List Mgmt. 2019 Draft and Trade Hypotheticals Thread - Part II

They want a player (pref forward)...clear as day..

that dodoro dude is quoted everywhere as saying

"Everyone's got opinions and he's worth pick this or pick that, but you've got to look at the draft"
"It's about replacing your key forward and if the key forward is not in the draft then the value of that player actually goes up.
"In this case he's irreplaceable for us at this point."

could be another foxing tactic but above makes sense for them if in their shoes...

Player + (p5 and/or p9 depending on quality of player) is what will get it over line (yup...ridiculous!)...

How far syd will match is anyone's guess at this point...

Can't see us giving up any of our up n coming youngsters/good players...hence stalemate! strap yourselves in till wed..could be a big ....anticlimax!

Possibly because he broke off negotiations on a contract extension just a bit after bumping into his mentor mate for coffee. Dodoro talked about it in an interview during the week.
Then why didn't Essendon spend the last few months talking to someone like Howard?

Seems like Dodoro's stubbornness will only end up hurting Essendon if a trade isn't done this trade period.

They want a player (pref forward)...clear as day..

that dodoro dude is quoted everywhere as saying

"Everyone's got opinions and he's worth pick this or pick that, but you've got to look at the draft"
"It's about replacing your key forward and if the key forward is not in the draft then the value of that player actually goes up.
"In this case he's irreplaceable for us at this point."

could be another foxing tactic but above makes sense for them if in their shoes...

Player + (p5 and/or p9 depending on quality of player) is what will get it over line (yup...ridiculous!)...

How far syd will match is anyone's guess at this point...

Can't see us giving up any of our up n coming youngsters/good players...hence stalemate! strap yourselves in till wed..could be a big ....anticlimax!

Send them Maibaum. Injured player with question marks for injured player with question marks.

;)

Wouldn't Joe want him to stay quiet? Not sure he'd want to risk fracturing his relationship with Essendon.

Maybe if he says something like Joe can't bear playing another season in Victoria, I guess.
Why would it matter if he fractured his relationship with us?
If I wanted to get to another a club I’d use whatever tactic I could to make it happen.
The threat of him sitting out a year would be enough to push our club into action IMO.

Possibly because he broke off negotiations on a contract extension just a bit after bumping into his mentor mate for coffee. Dodoro talked about it in an interview during the week.

Ok so now it was Joe who didn't want the contract extension. Right thanks for clearing that up. You are as deluded as Adrian. Understandable though because players were not injected with illegal substances either were they ? Keep singing from the same hymn book though because one day you will get your story straight.

I'm still confused about Dodoro's comments about hoping Joe finds his love for the club again. He never said he lost it. He wants to get out of the Victorian bubble. Seems like he still loves the club, just hates the footy environment in Victoria.

Why would it matter if he fractured his relationship with us?
If I wanted to get to another a club I’d use whatever tactic I could to make it happen.
The threat of him sitting out a year would be enough to push our club into action IMO.
There's a multitude of reasons IMO, mainly rooted in the Daniher association with Essendon. Just look at uncle Terry's comments (hence why I was bemused when people suggested Anthony's comments were evidence he was staying). Probably doesn't want to risk tarnishing that relationship.

is there any word on a supposed contract to daniher if we get him

It is likely, and de rigueur , to match at least his last year left. They claim he is one of the highest paid 800 - $1million (just guesses) .

If not followed and Swans land him? then given the circumstances I would recommend it would have to be heavily performance based.

This whole thing is smelling worse as it goes on.

It happens every year. 'Ducks and Drakes' played by player managers (on commission) to boost clients earnings.
The real big deals (that ARE serious) tend to take two years eg Tim Kelly.

Maybe the approach was real or
Maybe just trying to leverage an extension security deal out of Essendon?
Maybe, Harley / Swans wanted to help cripple their cap and begin a relationship for the favour (assistance) and possible future.
Maybe, it is a ruse to say to Papley "sheesh we tried" but we cannot replace you and all we were offered was X and you are better than that.
Maybe Papley's manager thinks he has an outstanding year and wanted a boo$t in incentive to stay?

Us ninnies never really knows what goes on, neither do the sensationalising beat up media, fully, until way after the event.

Just interesting guessing and being teased to fan interest.

There's a multitude of reasons IMO, mainly rooted in the Daniher association with Essendon. Just look at uncle Terry's comments (hence why I was bemused when people suggested Anthony's comments were evidence he was staying). Probably doesn't want to risk tarnishing that relationship.

Well known fact. Anthony Daniher and wife were filthy on Essendon over the drugs fiasco. Fact. Anthony Daniher has long standing friendships at Essendon Football Club but quite possibly wants Joe out of there as much as Joe wants out of there. You will always be diplomatic when risking fraCturing relationships with people you care about hence his comments of Joe staying. Essendon Football Club is a veritable cesspit. A House of Ill Repute.

Thankyou again wise one! Very muchly!!!!... if that is the truth it is GREAT NEWS!!!... he really doesn't want an extension but rather seriously wants be a Swan in 2021!

(Unless Essendon were offering peanuts? or big drop?)

Luvz and kisses to you and yours xox

Very strange , nothing from management and all this stuff about the players trying to block the trade , no contract extension offered but Dodoro hell bent on keeping him
If the player stuff is true, it's genuinely hilarious.

Could you imagine if Macca and JPK had gone to the club and pleaded with them to not honour Titch's trade request? I'd be embarrassed. What a rabble.

If the player stuff is true, it's genuinely hilarious.

Could you imagine if Macca and JPK had gone to the club and pleaded with them to not honour Titch's trade request? I'd be embarrassed. What a rabble.

It would have been kind of funny.

But they would have been smart.

If he was contracted for a year.

Funny. Not a single comment from anyone at Sydney. All the talk has been out of Essendon. Goes to show the discrepancy in professionalism between the two clubs.

Although its a bit frustrating, I do like that our club are completely silent. Won't make much difference if we don't make a good deal, but nothing is worse than playing these things out in the media (peter bell).

Richmond brought in Lynch after being the best team of the previous 2 years but didn't get rid of Edwards or Rioli or Castagna.
They utilised free agency. It is a very questionable exercise we are going through trying to get him now when all we have to do is take him next season. They won't match any offer because their cap is stuffed.

Richmond brought in Lynch after being the best team of the previous 2 years but didn't get rid of Edwards or Rioli or Castagna.
They utilised free agency. It is a very questionable exercise we are going through trying to get him now when all we have to do is take him next season. They won't match any offer because their cap is stuffed.

and even if they do match. The preseason draft is a live option.