Sacramento Kings
After a very good win at the Subiaco Oval its now time to turn our attention to Friday night and a game against Collingwood at Telstra Dome. With Collingwood coming off a thumping from Brisbane and us coming of a trip to Perth, this promises to be a huge hurdle for us.

IN: Welsh, Bode
OUT: Belgey, ??????

I thought Begley was very ordinary today. He gave his opponent way too much room. One would think that Bode will recover from flu and should be up for selection after a solid week on the track, but who comes out for him. Another upside for bringing Bode in is that he would be fresh after a week off and would not feel the effects of long trip to Perth.

Key Match Ups

Tyson Stenglein Vs Nathan Buckley
One would think that Stenglein will get the big job on Buckley. He has done it in the past with mixed results. Hopefully Stenglein can play as well as he did today against Cousins and keep Buckley ineffective.

Robert Shirley Vs Scott Burns
Burns is one of thoose players that seems to get under our guard. He has had a teriffic season and will need some close attention if we are to win. Shirley has been superb as a tagger and would be an obvious choice for this job

Nigel Smart Vs Chris Tarrant
Tarrant gave Ben Hart run around last time we played. Smart has played on tarrant in the past and has a good record on him. Smart played very well today and would have to play almost his best footy to shut down Tarrant who has been in sensational form. Smart would have to perform as well as he did against Lloyd.

Ken McGregor Vs Anthony Rocca
Whenever Kenny got this job, Rocca has been very quiet in each game. So i would expect Kenny to get the job again and do his usual underrated work that will see him beat his opponent.

Jason Torney Vs Alan Didak
Didak is a very dangerous player that is capable of kicking 5 goals in a space of 5 minutes. Jason Torney has played on him in hte past and done a very good job. Keeping Didak quiet robs Collingwwod of a serious crumbing option.

Nathan Bassett Vs Jarrod Molloy
Suprisingly Molloy has plyed some very good football of late. I see Bassett as the perfect match up. Hound will certainly match him up physically and can run off Molloy to create headaches for Collingwood.

Thoughts??????

Riddle me this:

How is Carey going to be?

How is Pretigiacomo going to be?

How has Wakelin been?

Their defence is the weak spot I reckon, seeing how our attack is blossoming I'm a tiny bit confident that we won't get absolutely smashed. Us by a point, but let's see what happens during the week.

Does any Adelaide forward know of these amazing things called gloves? We'd be able to hold onto marks if we started using those gloves other sides' forwards use to get a better grip on the ball!

Originally posted by DaveW
Can't we at least savour the victory in Perth before thinking about next week? :)
Nop!!!!!! No time to celebrate, we have a lot of work to do to win the premiership. Once we do that, then its time to savour the victory.;)

Originally posted by Leigh
How is Carey going to be?

Does anyone know how bad Careys knee is? will he miss any??
If he plays, He'll run riot at the Dome!

Word of warning. Anyone planning to come over for the game or anyone who lives here in Melbourne....
GET YOUR TICKETS A.S.A.P

This is almost a guaranteed sell out.:)

I hate going on about matchups but here goes...
Shirley on Woewoedin would seem a good option.

This blonde headed little twirp will have fond memories of the last time we met and should be negated before Burns.

Originally posted by topjars
I hate going on about matchups but here goes...
Shirley on Woewoedin would seem a good option.

This blonde headed little twirp will have fond memories of the last time we met and should be negated before Burns.

Spot on tj,

Shirley on Woewodin
Stenglein on Buckley

The pies will be spewing after their miserable effort against the Lions & Malthouse will be making sure they do their penance on the track all week,

Best thing about their loss on sat was that they failed to score a goal in the last 1/4,

Yet the game isn't at the MCG, because of course there are more deserving sides such as.......... Geelong and Melbourne?!

Fat Eddie probably requested the dome, so his players to get mud in there fingernails on the wet MCG:rolleyes:

Just heard on 5AA News that Carey isn't expected to miss any games after re-opening that gash..:cool:

Carey will be right no dramas there,if Welsh is right bring him straight back in also same with Massie and Bode if he is okay.

Outs: Skipworth,Begely and ???????

Thought Skipworth was quite good today though,he is one we should be preparing for the future;)

Carey,are we seeing the Carey of old?????How many times in the past have you seen him one one and hold out a defender and take a one handed mark;) ;) ;) Fair Dinkum he was great again today set up so many opportunities for others plus booted three of his own..................AFC gamble is starting to pay dividens;) :D ;)

According to Phil Harper, Carey is 50-50 for the Collingwood game and will be assesed during the week. He required 5-6 stitches in the knee.

Reading between the lines, Carey will miss the match against Collingwood.:(

Yeah I doubt if he'll play.
The club will have a short time for the thing to knit and may just toy with Collingwood suggesting he will play.

Damn shame though as thats arguably his best game so far and unless we get Welsh back we could be in strife.

$64 question is...

Does he play with a gashed knee this week or does he miss a couple of weeks?

I say couple because erring on the side of caution would leave him out against his old club...no good stirrin 'em up too much hehe

Originally posted by topjars
$64 question is...

Does he play with a gashed knee this week or does he miss a couple of weeks?
I don't see the point of playing him if there is the slightest of risks. This is not the time to risk players especially not the ones that are very important to our premiership chances. Give him a week or 2 off and then let him out come Showdown and the finals.

One thing is for sure, Welsh (if fit) and Bode are definite inclusions but if Carey doesn't come up do we take a punt with Stevo or do we rely on Perrie at CHF and Welsh at FF??????

I didn't see channel 7 or 9 sport but on channel 10 they said Carey was set to defy the medicos and play on Friday night.

I doubt he'll get past Ayresy though.

Originally posted by ant
I didn't see channel 7 or 9 sport but on channel 10 they said Carey was set to defy the medicos and play on Friday night.

Not worth the risk! - it took two weeks to heal enough to play and look at what happened then!

Peter Larkins reckons 3 or 4!

Originally posted by ant
Thats pretty funny.:D :D :D :D :D :D

Seriously I watched a bit of Ch7 and the cut looks pretty deep but its not as wide. This time he only needed 6 stiches. He was running this morning during recovery session and looked more comfortable but running and playing footy are 2 different worlds.

I doubt he will play as its not worth the risk at this time of the year.

Originally posted by dezzmo
Peter Larkins reckons 3 or 4!
He always wacks on a couple. When Wayne hit the post against Essendon Doc thought that Carey might need another arthroscopy as the knee would go back to being "runny" againg.

Obviously he is a doctor and knows what he is talking about but he does like to wack on a week or 2. I would be very surprised if we don't see him back for the showdown.

B: 34 8 9

HB: 7 16 36

C: 32 12 24

HF: 20 22 40

F: 5 17 18

R: 4 23 26

INT: 35, 28, 3, 12

IN: 17, 3

OUT: 2, 14

EMG: 10 14 33

EDIT: Yes Dave cheers, the bloody cut and paste works too well at times.

Originally posted by Leigh
B: 34 8 9

HB: 7 16 36

C: 32 20 24

HF: 23 22 40

F: 5 17 18

R: 4 23 20

INT: 35, 26, 3, 12

IN: 17, 3

OUT: 2, 28
Cryptic.

It'd be nice if we did have two McLeods and two Stengleins. But I think you're going to have to find another couple of players.

Wish you didn't quote that as Stiffy will get surely get me back for when I had a crack at him the other week.

What are you guys thinking,Carey will PLAY IMO if he is running at recovery,and I realise that there is a BIG difference between running and playing footy,this is a very important game in the context of where we finish,top four is now a priority if the AFC are going to have a serious shot at the flag:D :D :D

Ins: Welsh,Massie maybe Stevo

Outs: Skipworth,Begely and maybe Shirley