Anthony Albanese - How long?

How long for Albo?

• This poll will close: .

I thought you were being sarcastic but you actually think a politician with a degree in commercial law understands the science and is representing that interest and not the political interest.

A politician... with a degree in commercial law...
Is there any scientists in Australian politics?

CBA CEO makes a play at trying to convince bosses to stifle wage growth of 90% of the CBA's customers so that rich people like himself can make off with the loot.

FZ6u8bGaAAECjiz

FZ6u9H2acAA-60E

FZ6u93OaAAAWRcd

Disappointing. Just more suppression of wages.

If Labor doesn't improve the wellbeing of workers meaningfully before the next election I'm guaranteed to preference Independents or the Greens above them.

The LNP can't be trusted on this either. Historically they're even worse.

Lol. The blind love in here is so deluded. Labor and albo is just a slightly watered down version of every gov before him. Grace tame has unleashed on him after she backing him in pre election. Rightly so. He represents nothing different.
What did Grace say? (genuine question)

And I'm not seeing as much blind love here from the rusted ons on the left as there was blind love for LNP from their rusted ons pre election - though I accept there are huge differences between the Green/ more left posters and where the ALP is, so they are still providing appropriate criticism.

I thought you were being sarcastic but you actually think a politician with a degree in commercial law understands the science and is representing that interest and not the political interest.

A politician... with a degree in commercial law...

Maybe someone explained it to her , but she's broadly right. I'd probably disagree on the details.

You will believe anything or your are full of it.It's because of people like you that this planet is fcked.

Give me the money and the gas and i could halve the electricity generation emissions from Australia.
( that would not be my suggested solution though ).
Its not BELIEF , its physics.

Albanese: "The first rule of power grab club is don't talk about power grab club. And Scott Morrison broke that rule today."

Why does every politician in this country insist on talking like a dickhead?
That’s the second rule

Albanese: "The first rule of power grab club is don't talk about power grab club. And Scott Morrison broke that rule today."

Why does every politician in this country insist on talking like a dickhead?
His 'stealth bulldozer' term didn't land either. As much as we loved to make fun of Bill Shorten's zingers, they were often quite good in a daggy dad joke kind of way.

Every Labor politician aspires to having compilations of their one liners akin to Keating, but most are not the orators he was.

I do try to use 'he's a shiver looking for a spine to run up' more often than I probably should.

Finally!

Keep going Bowen!

That stuff is very dumbed down by politicians.

Carbon Dioxide is not "dirty"
Car makers don't "dump" their dirty cars here, they don't need to dump anything. They don't accidently build dirty ones and need to get rid of them, they build the cars that they think they can sell the most of in Australia.

In its purest form a petrol engine adds oxygen (from air ) to carbon ( petrol ) and produces energy and CO2.
Unless you have amazing fluctuations in efficiency from engine to engine, ( which they don't really ), to produce less CO2 per km, you need to used less energy per Km. When the USA used to have manufacturer fleet average requirements they lightened their vehicles. A Commodore sold in the USA as a Pontiac had an Aluminium hood for example. Pretty much a money for weight trade off.

That means things like this happen.
They would not even consider Australia in such a decision, and would not keep making an engine so they could "dump" it into the Australian market.

I would be interested in knowing any vehicle manufacturer that is building a "dirty" engine especially for the Australian market. Please someone name one.
Car makers will make what they make, they will select some of the products they make to sell into Australia.
Its a political cheat for electric cars , because they are considered zero emissions whether you charge them with Loy Yang or a nuclear power plant.

Australians who like having a super monster heavy awd company ute, to take up the bush each weekend will blame the labour party for it, but eventually it was going to happen anyway.
Will Australians want to have smaller less powerful vehicles so they can be driven with less CO2 per km? Maybe not.

To boost electric vehicle uptake means....trying to make petrol cars as expensive as electric cars.
There will be plenty of people who take this as " labor are making a hilux more expensive i wont vote for them "

Car makers don't "dump" their dirty cars here, they don't need to dump anything. They don't accidently build dirty ones and need to get rid of them, they build the cars that they think they can sell the most of in Australia.

In its purest form a petrol engine adds oxygen (from air ) to carbon ( petrol ) and produces energy and CO2.
Unless you have amazing fluctuations in efficiency from engine to engine, ( which they don't really ), to produce less CO2 per km, you need to used less energy per Km. When the USA used to have manufacturer fleet average requirements they lightened their vehicles. A Commodore sold in the USA as a Pontiac had an Aluminium hood for example. Pretty much a money for weight trade off.

They would not even consider Australia in such a decision, and would not keep making an engine so they could "dump" it into the Australian market.

I would be interested in knowing any vehicle manufacturer that is building a "dirty" engine especially for the Australian market. Please someone name one.
Car makers will make what they make, they will select some of the products they make to sell into Australia.
Its a political cheat for electric cars , because they are considered zero emissions whether you charge them with Loy Yang or a nuclear power plant.

Australians who like having a super monster heavy awd company ute, to take up the bush each weekend will blame the labour party for it, but eventually it was going to happen anyway.
Will Australians want to have smaller less powerful vehicles so they can be driven with less CO2 per km? Maybe not.

To boost electric vehicle uptake means....trying to make petrol cars as expensive as electric cars.
There will be plenty of people who take this as " labor are making a hilux more expensive i wont vote for them "
The world has moved on mate, people are screaming for affordable electric cars.
We are that far behind the rest of the world it's embarrassing.
The best solution is to subsidise electric cars.
Who cares if they call carbon 'dirty' . You can call it 'destructive to civilisation in large amounts' if you want to be truthful.
When Mikalea Cash went on her rant about tradies not being able to drive utes, it was one of the most backward disgusting press conferences in Australia's history.

They don't make cars they think will sell here. They make cars they think they can sell, then sell here, the ones they can sell here. They are dumping cars here because we have about the lowest fuel and emission standards in the developed world.

Most new car development by international carmakers is to develop cars that meet more stringent US or European (or Japanese or Korean or....) standards.

Increasingly, we don't see those cars here, because why would they, when they can sell us cars built to old standards that they can no longer sell in those places, and most of the new cars aren't suitable for Australia's lower quality fuel.

International standards are going to keep rising, and nobody is going to make cars just for us. We will get the obsolete leftovers.

On moto g(6) plus using BigFooty.com mobile app

The world has moved on mate, people are screaming for affordable electric cars.
We are that far behind the rest of the world it's embarrassing.
The best solution is to subsidise electric cars.
Who cares if they call carbon 'dirty' . You can call it 'destructive to civilisation in large amounts' if you want to be truthful.
When Mikalea Cash went on her rant about tradies not being able to drive utes, it was one of the most backward disgusting press conferences in Australia's history.

Its true people are moving towards electric cars. Our politicians can't make them more affordable without subsidy. The emissions thing is about making internal combustion cars more expensive.
But we really need to start with our electricity supply. Running electric cars on coal is far less than ideal.
In the last few days we've seen victoria running up to 70% solar/wind electricity during the day, but at night , when people want to charge their car , Coal.

My point about the carbon, was that an internal combustion engine won't function without it. All the other pollutants, NOx , Sulpher dioxides, are polluting by products. The CO2 is intrinsic. You want to limit , you are actually limiting internal combustion engines. I find it a bit political to pretend its an "emission control " issue.

We aren't behind the rest of the world with cars, all our cars are from the rest of the world. They are NOT making them especially for us.
We also have a country with a lot of wide open spaces, and its nowhere near as easy as Europe to roll out charge stations.

Tradie utes are a fiasco. Why should you get a tax break for a vehicle you primarily use to drive up the bush on weekends.
If its a business vehicle, i'd suggest that some of those optional things should not be included in tax cuts.
( AWD, Limited slip diffs, winch , etc etc ).

They don't make cars they think will sell here. They make cars they think they can sell, then sell here, the ones they can sell here. They are dumping cars here because we have about the lowest fuel and emission standards in the developed world.

Most new car development by international carmakers is to develop cars that meet more stringent US or European (or Japanese or Korean or....) standards.

Increasingly, we don't see those cars here, because why would they, when they can sell us cars built to old standards that they can no longer sell in those places, and most of the new cars aren't suitable for Australia's lower quality fuel.

International standards are going to keep rising, and nobody is going to make cars just for us. We will get the obsolete leftovers.

On moto g(6) plus using BigFooty.com mobile app

Name them.

Name them.
Brief examples, it's a huge topic, want more info, do your own research.

Cars are being detuned to be sold in Australia, as they may not run properly or suffer damage if tuned fully. Mazda 3, Toyota Corolla...

Cars being sold in Australia with older Euro 5 standard engines, while the same cars in Europe get new generation engines eg Golf. They refuse to send new generation models here, because our fuel is a risk to the engines, as per Volkswagon.

Even older European cars that run on standard European fuel need 95 here, at quite a mark up.

Europe will go to Euro 7 before we get to Euro 6, putting us 2 generations behind.

So, we have to use premium fuel on even some older European cars now, we get older engines in new model cars, we get detuned engines, and companies have specifically said, fuel standards in Australia are a reason not to send new models here.

What do you think happens when we get 2 generations behind. Can you detune a car engine designed to meet Euro 7 standards enough to run it on our fuel?

Even if you can, it's a real disincentive to sell cars here if they need 95 or especially 98 octane fuel.

As for electrics.

There were 30 models available in Australia 2 years ago, and 130 in the UK. If you want to name them, look them up yourself.

Latent demand for electrics is greater than sales in Australia, because too many people that want electrics look around, and see too few charging facilities to take the risk to invest in an electric car.

Demand elsewhere is outstripping supply, so why send cars to a market where even the people that want your product don't buy it because infrastructure lacks?

On SM-X200 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Brief examples, it's a huge topic, want more info, do your own research.

Cars are being detuned to be sold in Australia, as they may not run properly or suffer damage if tuned fully. Mazda 3, Toyota Corolla...

Cars being sold in Australia with older Euro 5 standard engines, while the same cars in Europe get new generation engines eg Golf. They refuse to send new generation models here, because our fuel is a risk to the engines, as per Volkswagon.

Even older European cars that run on standard European fuel need 95 here, at quite a mark up.

Europe will go to Euro 7 before we get to Euro 6, putting us 2 generations behind.

So, we have to use premium fuel on even some older European cars now, we get older engines in new model cars, we get detuned engines, and companies have specifically said, fuel standards in Australia are a reason not to send new models here.

What do you think happens when we get 2 generations behind. Can you detune a car engine designed to meet Euro 7 standards enough to run it on our fuel?

Even if you can, it's a real disincentive to sell cars here if they need 95 or especially 98 octane fuel.

As for electrics.

There were 30 models available in Australia 2 years ago, and 130 in the UK. If you want to name them, look them up yourself.

Latent demand for electrics is greater than sales in Australia, because too many people that want electrics look around, and see too few charging facilities to take the risk to invest in an electric car.

Demand elsewhere is outstripping supply, so why send cars to a market where even the people that want your product don't buy it because infrastructure lacks?

On SM-X200 using BigFooty.com mobile app

They do not detune engines. They don't do anything to engines, they are manufactured to spec. They make different variants of engines. Back in the day when Holden made family II engines, there were more than 50 Variants for different markets. Mazda quote, 139 kW at 6000rpm in Australia. They quote 186HP in Germany. That converts to the same in my book.
Fuel efficiency is harder to compare ( different tests ) but seems on a par. FCAI full of s**t as usual. Full of their own agenda. ( how to import more cars more profitably ). Volkswagon, the company that got busted for programming their cars to recognise when it was being emissions tests and to run in a state of tuning not normally used when it did.

We can catch up from 2 generations 3 generations , whatever, everything is imported, we don't have to work through anything.
If we need better fuel we need to fix the fuel before we go bringing in different engines. But are you suggesting that changes made for Euro 6 will make fuel cheaper than 95 or 98? Not bloody likely.

We are always going to have less car models of all types available here. Jesus we hardly even get different colors to choose from. We're a backwater.