Scott Morrison - How Long? Part 2

Such an ad hock approach when some States will be considering stage 3 lock downs ahead of any advice or direction from the Federal Govt A recipe for confusion and chaos

There's two major catastrophies in train being both the virus and the economy. They are diametrically apposed and whoever is making decisions is on a hiding to nothing. Crush the virus and the economy will depress, protect the economy and the virus will explode. Good to see some bipartisanship in the parliament, however we need to have a good hard look at our federation because the different jurisdictions pulling in different directions has been a cluster. Fugging NSW has been asleep at the wheel, idiots. Whoever let those cruise ship passengers dissembark to do as they please should be shot.

Desperation”?

Absolutely.

I’m desperate for decent leadership in this country

As we all are .... I suggested desperation because of the body of your work, you had power in your headlights ...... you havent accepted the right of the majority to reject the policy portfolio you prefer.
Sadly many on both sides of politics have no respect for our system of government since Rudd defeated Howard.apportion blame as you will but another change of leader is the last thing we need imho, that why you & desperation are bedfellows.

Border Farce - We're not in charge of bio-security

Nah , you're just in charge of pinging Lebs who try to sell untaxed tobacco to their mates.

Border Force arent though, its Department of Agriculture Water and Environment again its a massive breakdown of protocol . Imported tobacco would the same as drugs I would assume come under their jurisdiction.

Piss off you flog. I made a point that capitalism continues in the thread about socialism v the virus. There's a lot of people who will do very well out of this virus, Coles and Woolies, market speculators etc people will have to make their own path. I feel as bad as anyone about the poor bastards who will get crushed.

Not bad enough to not come on here and spout an alleged $40K share purchase you just made when people have literally lost everything overnight.

Like I said, you're an embarrassment.

Only the political buck .... we now know what actually happened & why. the Fed/State interface. Shades of the bushfires.

Even with the confusion there is an ultimate authority.

NSW Health can provide advice and can test people and can do all sorts of things. BUT THEY CANNOT STAMP PASSPORTS.

If it is not the responsibility of the Department of Home Affairs to identify and act on potential border threats then what is the ******* point of them? And since when does Dutton get trumped on anything by anyone let alone a state department.

Dutton's department is nothing more than a front for the LNP's ideological crusades and when it comes to competently do their actual job they have failed miserably.

I am not condoning the behaviour of NSW Health but the call was by and is the responsibility of the Federal Government.

And to think they want to privatise the visa system. What could possibly go wrong :oops:

you havent accepted the right of the majority to reject the policy portfolio you prefer.
I utterly accept that the (extremely slender, in fact one-seat) majority have that right.

And I insist on my right to tell them they made a stupid choice, and use evidence and facts to settle it, as I have always done.

What you're talking about sounds dangerously like that concept of "balance" that some people insist is so important in discussing a certain purely scientific issue (that affects the very existence of life on earth).

Feds stamp the passports. The buck stops with them.

Someone above the Feds okayed the boat to release passengers.

Gladys has acknowledged that a lot of people need to take responsibility, including herself. The idiot health expert working for her wants to blame a staffer onboard.

Abbot is fundamentally a 'doer.'

He gets s**t done. Often times that s**t is horrible but he does get it done.

Abbott would have us locked down in a police state right now.

I don’t like Abbott but of all our recent PMs, I reckon he would’ve been most effective in this situation.

NSW Health can provide advice and can test people and can do all sorts of things. BUT THEY CANNOT STAMP PASSPORTS.

If it is not the responsibility of the Department of Home Affairs to identify and act on potential border threats then what is the ******* point of them? And since when does Dutton get trumped on anything by anyone let alone a state department.

Dutton's department is nothing more than a front for the LNP's ideological crusades
and when it comes to competently do their actual job they have failed miserably.

I am not condoning the behaviour of NSW Health but the call was by and is the responsibility of the Federal Government.

And to think they want to privatise the visa system. What could possibly go wrong :oops:
Great great post

Especially the bolded

Gladys has acknowledged that a lot of people need to take responsibility, including herself. The idiot health expert working for her wants to blame a staffer onboard.
That's the kicker though , NO ONE'S lost their job over it and most likely won't now.

He'd have a lot of spare time on his hands now that the strip clubs are closed.
He'd be the only bloke in the club to jerk off to a reflection of himself.

Not bad enough to come on here and spout an alleged $40K share purchase you just made when people have literally lost everything overnight.

Like I said, you're an embarrassment.
Bro he's up about $4k already!

The biggest problem with Morrison right at the moment isn’t necessarily the decisions that are being taken - I do believe they are working as a cabinet and he’s not solely making the calls.

The biggest problem is he’s the one who walks out of the room to communicate them, and that’s where the issues start - because one of his hallmarks, which is how desperately clear, is that he’s a staggeringly inept communicator.

Last night’s press conference went for about 40 minutes. I appreciate there were questions but he absolutely waffled for large parts of it.

The key messages were: personal beauty services (excl hairdressers) are closed, weddings max of five, funerals max of ten, play centres and a few other things closed.

It was a 5 minute message. A list of bullets points, perhaps to be ran through twice for effect.

You need to be simple, direct and clear.

He just crapped on about garbage. He led off with the shopping centre food court thing - a relatively minor addition based on cafes and restaurants already being closed. And it led his speech! Not only that... he ****ed it up, making it sound like shops are closed when they aren’t, and then had to go back over it.

I won’t even get stated on his “essential” job thing, which just took an already confused term and principle and made it even worse.

It was absolute dogshit from start to finish.

If we are stuck with this absolute lightweight, surely his communications and speechwriting team have to go and be replaced with people who know the basics of disaster communication. Surely somebody close to him can see that!!??

I utterly accept that the (extremely slender, in fact one-seat) majority have that right.

And I insist on my right to tell them they made a stupid choice, and use evidence and facts to settle it, as I have always done.

What you're talking about sounds dangerously like that concept of "balance" that some people insist is so important in discussing a certain purely scientific issue (that affects the very existence of life on earth).

No idea of the balance you refer to.

No argument with your right to an opinion, Issy has one too, doesnt make it realistic.

Dutton's department is nothing more than a front for the LNP's ideological crusades and when it comes to competently do their actual job they have failed miserably.

Introducing Dutton in to the discussion ... are you dinkum or is it a debating point?

I don’t understand the confusion around the way Scomo communicates, or with what he’s said as far as directions go.

I believe he’s been clear and concise and have understood everything loud and clear. My girlfriend and her friends are rusted on green voters who hate the bloke, and surprisingly they’ve said the same thing.

I think those who take exception with what he’s said and how he says it will have an issue with him irrespective of what he says, or how he says it. You probably have always hated him with a passion. That’s fine, you’re entitled to your opinion.

The social media lashings of him doesn’t help anything in this situation though. If anything it causes division in a period of time where we need to find common ground and come together. If politicians can do it surely we as a society can too?

There is no one above the Feds. And there is no one above the Department of Home Affairs - including Morrisson.

Introducing Dutton in to the discussion ... are you dinkum or is it a debating point?

It is his department. THE DEPARTMENT OF HOME AFFAIRS STAMPED THE PASSPORTS. THEY ARE ULTIMATELY RESPONSIBLE.

What a wonderful world when no one is responsible for anything. I am sure there will be a federal police investigation or some other such bullshit. Of course they won't talk to anybody - to busy trying to stick it to the ABC than to do work that actually protects the public.

This is outright incompetence. And the consequences are absolutely real. There are 133 confirmed coronavirus cases and counting who stepped off that boat and caught the train home. FFS

It's hecken true

dutton getting up EVERY.SINGLE.QT since 2014 repeating the same wank proves it.

We're so great , you're so s**t HURRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

dutton fanbois are the reason this country's so ****ed