Preview Changes for Brisbane

• Thread starter Thread starter Scorpus

Apologies the tank engine is a bit scratchy after having 3 major injuries, how dare he lol.

If turning the ball over and missing shots on goal leads to getting dropped, I'm surprised we even field a team each week
That's basically what his role is to do and also provide an outlet option but finding form isn't a bad thing.

It isn't bad kicking, Lynch is a really good kick to teammates, but for some stupid reason tries to pull off kick of the century every second possesion. Needs to pick the right time to do it, and not even think about it when the game is close!!!

Brisbane in Brisbane, what a shocking time to get them. We never play well in the humid and slippery conditions up there. The scary thing is that we don't have a tagger, so who knows what Hanley and rockliff will do to us

It isn't bad kicking, Lynch is a really good kick to teammates, but for some stupid reason tries to pull off kick of the century every second possesion. Needs to pick the right time to do it, and not even think about it when the game is close!!!

Brisbane in Brisbane, what a shocking time to get them. We never play well in the humid and slippery conditions up there. The scary thing is that we don't have a tagger, so who knows what Hanley and rockliff will do to us
Who knows what Danger, Sloane, Smith, Crouch will do to them ;)

Hopefully Matt crouch picks up 35+ today to get back in the side

Grigg will be dropped. Bookmark it. Sanderson is a nuffy.

Of course he will.

Grigg, Lyons and M Crouch are all Sando's whipping boys. Played as the Sub, then given a token game and then dropped. It's no surprise that both Lyons and Grigg haven't come on at all this year.

One of my biggest criticisms of Sando is the fact that he has struggled with the sub rule. To put it blunty I would actually say that he seems to be totally bemused by it, he can't seem to grasp the fact that it's not a development role yet week after week we are seeing guys like Grigg and Lyons wasted in this role which is doing nothing at all for their development.

People fawn over Hendo but in reality he played a ripper Showdown against an insipid Power 2 years ago and a good half season in a role that made Reilly look a million dollars. Yes he has had a lot of time out, but a guy like him shouldn't even been played without a solid month in the SANFL.

He even spoke about not being confident in his leg, WTF are we doing picking him then. Looked very slow yesterday, something that he isnt.

Of course he will.

Grigg, Lyons and M Crouch are all Sando's whipping boys. Played as the Sub, then given a token game and then dropped. It's no surprise that both Lyons and Grigg haven't come on at all this year.

One of my biggest criticisms of Sando is the fact that he has struggled with the sub rule. To put it blunty I would actually say that he seems to be totally bemused by it, he can't seem to grasp the fact that it's not a development role yet week after week we are seeing guys like Grigg and Lyons wasted in this role which is doing nothing at all for their development.

The Western Bulldogs use the rule the best by selecting Giansiracusa in it. Experienced, still can play, but about to retire and not stealing the spot of a youngster for a whole game.

Young guys have a chance to play from the start, or stick in the twos, without only coming on for a quarter. Do we have this sort of player?

People fawn over Hendo but in reality he played a ripper Showdown against an insipid Power 2 years ago and a good half season in a role that made Reilly look a million dollars. Yes he has had a lot of time out, but a guy like him shouldn't even been played without a solid month in the SANFL.

He even spoke about not being confident in his leg, WTF are we doing picking him then. Looked very slow yesterday, something that he isnt.
Mate your one of favourite posters, generally always spot on the money in a rational way.

The love for Henderson escapes me completely. Apart from the very odd game and a short 5-7 game stretch loose - he has been next to useless for a long time.

He is the epitome of why we misjudge our overall capability. Fawn and fap over a player that would not get a game anywhere else - we have effectively replaced Reilly with Reilly mk 2.

The Western Bulldogs use the rule the best by selecting Giansiracusa in it. Experienced, still can play, but about to retire and not stealing the spot of a youngster for a whole game.

Young guys have a chance to play from the start, or stick in the twos, without only coming on for a quarter. Do we have this sort of player?

Or we could do what Port and the Hawks tend to do, which is sub out a tall for a running player. Had Talia not gone down (thanks Mackay you gutless hack), it would have been ideal to sub Pods at half time.

iPod and Thompson needs a rest

The big question is that do we continue to play L Thompson, on one hand we need a win against Brisbane however on the other hand we need to have a eye for decision that need to be made for 2015 and test what is the ceiling on some of our young defenders

iPod and Thompson needs a rest

The big question is that do we continue to play L Thompson, on one hand we need a win against Brisbane however on the other hand we need to have a eye for decision that need to be made for 2015 and test what is the ceiling on some of our young defenders
Who comes in for L. Thompson??

Was saying that S. Thompson shouldn't have come back in. The way Sando was talking prior to the game about his injury did not inspire faith.

I reckon LT gets another crack. He isnt a number one defender, a job he was asked to do yesterday due to inept selections. He is a 3rd tall who can also play on guys smaller than he. Brisbane have a good forward line but its a speedy, small setup completely unsuited to a Truck return. Different story if Harto was good to go but he isn't.

Of course he will.

Great post. Grigg and lyons have been treated terribly this year. Both need full games of AFL footy not games as sub then the following week dropped. Both should be the future of the club not players like martin and wright. I would like to see grigg play some time in the guts where he plays his best footy. He is a natural inside midfielder who is very good at stoppages and yet we play him as an outside mid on the wing. I dont think i have seen him play in the guts at AFL level since he debut. Why? I understand he may not have the tank at AFL level yet but surely some small bursts in there would be good for him.

Of course he will.

Agree wholeheartedly but who comes out for them to come in?

my opinion on the subject is well known.

Martin out - Lyons to a half forward flank.
Wright out - Crouch jn to a midfield rotation
Jeansch out - Grigg to the half back flank.

We really need to find an impact player to fill this role. I don't think we have this player on our list.

However, the coaches want the sub gone ASAP as was discussed at the coaches dinner will Gill. So that maybe a good thing.

I dont have an issue with making them sub, young guys are subs at most clubs. For mine its making them sub in consecutive weeks and then dropping them only to have them travel as emergency. Bring them in for a full game, then make them sub if necessary.

That would make us slower, but maybe our foot skills would improve and it wouldn't matter

For me:

Wright out - Cameron in
Jeansch out - Laird to his spot - Grigg to Lairds spot
S. Thompson out - Lyons/M. Crouch in

These are by the end of the year more so this week........

Would also have Lynch for Pods, Danger forward and will comment on others at a future date.