The Team!

I wouldnt call Campo 'in and under' In his prime, perhaps...with us, he usually awaits a spillage or give give off. Lonergan wouldve been perfectly suited for this game, especially if Sydney experience some rain over the next couple of days.

I didn't mean Campo.

I would have played one of Lonergan or Hislop.

Dunno why we brought in both Laycock and Bolton. I agree with Bolton, but Laycock will get screwed over hardcore by Jolly and Everitt. I hope they kick 8 between them just to stick it up the selectors. But of course Im hoping we still win :)

Sheedy has admitted Laycock is 'lacking' for use of a better word, and is merely bringing Laycock in to back up Hille. Hopefully, Laycock has taken notice of the word 'disappontment' being associated with his game so far.

No hislop- very disapointed. In fact i think its a pretty ordinary side and does remind me lot of anzac day. **** bolton, give someone else a go on Goodes cos bolts aint gunna be there next year....
I want loners or sloppy.

I think they have looked it with Everitt and Jolley so they wanted strong ruck division, Bolton to tag no dought as indicated in earlier post and campo propably not strong enough on small ground. Hirdy to play deep so Hird, Lloyd and Lucas forward line which will test Sydney out and Pev and co strong in the midfeild with tight footy could suit us niceley will be good game to watch this weekend and i am tipping it as a make or break match. we suddenly beat a top side interstate as we have once this year we could be in for some good times but we will just have to wait and see

Happy with the Dyson omission.. lets just hope it's for good.

Campo was good in traffic against the Lions - he has footy smarts.

Can you honestly say that Bolton will give us more value than Campo?

campo is rubbish, how can a receiver get 12 possies a game.
get rid of campo!!!

team is ok. would prefer to see someone other than bolts getting a run. he's proven he's no good. however he may be there to run with goodes, who showed a bit of old form last week. team is good all in all. happy campo is dropped

campo is rubbish, how can a receiver get 12 possies a game.
get rid of campo!!!

team is ok. would prefer to see someone other than bolts getting a run. he's proven he's no good. however he may be there to run with goodes, who showed a bit of old form last week. team is good all in all. happy campo is dropped

Limited gametime maybe?

He isn't. This is the last year of his 2 year deal.

come on guys the guys been injured, lets not get to excited about it all we need the experience players so give the guy a break. maybe a few guys are thinking he is still part of carlton, he will go back to seconds pick up 35 possies and will be back in the ones so as the old saying goes one week at a time

He hasnt done much of anything for us.

He's been a passenger so far at Essendon.

last 2 weeks has given us much needed run off backline - not to mention 100% efficiency over his past 2 games - just as he had changed my mind on where he was as a footballer he gets dropped.......and I hattttedddd cole 3 weeks ago after his effort V Kangas, wanted him out! but then his game against brisbane made me see there may be light at the end of the tunnel - and more so in the richmond game especially in the last Q

10 weeks in, and the club's selection committee still have no idea what should be our ideal 22!

after scrapping a win against a team that was 0-8, there were always going to be changes to that side to take on Sydney. unfortunately, they've gone back to guys who have let us down already this year.

it's obviously horses for courses.........i'd prefer to see the club's best 22 selected.

10 weeks in, and the club's selection committee still have no idea what should be our ideal 22!

after scrapping a win against a team that was 0-8, there were always going to be changes to that side to take on Sydney. unfortunately, they've gone back to guys who have let us down already this year.

it's obviously horses for courses.........i'd prefer to see the club's best 22 selected.

And that best 22 would be...?

last 2 weeks has given us much needed run off backline - not to mention 100% efficiency over his past 2 games

The only run he's given us is when he was chasing his man, or worse still the pathetic lunges he's made in an attempt to "tackle" if that's what you'd call it.

It'e pretty easy to have 100% efficiency when you get next to no possessions.

Fact of the matter is that he has been a passenger, and that he has provided opposition sides with an easy option through our half back line. He's slow, soft and the side is much better off with Welsh in than the pie eating Cole.

Again Sheedy goes conservative.

He is coaching for his coaching career - not the club.

Laycock needs time in the magoos - Ryder at the moment, despite his lack of bulk, is a better ruckman than Laycock. Laycock should be further developed, but due to injuries he isn't. So he shouldn;t play. Yes Everritt and Jolly are big guys, but they will slaughter laycock. At least Ryder will jump and be a nuisance against them.

worried.

Why Hislop or Lonergan weren't brought in baffles me. Nash - I think needs one more week for fitness then bring him in too.

Good to see Cole and Campo dropper who were oridnary, and Dyson too who is a 2 minute a quarter player.

Someone said ANZAC day - exactly what I thought the moment I heard the team.

Why not play Ryder or McPhee on Goodes? Why tag him. Expoit his lack of accountability going the other way.

And that best 22 would be...?

a team that doesn't include Laycock or Bolton.

The team selected is obviously one the committee thinks can do a good job against Sydney. It's a team selected with a defensive mentality........to lessen the size of the defeat.

Sure, many supporters think we'll get beaten in this match, and the new players brought into the side this week haven't showed anything this year to help us think otherwise?

We are playing at the SCG. It's a small ground and we need Campo's polish.
Hille and Ryder can share the ruck duties as they do not have a tall forward line.

I don't like it. I hope there might be a late change.

B.S we do . We need players in the side that are prepared to man up and tackle against Sydney. Campo has proven he wont do that.

And while i am not a supporter of having Bolton in the side why is everyone saying the side is like Anzac day ? Johns and Bradley are not in the side. Lloyd and Slatts are not injured and Hille is playing.

B.S we do . We need players in the side that are prepared to man up and tackle against Sydney. Campo has proven he wont do that.

And while i am not a supporter of having Bolton in the side why is everyone saying the side is like Anzac day ? Johns and Bradley are not in the side. Lloyd and Slatts are not injured and Hille is playing.

It's hard to tackle someone when a) you don't know where you are (Bolton) and b) you can't get within touching distance (Laycock)

The similarities with Anzac day are so obvious. We struggled with run last week so what do we do?

Drop 3 runners and bring in a ruckman thats not AFL fit, Bolts :confused: and a guy that has had a few soft tissues this year.

Bottom line is we are 2-0 with Campo in the side this year yet we are 0-2 with Bolts.

One of Laycock/Bolton should have been selected if any.

Oh... and we ain't going to beat Sydney at their own game - they are the masters of that contested scrimmage footy.

We can beat them with our forward line but we need to get it in there like Round 1 last year when Lloyd kicked 8!!

It's hard to tackle someone when a) you don't know where you are (Bolton) and b) you can't get within touching distance (Laycock)

I would suggest Bolton will know where Goodes is even if he is 3 meters behind him all night. I dont think Bolts should be in the side either but he will have only one role and one player to go to.
As for Laycock we needed to play two ruckman. On form it is a big challenge for Laycock but we cant rely on Paddy around the ground as he has had absolute zero effect in going with other rucks once the ceter bounce is over. He has no idea yet and is more value in defence at this stage.

kelvin_sheedy said:
The similarities with Anzac day are so obvious. We struggled with run last week so what do we do?

Drop 3 runners and bring in a ruckman thats not AFL fit, Bolts :confused: and a guy that has had a few soft tissues this year.

For a start we didnt struggle with run last week .
Secondly Bolton is capeable of doing what Cole did last week.
Thirdly Weslh is ready to play. Could have played last week but they left him for another week . Just becasue he has two two minor soft tissue problems doesnt mean you dont pick him when he is fit to play.
It is not the same as Anzac Day at all , we will have only two talls up forward ,no Bradley , no Johns. A bench with three proper midfielders on it.

kelvin_sheedy said:
Bottom line is we are 2-0 with Campo in the side this year yet we are 0-2 with Bolts.
One of Laycock/Bolton should have been selected if any.

Sorry but last week i saw Campo let his man just run off a few times. At one stage Campo let his opponent run over and make the play while he jogged back into defence. Campo then turned around and saw he was right in the space that A Richmond player was going to lead into so he moved 3 meters sideways and stood by himself waiting for the Richmond player on the lead to drop the mark ( which he didnt). You cant keep guys in the side that are not going to try and put in defencively. He doesnt even make token efforts to man up or to chase someone.
Bottom line is the ins should have been Laycock, Welsh and one of Hislop or Lonergan.

I agree with you except for Laycock. Reckon he needs more magoos time. It's a small gournd so Ryder won;t get as lost as easily in the ruck. Anyway, if need be, when he rucks, tell him to drop into the back 50 and play as a loose man. Hille can push forward when resting and take the hitouts when in/near the f50 and rydert the rest.

Too slow - want an extra runner.

I have confidence in the Chook firing up this week , guess we will see tommorrow night :D

Lets hope so.

But for me - as I have been saying he is our JJ for 2007.

No fitness base, injured pre-season and sent in like a lamb to the slaughter by our genius match committee.

Let's hope he has a bit more go/confidence in him this week.

I have my doubts.