2nds The Casey Thread 2022

• Thread starter Thread starter Dory_77

Joel Smith has been very lively in the last quarter as a leading forward.
Likes to stick a knee into a marking contest, JVR too. Could just about swap the globetrotter forward line for the senior one. (probably keep Slick and Koz)

Against bottom of the ladder Oppo but all the listed players looked good. Dunstan, Bowey, JVR, Tomo and Turner the bests for mine. Laurie, Chandler and Bedford good too. Great pressure efforts from Bedford and Chandler to set up some goals

I'd be totally down for JVR or Joel Smith to come straight into the seniors forward line. No-one else has earned their spot.
Joel Smith needs to show more than what he showed today.

JVR must be getting awfully close. Reliable kick, mobile, very good hands, super competitive physically.

Yeah great news that we have a lot of blokes in form in the VFL coming up to finals. Big step up though from VFL to AFL finals footy, but still nice knowing we have blokes in form below.

JVR has to be close to a debut! Weid shown nothing, and Brown next to useless. Melksham probably the one keeping JVR from debuting. Turner was the bloke who impressed me today. Looks a player.

Joel Smith needs to show more than what he showed today.

JVR must be getting awfully close. Reliable kick, mobile, very good hands, super competitive physically.
If he plays deep, I reckon he will get slaughtered.

I hope he takes TMc's role, high up into the midfield. Playing across the fat part of the ground. Coming back with the play.

I could see jSmith playing deeper forward with his leap, assisting Weide in the tall role.

JVR tries to give a joe the goose to Bedford who isn't looking and it hits his back. Following that Baker gets a massive hospital handball and gets murdered.
Garry Lyon/Jeff farmer vibes.

If he came in and played as a forward, wouldn't even worry me, as long as all he did was try to take Mark of the year and jump in campaigners heads and bring ball to ground..

Be better than our other witches hat up forward
Never said it out aloud but I like the idea of him forward. Definitely provides a contest, he's a great tackler so he will put on awesome pressure up forward and he's too dumb to
defend. I'm all for it

Remembering when Smith was performing well as a forward in a pre-season game and looked really good and then injured his groin or something and then went off but then came back on even though he couldn't even walk without limping severely but we were told that he was fine and it wasn't going to make the injury any worse and then he was out for like the entire season or something?

2019 the pre season game against the Lions from memory.

May got suspended for laying out Berry. Season continued about as well as it started.

Did May then do his hammy against Geelong the next week, or am I making that up?

Did his hammy in our round 2 game against Geelong after he missed round 1 through suspension.

Never said it out aloud but I like the idea of him forward. Definitely provides a contest, he's a great tackler so he will put on awesome pressure up forward and he's too dumb to
defend. I'm all for it

Yeah he is athletic and big enough to contest in the air and will provide a ton more on the deck than Weideman and Brown.

defend. I'm all for it

Also makes sense purely from a logical point of view. We have heaps of KPD depth but no real KPF options. Worth a shot for sure.

Smith's great value as a utility. Would have been a forward before the first lot of injuries, then trained as a back when we looked thin there pre-Petty's emergence and now is back to impersonate his dad as a leaping forward. ****ing love it.