Unofficial Preview Changes and pre-match discussion vs Collingwood

Honestly I’d rather bring Urquhart in than Phillips at this stage.

Rightly or wrongly I think it’s clear Phillips won’t be a part of our future.

Urkel’s VFL stats from the weekend seem decent and was rated pre-draft for his defensive efforts. Have him follow Naicos around to see what elite players are doing around the ground.

He likely gets pretty comprehensively beaten but I think that’s the outcome regardless of who it is.

At least Urkel has the potential to improve and be a part of our long term future
Steve Urkel Reaction GIF by MOODMAN

If we lose under 1 goal, I'll be happy. Collingwood is running hot.
If we win I'll be happy. I know people have lost the plot over falling over against Richmond but our form over the last month is good enough to challenge most teams and we should go in expecting that to continue at our home.

I dunno man to me it feels like

Pick Will Phillips, turn to page 70 and get flogged by collingwood

Pick Urkel, turn to page 70 and get flogged by collingwood.

Maybe I’m just a pessimistic campaigner
No point tagging Naicos. He has one of the best tanks in the comp and things run through him at Collingwood like a dodgy vendor's curry through my digestive tract.

We'll have to back ourselves against a more disciplined midfield with our talent. LDU, Wardlaw, Sheezel at times, Parker at times, Simpkin, Powell on paper match Naicos, Crisp, Long and Pendlebury. Obviously it's not played on paper, but we could do ok in that battle. And then we just try and stop them launching from their back half, which is why I reckon Houston's the man to tag. They'll kill us on turnover no matter what we try, so we need to try and make sure it's a more ineffectual user playing the rebound role

On your last point, this has been repeated enough to become accepted, but it’s not accurate.

Daicos was influential throughout the third quarter and the fourth. Basically the entire second half. He had 18 of his 29 after half time.
My last point is an acknowledgement that Phillips (and probably no-one) can stop Daicos on their own, ie/ it needs to be a whole team approach with others taking turns, and not assigned to a single player.

I'd hard tag Houston. **** knows who with

Bring Ford in to do it. He can stand next to Houston and count his possessions again like he did with Sicily. At least he showed that he takes his tagging role seriously!

Corr was as bad as Scott and should be dropped.
Playing on a first year player and having a 10cm height advantage- then he gives free kicks for grabbing him.
Should never play for us again - he’s one dumb campaigner

Outs
Scott , corr , BGZ

Ins

Ford , Curtis, fisher
Dropping Zane for a big game. Should he be forthwith known as MGZ? Medium Game Zane

Honestly I’d rather bring Urquhart in than Phillips at this stage.

Rightly or wrongly I think it’s clear Phillips won’t be a part of our future.

Urkel’s VFL stats from the weekend seem decent and was rated pre-draft for his defensive efforts. Have him follow Naicos around to see what elite players are doing around the ground.

He likely gets pretty comprehensively beaten but I think that’s the outcome regardless of who it is.

At least Urkel has the potential to improve and be a part of our long term future
You want to bring in a kid for his first game only to expect him to get torched by Naicos?
Yeah that'll be great for his confidence.

I am big Urqs fan but I don't think he's ready yet after 1 decent game in the VFL.

Corr was as bad as Scott and should be dropped.
Playing on a first year player and having a 10cm height advantage- then he gives free kicks for grabbing him.
Should never play for us again - he’s one dumb campaigner

Outs
Scott , corr , BGZ

Ins

Ford , Curtis, fisher
you're not bringing in a tall defender to replace Corr?

They have some height with Mihocek, Cox, Cameron when floats forward. Membrey isn't small either.

Pies board all seem to think they should take this as an opportunity to rest some of their players.

Hope their coaches think the same. Let repeat what we did last year.. just hold on for the W please.

While they look like an excellent side this year, the trade-off seems to be that they need to think about nap time for half the team every three weeks lol

It’s funny, but not as true as I’d like. Old bastards have a new lease on life.

What personally irritates me about Collingwood at the moment, is that I find it hard to hate them. Play great footy, well coached by a very likable guy. I know people hate on Naicos but I don't, I think he is a star. I'd love to beat them don't get me wrong but I really admire them.

He'd get less hate if he didn't get bullshit free kicks every time he put his hands in the air.

I haven't watched Collingwood play football since they played us last year. The AFL has killed neutral footy as a spectacle with too much tinkering. Daicos is a great player and gets an absolute ride as well. I have no interest in watching Collingwood get fellated on field to go with the off field one they get every year.

One of the 2 other teams I do watch because I like how they play. They play as a team, something I want us to play as.

What personally irritates me about Collingwood at the moment, is that I find it hard to hate them. Play great footy, well coached by a very likable guy.

Craig McRae seems like a massive flog, to me. I don't think 'good' people get involved in greyhound racing, to be honest.

Each to their own, I suppose.

Unofficial Preview Changes and pre-match discussion vs Collingwood

Write your reply...