Birds of Tokyo to entertain pre-match at ANZAC Day game.

What does it deserve? How much respect does a clownish failed invasion in the name of a totally irrelevant imperial project deserve?

My father respected the day after a tour over Europe in Lancasters.
I've a mate who did 2 x tours in Vietnam, he respects the day.

You are nobody Lance ... a taker, go to work on normal rates you bludging hypocrite.

Not a big deal. People can watch sports entertainment and still pay respect to the day, why cant people also listen to music and still respect the day?

What does it deserve? How much respect does a clownish failed invasion in the name of a totally irrelevant imperial project deserve?

It’s a commemoration of fallen soldiers and the manner in which they conducted themselves. That’s all it is. It’s not about the merits of the campaign.

My father respected the day after a tour over Europe in Lancasters.
I've a mate who did 2 x tours in Vietnam, he respects the day.

You are nobody Lance ... a taker, go to work on normal rates you bludging hypocrite.
Respecting the day, or more correctly observing the original spirit of the day - that being a melancholy reflection on the folly of war - is entirely distinct from sanctifying the occasion and rejecting the very freedoms the diggers supposedly fought for.

From one nobody to another.

We're already playing a game of football. How exactly is that different from a concert?

I’ve got no problem with the music. It worked fine last year and will again this year. I don’t know what the fuss is about.

But the day isn’t about respecting failed military plans or judging political missteps decades and centuries on. It simply about respecting the memory of fallen soldiers and the courage shown in horrific situations.

Playing footy on Anzac day is not respecting the day. Essendon, Collingwood and the AFL with all their carry on has one purpose and that is to make money.

The games that were played on Anzac day (many times) before 1995 were more respectful because they were not about maximising revenue.

The comparisons between the players on the day with soldiers is sickening

As an aside, since the day is commercialised anyway I have no problem with a band playing. But choosing a band with the name Birds of TOKYO is very strange. Wonder what a WWII POW who was tortured by the japanese would think of listening to the Birds of Tokyo on Anzac day!!

Playing footy on Anzac day is not respecting the day. Essendon, Collingwood and the AFL with all their carry on has one purpose and that is to make money.

The games that were played on Anzac day (many times) before 1995 were more respectful because they were not about maximising revenue.

As an aside, since the day is commercialised anyway I have no problem with a band playing. But choosing a band with the name Birds of TOKYO is very strange. Wonder what a WWII POW who was tortured by the japanese would think of listening to the Birds of Tokyo on Anzac day!!
Wtf? Are you trying to suggest that 80 years later a world city mention of any kind should be taboo because they were "the enemy" back then?

* me, what else? Should they feel vindicated in actively being racist to Japanese people too, all these years later?!

https://www.afl.com.au/news/2019-04-18/birds-of-tokyo-to-perform-at-the-g-on-anzac-day

THE AFL is pleased to announce Australian band Birds of Tokyo will perform prior to the Essendon v Collingwood Anzac Day match on Thursday, April 25 at the MCG.

Birds of Tokyo’s epic songs have resonated deeply with Australian audiences over the past decade and the band will perform three songs at the Anzac Day match including new hit single Good Lord which was recently No.1 on iTunes, plus Unbreakable which was performed at the opening and closing ceremonies of the 2018 Invictus Games.

Birds of Tokyo drummer and Collingwood fan Adam Weston said it is an honour to be asked to perform on Anzac Day.

"Being involved in the Invictus Games last year really reminded us of the importance of remembering fallen soldiers and recognising those who have served," he said.

"Australia’s biggest sporting stage will no doubt be at capacity to respect our returned and current serving defence personnel and we are pleased to be part of it.

"As a Collingwood member, the annual Anzac Day match at the MCG is always nothing short of breathtaking and I’m sure it will be an experience to remember for the whole band."

Birds of Tokyo have also just announced a string of dates around Australia in September this year. The Good Lord Tour is on sale now and selling fast. Tickets and dates info can be found here.

Personally i think this is really poor taste. Its bad enough that the AFL have commercialised ANZAC Day to fill their coffers from the 100k crowd that attends. Now were bringing in artists to play music and really trivialise the day.

Disgraceful.
Who gives a s**t.

You thinking it's disgraceful is disgraceful.

The post OP deserves.

Nailed the bit.

There was 95,000 people there last year and not one person complained about the music.

Seems like it passed the test.
Such a weird civic religion that's being built around a historically un-Australian trait, flag waving patriotism.

This is the one time I'm not going to complain about shameless commercialization cheapening a day. Let capitalism punch itself in the face. The public can seethe and the moneyed class can tie itself in knots trying to balance the impulse towards greed, with the need sanctify patriotism as cover for their worst excesses.

Masks off as they say.

So skip the show, get stuck in the crowd and miss the last post? Yeah nah **** that. I'm allowed to voice my opinion that the "entertainment" is a s**t waste of money that is completely unnecessary.
Stuck in what crowd?

You said it was a huge jerkoff last year and nobody was vibing it, I'm guessing because the stadium was nearly full?

I've been to enough sellouts to know that you can time your entry well enough so as to be seated 5 to 10 mins before the game starts and you will have missed most of the pre-match show. Honestly. Such a hysterical response for an easily avoided thing. You're allowed to voice your opinion and I'm allowed to call you a big baby for getting this upset.

Stuck in what crowd?

You said it was a huge jerkoff last year and nobody was vibing it, I'm guessing because the stadium was nearly full?

I've been to enough sellouts to know that you can time your entry well enough so as to be seated 5 to 10 mins before the game starts and you will have missed most of the pre-match show. Honestly. Such a hysterical response for an easily avoided thing. You're allowed to voice your opinion and I'm allowed to call you a big baby for getting this upset.

I said nothing of the sort, big babies are those who make up stories to suit their argument.

Most other games get by fine without some shitty musical act playing echoing rubbish on a s**t sound system. My opinion isn't isolated to ANZAC Day, it's just a waste of time on all occasions.

If my comments are hysterical then your replies are just as bad. You're being such a big baby getting so upset about people voicing opinions.

Sure thing fella.

Hey, the anthem and silly bugle playing bug me, but I'm fine to sit through it. Chillax dog.

Oh your twitter shitpost sure showed me.

You seem really confused. You are all gung-ho for some s**t musical entertainment, but then crow about a post that shits on the commercialisation of the match. Make your mind up, because they are in complete opposite camps.

Not a coincidence Irish names underrepresented on WW1 memorials. These Australians didn't see it as 'their war' and were happy to sit it out.

Half right. Often Irish/catholic names were simply recorded/memorialised in a different location. Often at the schools the soldier/family attended.