Preview Changes/Preview Round 2 v Brisbane

🄰 Love BigFooty? Join now for free.

Also what the * is this s**t I keep reading about him playing on dusty in a practice game? Who gives a s**t šŸ˜‚ it's a practice game it's literally designed to practice with no consequences.

You're being obtuse to support your own opinion. If the idea of a practice match was for everyone to run round and have a fun time then they would have let McVee run round on one of the Richmond rookies.

Pretty obvious they've been prepping him to be one of our primary lockdown defenders.

I'm not fussed in the slightest if he lines up on Cameron, or McCarthy, or any other medium/small forward Brisbane have. Better to give him a go in round 2 than be sitting around in Round 22 wondering if he's up to a job like that.

That's just your opinion that McVee is "the worst option for the job". My point is that if you're selected as a medium defender in round 1 and play well it's very unlikely that our coaching staff are going to s**t themselves at the idea of him matching up on any of the Brisbane small forwards.
Who's saying they're gonna shit themselves? Why give Mcevee a job that we have plenty of other people equipped to do. By your logic we should play Sparrow, Laurie and someone else at the centre bounce because they're in the side therefore they are just as good as Trac and Oliver at centre bounces

You're being obtuse to support your own opinion. If the idea of a practice match was for everyone to run round and have a fun time then they would have let McVee run round on one of the Richmond rookies.

Pretty obvious they've been prepping him to be one of our primary lockdown defenders.

I'm not fussed in the slightest if he lines up on Cameron, or McCarthy, or any other medium/small forward Brisbane have. Better to give him a go in round 2 than be sitting around in Round 22 wondering if he's up to a job like that.

Except that's not what I said but fun discussion.

Talk of needing to protect McVee from playing on Cameron or even drop him so he doesn't have to reminds me of talk that we needed to drop Bowey for the finals in 2021 because he'd only played a few games.

You don't pick a young kid in the starting 18 of a top 4 AFL side if you think you've got to hide him from playing on dangerous players.

And you don't put a kid who's played 0 games on Dusty Martin in a practice match if you're not getting him ready to play on the best players.

Surely he plays. Not fussed who he plays on, whether it's McCarthy or Cameron or somebody else.
Some on here talking up McVee like he's the second coming of Andy Macleod!! I like the kid, but let's calm the farm. I hope he stays in the team, but we'd be crazy to put him on Charlie Cameron. Might get a stint on him, but look what happened when we put Joel Smith on him in a final. And id say Joel has better attributes than McVee to play on Charlie. May could get first crack, and Bowey and Riv are equipped also.

Who's saying they're gonna s**t themselves? Why give Mcevee a job that we have plenty of other people equipped to do. By your logic we should play Sparrow, Laurie and someone else at the centre bounce because they're in the side therefore they are just as good as Trac and Oliver at centre bounces

Not even remotely the same - McVee was selected last round as a starting lockdown defender - arguably the only small/medium defender picked for that primary purpose - and did a good job.

Sparrow and Laurie weren't picked as starting midfielders, they did a pretty poor job in the roles they were picked for, and they are clearly not even close to our best players in the centre square.

Not even remotely the same - McVee was selected last round as a starting lockdown defender - arguably the only small/medium defender picked for that primary purpose - and did a good job.

Sparrow and Laurie weren't picked as starting midfielders, they did a pretty poor job in the roles they were picked for, and they are clearly not even close to our best players in the centre square.
Who did he do a good job on. Tell me who? The 0 small forwards the dogs picked? An now he's ready to be the main man on one of the best small forwards in the comp. This is piss funny

Also what the * is this s**t I keep reading about him playing on dusty in a practice game? Who gives a s**t [emoji23] it's a practice game it's literally designed to practice with no consequences.

Hold on a sec, you seemed to give a fair bit of importance to Petty's apparent domination by a young kid in that same praccy... [emoji848]

Some on here talking up McVee like he's the second coming of Andy Macleod!! I like the kid, but let's calm the farm. I hope he stays in the team, but we'd be crazy to put him on Charlie Cameron. Might get a stint on him, but look what happened when we put Joel Smith on him in a final. And id say Joel has better attributes than McVee to play on Charlie. May could get first crack, and Bowey and Riv are equipped also.

Don't drop him from a role he played well last week = he's the second coming of Andy McLeod? What a bizarre piece of hyperbole.

If you agree that he might get a stint on Cameron then you're agreeing that he should stay in the side and we don't have to hide him, which is what I said.

I'd personally start McVee on McCarthy but the point of picking your best defenders and backing them in is that there's lots of different ways you can play the match ups. You're right it could be May, Bowey or Riv but equally you could argue that May may be required on a tall so Lever can intercept, Bowey needs to be freed up to run off and create, and Riv is extremely shaky when defending deep.

Who did he do a good job on. Tell me who? The 0 small forwards the dogs picked? An now he's ready to be the main man on one of the best small forwards in the comp. This is piss funny

You disagree that he had a good debut as a medium defender? Fine, that's your opinion. I was very happy with what I saw.

The standard you seem to be suggesting is we pick McVee if a team has no good small forwards and drop him against teams that do. Bizarre approach to team selection if you ask me and I'd be surprised if that's what our coaching staff do.

McVee may well get the biggest bath of all time on Friday, but so might Riv/Salem//Petty or whoever else they pick. If we don't back him in in round 2 when will we back him in?

You disagree that he had a good debut as a medium defender? Fine, that's your opinion. I was very happy with what I saw.

The standard you seem to be suggesting is we pick McVee if a team has no good small forwards and drop him against teams that do. Bizarre approach to team selection if you ask me and I'd be surprised if that's what our coaching staff do.

McVee may well get the biggest bath of all time on Friday, but so might Riv/Salem//Petty or whoever else they pick. If we don't back him in in round 2 when will we back him in?
Again not even close to what I'm saying. Who did he defend well against is what I said, he played a decent first up game. Decent. He didn't have anyone to defend against. I've never said drop him. Nothing you're saying, has any relevance to anything I said.

Look, I love what ive seen by McVee, but giving him Cameron is a lot different to Johannisen.

Interested to see what Goody does all the same but we've guarded young players from big jobs like that since Roos came along for a reason, we aren't about ruining them before they start anymore, and rightly so. I think there is a far better chance he plays on someone like McCarthy.

Again not even close to what I'm saying. Who did he defend well against is what I said, he played a decent first up game. Decent. He didn't have anyone to defend against. I've never said drop him. Nothing you're saying, has any relevance to anything I said.
Talk of needing to protect McVee from playing on Cameron or even drop him so he doesn't have to reminds me of talk that we needed to drop Bowey for the finals in 2021 because he'd only played a few games.

You don't pick a young kid in the starting 18 of a top 4 AFL side if you think you've got to hide him from playing on dangerous players.

And you don't put a kid who's played 0 games on Dusty Martin in a practice match if you're not getting him ready to play on the best players.

Surely he plays. Not fussed who he plays on, whether it's McCarthy or Cameron or somebody else.

Mate it was you who came in and took issue with this statement.

If you don't want to drop him and you also don't want to pick Salem (which I agree with) and you also don't trust Petty at the moment (meaning May would needs to play on a tall), and I think you probably agree Riv is shaky as shit in deep defence, then wouldn't you agree McVee has to at least be on the list of option to go to Cameron at some point?

Brissy have heaps of talented smalls, he'll have to play on one of them regardless

Brayshaw doesn't have the legspeed to go with CC, so it'll be either McVee, Bowey or Rivers (or a rushed back in Salem but he didn't really play on those types anyway)

Or we bring Joel Smith back :devil:

Mate it was you who came in and took issue with this statement.

If you don't want to drop him and you also don't want to pick Salem (which I agree with) and you also don't trust Petty at the moment (meaning May would needs to play on a tall), and I think you probably agree Riv is shaky as s**t in deep defence, then wouldn't you agree McVee has to at least be on the list of option to go to Cameron at some point?
Yes but this went so far away from. Mcevee is an option to people want him dropped and he played a practice game on dusty so now he's our best small defender. Brayshaw and rivers are in the side as small defenders. Mcevee hasn't walked past them in a game where he didn't have an opponent to be our main guy and there's no need to throw a kid at a star just for the sake of it.

Look, I love what ive seen by McVee, but giving him Cameron is a lot different to Johannisen.

Interested to see what Goody does all the same but we've guarded young players from big jobs like that since Roos came along for a reason, we aren't about ruining them before they start anymore, and rightly so. I think there is a far better chance he plays on someone like McCarthy.

Absolutely Cameron is a totally different task to whatever the Bulldogs had. But same applies to whoever we would play on Cameron unless they go with May, which has it's own problems.

My observation is that the coaching staff seem to have been preparing McVee to be our number one lockdown defender. If that's the case then you have to try him out with the hardest jobs sooner or later. I reckon it's near enough to 50/50 whether they put him on Cameron or someone else.

Yes but this went so far away from. Mcevee is an option to people want him dropped and he played a practice game on dusty so now he's our best small defender. Brayshaw and rivers are in the side as small defenders. Mcevee hasn't walked past them in a game where he didn't have an opponent to be our main guy and there's no need to throw a kid at a star just for the sake of it.

There's quite a lot of discussion on here about the possibility of McVee being forced out. I don't think he should be, or will be. Simple as that.

If the four small/medium defenders are Brayshaw, Rivers, McVee and Bowey then I think there's a sound argument against the other 3 starting on Cameron. The best match ups on our list for Cameron, historically, are May and Hibberd. I can't see how Hibberd gets picked and I'm not sure they'll go with May on him this time. Could be wrong of course.

Absolutely Cameron is a totally different task to whatever the Bulldogs had. But same applies to whoever we would play on Cameron unless they go with May, which has it's own problems.

My observation is that the coaching staff seem to have been preparing McVee to be our number one lockdown defender. If that's the case then you have to try him out with the hardest jobs sooner or later. I reckon it's near enough to 50/50 whether they put him on Cameron or someone else.

If Goody puts McVee on Cameron he is a lock for best 22 for the rest of the year. At least he should be, coz thats what a move like that indicates. Very interesting times. Selection and matchup shit fights starting in round 2. Well done BF Dees board.

McEvee...Jesus ****ing christ. Casual fan? :p

If Goody puts McVee on Cameron he is a lock for best 22 for the rest of the year. At least he should be, coz thats what a move like that indicates. Very interesting times. Selection and matchup s**t fights starting in round 2. Well done BF Dees board.

Yep, it would be a clear statement that they see him as number one lockdown defender.
If Cameron kicks 5 on him and he has to get moved they'll have to either re-assess and look at getting Hibberd back in the 22, or back McVee in and acknowledge that good players like Cameron can get hold of you at times.

drunk russel crowe GIF by South Park

Charlie Cameron had 6 touches and 2 behinds against Port :$ - why are we still talking about Charlie Cameron?

No point putting our best lockdown small defender McVee against him :moustache:

Preview Changes/Preview Round 2 v Brisbane