Review Winners and Losers of Trade Week

Remove this Banner Ad

Losers:

West Coast - A wooden spoon and the best they could do was swap a pick and delist a player.

Brisbane - Midfield was raped by GC, and they still have Fev. Handy picks yes, but it'll take a few years to recover.

Carlton - Lost arguably their second best ruckman for a second round pick. Talked a lot, and didn't do much.

AFLPA - Uncontracted players are again shafted by trade restrictions. The sooner the AFLPA pushes in a NHL-style player movements system the better for all.

Winners:

Gold Coast - even before the season ended we knew that given the concessions they would be a major player and in a strong position in trade week. They'll be in flag contention well before the losers recover.

Collingwood - Absolutely ruthless in trade week again. Don't know why clubs bother to deal with them.

Richmond - Apparently an attractive place for players looking for more game time. Might even get Houli for nothing. Also got rid of that spud Tambling.

AFL - will again use this period to point out that enough players moved so there's no need for changes to the off season player movement system. They've also made dead certain their first pet project will thrive for a few years at least.

I don't see how Brisbane can be rated as a loser of trade week. Traded out two inconsistent players that gave a lot of supporters the shits with their up and down form. Have potentially 5 picks in the first 30 depending on other clubs using their compensation picks. Sure we lost two players in their prime but GC gets the best out of this draft and we do the next best and didn't even get the spoon.

You paid too much for Krakeour and Ceglar, got Tarrant for a fairish price and did some weird deal with West Coast. If that is a spectacular trade week I'll be damned.

Carlton broke even at worst. Lost players on the periphery and gained similiar type players plus pick upgrades. I call it a slight win at B+