List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part II

It's pretty obvious that Didildo has made it clear that he wants something in return if the Bummers manufacture Gresham's new contract to get us Band 1 compensation ..... and that something in return is the B1 comp pick .... and they will give us busted up Shiel and his contract .... if not then Band 2 or 3 it is or keep Gresham and if that's the case so be it

There is an absolutely nothing in it for us except a banged up Shiel and Doper's gets a shiny Rd1 DP

Its just Dodildo being Dodildo in other words being a stupid dumb cnt to think we would actually help them out cause certainly nothing in that deal that benefits us

Fair enough.

In that case we pay Gresham less, and you get a pick maybe in the 30's as compo - with no Sheil, #27 and F2.
Dear Christ how thick are these Muppets?? Its like the 2015 Carlisle trade all over again. We are seriously going to have to pin an explanation for Essendon fans written in crayon at the top of this thread (along with a warning for Bombers supporters not to eat the crayon).

The reason you pay Gresham Band 1 money is NOT to give St.Kilda a first round pick

The reason you pay Gresham lots of money is to get Gresham to choose Essendon

If you don't pay him him more cash than he is worth, the WHY THE ACTUAL F*********CK would Gresh go to a club with the % of a bottom 4 team, SFA talent under 24 and that hasn't won a final since before the IPhone was invented?

Stop acting like anyone wants to play for you for any other reason than truckloads of cash

Fair enough.

In that case we pay Gresham less, and you get a pick maybe in the 30's as compo - with no Sheil, #27 and F2.

In that case we match and you get nothing...

Fair enough.

if you offer him what will get us band 3 he doesnt go,he is after money,he doesnt love essendon

the only gray area is band 2,would he accept that money?would we accept band 2?thats where you need to focus

pick 13 to you is out,band 3 salary has gresh pull on #4 for the saints in 2024(or peak the interest of another club)

Fair enough.

Say goodbye to Gresham, buddy. He'll either be playing with us or a club who takes the deal seriously. Ross is happy to keep him, he's x-factor. Maybe could have been your missing piece. Never mind. Good luck!

The way I look at things is there is no guarantee that someone like Serong if picked by us turns out the same way, maybe things such as the club culture, certain players or coaches guidance or even just moving far from home helped make him the player he is. What I do know is that Howard has played well for us, Paddy helped Marshall develop into the played he is today and Hill on top of a good few years and a great finals performance helped us retain a homesick Nas and lure a number 9 pick to nominate us.

Ayj1kPsRfy2X.gif

Those who live in the past, die in the present.

The list of grievances and unprovable sliding doors is the most pathetic and psychotic I have witnessed from the past half dozen pre seasons.
Would have thought making the finals with the youngest list and second worst injury list would have been time for optimistic reflection.
Instead we get the incessant looking back 10 years, making up garbage as fact and constantly acting like victims and absolute fatalistic losers.
Really brings the forum down and it is a sad reflection on the mentality of some so called supporters.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Read that on your Daily Affirmations For Idiots calendar? If you don't acknowledge the past you keep making the same mistakes.What brings the forum down is the bickering. It takes two sides to argue about it and you are just as active. Your boorish and aggressive posting style is designed to rile people up to argue with you or ridicule people so they they feel like they need to justify their position. You then pretend that you own the superior position and try to wash your hands of any responsibility for the arguing. The forum certainly does reflect on the mentality of some posters.

I'm 100% about the club making good decisions that will help us fulfil our potential. Doing what we are doing with no eye on what went wrong last time doesn't seem a solid model.

That's not correct, it was widely spoken about on this forum before the trade that there were significant injury concerns.

Sydney wanted him off the books because he'd broken down in 2016 and was taking up a huge chunk of their cap. He was a pretty wayward off field too. Crashed Buddy's car into a row of cars and there were a lot of rumours about him being very keen on cocaine. I thought it must be some deal Lethlean had done with the AFL to help Sydney out and that some shonky deal would come back our way....but instead it looked like a straight salary dump.

I come in peace.

How would you guys feel about,

Saints:

Shiel + our #27 + our F2 + still have your #12

Bombers:

Gresham + your compo
You are totally dreaming if you think the Dopers are going to swap Shiel and get the Saints band 1 compo pick as part of the package. Sweet jaysus if that idea is getting any traction on the Bummers board then you’re all deluded. We want a first round draft pick. And in no universe is a banged up 31 y.o Shiel worth a first rounder.

Played in 20+ games in all but 3 seasons for the swans with one being his first season.
He had a calf niggle in 2018 but that's about it in terms of soft tissue. It's not surprising that his form dipped significantly following the 2016 grand final after he got bashed. Even still played 15 games in 2018

Go back and read some of the posts coming up to trading for him. He was gone after 2016. If Sydney had thought that he might come good they wouldn't have let him go. We knew it too. We kept claiming that our medicos were the best in the AFL and that even if he was busted his leadership and standards were worth the coin. That's despite not getting Freezer back together.

Hannebery had little to no soft tissue injuries at Sydney. They all developed at St Kilda, he was cooked ever since his knock in the 2016 Grand Final to his knee.

Dumb trade but lets not make up false narratives about his injuries at St Kilda being related to his time at Sydney

Exactly.

He missed 5 games with a crook knee in his last year with Sydney.

Did a bad string preseason with us, then broke his ankle when he was pissed… then it went downhill from there.

He cost us very little… revisionist stuff by the usual moaners.

The way I look at things is there is no guarantee that someone like Serong if picked by us turns out the same way, maybe things such as the club culture, certain players or coaches guidance or even just moving far from home helped make him the player he is. What I do know is that Howard has played well for us, Paddy helped Marshall develop into the played he is today and Hill on top of a good few years and a great finals performance helped us retain a homesick Nas and lure a number 9 pick to nominate us.

Ayj1kPsRfy2X.gif

I've never got this argument. You'd think we were the worst organisation in footy, good players are good players. Bont went to the 4th worst side in the AFL, Melbourne were probably worse than us when Petracca went there. Freo were rebuilding when they got Serong and he's helped pull them back up. Nothing to guarantee that we would have made a good choice and taken them though. Talent tends to rise though.

Paddy was great for a couple of seasons but I think Marshall was held back as much as he was helped. He was better as a solo ruck before and afterwards. Howard has been fine but paid too much for a fringe tall, more about buying up a level of developed talent that makes you more competitive instantly but means you have much less scope for improvement and doomed to plateau mid table unless a miracle happens.

List builds really need someone who can work out where you are sitting in the cycle. Sitting in the bottom 6 lists ... you have to go hard at the top end of the draft for a few years. Once you have a bedrock of good young talent like we do with Owens, Windhager, King, Phillipou etc, you then decorate with a few really targeted hole fillers to plug holes for players who were drafted that didn't come on through FA and trades.

You hit a surge up the ladder and attract good players wanting in and get some cream and cherries for your cake. Brisbane did it a second time after an initial stuff-up era and and built a consistent competitive side and probably have a flag at the end of it.

The way we are doing it a bit like having the ingredients list but none of the method instructions for making the cake. Hopefully we throw things in a bowl and it all works out but it's messy and experimental instead of structured.

Those who live in the past, die in the present.

The list of grievances and unprovable sliding doors is the most pathetic and psychotic I have witnessed from the past half dozen pre seasons.
Would have thought making the finals with the youngest list and second worst injury list would have been time for optimistic reflection.
Instead we get the incessant looking back 10 years, making up garbage as fact and constantly acting like victims and absolute fatalistic losers.
Really brings the forum down and it is a sad reflection on the mentality of some so called supporters.

Z.jpg Z.jpg

Ayj1kPsRfy2X.gif
100% agree and not only because you included a Black Books gif.

drink-drinking.gif

Fair enough.

Have you morons actually thought about why we would go to the trouble of getting that pick only to hand it over for an over paid, old, injury prone player your mob are trying to offload that is worth a pick in the 50’s? He is a Luke hodge, Gary Ablett, Jordan Lewis type trade bad half as good and getting paid double what he is worth.

Do yourself a favour and stop spreading the stupidity. It’s embarrassing.

I guess at least we aren't Freo with Neale. Gave him up for pick 6 and 19 and gave back 30. Traded them out and got **** all out of it.

Missed Ben King with the pick 6. Could also have had Butters or Bailey Smith. Ended up with Sturt and Vallente.

If we do this deal fold the club. That's *in horrendous
So the article reckons 750k would be about enough whilst also noting the CBA is going up 30% so it's very affordable.
Why the AFL wouldn't then raise the threshold 30% isn't mentioned, but that does push their own figure out to $1M.

How anyone has bought in to this l really don't know. They won't let it happen.

Read that on your Daily Affirmations For Idiots calendar? If you don't acknowledge the past you keep making the same mistakes.What brings the forum down is the bickering. It takes two sides to argue about it and you are just as active. Your boorish and aggressive posting style is designed to rile people up to argue with you or ridicule people so they they feel like they need to justify their position. You then pretend that you own the superior position and try to wash your hands of any responsibility for the arguing. The forum certainly does reflect on the mentality of some posters.

I'm 100% about the club making good decisions that will help us fulfil our potential. Doing what we are doing with no eye on what went wrong last time doesn't seem a solid model.
No, it's not the bickering that brings the forum down, it's being forced to acknowledge the same past mistakes over and over and over and over......

WE all know the club has pulled some absolute whoppers. We don't need daily reminders that we're crap, combined with a repetitive spiel that everything we do is wrong. It's like the forum version of a nutter standing on a soapbox in the town square with a sign hanging around his neck that says "the end is nigh!".......

We don't operate in a vacuum, every club has made blunders, some big, some small. The science of drafting has improved dramatically over the years, and far less "massive" blunders are made, but predicting the future trajectory of a recruits development is still very inexact and always will be, due to the human element.

In between time, the reports that we get about the trade period are guesses from media flogs, or worse, hypotheticals from bored footy forum nuffies with even less clues. How about we save the doom and gloom, and the melts, until we have ACTUALLY ****ed something up, instead of rolling them out daily, weeks ahead of the trade period.

At the moment its repetitive hearing about how crap we are going, when we actually haven't done anything!! They're still playing footy for Christs sake.......

I also come in peace.

Do we just skip all this nonsense about Shiel, and you guys just take the band 2 compo and be done with it?
End of first round pick - 19 for you guys and away we go.

FWIW I also laugh at the thought of you guys giving us 13 in any deal for Shiel, I think it’s shocking for you. But Gresham also isn’t worth anywhere near band 1.
Handy player but even band 2 is pushing it.

I know you’ll argue “we’ll just keep him and you get nothing” but there’s too much noise, and reported too many places about you guys wanting him out and happy to let him go.
Just because Ross went on 360 and said “they told us not to make an offer, we want to keep him” doesn’t make it so, what else was he gonna say?
“Oh nah we’re pushing him out the door” no worries here’s your band 3 from us at best then [emoji23] it would be bad practice from you guys to state that publicly and not get yourselves a good deal. Band 2 is a good deal, you take 19 and go to the draft or use it in a trade however you see fit.
No one else is paying him band 1 without getting something good back in return so your not gonna go to another club and try get it there, he’s just not worth it.
But a handy player, I’ll happily have him for a fair price.
Anyway, enjoy the day.

Fair enough.

Ralph’s original article is most likely correct.

We will match Gresham at Band 3.

You increase the compo we will trade a later pick and take Shiel and his salary (which is greater then Greshams band 1 deal)

So you get Gresham for the next 5+ years and we take the corpse of Shiel and his million dollars for a band 1 compo.

There isn’t a scenario where you walk away here 😂

You want Gresham - so the idle threat of “well we walk away” doesn’t exist

God you spout some garbage sometimes, we still have 4 of the five players on the list, Hill was our best in the finals and easily his best year under Ross and Wood played just as well as Acres.
Hannebery was 6 years ago [emoji849].

You really come out with crap sometimes. Set us back years [emoji849]. FMD

Hindsight’s a wonderful thing…Hannebery was worth a shot, unfortunately didn’t work.
Not drafting Bont and Petracca far more damaging!!