for a chat (fair enough he was getting hassled by sydney supporters earlier) but wouldnt say anything too bad, I mean, it must get bloody annoying people talking to you drunk in clubs.

Who hasnt seen Adam Hunter at a nightclub! Lol. During the offseason there was a guarenteed Hunter sighting at Red Sea or Leedy every week. I got the impression that he was arrogant too. Had girls falling off him. Dont really no why. He looks like a rat. Great player though so what do i care haha :eek:;)

Nicest guys i've met would be

Shane Crawford
Ben Dixon
Angelo Lekkas
Nathan Thompson
Austin Jones
Joel Smith
Rob Harvey
Nathan Burke

Had a run-in with Danny Frawley after St Kilda training one day. After getting the whole teams autograph (including Plugger) he told me to F*** OFF.. I was 9...

Des Headland - Chatted at casino one night, even thou my mate was telling him I was an eagles supporter :p (was only 2 weeks after selwood incident) seemed again a good bloke.

No surely not, listen to the rest of the West Coast fans he is the worlds biggest w***er apparently.

Dessie is a ripping bloke, for that matter all of the aboriginal fellars at the Dockers seem to be tremendous people. MJ is a veyr humble young man, Roger Hayden probably a tad rude but notihng to write home about.

Over the last summer, I was at a prominent nightclub in Melbourne; and who was there but all the Victorians from the Eagles!

In my inebriated state, I decided to go have a chat to the likes of Selwood, Staker, Hansen & Judd.

Ash & Brent were in ripper form that night and I actually ended up having quite a few drinks with them... Good night that they were all top blokes

Nicest:
Primus, Mcleod, McCartney, Lade, Ebert

Rudest:
Rehn. End thread.

Shaun Rehn can be a little surly at times, but I've seen both sides of him. He hates all the public aspects of footy, but was great when he used to work behind the bar at 'Players'. His parents are two of the nicest people you could ever meet, but I do agree that Shaun can be very moody.

Yeah, the problem with this thread is that people seem to be confusing rudeness with 'socially withdrawn' or 'socially awkward'.

Everyone has woken up the day after a big night out and though "gee, I may have come off as rude to that person I was speaking to last night...".

Met Dale Flea Weightman once and really nice guy.

Doesn't mind a beer either. Few years back whilst on the pre-season community camp I bumped into flea at one of the local nightspots, off his **** and by himself. Had a couple with him, good laugh.

Rudest/Nicest player you've met?