List Mgmt. 2026 Draft and Trade Thread

Depends how you measure these things. By my eye he's down (and champion data)
I think Chad was at his most damaging and evasive when he was an unknown but the difference now is all the scouting reports that put him at the top of the list with his tells and running patterns. I think Chad and the team are now in a position where we don’t have to incessantly push the Chad button as we used to. McInerney’s emergence and quality is evidence of this policy.

Here's the question. What will we have greatest need for in both the short and longer term?
At the moment the only certain retiree is Adams. Probables are Rampe and Hamling although both look OK at this end of the season. Possibles Cunningham and Lloyd but both look a very good chance to go around again. It's too early to tell if any of the youngsters shouldn't get at least another year.
Who might choose to leave or get pushed out? McLean, Cleary, Snell for more opportunities. Amartey for a bigger contract. Can't honestly see anyone else.
So I'm predicting a very quiet trade and draft period for us.
Still - gaps:
Tall defenders 6
McCartin, Melican, Edwards, Snell, Hamling, Andrew. That's enough. I'd give Hamling another year if he's going OK. Not sure that Andrew will make it but he's got the rest of this year and next. And there's Serong.
Medium/Small defenders. 8
Mills, Blakey, Wicks, Cunningham, Bice, Bowman, Kyle (probably), Rampe.
Rucks. Hmmm. 3
Grundy, Ladhams, Green, McLean? All contracted. Probably not.
Tall forwards. 7
Curnow, Amartey, McDonald, McLean, Hetherton. We missed a possibility. The age gap from McLean/Amartey to Hetherton is too big but there's no way to fix that. Max King and Chamberlain are tall but not keys. Might be able to fill a role.
Small/Medium forwards. 8
No problem when topped up with mids.
Lloyd, Campbell, Papley, Rosas, Dattoli, CoWarner, Cootee, Hanily. Did well last season.
Mids. 12
Top line is good but skinny on quality (ie experienced) depth.
Heeney, Warner, Gulden, McInerney, Jordon, Rowbottom, Sheldrick, Cleary, Adams, Philippou, Serong, Roberts.
For mine I would look for midfield reinforcements, especially if they were Brisbane style forward/mids or at least one inside mid unless we see Robbo in that role in future.
If we see Hamling and/or Andrew falling off the twig a tall defender if available.
From the Academy we MIGHT have McGroder (tall defender) and McCartney (tall forward) if they don't choose their alternatives.
RUNVS and Membling would have a better idea of who else might be worth considering and how well they might fit our needs.

For 2026:
McGroder - KPP/utility
McCartney - KPF
W. Jenkin - hff/mid
G. Jenkin -hff/mid

Rookies?
Price - Mid
Blackwell-Smith - mid
Morahan - KPD
Medved - third tall

For mine, none should be above about pick 30 as it currently stands but huge amount of time left yet.

2027 has some genuine talent in it, which coincides with our 2027 glut of OOC players and Tassie coming in

For 2026:
McGroder - KPP/utility
McCartney - KPF
W. Jenkin - hff/mid
G. Jenkin -hff/mid

Rookies?
Price - Mid
Blackwell-Smith - mid
Morahan - KPD
Medved - third tall

For mine, none should be above about pick 30 as it currently stands but huge amount of time left yet.

2027 has some genuine talent in it, which coincides with our 2027 glut of OOC players and Tassie coming in
Ive been impressed with the last 2

I’m finding it hard to evaluate them because there have been so many solid contributors across our impressive Summer Series start to the season. And the opposition wasn’t that hot, even the Giants academy side.

I’m looking forward to - eventually - seeing them in action against their peers in the CTL sides. It might make it easier to spot who has some potentially elite traits that could see then drafted.

It’s also worth bearing in mind that Harry Kyle didn’t stand out as a no 14 selection this time last year.

I’m finding it hard to evaluate them because there have been so many solid contributors across our impressive Summer Series start to the season. And the opposition wasn’t that hot, even the Giants academy side.

I’m looking forward to - eventually - seeing them in action against their peers in the CTL sides. It might make it easier to spot who has some potentially elite traits that could see then drafted.

It’s also worth bearing in mind that Harry Kyle didn’t stand out as a no 14 selection this time last year.
Harry was if my memory serves me right considered like the 4th or maybe 5th best Swan at this point in the season.

Certainly was behind King, Chamberlain and McNamara but can't remember if there was another at the start of the year that dropped off

Harry was if my memory serves me right considered like the 4th or maybe 5th best Swan at this point in the season.

Certainly was behind King, Chamberlain and McNamara but can't remember if there was another at the start of the year that dropped off
You’ve overlooked (or forgotten) Carmichael. Out of sight, out of mind.

I knew it was someone forgot that we just didn't match him. Yes I know its early but it hasn't cost us too much yet

He’s injured
Nah he has played both games in the VFL for Footscray and had 19 and 22 disposals, pretty decent start from him but like many of have said, he doesn't have that mega upside that King or Kyle.

One more manic pressure goal scorer to go along with Rosas and Papley would make our forward line complete.

With Amartey and Curnow getting the good soft drops in front of the pack, having a 3rd goal sneak would be awesome.

Hanily is not it either.

One more manic pressure goal scorer to go along with Rosas and Papley would make our forward line complete.

With Amartey and Curnow getting the good soft drops in front of the pack, having a 3rd goal sneak would be awesome.

Hanily is not it either.
Datolli is the guy but who goes out? What's the forward setup?

Cunningham or Lloyd are the main HFF but can't see either of them being dropped

Sad about King injury as there is a spot for him and Braden IMO to take off these two vets
While I’m always keen on future planning the team for the long term, Lloyd and Cunningham are doing a pretty good job and have the experience and intelligence to perform a variety of roles for the team across the ground.

They are going to be some of the most important players in the team at the pointy end of the season. Particularly with smart teams like Hawthorn, Geelong and Collingwood bobbing around you need players that can effectively assess and communicate what’s happening on the footy field to counter the tactics and structure of the opposition.

Campbell and especially King won’t offer that in 2026. Dattoli deserves a spell in the seniors and I hope we can get him up to scratch in time to be in the conversation for finals selection at the end of the year but ultimately he’s not a player I’d be relying on during September either.

While I’m always keen on future planning the team for the long term, Lloyd and Cunningham are doing a pretty good job and have the experience and intelligence to perform a variety of roles for the team across the ground.

They are going to be some of the most important players in the team at the pointy end of the season. Particularly with smart teams like Hawthorn, Geelong and Collingwood bobbing around you need players that can effectively assess and communicate what’s happening on the footy field to counter the tactics and structure of the opposition.

Campbell and especially King won’t offer that in 2026. Dattoli deserves a spell in the seniors and I hope we can get him up to scratch in time to be in the conversation for finals selection at the end of the year but ultimately he’s not a player I’d be relying on during September either.
Tbf I thought I was in the GWS thread not the trade thread so please ignore my post

One thing that we seem to have brought back ( after a period where it seemed like we had a few misses) is the ability to identify players than can excel if giving the chance.

Grundy - ok he’s always been an enormous talent and a star ruck but he was written off by what seemed like the entire industry 2 years before he got here. He has more than flourished here and is playing close to career best footy.

JJ was under-utilised at demons and has transformed into the premier stopper.

It’s pretty early to tell with serong and Rosas but both having put a foot wrong. Serong especially looks like he is scratching th surface of what he is capable of and it’s not a stretch to imagine he’s going to go to another level.

We may not be in the market for a star this year , but all of a sudden if we are linked to a mid level player , theres reason to get very very excited

One thing that we seem to have brought back ( after a period where it seemed like we had a few misses) is the ability to identify players than can excel if giving the chance.

Grundy - ok he’s always been an enormous talent and a star ruck but he was written off by what seemed like the entire industry 2 years before he got here. He has more than flourished here and is playing close to career best footy.

JJ was under-utilised at demons and has transformed into the premier stopper.

It’s pretty early to tell with serong and Rosas but both having put a foot wrong. Serong especially looks like he is scratching th surface of what he is capable of and it’s not a stretch to imagine he’s going to go to another level.

We may not be in the market for a star this year , but all of a sudden if we are linked to a mid level player , theres reason to get very very excited
Understand your feeling for sure but creating the vacancies without losing top level or promising players will be painful. Adams the only one from the senior list you would imagine is a dead cert to leave.
Rampe, Cunningham, Lloyd and Hamling still Top 23 quality and only Cunningham is on the senior list.
No dead set duds.
At least 4 high potential players from the Academy (per Membling).
We may not take anyone not from the Academy.

Understand your feeling for sure but creating the vacancies without losing top level or promising players will be painful. Adams the only one from the senior list you would imagine is a dead cert to leave.
Rampe, Cunningham, Lloyd and Hamling still Top 23 quality and only Cunningham is on the senior list.
No dead set duds.

Reckon on Guy Jenkin and McCartney go in the main draft from the academy this year.

Bit of a chook raffle with some for rookie spots with all of Morahan, Price, Blackwell-Smith, McGroder, Medved, Smith and Meaney worth a look.

Reckon this years league and allie selection will tell us a fair bit.

2027 could be our best crop ever (depending on development, injury, etc etc) in terms of sheer amount taken at national draft. All of Mclennan, Mok, Epis, Delaney-Fielding, Cairns, Hardy, Macri and Marshall-Orr look main draft worthy as it currently stands.

U16s haven't seen much. Keam looks a good size whereas Micheletti has great skills but is undersized at this point in time. Sheridan also on the radar but waaaayyyy too much time before 2028 draft (or 2027 for that matter)

No dead set duds.
I'm pretty convinced we see some mid range talent from the Acadmey next few years, hence why we were willing to give up picks for Curnow. Kids we can get 2nd-3rd types, not Kyle types if that makes sense.

Pretty much or we back ourselves mid draft with the picks. I mean this years one looks barely a downgrade (we own Carl’s second rounder in exchange for our first rounder).

We have options and it may or may not be academy

Some chatter on both Classified and Agenda Setters the Commission, specifically Craig Drummond are cooling on making the changes to the bidding system this year.

Clubs got into people's ears during Gather Round, and Drummond wants to take another look at things.

Discussed a bit in this article (last story):

WHY THERE’S ‘GROWING HOPE’ OF AFL CHANGE OF HEART

Some chatter on both Classified and Agenda Setters the Commission, specifically Craig Drummond are cooling on making the changes to the bidding system this year.

Clubs got into people's ears during Gather Round, and Drummond wants to take another look at things.

For crying out loud, as per usual the AFL can never make a decision properly. Seriously can we stop the mess. one way or another make a decision will you, it will be better for ALL clubs. Surely a call has to be made in the next two weeks, surely

Its the biggest nothing piece, not going to happen and pretty sure Swann has already come out and said that the proposal will go through. Its just media needing a story because they need a job

It better go through so I hope you are right.

They had to delay the 2024 changes because Carlton complained.

Now they are going to do it again.

And Carlton, and the media, will still paint Carlton has a victim in all this.