Why no green in AFL guernsey's?

Heres another green strip (used by a team out my way.)
pic12.jpg

Probably being saved for Tassie in the AFL. I had hoped for Philly Eagles green in the GWS new jumper, but warming to the orange and charcoal anyway.

Coolamon Grasshoppers (NSW). Green with a white V, an absolute classic. I'd invite anyone to go to Kindra Park and tell them their jumper looks weak! You might escape alive, if you're lucky.

Also North Albury Hoppers, green with a gold V, Brett Kirk's old club.

I can see a big win/win coming up when Hawthorn sign their next ultra long term contract with Tasmania and ditch their brown for green. We lose a hideous jumper from the AFL and Tassie gets the nearest thing to representation that the AFL will allow.

Haha! What the hell is primrose, I googled it and I can't find the colours.
I always think of the Tasmanian one dayer uniform from a few years back, dark green, gold and vermillion.

Primrose is actually a flower. One of its varieties is a light redish colour. The oldies always stated our state footy jumper was Green, gold & primrose. I think now the new official colours are bottle green (as in cascade pale ale bottle :D,) yellow & maroon. I disagree but who am I & what is history:rolleyes:

Hate to quote myself, especially if I'm wrong but, I spoke to a local footy guru today who was firm in his belief that the Tassie colours are green, Primrose (the Yellow flower) & Rose ( light red). I stand corrected by 'the Guru"

With all of the now 18 AFL guernseys's on show, why has no club ever had green as one of it's colours?
Many clubs in lesser leagues have had green guernsey's over the years including the Tasmanian state jumper .The former Woodville Malcolm Blight played for in SA green and gold similar to Hawthorn plus other changes.Now Woodville,West Torrens which is greeen yellow and blue.
The great NTFL side St Marys is green and gold too.
In rugby league the Rabittohs are green and red which looks ok.
I can not for the life of me understand why no one has chosen green to be part of their guernsey instead of a shocking orange and charcoal.
Teal is a good colour by the way.It is apparently classed as blue not green?:eek:

Because Green is an awful colour.

Darker greens look great, while brighter and more fluorescent style greens look vomitous. Aside from the old back n white, my favorite footballing shirt is the Rugby League Kangaroos jumper. And the Bunnies shirt with black shorts looks great also although I'm willing to concede it's not to everyone's taste.

The Canberra Raiders on the other hand... Fluoro lime green looks rubbish. It's why we make umpires wear it.

spt-stmarys.jpg

i thought something like this would've been perfect for a new AFL club. No clash strip needed. One strip allows strong branding as it's instantly recognisable and never changes.

Watching the NRL, if i just glance at the screen i've got NFI who's playing, there's no strong brand in the uniforms.

Green in an AFL guernsey..

712719-brad-green.jpg

I think green would look okay without being spectacular (I guess it depends how it's used). I would prefer orange, but that's just me. I'm sure Tasmania will have their metaphorical hands all over it when their time comes.

Ya reckon? I reckon they are the worst clash.

I was hoping that the Rabbitohs would go broke a few years ago just to save my eyes from the sight of their jumper.

i concur...ulgy colour combo...

the only colour that goes well with green is white... the boston celtics jerseys look great, simple...

green & gold is ugly imo...

green & red is christmas

green & anything else just doesnt work

Why no green in AFL guernsey's?