Worst Win Ever

• Thread starter Thread starter Kapow!!!

I really don't need to go into details and since I'm tired and really just need to vent some frustrations that performance just further confirmed those fears from last week. We haven't turned a corner, we haven't changed and we're in for yet another long roller coaster year ending in disappointment.

When we hit a decent lead we took our foot off the pedal, played too cute, overused the handball under pressure and just played like the last few season. And the fact is Carlton did not play that well. They did enough to apply pressure around the packs and we simply crumbled and that's what frustrated me the most.

I'm almost 100% sure we'll get flogged next week and really struggle and possibly lose to Adelaide the week after and quite possibly be 1-6 after 7 rounds.

The passion up and died last week and tonight wasn't much better. It will take wins over the two SA sides or 1 win and a bloody tight and all round great performance to prove to me that we've turned a corner from a bottom 8 side into a genuine Top 8 threat because now it just doesn't look likely. As I said last week if they don't care about their performance why should we?

It was one of the worst games I ever watched to be quite honest. 15 Points is an unacceptable victory after leading by 42 points at Half Time. As much as Fevola gets stick, he is a gun.

crap just crap iam lost for words the only positive was maccas solid form, if any one comes away from that happy your not a supporter and get fkd. and wtf is with the claping sticks bloody joke, im gonna write a letter to the club, we are not WC we are not the crows.:mad: :mad:

You guys are too hard on your team! The first two and a half quarters were inspiring stuff! You completely pumped us out of the centre, we had no options against your effortless class! Considering you had Haselby out, players like McFarlin, Pavlic and Farmer outclassed their opponenets. A win is a win, and you guys defintely deserved it considering the pressure that was on your coach and team all week! Good effort against the odds, and you guys will definitely be final 8 contenders this year! The draft has been more than kind to you lot, so dont complain! success is around the corner, you watch, I've already bet 500 bucks on you lot to make a late charge for the flag!!

Honestly the second half was terrible but i think most of us know part of the reason.
6 day break on the back of a trip to Tasmania pretty much explaisn it. The same thing happened last year in the Derby we were all but home than faded out severly.

I think the next time we go to Tassie a very easy week on the track is on the cards for the next week.

Freo Shark said:
Pretty dam soul destroying I reckon.

Absolutely beyond description. Wheres their pride ?

That's the disturbing thing. After two near finals misses and last round disappointments you'd think they'd be fired up and be very fierce this season to make amends and look to change aspects but we haven't and we aren't and it's not good enough.

Anyone who takes heart from that win other than the fact that it's 4 points shouldn't be taken seriously because that was pathetic

collo21 said:
crap just crap iam lost for words the only positive was maccas solid form, if any one comes away from that happy your not a supporter and get fkd. and wtf is with the claping sticks bloody joke, im gonna write a letter to the club, we are not WC we are not the crows.:mad: :mad:
Agree with everyone's sentiments here, I don't need to add to it. This board is not the platform for me to stick the boots in.

What I wanted to say was that I cannot believe how much McManus has turned his career around. His disposal and decision making has improved out of sight. Yes, I know he had a shoking backwards kick late in the game that resulted in a goal.

Good luck during the week, you'll need it. I'm sure Grizzle Guts and Co will treat this like a loss.

Kapow!!! said:
Anyone who takes heart from that win other than the fact that it's 4 points shouldn't be taken seriously because that was pathetic

That 4 points more towards a crack at the premiership than some other teams when you think about it....Sheesh!

TheReason said:
Agree with everyone's sentiments here, I don't need to add to it. This board is not the platform for me to stick the boots in.

What I wanted to say was that I cannot believe how much McManus has turned his career around. His disposal and decision making has improved out of sight. Yes, I know he had a shoking backwards kick late in the game that resulted in a goal.

Good luck during the week, you'll need it. I'm sure Grizzle Guts and Co will treat this like a loss.

That makes a refreshng change... ;)

Other than that, appreciate the sentiment. Macca will go out as a legend of Freo - an accolade he deserves.

Grizzleguts will be scathing... but that's nothing new.

ShlomoGlickstein said:
You guys are too hard on your team! The first two and a half quarters were inspiring stuff! You completely pumped us out of the centre, we had no options against your effortless class! Considering you had Haselby out, players like McFarlin, Pavlic and Farmer outclassed their opponenets. A win is a win, and you guys defintely deserved it considering the pressure that was on your coach and team all week! Good effort against the odds, and you guys will definitely be final 8 contenders this year! The draft has been more than kind to you lot, so dont complain! success is around the corner, you watch, I've already bet 500 bucks on you lot to make a late charge for the flag!!

Nope. If we can't string together a decent performance against a (no offence intended) weaker side then what chance do we have. It's time we get tough and start putting the heat on the team to give us some f***ing results.

wizard_9 said:
Honestly the second half was terrible but i think most of us know part of the reason.
6 day break on the back of a trip to Tasmania pretty much explaisn it. The same thing happened last year in the Derby we were all but home than faded out severly.

I think the next time we go to Tassie a very easy week on the track is on the cards for the next week.

I don't care about the break or the trip back from Tassie because Carlton pretty much had the same break and nearly the same distance. I'm not looking for excuses anymore to cover up poor play and sweep them under the rug, I want results and I want finals and most of all I want to know that things will get better but from the looks of it already they aren't because we haven't improved.

Kapow!!! said:
Nope. If we can't string together a decent performance against a (no offence intended) weaker side then what chance do we have. It's time we get tough and start putting the heat on the team to give us some f***ing results.

I don't care about the break or the trip back from Tassie because Carlton pretty much had the same break and nearly the same distance. I'm not looking for excuses anymore to cover up poor play and sweep them under the rug, I want results and I want finals and most of all I want to know that things will get better but from the looks of it already they aren't because we haven't improved.

I think you need to get a grip man seriously. Yes it was a terrible final 3 qtrs but we did win and at the start of the week thats all i wanted.

wizard_9 said:
I think you need to get a grip man seriously. Yes it was a terrible final 3 qtrs but we did win and at the start of the week thats all i wanted.

2nd quarter was okay too after a good first quarter... 2nd half was totally abysmal.

wizard_9 said:

I'm sorry but that's not the sort of culture I want to allign myself to - being happy with just 4 points against a below-average team.

After the game it felt weird, it almost felt like a loss. The only positive I guess is that we played like a basket case for 3/4 and still managed to win. I guess that’s only a positive in the sense that sometimes you have to win ugly. Of course that is assuming that we aren't going to play like that week in week out. Let’s just say that the first 2 rounds have been far from encouraging.

I'm not happy with the game tonight but you guys are going over the top.
Get over yourselves.

If you watched the telecast (I was at the game also) Bell gave them a dressing down as they were walking off the field. He was spitting chips. They are not happy with their performance and that should translate to more soul searching and some tough calls over the weeks to come.

One positive is that it occured without Hase and (effectively on form) Pav.

But seriously... I've never seen a response to a win like this before.

raffrox said:
I'm not happy with the game tonight but you guys are going over the top.
Get over yourselves.

If you watched the telecast (I was at the game also) Bell gave them a dressing down as they were walking off the field. He was spitting chips. They are not happy with their performance and that should translate to more soul searching and some tough calls over the weeks to come.

One positive is that it occured without Hase and (effectively on form) Pav.

But seriously... I've never seen a response to a win like this before.

Well said. Four points is four points.

Does anyone honestly believe that we won't get better with Pav , Roger better for the run and Hase to come back?

Good Teams win games playing bad.

Pagan made that game ugly. The scoreling flattered the blooze. This was last weeks game in reverse. They got some cheap goals which flattered them.

We smashed them when it mattered.

Were you happy last week when we got junk goals in the last quarter?

I seem to remember us dying late in the game last time we came back from Tassie. Against WC in a derby?

PAV to hit his straps. Hase to come back. The teams we are playing in the next few weeks will help us, we will not be choked and providing our midfield can get enough supply to our forwards we willl win. The forwards will be able to have a greater influence.

start packing your bags connelly its going to be all over for you in 5 weeks time and good riddens.How can anyone be happy with that crap

mathew20 said:
start packing your bags connelly its going to be all over for you in 5 weeks time and good riddens.How can anyone be happy with that crap

Lol , right on cue. Fact is you don't know how hard they have been training or what is going on.

I will bet you a carton right now that we will be at least 4-3 in five weeks time.