Preview Changes for the Prelim v Port Adelaide - Sat @7:40

Treloar could be the answer to “can you have too many mids?” - he is a midfielder and playing him forward is not working. I don’t mind the idea of having more time with Bont up forward if it means more Adz in the middle but we lose so much defensively with that set up. If Lewy Young is only going to spend 53% TOG then I can’t see why we can’t get the same out of one of the actual ruckmen on our list who apparently can’t run out a match. Only time Brisbane looked like beating us was from the centre bounce and when we failed to defend the corridor from rebound 50.

Sweet/Martin for Young; Bont 60:40 forward, English ruck rotating to bench with one of the above rucks.

It's not gonna happen but i'd be tempted to play Bont forward, English in the ruck, Treloar in the middle and bring in Ugle-Hagen for Young

Going with English one out in the ruck would completely undo everything we have been doing in the ruck. We have been rotating young and English to wear down the opposition ruck, running them hard over the ground and then second half upping the time English spends in there to capitalise. To use English one our against Lycett and ladhams would give port all the ascendency in the second half

I think Lewie and Tim continue to play the ruck role. Both finals we’ve managed to wear down the oppo ruck. Lewie was pretty much leap frogging Draper last week and goes very hard to negate.

Oscar was a bad matchup for Lewie because he’s almost too tall to hurdle. The body to body duals will never go well but when Lewie has a running jump we go well.

the key feature is it’s actually about managing Tim’s energy. Tim had juice to affect the game in the early last quarter BECAUSE he has a pairing.

both present well enough in the air around the ground to prevent oppo marks. I still think our aerial contests are developing when it comes to connectivity. As has been mentioned, we tend to spoil eachother sometimes.

I think that could improve as the season rolls on longer. This squad has now been mostly together for 5 weeks. Previously we were a high rotation squad. Settling the side at some stage was a good idea from Bev and has shown in how good our team defence has been.

when we last played, we had no mojo. We played alright, but our mids have clicked again. As bev said in his presser, treloar’s quiet night has him optimistic that there’s an upswing coming at a good time. I think we need to put stacks of time into Wines.

we do have to hope for Port to continue being wasteful with their opportunities. We have an awesome back 6 but we can’t afford a barrage. We probably need to win clearances like we did against brissie again because without Cody we will struggle to score.

we need a big night from Naughton. We need Laith and JJ to get goals out the back with their pace. We need the mids to kick goals.

We should just be happy and proud to be in with a punchers chance

Going with English one out in the ruck would completely undo everything we have been doing in the ruck. We have been rotating young and English to wear down the opposition ruck, running them hard over the ground and then second half upping the time English spends in there to capitalise. To use English one our against Lycett and ladhams would give port all the ascendency in the second half
Is Shaq going to do any worse than Young as 2nd Ruck?

I would say yes on follow up and around the ground throw ins and ball ups. Although I think Schache has been alright in both finals. He normally plays a short burst in the ruck not long stints. If we change young out it has to be for a ruck but Martin is cooked and sweet hasn’t played for a month plus we don’t seem to want to use him forward when he does play. Young and English combo is the best we have atm. And it has given us benefit in the second half even if we get hurt by it at times in the first half

Is there even any point in commenting that I agree with everything you said? At the end of the day, what you and I think means zero.

I must say, if Cordy comes in for Young, and I knew Cordy was going to play as a defensive forward, with Schache providing back up in the ruck, I'd feel a lot more confident.

You know Bevo get his best ideas from bigfooty :)

How would you expect Sweet to play in a prelim and be competitive after so little footy this year and overall. Not saying the current situation is the best but it's what we are stuck with I think.

You mean training as a full time professional AFL ruck who completed the full pre season, played in 5 AFL games and 7 VFL games and suffered no injuries for a win loss record of 11 and 1?

I would expect him to play the necessary role of wrestling with Lycett at stoppages really well. He would half those contests, physically tire out Lycett and allow our mids to shark taps. Most importantly he would allow Tim to stay fresh around the grown and be a threat up forward, rather than having to play full time ruck.

That Port preview thread is one of the most embarrassing things I've ever seen on here. Already crying about the umps and how unfair it is, along with the pathetic Swans and Lions supporters popping in and sooking with them, and calling us cheats somehow. Despite all of the neutral breakdowns of the umpiring decisions that showed it was fine and there were a few missed calls either way, but was generally umpired well, which of course they won't acknowledge...

Imagine being in a pre-lim, at home, well rested and an almost full squad to pick from. Instead of being pumped up and look at match ups or areas they can beat us in, 95% of them are just embarrassing themselves crying about umpiring BEFORE THE GAME HAS STARTED and saying how unfair the Vic bias is. I had no idea they were this pathetic, hope we belt them by even more now. Can spent the off-season with Lions fans blaming everyone else and not acknowledging their own faults.

Maybe 2 or 3 decent posts so far in their preview, the rest are some real woe is me, pathetic sooking. Yikes.

That Port preview thread is one of the most embarrassing things I've ever seen on here. Already crying about the umps and how unfair it is, along with the pathetic Swans and Lions supporters popping in and sooking with them, and calling us cheats somehow. Despite all of the neutral breakdowns of the umpiring decisions that showed it was fine and there were a few missed calls either way, but was generally umpired well, which of course they won't acknowledge...

Imagine being in a pre-lim, at home, well rested and an almost full squad to pick from. Instead of being pumped up and look at match ups or areas they can beat us in, 95% of them are just embarrassing themselves crying about umpiring BEFORE THE GAME HAS STARTED and saying how unfair the Vic bias is. I had no idea they were this pathetic, hope we belt them by even more now. Can spent the off-season with Lions fans blaming everyone else and not acknowledging their own faults.

Maybe 2 or 3 decent posts so far in their preview, the rest are some real woe is me, pathetic sooking. Yikes.
They wanted to play Brisbane

Our biggest issue is our ruck - or the lack of one who can compete for 4 quarters
Always thought we could win the elimination final without fixing this issue
Always thought it would be really tight in the qualifying final without fixing this issue
Don't believe we have a snow flakes chance in hell of beating either Port or Melb without sorting this out.

Young has all the basic talent in the world for a key position player and he should have been given more games to develop and prove himself in that role.
As a Ruckman against quality teams with quality Ruckman it's laughable. Was anyone watching that game last night at all? McInerny had 40 hit outs, he took the ball out of the ruck 6 times - I don't know how many were to advantage but goodness me they got a huge advantage - the pressure this put on liber, bont, mccrae is what made this game so tight.

Now, you might want to go in with a settled side against Port and make no changes - and often that is a reasonable approach. In this instance, in a preliminary final against a quality team - in the this pivotal role - we can't afford to be so badly humiliated in the ruck again - its just insane. Young has to go out and if Martin is not ready, then Sweet plays. If the theory is that Young's role is to wear Lycett down for English, then Sweet is stronger, he actually knows how to ruck and will do that far better - moreover, Sweet when resting - can actually clunk a mark and is a deceit shot at goal. Obviously, if fit, Martin is better - but worse case - Sweet gives us some chance - Young - Zero.

It really is ridiculous, that we have this super deep midfield and a coach who refuses to give them anything resembling a ruckman. It drives me positively nuts.
Think back early in the season - when we were our best - we had Martin and English. Martin was not great he just broke even and prevented the opposition ruckman dominating. It is essentially what Young was able to do in the second half against Draper and it was one of key reasons we took control of the game.

Bravo for Young and his second half against Draper.
He was never going to be able to do that with McInerny. It is seriously cruel to pit him against these beasts and Lycett and Guan are stronger than the big O.

Play Sweet or Martin and we are every chance - don't and Port will stream forward out of centre bounces 4-6 times more than us. They will receive at least 3 inside 50 clear hits to advantage resulting in shots at goal more than us. This will add more pressure on Liber, Macrae, Bond, Dunkly and will wear us down.

Please give us a chance.

Why are people thinking Bont will not play
He said it was fine after the game - bit sore. They'll do a scan - as Bev said - and assuming there is nothing serious
He'll play, he may not play are much mid-field but he'll play

Exactly what Treloar said after the game in round 10. Went on to miss 11 weeks.

Not sure we can assume Bont is fine based on that interview.

It is always good if your opponent has a ready made excuse for losing.

I would say yes on follow up and around the ground throw ins and ball ups. Although I think Schache has been alright in both finals. He normally plays a short burst in the ruck not long stints. If we change young out it has to be for a ruck but Martin is cooked and sweet hasn’t played for a month plus we don’t seem to want to use him forward when he does play. Young and English combo is the best we have atm. And it has given us benefit in the second half even if we get hurt by it at times in the first half
No its not - it is a total disaster
English is doing nothing up forward because he will have to ruck and Young may as well not be on the ground.
It is without a shadow of a doubt the most idiotic myopia I have ever seen in an otherwise brilliant coach. I think it's some kind of principle with him - to prove you really don't need a ruckman at all. Never seen the likes of it.

After a few mentions on here I too decided to venture onto the Port board to check the preview thread, thinking it surely couldn't be that bad...

JHC was I wrong.

A fully fit team that was gifted the only home final of the first week and subsequently easy win against a bunch of geriatrics then two weeks sleeping in their own beds before playing a team that's been half way round the country and back, missing some of its very best players, and yet...

It was like some Denisovan Sodom and Gomorrah. The darkest of pathos, the most seething bitterness, gleefully bloodthirsty wishes of injury upon our players. It was like walking deeper and deeper into an abandoned building filled with gibbering methheads, all scratching at themselves and smearing their sh*t across everything while screeching at the hidden men inside the walls (and some grandiose 'Vic-bias') while coming coming down from a seven-day ice binge. More delusional paranoia than a medley of Hitler parody videos. I actually had to come back for my sunnies because the glint from all the tinfoil headwear gave me temporary blindness.

Beneath it all runs an undercurrent of rising fear. They have no excuses. If they lose this it will destroy them and they know it.

Hi all,

Thought Dunkley was quite effective against Parish in the 2nd half of the Essendon game and against Neale recently.

U reckon he plays a similar role against Port this week? Would he target Boak or Wines?

Hi all,

Thought Dunkley was quite effective against Parish in the 2nd half of the Essendon game and against Neale recently.

U reckon he plays a similar role against Port this week? Would he target Boak or Wines?
Wines I'd imagine. Macrae probably goes to head to head with Boak. Interested to see if they send someone to Libba. He was our best early against the Lions and can often be our barometer.

Preview Changes for the Prelim v Port Adelaide - Sat @7:40