Under 23s trial game between Port & Crows

Now i've been known to get carried away with hyperbole but gee zaz I enjoyed the game especially our faster play-on style.
We've teased with less defense / more talls forward in pre-seasons before, before reverting to base 'when in doubt give another defender a shout'. I really hope the 6-6-6 rules makes that 'go to mindset' of Ken's something that can't be used anymore, even if wanted.

For anyone who is of the mistaken belief that 6-6-6 won’t make a difference to how teams setup...after Adelaide went up by 34 points in the third quarter, 8 of the 10 centre clearances were won by Port Adelaide, and 6 of them were directly responsible for goals.

That’s why we play our best clearance midfielders in the centre square. I’d be rolling with Boak, Gray, Rockliff and Powell-Pepper at every bounce and have Boak and Gray pushing forward into the half forward positions.

For anyone who is of the mistaken belief that 6-6-6 won’t make a difference to how teams setup...after Adelaide went up by 34 points in the third quarter, 8 of the 10 centre clearances were won by Port Adelaide, and 6 of them were directly responsible for goals.

That’s why we play our best clearance midfielders in the centre square. I’d be rolling with Boak, Gray, Rockliff and Powell-Pepper at every bounce and have Boak and Gray pushing forward into the half forward positions.

Definitely.

It’s why Ryder and Gray need to do be our go to centre clearance players as they aren’t just the best in our team, arguably best in the game. That’s where they can do the most damage, winning the centre clearance and get the ball into our forwards where we’ll have a good mix of players that should be very hard to defend.

They can then push forward and Lycett can take over.

Even though I’d play Bonner on the wing I’d line him up at half back for centre clearance for the exact play that resulted in S.Gray kicking the goal that put us up.

I'll defer to your analysis on the basis that Boak has twice as many h/balls as kicks. SPP aint that great with his disposal either
and Rocky struggles to kick over a jam jar.

Maybe i'm fretting needlessly coz with a more open forward 50 maybe errant kicks are not as penalising?
Hopefully dropping to open space instead of down oppo throats. This is where Drew at 192cm could be a real plus
and imo be a great fall back option.

It grinds my gears seeing us win clearances then spray our kicks. I go from woohoo :D to FFS :mad: in a nano second.

I'll defer to your analysis on the basis that Boak has twice as many h/balls as kicks. SPP aint that great with his disposal either
and Rocky struggles to kick over a jam jar.

Maybe i'm fretting needlessly coz with a more open forward 50 maybe errant kicks are not as penalising?
Hopefully dropping to open space instead of down oppo throats. This is where Drew at 192cm could be a real plus
and imo be a great fall back option.

It grinds my gears seeing us win clearances then spray our kicks. I go from woohoo :D to FFS :mad: in a nano second.

You’re looking at it from the perspective of what has happened under the old system though. When opponents could place one or two defenders back and so kicks had to be pin point accurate otherwise the ball would be marched out just as quickly.

6-6-6 dictates that at the centre square it’s really a contest of who has the better ruck and clearance players. And if you don’t have that, you better have a great defence. 2 or 3 seconds of space is all that guys like Gray and Rocky need to make a great decision...in fact, I reckon you’ll understand why we picked up Rockliff this year. We knew these changes were coming for awhile.

You’re looking at it from the perspective of what has happened under the old system though. When opponents could place one or two defenders back and so kicks had to be pin point accurate otherwise the ball would be marched out just as quickly.

6-6-6 dictates that at the centre square it’s really a contest of who has the better ruck and clearance players. And if you don’t have that, you better have a great defence. 2 or 3 seconds of space is all that guys like Gray and Rocky need to make a great decision...in fact, I reckon you’ll understand why we picked up Rockliff this year. We knew these changes were coming for awhile.
^ is what I wanna hear and even if your just blowing smoke up our arses it sounds and feels good.
It's true Rocky makes good decisions.

Fully agree. Gray especially is vital. We need him in there as much as possible.

Potentially this forces our hand, Gray has his best season ever, wins the Brownlow and delivers the ball again and again to our KPFs on a platter on the way to a flag.

good point. Which makes our first game against Melbourne terrifying.

Fully agree. Gray especially is vital. We need him in there as much as possible.

Potentially this forces our hand, Gray has his best season ever, wins the Brownlow and delivers the ball again and again to our KPFs on a platter on the way to a flag.

tenor.gif

:thumbsu:
If we've got the balls to be ruthless with senior players then i'll know things have really changed.
Rocky might struggle under the 6-6-6 rule, Watts i'd cut more slack to because of his height, speed and obvious smarts.
Speaking of smarts Butters has it in spades as well as being a loveable cheeky smart-arse which is how i used to view
Che Cockatoo-Collins. Pity he's not taller but the mark he took on the lead 1st qtr under a lot of pressure was impressive.

Tobin Cox is a sleeper for mine. Can really protect the drop zone in 1v1 marking contests especial for high balls.
When he slotted that 50m shot comfortably I thought sheesh mate don't worry about the unselfish team thing
of passing off when 40m out. Now Ryan Burton.... well I think we'll see him get better and better.

Throw in Duursma Rozee and the emerging Todd Faz Drew and Bonner and it sure helps salve the sore of losing Polly n Chad.
Actually truth is i've moved on from those guys unless of course they tear us a new one when we're up against 'em

Now i've been known to get carried away with hyperbole but gee zaz I enjoyed the game especially our faster play-on style.
Good to see you all positive and "Firen" again!

good point. Which makes our first game against Melbourne terrifying.

Not really.

Melbourne averaged 14 centre clearances per game last year. We averaged 12.4, and that was while playing a pure defensive mid like Ebert, whose sole role at a centre clearance was to stop the other team from attacking, and a crocked Patrick Ryder. Melbourne won clearances because they had a whole bunch of contested possession bulls that could power through the congestion and move the ball out of the centre.

You put your best clearance mids in the middle with a Ryder and Lycett tandem and watch it skyrocket, because suddenly the opposition has to consider three attacking options (Boak/Gray/Rockliff/Powell-Pepper). A guy like Wines should only be playing as the prime mid in around the ground stoppages where there is more congestion and you need his strength to bust a path through it.

Also, Melbourne will be four weeks behind us in terms of their preparation. Plus they've shown that they are susceptible to run on the MCG. It's the perfect time to get them, IMO.

I'm more interested in how we go this weekend with a closer to best 22 line up. Hopefully we have taken some confidence out of this game though. Only a practice game but for too long Adelaide has had the wood on us, and it's gone on for so long now that like Geelong the Crows have us psychologically up against it before the bounce.

There has to be something in the fact that they time and time again beat us in close games and beat us when we are in the winning position. Even the one showdown we've won in the last four years was after giving up a three goal lead with about three minutes to go.

Not really.

Melbourne averaged 14 centre clearances per game last year. We averaged 12.4, and that was while playing a pure defensive mid like Ebert, whose sole role at a centre clearance was to stop the other team from attacking, and a crocked Patrick Ryder. Melbourne won clearances because they had a whole bunch of contested possession bulls that could power through the congestion and move the ball out of the centre.

You put your best clearance mids in the middle with a Ryder and Lycett tandem and watch it skyrocket, because suddenly the opposition has to consider three attacking options (Boak/Gray/Rockliff/Powell-Pepper). A guy like Wines should only be playing as the prime mid in around the ground stoppages where there is more congestion and you need his strength to bust a path through it.

Also, Melbourne will be four weeks behind us in terms of their preparation. Plus they've shown that they are susceptible to run on the MCG. It's the perfect time to get them, IMO.
Where I really want to see us do well against Melbourne (and most sides) is when teams first rucks are resting (either forward or on the bench). With Lycett and Ryder, this should be the time in games when we blow things open against the second stringers, where they can't overload the defense / midfield and play to losing rucks anywhere like the same degree (hopefully).

I'm more interested in how we go this weekend with a closer to best 22 line up. Hopefully we have taken some confidence out of this game though. Only a practice game but for too long Adelaide has had the wood on us, and it's gone on for so long now that like Geelong the Crows have us psychologically up against it before the bounce.

There has to be something in the fact that they time and time again beat us in close games and beat us when we are in the winning position. Even the one showdown we've won in the last four years was after giving up a three goal lead with about three minutes to go.
images.png

Where I really want to see us do well against Melbourne (and most sides) is when teams first rucks are resting (either forward or on the bench). With Lycett and Ryder, this should be the time in games when we blow things upon against the second stringers, where they can't overload the defense / midfield and play to losing rucks anywhere like the same degree (hopefully).

For a long time I thought that best use of Ryder was at centre bounce from the start, but now I'm thinking I'd rather keep him forward as a point of difference to Dixon and then have him come over the top in the last 5-10 minutes after Lycett has worn their rucks down. Kind of like Renouf did against Sandilands in 2014 before Trengove came over the top.

First real look I've had at Jake Patmore and I thought he looked really good. Tidy player, good hands, nice kick. Definitely has the skills to develop into a good AFL player.
Been in his corner for a while, Schofield rates him, maybe remembers him from WA days.
Iirc spoke of him as a potential mid a month ago
makes our first game against Melbourne terrifying.
Nah if we go back what seems like 1/2 a lifetime it's doable. Tho' they improved heaps last year
Ollie's 1st game for us? and his tackle on Roden which isn't shown but sheesh I remember it.
Pitdawg looks 12 and Sarge takes a screamer from the 3rd row

Bonner’s problem is mostly concentration and consistency IMO.

I’m concerned that he won’t be able to improve in those areas too much, but maybe the team can learn to manage it better and use his strengths while covering his weaknesses.
He's 21 and played 23 games, 19 LY and is a rising star nominee. How about we focus on the upside and good attributes in our young players. Consistency I agree with, concentration is just a poor comment. Pump the kids up as we have a great crop.

Not really.

But Melbourne have one of the best 6-6-6 weapons in the comp in Max Gawn - I can't remember a better ruckman in terms of hit-outs to advantage.
On the other hand, one or two of Gawn's worst pantsings have been handed to him by a fully-fit Ryder.
And our big chance is that they seem to prefer Viney over Oliver.

First real look I've had at Jake Patmore and I thought he looked really good. Tidy player, good hands, nice kick. Definitely has the skills to develop into a good AFL player.

Cathartic post, I hope.
Sorry to be negative.....but one of the biggest things to piss me off last season was when Neade was selected in the final game over Jake P. who had played his best ever PAFC game for the Magpies the week before.
[emoji22]

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app