AFL Autopsy Rnd 6: ANZAC Day loss to the Magpies

• Thread starter Thread starter Harlequin

I'm the last person to be an Essendon apologist, but good Lord did you lot cop a reaming from the umpires.

Couldn't buy a 50/50.

One bloke who I reckon won't get any credit but did a solid job was Bellchambers. Up against one of the best players in the game and no he didn't win the duel but at least he didn't allow Grundy to dominate and did take some key marks around the ground at times. Anyone that saw Grundy vs Bulldogs a few weeks ago would have seen what it looks like when Grundy really takes over a game and at least we didn't see that today.

Bellchambers has had it IMO way too slow around the ground and makes terrible terrible decisions.

Been serviceable but I’d like to see Draper given a crack

I can’t agree. Hoskin Elliot soundly beat him in every contest and he couldn’t hold that tackle on Sidebottom that directly resulted in a goal in the 3rd quarter when we had all the run. Also, his hair is shit... but I’ll give him the benefit of the doubt that he was simply honouring the 25th ANZAC Day game by donning a 1995 hair-do.
Got a hangar taken on him by WHE but apart from that he barely matched up on him at all

Anyone who accepts this loss have rocks int their head it's why we have been poor for over a decade honourable losses are for loser clubs like North

Mate we are 3-3 and got within one goal of the flag fancies after a shit start to the year

It’s ****ing round 6 for God’s sake

We are back on track and playing good footy

What other sport in the world changes rule interpretation which changes core aspects of the game? For 150yrs you get tackled, ball comes out. Dropping the ball, reward.

Now ball can fall free, play on.. players can let it fall wherever suits their play. Its rank

It changes the total dynamic of footy.

If we come out and smash Geelong I'll be happy I'm hoping this loss burns.

Have a feeling you will never be pleased unless we win every grand final for the rest of time...

I can't help but think about what if that dumb "in the back" after the HTB/improper disposal was missed had been in the favour of Shiel or Merret to seal the win. I'm sure Collingwood would have been cheering loud and proud duing the medal presentation.

Yeah right. I’ve heard that type of talk a few times. I don’t believe it yet, but you lot go ahead sure.
Not blowing smoke up your ass.

You guys have a style similar to Richmond. When your intensity is on and you're up and running it's hard to play against. Worthy of finals. As for the Dees...

Ten day break til the Cats country game. Hope there will be a lot of skill sessions and tackling practice in the interim.

The transition of Ambrose from vafa player to afl standard defender is astonishing and undersold in the footy world, he's super dependeble, shuts down an opponent and is gaining the confidence to attack now too
I was worried about the dangerous mihocek tearing us apart. Lucky we snuffed that one out.

We’re going far this year. This was a very optimistic loss that well and truely could’ve been a win.

Shiel was both brilliant and insanely frustrating.
The 3rd quarter was Guelfi’s best ever.
Daniher’s best game in 2 years.
Saad was the game changer.
The boys got basically no reward for their intensity and never put their head down - put Orazio in that game today and we would’ve won by 4 goals, we were the better team for the majority of the game.

I thought Parish showed why he isn’t best 22 today, his kicking inside 50 was worse than Shiel’s.