My understanding is Weightman has already been ruled outReceived this from a usually reliable source.He's right View attachment 1226692

BigFooty AFLW Notice Img
AFLW 2025 - AFLW Trade and Draft - All the player moves
Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
My understanding is Weightman has already been ruled outReceived this from a usually reliable source.He's right View attachment 1226692
I think it means bruising or similar trauma rather than something structural.
He was definitely ruled out by the TV commentary team. Not sure that it's been specifically stated that he failed a concussion test. If he has it's a fait accompliMy understanding is Weightman has already been ruled out
Wasn't even a concussionMy understanding is Weightman has already been ruled out
Just passing on what someone connected to the club told me.Wasn't even a concussion
We are in a preliminary final thanks to Bevo’s coaching tactics. I’m sure there is a valid reason.I agree mate. But I just can’t work out why Bevo didn’t back him in?
We certainly miss Bruce. Its a big ask for Naughton to be the heart of the structure at his young ageWe are in a preliminary final thanks to Bevo’s coaching tactics. I’m sure there is a valid reason.
Does anyone else feel although we have a great team we lack a few players in attack? Although we have a great defence and midfield our attack lacks those big name players.
When I look at port Adelaide or geelong you see these experienced forwards .. Rohan, Hawkins, Cameron , Fantasia, Dixon etc. that right mix of experience and youth.
we are a bit more like melbourne in that regard. Let’s hope our midfield is fully firing. Only way we can win next week.
Wally is too slow for mine. Love him but he's cooked.for finals footy.If both Flea and Bont are out, I think it's time for Wallis. Leadership, experience, bleeds for the club, and can take grabs in the front line or move into the midfield.
Would like to see Sweet in for some physical ruck battles.
No hate, just crushed by the Big O. I believe he keeps spot but Sweet also plays.We won the clearances didn’t we? Why all the Lewy Young hate?
He was better than good. I reckon he's one of first pencilled in. So versatile, plays a selfless game, prepared to sacrifice his game to shutdown.Roarke was good. He holds his spot for mine.
Yep, I am the same. Was not a fan, but happy to say I was wrong.He was better than good. I reckon he's one of first pencilled in. So versatile, plays a selfless game, prepared to sacrifice his game to shutdown.
I was a critic but he does an important role. Probably our only true shutdown player.
Understandable. It’s ruined Picken’s career and threatened to do the same to English. No chance Weightman play’s IMO. It was definitely a concussion related sub, even if it was precautionary. The rules are there for a reason and we’re unfortunately the team on the wrong end of the that one, it was always going to happen at some stage.Bevo seems pretty conservative when it comes to concussion, so I doubt Cody plays.
Agreed but probably on the back of Bont and Weightman injuries.Pretty crazy price given we’ve beaten them over there and only lost by 2 points 3 games ago.
It would come down to the club doctors official statement to the AFL. If he/she says Weightman was subbed off due to concern of a facial injury he should be ok to play. If the doc states concern for concussion he is out. The wording on that official statement is key.Received this from a usually reliable source. [emoji1696] He's right View attachment 1226692
Roarke had 12 possessions, went at 33% by foot and was towelled up by mcluggage.
VDM ok
Hannan 8 touches, doesn’t do enough.
Agree on treloar.
I’d have Lipinski & Wallis in over Roarke & Hannan every day. Sweet or Martin must come in for Young. If bevo wants to make a statement then treloar for Richards. Would also swap Wood & Crozier.
We’ve got the depth and need to freshen up after a full season & now going into a third finals week on the road.
VogonProsthetnic its not hate it’s just an observation of the game. He has had 8 touches two weeks in a row and has not provided anything around the ground. Last week he had a few good moments in the ruck but last night was a total liability in there. There was a 4-5 minute stretch in the first quarter that could have easily been the difference in the game where they kicked three goals out of centre bounce. He was in the centre for that stretch and got monstered.We won the clearances didn’t we? Why all the Lewy Young hate?
Team selection is always a controversial issue for us armchair selectors but this week could be even more so.
Assuming we need to replace both Weightman and The Bont, we will have to find two players who can fill similar roles.
We are very low on forwards who can impact the scoreboard and the usual practice of using mids as half-forwards has not been very successful, if at all. Of those who could be considered are Wallis, McNeill, West or Garcia but none of these has played for weeks and are out of the team due to form. There are no obvious answers to this selection at this stage.
Bont is irreplaceable but do we have any other mid who can come in to play a role? Is Lipinski worth the risk? Or, do we simply go with the mids we have and try to spread the load amongst them?
This leads to another issue: if Treloar had any other name other than Treloar he should be on the sidelines barracking for the team. He seems bereft of confidence or 'buy in' or perhaps both. He needs to clear his head and give us the sort of game a player of his reputation should give us.
Other questions that could affect selection: Is Young still the player to partner English? He was ineffectual last night either rucking or in any other position on the ground. Can Sweet do the role better or have the selectors mothballed him for the season?
JJ has been spluttering along for weeks now and has been lucky to even be sub in the past two games. Can he be relied on to give us a lot more than he has shown to justify reinstatement?
A lot of tough decisions to be made, so this thread is likely to be a hotbed of debate even more than usual and at least until the injury situation is clarified.
No it would not. He’s played ruck all season long. Young has not. There is no difference in their preparation except one spent the whole year in the position. There is so many examples of players coming into finals off few games and playing awesome. Even last night the Lions had a guy come in out of nowhere and kick a clutch goal and contribute big time.It was a clear mistake to not bring him in late in the year, but it would be madness to bring him in now.