List Mgmt. 2020 Draft Thread

Starting to think we will only get 2 top 25 picks. Will trade with Dons to get Reid or Cox using next years pick with one of this years. Then match the bid for Reef. Can someone reassure me this won’t happen??? Part of me wants to think we will get 4! But we still have those idiots in charge from the trade period. Please help calm my nerves!! [emoji38]

If a team bids on a player. To make up those points, does a team have to use their next pick as part of that?

Could we trade say 16 + Future 1st for 9 + 22. Use 9 and 14 on say Reid and Macrae then a bid comes in for Reef, would 22 have to be a part of that of could we use a collection of later picks to make up the amount and still use 22?

16 and Future First to the Crows for 9 and 22.

I legit think this is our best option on draft night provided someone's still on the draft board whom we want.

I guess uf someone bids 15-22 on Reef we could then just trade 22 for a third and a future third or something?
How long do we have on the clock when a Reef bid comes? Enough time to orchestrate a trade, then match a bid? Genuine question, I'm not sure

If a team bids on a player. To make up those points, does a team have to use their next pick as part of that?

Could we trade say 16 + Future 1st for 9 + 22. Use 9 and 14 on say Reid and Macrae then a bid comes in for Reef, would 22 have to be a part of that of could we use a collection of later picks to make up the amount and still use 22?
Pretty sure it goes 22 down until the points are accounted for, so we'd need to potentially be creative, if possible as per my query above ^

How long do we have on the clock when a Reef bid comes? Enough time to orchestrate a trade, then match a bid? Genuine question, I'm not sure
Last year was 5 minutes.

Not sure if its gonna be the same, or less.

But usually its enough time to do a trade.

Cox in action. Pictures: Dylan Burns/AFL Photos/Michael Klein

Nikolas Cox has put on 4kg since he was last spotted.

Nikolas Cox

Northern Knights — Key forward/defender, 200cm, 87kg

Cox certainly looks a lot different to the last time recruiters saw him with a footy in hand, putting on four kilograms in the NAB League shutdown. The mobile swingman has not lost any of his zip, either, looking quick and showing off his eloquent kicking on both sides.

Archie Perkins in action. Picture: Michael Willson/AFL Photos via Getty Images

Archie Perkins
Sandringham Dragons — Forward/midfielder, 188cm, 79kg

Recruiters would have been eager to see the athletic beast in action and he did not disappoint. Caught the eye with his explosiveness off the mark in a half-ground lead-up drill and is a hulking figure physically.

Macrae moves in a similar way to Jack.

Finlay Macrae is the half brother of Jack Macrae.

Finlay Macrae
Oakleigh Chargers — Midfielder, 186cm, 78kg

Looks to have built size over the year and his skills were superb as always. You cannot help but think of his half-brother, Western Bulldogs smooth-mover Jack Macrae, when you watch him in action.

Reef McInnes is a part of the Collingwood academy. Picture: Dylan Burns/AFL Photos

Reef McInnes
Oakleigh Chargers — Midfielder, 193cm, 86kg

Clean as a whistle during the ground-ball drills, gathering the footy off the deck at pace with no fumbles whatsoever. No mean feat for a midfielder standing 193cm.

Downie in action.

Connor Downie already has the size of an AFL footballer.

Connor Downie
Eastern Ranges — Defender/midfielder, 185cm, 82kg

You could have mistaken Downie for an AFL footballer considering his size on the field and professionalism off it, where the Chinese Next Generation Academy product – who is tied to Hawthorn - expressed his desire to be an AFL ambassador for China. He looked as comfortable among his peers on the training track as he did in the media scrum.

Conor Stone impressed with his speed and power. Picture: Michael Willson/AFL Photos

Conor Stone
Oakleigh Chargers — Forward 189cm, 83kg

Stone’s speed and power mix was on display on Wednesday after his combine results failed to reflect his impressive athletic traits.

Allison in action.

Matthew Allison was smooth across the ground.

Matt Allison
Calder Cannons — Key forward, 194cm, 81kg

The 194cm tall moved extremely well across the ground for a player his size and was sound with his disposal and overhead marking.

Joshua Eyre was solid in the marking contests. Picture: Michael Willson/AFL Photos

Josh Eyre
Calder Cannons — Key forward, 198cm, 85kg

Eyre was one of the surprise packets in the marking drill, winning a bunch of 1-on-1 contests against highly rated key position prospects. It caps off a stellar finish to the year for the Essendon NGA product after blitzing the Vic Country combine.

Clarke in action.

Joshua Clarke has put on considerable size.

Josh Clarke
Eastern Ranges — Defender, 182cm, 75kg

A strong breeze could have sent Clarke flying the last time recruiters saw the running defender. His rigorous gym program during the shutdown looks to have paid off and he appeared to be just as quick off the mark despite the extra size.

Jamarra Ugle-Hagan was impressive throughout. Picture: Michael Klein

Jamarra Ugle-Hagan
Oakleigh Chargers — Key forward, 195cm, 90kg

All eyes were on the pick one contender throughout the session with his familiar outstretched marks on the lead at full tilt and clean hands on show. The popular character blew out the cobwebs with a couple of miscued kicks which were met with friendly niggles and howls from his peers.

Hollands had a light run through.

Elijah Hollands is returning from a knee injury.

Elijah Hollands
Murray Bushrangers — Midfielder/forward, 189cm, 85kg

Hollands ran laps and took part in stationary kicking drills as he eases his way back from his anterior cruciate ligament injury. The potential number-one pick saved his best work for the pre-training interviews, joking about his unkempt hairdo.

Reid in action.

Zach Reid is a massive 202cm tall.

Zach Reid
Gippsland Power — Key defender, 202cm, 83kg

It was like watching a skilful wingman, until you remember he is 202cm. The key defender hit targets left, right and centre and held his own in 1-on-1 marking contests despite his slender build.

Bruhn (right) battles with [PLAYERCARD]Nick Stevens[/PLAYERCARD].

Bruhn (right) battles with Nick Stevens.
Tanner Bruhn was clean at ground level.

Tanner Bruhn
Geelong Falcons — Midfielder, 183cm, 74kg

Bruhn has had few opportunities to impress in the last two seasons, but eyes were drawn to him regardless. Glided across the ground and his clean hands at ground level were a highlight.

Ryan Angwin is slight but has some serious reach.

Ryan Angwin
Gippsland Power — Midfielder/defender, 184cm, 72kg

As one draft watcher remarked, there is a bit about this kid. The slight midfielder looks to have added size and had some great flashes with his kicking and agility.

Maher (left) battles with Harry Sharp.

Zavier Maher’s upper body strength is an asset.

Zavier Maher
Murray Bushrangers — Midfielder, 185cm, 82kg

Maher consistently won marking contests by out bodying opponents with his strong frame. The big-bodied midfielder also showcased his dash at stages.

Seamus Mitchell is another tall who has put on size.

Seamus Mitchell
Bendigo Pioneers — Forward, 181cm, 74kg

Another who is noticeably stronger, and he is difficult to miss with his hair flapping at the back – especially when you are moving at his pace. Has a great turn of speed.

Treacy was one of the best talls.

Josh Treacy was impressive through the air.

Josh Treacy
Bendigo Pioneers — Key forward, 194cm, 94kg

The focus was on Ugle-Hagan in the 1-on-1 marking drill, but it was Treacy who stole the show against him in front of a host of recruiters. Outmuscled the best player out there on one occasion to take a strong grab and was one of the most impressive Vic Country talls out there.

Dominic Bedendo
Murray Bushrangers — Forward/defender, 188cm, 74kg

After topping the charts nationally in the running vertical jump test at the combine, Bedendo’s tremendous leap was on full display in the marking drills, pulling down a couple of nice grabs. Plays taller than his height suggests because of his spring.

Nikolas Cox

Cox certainly looks a lot different to the last time recruiters saw him with a footy in hand, putting on four kilograms in the NAB League shutdown. The mobile swingman has not lost any of his zip, either, looking quick and showing off his eloquent kicking on both sides.

Archie Perkins

Recruiters would have been eager to see the athletic beast in action and he did not disappoint. Caught the eye with his explosiveness off the mark in a half-ground lead-up drill and is a hulking figure physically.

Finlay Macrae

Looks to have built size over the year and his skills were superb as always. You cannot help but think of his half-brother, Western Bulldogs smooth-mover Jack Macrae, when you watch him in action.

Reef McInnes

Clean as a whistle during the ground-ball drills, gathering the footy off the deck at pace with no fumbles whatsoever. No mean feat for a midfielder standing 193cm.

Downie in action.

Connor Downie

You could have mistaken Downie for an AFL footballer considering his size on the field and professionalism off it, where the Chinese Next Generation Academy product – who is tied to Hawthorn - expressed his desire to be an AFL ambassador for China. He looked as comfortable among his peers on the training track as he did in the media scrum.

Conor Stone

Stone’s speed and power mix was on display on Wednesday after his combine results failed to reflect his impressive athletic traits.

Allison in action.

Matt Allison

The 194cm tall moved extremely well across the ground for a player his size and was sound with his disposal and overhead marking.

Josh Eyre

Eyre was one of the surprise packets in the marking drill, winning a bunch of 1-on-1 contests against highly rated key position prospects. It caps off a stellar finish to the year for the Essendon NGA product after blitzing the Vic Country combine.

Clarke in action.

Josh Clarke

A strong breeze could have sent Clarke flying the last time recruiters saw the running defender. His rigorous gym program during the shutdown looks to have paid off and he appeared to be just as quick off the mark despite the extra size.

Jamarra Ugle-Hagan

All eyes were on the pick one contender throughout the session with his familiar outstretched marks on the lead at full tilt and clean hands on show. The popular character blew out the cobwebs with a couple of miscued kicks which were met with friendly niggles and howls from his peers.

Elijah Hollands

Hollands ran laps and took part in stationary kicking drills as he eases his way back from his anterior cruciate ligament injury. The potential number-one pick saved his best work for the pre-training interviews, joking about his unkempt hairdo.

Reid in action.

Zach Reid

It was like watching a skilful wingman, until you remember he is 202cm. The key defender hit targets left, right and centre and held his own in 1-on-1 marking contests despite his slender build.

Tanner Bruhn

Bruhn has had few opportunities to impress in the last two seasons, but eyes were drawn to him regardless. Glided across the ground and his clean hands at ground level were a highlight.

Ryan Angwin

As one draft watcher remarked, there is a bit about this kid. The slight midfielder looks to have added size and had some great flashes with his kicking and agility.

Zavier Maher

Maher consistently won marking contests by out bodying opponents with his strong frame. The big-bodied midfielder also showcased his dash at stages.

Seamus Mitchell

Another who is noticeably stronger, and he is difficult to miss with his hair flapping at the back – especially when you are moving at his pace. Has a great turn of speed.

Josh Treacy

The focus was on Ugle-Hagan in the 1-on-1 marking drill, but it was Treacy who stole the show against him in front of a host of recruiters. Outmuscled the best player out there on one occasion to take a strong grab and was one of the most impressive Vic Country talls out there.

Dominic Bedendo

After topping the charts nationally in the running vertical jump test at the combine, Bedendo’s tremendous leap was on full display in the marking drills, pulling down a couple of nice grabs. Plays taller than his height suggests because of his spring.

Treacy looks a unit

Phillips is apparently a huge Pies fan, wonder if he slipped to 9? Seems to be a tonne of players suddenly barging their way into Top 10 considerations...

WEIRDEST QUESTION YOU HAVE RECEIVED FROM A RECRUITER?

Elijah Hollands (Murray Bushrangers):
“One of the more curly ones, or the one I didn’t enjoy, was from Collingwood’s Derek Hine. I think Derek’s built a bit of a reputation for over the last couple of years of catching blokes off guard and did the same to me. He asked a couple of lifestyle questions, questions on how players could ruin their career. It wasn’t the question I was hoping for, so that caught me off guard and I had to think about that one for a sec.”

Connor Downie (Eastern Ranges): “One asked me, ‘What would you do if your mates got into a fight at the pub?’. That was a tough one.”

Jake Bowey (Sandringham Dragons): “An Adelaide bloke said, ‘Tell me what your English SAC (Year 12 exam) is on’. In sort of stumped me a fair bit because I hadn’t done any research but I did get an (answer) out.”

Sam Berry (Gippsland Power): “It’s probably not a question but I’ve been placed in some scenarios — ‘If you’re on a night out, what to do next’ and it went on for about 30 minutes, so that was pretty interesting. (I said) I’d just tried to play it safe.”

Zach Reid (Gippsland Power): “Probably similar to Sam, a scenario where my mate got in a fight in a pub and asked me how I would react. I would probably try to calm my mate down and it kind of went onto police getting involved.

WHO WOULD YOU TAKE AT PICK 1 IF YOU WERE ADELAIDE?

Archie Perkins (Sandringham Dragons):
“I would take Jamarra (Ugle-Hagan), 100 per cent.”

EH: “Logan McDonald. I think he has had a year that has really caught the eyes of recruiters and even some of the Victorian guys as well. To go out and do it in a senior state competition and really get himself playing his best footy now is something that can’t be disregarded.”

SB: “It’s pretty hard to go past Jamarra (Ugle-Hagan), but with the bid it’s obviously causing a lot of confusion, so honestly I’m not really sure.”

ZR: “I’d definitely bid on Jamarra first and if they match it I’d probably go Logan McDonald.”

CD: “I’d probably take Jamarra.”

JB: “I think Elijah Hollands is fairly close, his talent is unreal. And Logan McDonald is a forward who can kick goals and take marks, it’s pretty much up to team needs.”

WHICH PROSPECT WOULD TAKE THEMSELVES AT NO.1?

EH:
“Jamarra Ugle-Hagan. I think Jamarra would take himself in about half a second.”

SB: “Probably Elijah Hollands, he’d grab himself before anyone, I think.”

ZR: “I’d probably say Elijah as well, he’s pretty up and about. I think he (supports) Adelaide too.”

AP: “Jamarra. I think he wants that tag.”

CD: “Eddie Ford, he would take himself for sure. He loves it.”

JB: “I don’t want to get in anyone’s bad zone, I think anyone would love to go at pick 1.”

WHO HAVE YOU BEEN TOLD THAT YOU PLAY LIKE?

SB:
Caleb Serong.”

ZR:Harris Andrews is the main one, bit of Darcy Moore.”

AP: “A bit of Tim Taranto, I’ve heard that, and Connor Rozee.”

CD: “I’ve been told I play like Isaac Smith, similar left-foot outside game, I guess.”

JB:Caleb Daniel because of his height and his kicking but I also got Lachie Whitfield, so I’m pretty happy with those two.”

IF YOU HAVE TO MOVE INTERSTATE, WHAT WILL BE THE FIRST THING YOU’LL PACK?
EH:
“Maybe a PlayStation. FIFA is my go-to. Actually, that’s not right, I’d pack my golf clubs. I’ve been getting really into golf over the last couple of weeks – I wasn’t able to play for a long time and I’ve caught the bug. (I hit off) about 13, I’m bringing it down so I’m trying my best and hopefully I can get in single figures by the time I move away.”
SB: “Probably my pillow, I’ve got a pretty good one at the minute so I couldn’t let that go.”
AP: “Probably some clothes, I reckon, I might need them.”
CD: “Probably take a footy. Got to have it in my hand.”
JB: “Probably my phone charger, I had a few incidents at (Vic) Metro camps. I just forgot all about my phone charger and ended up buying one then jumped into bed and smashed it so I had to buy another one.”

IF YOU WERE CATERING FOR 10 PEOPLE, WHAT WOULD YOU COOK?
EH: “
Spaghetti bolognese – it’s very simple. It’s something that I’ve gotten to know over the last few months, so that would be my signature dish.”
SB: “I reckon I could do a mean barbecue and (make) some pretty good salads. Mum has taught me some salads to make, so I think I’d be all over it.”
ZR: “I’ll go with Sam again, a BBQ.”
AP: “I would cook some spaghetti bolognese, and guacamole is my speciality, so probably some nachos as well.”
CD: “Tuna pasta bake with cheese on top, nice and easy.”
JB: “Zambrero is pretty good so I’d probably order some Uber Eats.”
EH: “Will Phillips. I think Will is definitely one that would be a big chance, he doesn’t play too many bad games.”
SB: “I reckon Will Phillips. He’s going to go well.”
AP: “Jamarra.”

Starting to think we will only get 2 top 25 picks. Will trade with Dons to get Reid or Cox using next years pick with one of this years. Then match the bid for Reef. Can someone reassure me this won’t happen??? Part of me wants to think we will get 4! But we still have those idiots in charge from the trade period. Please help calm my nerves!! [emoji38]

Unless Essendon take both Reid and Cox

Nikolas Cox

Archie Perkins

Finlay Macrae

Reef McInnes

Downie in action.

Connor Downie

Conor Stone

Allison in action.

Matt Allison

Josh Eyre

Clarke in action.

Josh Clarke

Jamarra Ugle-Hagan

Elijah Hollands

Reid in action.

Zach Reid

Tanner Bruhn

Ryan Angwin

Zavier Maher

Seamus Mitchell

Josh Treacy

Dominic Bedendo

Sounds like there’s a couple more talls outside of the usual ones discussed that are worth looking at.

Cripps came last in the 3km (at the time) with an 11.55. You’re talking sh*t.
Apex... didn't Rendell say Cripps poor time trial was the reason we passed him over, because it was their mistaken belief he had no endurance. Maynard had a similar poor result but the Pies had learned from their Cripps mistake and were not going to make the same mistake twice

On SM-N975F using BigFooty.com mobile app

you cant trade after a bid is made.
I don't think that's true.

When Richmond bidded on a lions academy player last year, I feel like Brisbane got another club involved to get them some points. The clock even stopped for a while. Maybe even a third club was involved.

So we are going to draft someone with stress fractures in his back at 17! Can't we select someone with a clean bill of health for a change?
We tried that with Nathan Freeman... Didn't work out well so our prerequisite for recruiting is one or two ACLs or back fractures

On SM-N975F using BigFooty.com mobile app

List Mgmt. 2020 Draft Thread