- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Adelaide
- Other Teams
- adelaide
- Banned
Look, you're right in what you say about greenfields etc. My one concern is that to some extent Sydney isn't greenfields - it's more like a fortress.
The AFL have been trying to grow the game in Sydney for a long time now with little success and mega millions spent.
Look I don't think we're really too far apart in our thinking, I am not sure about west sydney and prefer tassie.
however, I just don't agree that Port and North are evidence against the expansion i.e. heartland clubs that can't grow their support, so what hope in new territory. I think Port and North's problem is *because* they are in footy heartland. there is no more real estate to divvy up, which means they can at best, leach support from elsewhere - which is never going to happen in any number or quantity.
squillions will be blown in west sydney I reckon, but at least it has the promise of one day working. nothing attracts interest like novelty and success - and you stuff draft picks down the throat of a new club like a fatted foie gras goose, then success will come.
entrenching it, and making it sustainable much harder.