Norwood, Red Wings
One of the most frustrating games I’ve seen. For the most part the skill level of both teams was absolutely horrendous, particularly from WC, but the annoying thing was their poor skills often resulted in goals. Their kicks would be so bad they’d actually pay off as they’d gather the loose ball and finish. We started well but couldn’t capitalise, and then West Coast started getting on top before half time.

Our forward line functioned beautifully, Walker and Tippett suddenly looks like a TERRIFIC 1-2 punch and they’re clearly getting used to playing in the same forward line. Add in Henderson and Jaensch, both who had exquisite skills and pace to burn, and out forward line is starting to really take shape. Porps was still down but looks to be slowly regaining some form, and with Knights to likely return next week, we’ve got plenty of options. In the midfield Thompson was enormous, and Dangerfield and Sloane were at their contested ball winning best. Symes and Reilly also played key roles, while in defence Goodwin and Davis were superb.

Once again today they got far too many goals as a result of getting over the top of our zone. I think they would’ve kicked about half a dozen goals that came directly from getting over the zone. This is going to be a massive concern against the Cats next week, we better be alert because I could see them easily kicking 20+ goals and breaking down our zone with ease.

Player review:

Henderson: We’ve got a ripper here, knew it the first time I saw him. He’s clearly improving with each week in the AFL. Holding onto marks was something he’d been struggling with but they all stuck today. 22 possessions which is huge for a forward, let alone someone in their 5th game. He also managed 8 marks and 3 goals. How good was his boundary goal in the first quarter, and that clutch goal in the 4th. What also impressed me a lot today was his tackling, very strong, recorded 5 tackles but he made them all stick. Great prospect, must leave him in for the remainder of the year.

Goodwin: Outstanding game, he’s really hitting top form now. I understand there will be calls for him to play on but I think the fact that he knows he's playing his last few games means he can put everything into it.

Douglas: Started poorly with some very ordinary kicks but worked his way into the game and had quite a few important clearances. Not his best game but a decent effort.

Tippett: Huge last quarter which basically won us the game. 4 goals and most, if not all of his 5 marks which most would have been contested. Like Goodwin, hitting his best form.

Vince: Not sure what to make of his game. A truly beautiful goal in the third quarter but to me his disposal was largely ineffective and standing Embley, he let him have far too much space. They both played wide of each other hence the big possession totals, and Embley clearly won the duel.

Thompson: His last half, especially the last term, was amazing. Dominant around the stoppages and was the most damaging midfielder on the ground. 29 possessions and without having access to stats I’d say he would’ve had about 10 clearances and probably half his possessions were contested. If he leaves for the GC, we are stuffed.

Stevens: Some very good, some very bad. Was a mixed bag today because every time he did something good, he did something equally as stupid. On the whole though he did play well, he’s brilliant at intercepting opposition kicks.

Symes, Doughty, Reilly: These three played underrated games, especially Reilly whose work at the stoppages was excellent and he also completely shut Priddis out of the game. Symes gave us a strong attack on the ball (7 tackles) and he kicked a nice goal. Doughty did some great work, but every now and then he does something that leaves you shaking your head.

Porplyzia: 2 goals, 1 courtesy of a down the ground free and the other a clutch goal late in the final term. Improved effort but I still feel he’s well off his best.

Dangerfield: Shocking first term, in fact even though he got hands on the ball in the second quarter it wasn’t a great quarter either. Fumbled, handballed to players under pressure, just didn’t look very sharp. His second half though was excellent, managed to even get a few uncontested possessions and he drilled that awesome long range goal in the 3rd term. A career high possessions, some outstanding work in close to get the ball out to a teammate, hopefully he can build off his strong second half.

Johncock: Similar game to Doughty. Not his best game today.

Walker: If he had his kicking boots on he could’ve had a huge return. Looked extremely lively and always poses a threat. Kicked 1, had at least 2 or 3 goal assists and kick straight and he walks away with probably 5 goals. Good effort.

Jaensch: Love having him in the forward line, he knows how to position himself and he’s got as good a kick as I’ve seen. :) 3 goals, all on the run, and he’s got to be retained in the side all year long. His best goal was probably his second, that lovely goal in the third term near the boundary line, but his third goal was equally as good to give us some breathing space. Lovely poise, great disposal and he also impressed me with his strong tackling and a couple of quick hands in close. Great game.

Sloane: Gun. :thumbsu: With Dangerfield and Sloane we have two legitimate A grade midfield prospects. I didn’t think Sloane had that high a ceiling but he’s proving to be capable of reaching those heights. His work in close is tremendous; he hunts the ball, has such amazing strength and his hands are like lightning.

Griffin: Decent game, some excellent hit-outs to advantage, but he needs to spend all week working on his handballing.

van Berlo: Largely ineffective, had some poor disposals and just didn’t ever really get into the game.

Rutten: Didn’t think much of his game. Beaten on the lead a thousand times and he’s really got to watch where he’s handballing, too often he’ll turn it over.

Davis: SMASHED Kennedy, absolutely smashed him. He’s kept Pavlich, Gumbleton and Kennedy quiet this season, all players who came into the matches in good form. He’s just so poised and while they might see him as a potential forward, I can’t see how you can remove him from defence.

Armstrong: Doesn’t really like Subiaco does he? Probably his worst game since Rd.1, and I’d say that’ll do him for a while with McLeod and Bock around the mark. He’s shown good promise but needs a rest.

Maric: On the whole a rather quiet game, but did the occasional impressive piece of play that really stood out.

That's pretty much how I saw it too. The first three quarters saw us play some simply insipid football - West Coast were flooding and then were killing us on the rebound.

Reilly and Thompson were the two best players on the ground today, raking in the clearances. Goodwin was excellent and Vince was awful (apart from that goal).

Thought our rucks did well to at least negate the influence of Nat and Cox.

We also got a good run with the umps today - for once they rewarded the players who put their heads over the ball.

I thought our ability to hit the post was good;)

Symes field kicking was better -less skyrockets.

Goodwin was BOG and read the play well all day.

Maybe Armstrong could be dropped this week. Not that he has done a lot wrong but we need a stronger body next week against the Cats.

Sloane was worn like a glove today - intersting to see how he handles the next couple of weeks.

Hendo and Jaencshy look the goods with great goal contributions.

:thumbsu: to Reilly - cut Priddis out of the game.

Hendo was brilliant today, absolutely brilliant. During the clinch moments it was the likes of him, Jaensch, Tippo and Walker able to keep them at arm's length. Players who have a good 8-10 years in them each. Happy with the initiative they showed on a day where the polish was sporadic.

Only saw the last quarter as I was watching North (both teams won on the same day for once, yay) but Hendo looks superb. Surprised at the amount of touches he had as well. Tippett is finally showing what we were hoping to see this year and SLOANE kicked his first goal. It was from the goal square but it is good to see him off the mark, very very unselfish play by Walker as well, I loved that piece of play.. great team footy.

Like others have said, a frustrating game. We looked the better team for most of it but couldn't put it on the scoreboard plus they scored against us with ridiculous ease at times. Made for a very tense last quarter and thank goodness we prevailed.

It only takes one probing drop punt that hits the mark for our zone to break down completely. Hope we apply a bit of pressure on Hunt, Mackie and Enright next week as they could rip us to shreds. I didn't see the Geel-Haw game today but interestingly the Hawks played a forward tag on Enright (Jordan Lewis kept him to 13 touches).

On today... Tippett, Walker and Porplyzia combined for 7 goals but could (should) have kicked 13 or 14 between them. Made a meal of a number of opportunities, lack of talk a couple of times and blew quite a few chances when they did have the ball in their hands.

Goodwin and Doughty controlled things across half back. They were on their own a ridiculous number of times. They got easy ball all day and used it well. Stevens always comes into his element when Bock is out. He marked everything and it was his second really good game in a row. Looks like he's shaken off any residual effect from his concussion.

Thompson was exceptional today. He was the standout player at the clearances and he got us moving time and time again. Reilly's blaknet job on Priddis meant that the clearances were a big plus for us today.

Dangerfield was unbelievable. Didn't touch it in the first quarter but then whenever we needed a spark he went into the middle and simply decided that he was going win the ball. And there was nothing any other player on the ground could do about it. A heap of contested possessions, a great goal in the 3rd and a HUGE contest against NicNat in the 4th that lifted us. It was a captain's game if ever there was one.

Jaensch and Henderson :) Forwards playing up forward, love it. Hendo's goal in the 1st might stitch up a rising star nomination, because they always need a quick news grab clip to go along with any nomination. Sloane was tough and hard again but got tackled a million times. Thommo has passed on the secret of how to get pinged.

Good summary againg Drum.

Despite me having the worst seats ever seen at an AFL ground I agree pretty much with everything there.

In general play we smashed them. I heard we had 69 I50s to 47. The Eagles were horrnsus, but as you say their poor play often created goals at both ends. They rarely created anything through system...except through our zone. This is concern, reminded me of the first half of the year. When the ball is deep in the Eagles backline, they tended to kick it long to their half back line. Now if thery happened to win posession there it was just about a goal to the Eagles. There were often 2 -3 Eagles players behind our last defender. You could call this cheating, but it was effective. Le Cras especially in the 2nd qtr.

I am loving Jaensch and Hendo*. So quick and hard at it.

*no homo**

**ok a little bit of homo

Firstly, I HATE games like that... certainly no good for my blood-pressure, however the final result helps somewhat! :D

I think I said at half time, I've decided we are schizophrenic - we can play with two completely different personalities in the one game. So very frustrating, but the pleasing thing today - particularly today - was that we were challenged, lost the lead, and regained it. All at a ground and by a Club that we've had NO joy with over the years.

Luck is a funny thing. I know the common saying is "you make your own", but today it seemed like the footy gods were absolutely smiling on the Weagles. They'd miss a pass (by heaps) but it would bounce down and away from our player and in to the arms of a running one of them. That happened not once or twice, but most of the day! Going the other way? You could count on one finger how many times that happened for us!

So many positives from today (apart from those already mentioned). The continuing rise of our young players: Davis, Henderson, Jaensch, Sloane, Dangerfield, Walker, Tippett. Armstrong again seemed a little lost today, but I do agree when he eventally gets the ball, his skills are first rate. It's just the getting the ball that's an issue for mine.

Stevens continues to frustrate. I called him a conundrum and he lived up to this today. His best was very good... his worst very nearly lost us the game. 3 goals conceded as a direct result from his errors. Not good enough.

I'm surprised at some people calling Vinces game ordinary - I thought he almost looked back to his best today.

Goodwin was sublime. LOVE that he is giving it his all knowing that he's only got to do it a finite # of times again.

Interesting watching Craig having another chat with Ivan (after he made that booboo) on the bench. You can see he was making a point and then finished it with an encouraging pat on the back.

I thought our defenders struggled today.

Overall, a gutsy, well fought out win. Well done boys!

Is Van Berlo good enough to Captain the side? He seems a good squad player but not the commanding on field figure we need.

I learnt from this game that we have 2 clear candidates for captian next year and VB ain't one of them.

Dangerfield and Thompson

These two guys showed brilliant on-field leadership today. They imposed themselves on the game at cruical times in the match and turned the game in our favour each time.

Both guys said "I aint losing today, follow me, I'll lead us home", and importantly, the team listened, were inpsired and responded with action.

I think both can get even better especially if permanantly played together in our future midfield.

If we want our team to take it to the next level than one of these 2 must be our next captain, and the other the vice-captain.

Unlike some others I wasn't as frustrated with today's game.

This is the kind of stuff we'll see in playing the young guys. It's what we need to do and given the effort and intent is there I loved it. Not saying it didn't get tense have its frustrating points - just that I'm not frustrated with the game. And yes, I would say the same if we had lost. The effort and intent is there again and we are playing the guys we need to play to push ourselves forward.

Won't do all the players like Drumm (thanks man, it really helps clarify thoughts to read your posts all the time :) )but here are a few of the things I loved.

Hendo/Jaensch - how good have we looked up forward with playing these boys down there. Their foot speed and abilties have allowed us to apply so much more pressure both with and without the ball. Great stuff. Hendo is ridiculously good considering he came from basketball. Unlike big Tips he seems to know where to go to get the footy far more instinctively. These 2 providing what they do just puts icing on the cake of the below...

Tips/Walker - that was the game I'd been waiting for. Proved they can play together in the same forward line. Play WELL together in the same forward line and really play well off each other in the same forward line. Sure they missed goals... again young players will be inconsistent.. but just think if they'd kicked a few of the ones they missed (say 2 more each). Tips with 6 (2 or 3 off Walker's boot) and Walker with 3 of his own. The way they played today I'd put Walker at CHF and Tips at FF but its just one game - but a game they showed they can play well together. It's only going to get better folks.

Porps - better in parts... still looks out of sorts to me. when knights is fit he might be in a little bit of danger again I think :(

Bernie - still lack a bit of intensity... if he's got the right stuff and managed well he'll get back to his best. Lets hope those 2 things stay true! Was good to see him find more of the footy though, his leftie goal was very good. Jsut doesn't seem as enthusiastic and running as hard as I'd like.

Stevens - very very good for most the game, hat off to him. I remember 1 awful awful shocker that cost us a goal though. I'll have to watch the replay again to catch the other 2 you speak of Jenny ( had my girls to contend with a bit in the 2nd half)

Griff - really pleased he keeps coming to play. Our rucks were not exposed too much (got smashed in HO's though) which was good given the quality of opposition.

Our defence - hmmm hard one for today. Davis great on Kennedy, can't wait til he hurts side more the other way. Great user just not enough of it as so focussed on 'defense' atm. Who was on the Le Cras though.... saw a few differnt guys go to him but as soon as he kicked his first hanging free off the pack I thought we were not respecting him enough.. he then tore us a new one again and again. Not good enough.

Our zone - concerned. Still needs adjustment and not more 'hard work' at the front of it Craigy! Eagles very clearly had a plan on how to get over the back and worked it quite well. jenny - you say they got lucky at times? I think they took calculated risks and used the spaces we create behind our defenders. (yes oftne their skills were bad and they got lucky - but i reckon some of it was taking calculated risks). We still need to refine the zone or have a plan b to stop those easy goals over the back. FAST. Geelong will tear us apart if they can implement what WCE did for most the game.

Danger - where was he early... and then BANG. Some of his contested ball winning is, to quote craigy, a WEAPON. Really pleased for him he broke 20 touches and had a significant impact on the game when it was there to be won. Still worried about his lateral movement, when he can't burst off in a straight line or have a quick give he doesn't have that ability to avoid the tackles to then have time to find an option. If he can build on that he's going to be ELITE.

That'll do me (apologies to Thommo/Goody/Symes/Rielly - good games boys very good)

VERY pleased with the win given who it was, and where it was and that the young guys continue to stand up with their effort and intent, show their talents and worked through the tough patches today to find a way to win.

Oh yeah.. armstrong has probably had enough at the level for now. Glad they gave him a string of games but with fit players ready to come back he is one of the younger guys who probably needs a rest and to regain confidence in the lower league. Definitely think he'll be a 100+gamer for us though, esp if he can add a bit more strength to the body.

I thought West Coast were wonderful today. Their kids were fantastic and the conditions looked very tough with a wet ground and an odd wind. Our attack on the footy and our leg speed was probably the difference in the end. One thing that worried me like everyone else was the forward defensive structure breaking down on the expanses of Subiaco. They got through too easily at a lot of points and turned the "northern" side of the ground into a track day.

Having said that, it was a wonderful win and showed we can handle pressure and can kick important goals. That running goal by Jaensch shows why the Crows picked him up, he went mental and scared Walker but it was a ripper none the less. Our defence is a little off at the moment but that will get sorted pretty soon hopefully, I think bock will straighten us out of defence and will be a good influence on our run and carry.

I liked that fact that when we were challenged, we responded quickly and didnt go into our shell. That was a very good sign and will give them huge belief going into next week. We are gonna give Geelong some headaches for sure, we might not win but its not gonna be a cakewalk for them.

I would love to know why Goody didn't shake the tosser of the coin's hand before the start of the match, looked a little strange.

He shook Goody and the West Coast guys hand, then went to the umpire and shook his hand, and then confused everyone by going back to Goody for a second handshake.

I got a good chuckle out of it :F

... When the ball is deep in the Eagles backline, they tended to kick it long to their half back line. Now if thery happened to win posession there it was just about a goal to the Eagles. There were often 2 -3 Eagles players behind our last defender. You could call this cheating, but it was effective. Le Cras especially in the 2nd qtr.

You could call it cheating, or you could call it a natural tactic to use against Craig's bizarrely unresponsive match day coaching. It happened so many times, and considering you guys were having no trouble getting it into your forward 50 (and usually keeping it there for a while), I have no idea why Craig didn't tell at least a couple of players not to drift too far forward.

I thought West Coast were wonderful today. Their kids were fantastic and the conditions looked very tough with a wet ground and an odd wind. Our attack on the footy and our leg speed was probably the difference in the end. One thing that worried me like everyone else was the forward defensive structure breaking down on the expanses of Subiaco. They got through too easily at a lot of points and turned the "northern" side of the ground into a track day.

Having said that, it was a wonderful win and showed we can handle pressure and can kick important goals. That running goal by Jaensch shows why the Crows picked him up, he went mental and scared Walker but it was a ripper none the less. Our defence is a little off at the moment but that will get sorted pretty soon hopefully, I think bock will straighten us out of defence and will be a good influence on our run and carry.

I liked that fact that when we were challenged, we responded quickly and didnt go into our shell. That was a very good sign and will give them huge belief going into next week. We are gonna give Geelong some headaches for sure, we might not win but its not gonna be a cakewalk for them.

Lol! :D :thumbsu:

Good pick up. It's symptomatic of what's so refreshing about this new generation of Adelaide players - "Craigy's kids" - their passion, enthusiasm and energy. I find it bloody interesting to look at the way the list NC inherited presented itself as opposed to the one he and his support staff are piecing together right now. They carry themselves so differently.

The 05/06 model was a strong one, don't get me wrong. Loved watching them clinically dispose of sides. But I'm enjoying seeing some footballers line up in this Adelaide side who harken back more to the squads we were fielding in the 90s - wearing the heart on the sleeve, improvising, bit of spark and character about them.

This was a game we would have been belted in seven weeks ago.

WCE limited the amount of space we had which caused us to make some silly errors.

The difference was, we were not afraid to take the game on and we did not kick to ourselves in the backline waiting for an easy (precise) out. Our guys used run and attakcing handball to get around the WCE flood. That 60m goal Danger kicked would not have happend 7 weeks ago, he would have u turned waiting for an uncotested mark in the forward line.

Our guys have learnt to take the game on, and are reaping the rewards.

Yes it looked ugly, but we won with a B gameplan. Something we did not have a few weeks ago.

Can't wait for the Geelong game, we wont win, but will be good to see how our young guns go against the comps best side with this new found attitude.

1. Concern about WCE breaking our zone so easily.

2. Excited about the potential of the forward line.

3. Slight concern. At the final siren, footage showed Craigy on the bench, he stood and patted the backs of our players on the bench - Porps, Davis and Danger. Hmmm there was no 4th player. Had someone already headed down to the rooms? Is there an injury that we don't know about, or did someone need a comfort stop?:confused:

better structure / ba;lance, better results

2 ruckman :thumbsu:

Tippett, Hendo, Walker and Jaensch forward :thumbsu:

extra pace of Jaensch and Hendo creates better forward pressure :thumbsu:

Thomo, Danger, Sloane setting the tone for winning the contested ball :thumbsu:

Radar growing into the tagger role :thumbsu:

however

our zone broke down at subi as a result WC was able to get behind our zone to kick a few soft goals :thumbsd:

Henderson: Was absolutely sensational. Best game I have seen a 5 gamer ever play (on our list anyways). Ran to the right spots, looks composed and delivered the footy very well. His work rate was exceptional, did not fade out of the game and finished with 3 goals as well. Just sensational, everytime he got it, I felt a little bit warm. That goal where he stepped around 2 players (and then they fell on top of each other like 9 pins, hilarious) was just brilliant. He was my best for us today.

Goodwin: Captains game. He was everywhere, the general across half back and through the midfield. His left leg is still one of the best kicks in the game when he decides to use it. Kept pumping us forward, has been in great form of late.

Douglas: He did pretty well I thought, love the way he plays, low centre of gravity always thinking about the sidestep and his balance so he can execute. Doesn't always work but he does have good skills in him. Been massive the past few months.

Tippett: Well held by McKenzie for the first 3 quarters but massive in the last. Big towering marks, hands go up to the sky and plucks them like apples. He is a monster, they had no answer and he won us the game I thought.

Vince: Got a fair anount of the footy but I thought his execution was below his normal standard. Few total shockers where the ball just wobbled off the boot and went to noone in particular but his workrate was impressive.

Thompson: Slow start but came home very strongly, powerful inside work, he gets HAMMERED in there every week but keeps on having a go. Disposals were cleaner and attacking in the last term. One of the best.

Stevens: He floats around like a ghost does Stevens, dropping back here, covering there. Great at reading the play from behind and dropping back to take a saving mark (he's the best in the side at it). Also dropped as many as he took and fumbled quite a bit. But all in all a fairly good game.

Symes: God he is slow but he always 'just' gets away with his disposals. Pretty clean in the end, nice running goal as well. Not in the best but definitely a good contribution.

Reilly: Worked very hard inside, really has tidied up that area of his game this season. Skills fairly good and set up a lot of forward attacks with good handballs, better than many of his teamates who handballed into strife far too many times.

Doughty: Thought he played fairly well across half back without being that brilliant. Not damaging enough, he does have a good kick, never uses it the way he should.

Porplyzia: Still miles below his best but that clamp like mark out in front of his eyes in the last and goal was a trademark moment. Needs more of those, but he did work harder than most of his games this season.

Dangerfield: Very slow start but BOY is he a demon in the packs. He literally is a human bulldozer, charges in and goes BANG straight at the footy, 5 blokes on top of him, then comes up and tries to break free. Doesn't usually work but a few times he squeezed out some ming boggling handballs that set up attacks from his sheer strength. That running goal was a trademark moment, was stationary when he received the mark, looked around, loped a bit then saw his opponent chasing and put on the jets and drilled it. Lovely. Couldn't find a more fitting player for #32.

Johncock: Down on his usual brilliant self but did his job fairly well. Honestly didn't notice him much at all.

Walker: Agree with Drummond, if only he kicked straight. Thought he read the play fairly well. 16 possessions speaks for that. Took a few nice marks still, including a awesome contested mark right near the end. Clearly still developing but was very pleased with his efforts today. Just has to kick straight.

Jaensch: This bloke looks like he takes a red hot chilli before every game. He bounces around, is plain hypo at every goal he gets. Attacks the footy like a dog at a bone, never gives in. Had quite a few 1 on 1's and 1 on 2's where he gave multiple efforts and won a couple of them. Love his acceleration and goal hunger, he is vital across half forward. Shows why he was waaaaay out of position in his first game.

Sloane: Oh boy this bloke is pure courage. If anyone could get a medal for effort, team play and just all-around heart this bloke would win every week. Whenever he made a contest, he made it 100%, threw his body in, against multiple players at times and almost everytime he had a positive influence on the outcome. He bleeds for the jumper, and he was clean and attacking on the outside as well. Awesome game, one of the best yet again.

Griffin: Down on recent weeks but was up against some fine opposition. Had a HORROR moment where he handballed to a running player and totally botched it which prob would have lead to a goal but that aside did work around the ground fairly well. He is a big lumpy sort but is pretty mobile.

van Berlo: Thought he was ordinary for much of the game. Few good contested moments but his skill level was well below his best.

Rutten: Played a minor role today, didn't do a great deal but be invlolved in the general linking of play across HB. Few poor handballs as well, looked extremely slow as well, slower than usual.

Davis: Generally a sound game, outpointed Kennedy who has been in good form. No nonsense approach, and pretty smart. Will be a high possession defender when he matures, much in the mould of Bock.

Armstrong: He has a crack but was found wanting on several occasions. Fumbles and poor decisions and poor vision seemed to dominate his game today. Down on his recent good form. I don't mind him but not sure if he's ever going to be anymore than a fringe AFL footballer.

Maric: Very quiet, few good moments with some nice ruckwork but was well beaten by Cox in general ruckwork and field-play. Needs to lift a bit.