Opinion Changes v giants

Well yeah, we can't expect him to be Chris Grant so why is he marked against that standard? Nobody in our side has that capability at the moment.
He's one of the better performing players at the moment, there's no way he should be dropped when there's up to 10 players that are producing less.
No one is expecting him to be Chris Grant.

The current situation is that we are playing very poorly as a team. We are also very predictable, we run in packs, with short linking handballs and short kicks. Most of our players are slowish so we have to play on at all costs, which the opposition prepare for and are currently countering quite effectively.

The few players we have capable of kicking long or capable of taking contested marks are closely tagged by the opposition.

Against those sort of opposition tactics, we need to change our style of play. We need more players capable of getting their own ball and doing more with it than just hand balling it to another player without break away pace or penetrative kicking skills a few feet away from them.

I’m not suggesting dropping players like Lipinski and Daniel because of poor individual performances, but because I think we need to change our current easily counterable set up, and to do that some small/mid size players need to make way.

I have a differing opinion. My main recollection of Lynch is of him coming in as an unexpected selection, and even more unexpectedly for A Bulldog debutant not being overwhelmed by the occasion and playing his role well.

To add to his composure, he also displayed reasonable pace, size, and skill which in my book makes him a handy interchange player.
We must be watching a completely different Lynch. The Lynch I see is one that is severely lacking composure and runs around like a headless chook. He played a couple of okay games early in his 2018 stint his last 5 games under 10 disposals, and only one passable game amongst that. He is not the answer at all.

Really thinking hard about the ins and outs this week but i dont know wtf the match committee has been doing lately.

I reckon Sweet will play for some reason which then puts english up forward?

Id drop Gardner, Gowers for sure but

I reckon Sweet will play for some reason which then puts english up forward?
Tim English is currently our leading contested mark with 5, so kind of makes sense putting him forward and shifting Aaron Naughton
down back as our other tall backs are out of favour with the coach or so it seems.

I have a differing opinion. My main recollection of Lynch is of him coming in as an unexpected selection, and even more unexpectedly for A Bulldog debutant not being overwhelmed by the occasion and playing his role well.

To add to his composure, he also displayed reasonable pace, size, and skill which in my book makes him a handy interchange player.

Good pace and skill by foot is very good both qualities we need. Worth a shot.

It says alot when your best 2 players are Smith and Jong. Both probably train harder than most others. Dogs probably have a lot of unfit players at the moment. That said, I don't know who to come in. A lot of the older guys were the main faulted like lloyd, suckling, macrae, keath, JJ, etc but taking most of them out will mean a blood bath on friday.

Out: Gardner, Lloyd, Dale.
In: Trengove, Hayes?, West.

It says alot when your best 2 players are Smith and Jong. Both probably train harder than most others. Dogs probably have a lot of unfit players at the moment. That said, I don't know who to come in. A lot of the older guys were the main faulted like lloyd, suckling, macrae, keath, JJ, etc but taking most of them out will mean a blood bath on friday.

Out: Gardner, Lloyd, Dale.
In: Trengove, Hayes?, West.

Bring Hayes in to occupy a wing so macrae can go back in the guts. Starting mid - Macrae, Dunkley and Bont.
Smith, Lipinski and McLean the next wave.
If Bont is struggling with a tag - put him one out at FF. Try something different Bevo.

It's a 5 day turnaround so I expect more than three changes. Suckling 'rested' for a start, Richards' knee knock will be watched, etc.
Given we've been vocal about managing players, we can drop 1-2 forwards, rest Bont forward a bit more, and bring in Libba.

Tim English is currently our leading contested mark with 5, so kind of makes sense putting him forward and shifting Aaron Naughton
down back as our other tall backs are out of favour with the coach or so it seems.
Think we would be too top heavy with bruce and timmy up forward. The club isnt moving Naughton back for at least the rest of the year so dont think that is happening. I dunno I think we are gonna get smashed this week and then knock off the swans and roos back to back and probably go into round 8 at 4 - 4.

Cannot see us getting near the giants with our current stoppage issues. We used to pride ourselves on our contest and being fierce around the ball but we arent that side at present.

I usually try and pick a team to suit our gameplan, but I'll pick one based on a style I'd like us to try

FB: Keath Trengove Lachie Young
HB: Williams Naughton Crozier
C: JJ Smith Macrae
HF: West Cordy Jong
FF: Daniel Bruce Weightman
C: English Bont Dunkley
I/C: Wallis McLean Porter Richards

Stack the defence with good 1v1 players and composed users. Trengove the weak link in composure, Keath the weak link 1v1 but as a third tall should do better. Richards coming off the bench as a defender and when Trengove is rucking (50/50 split) English can go back as for all his ruck faults he's a solid defensive mark. It's not perfect and we're definitely lacking depth but I think it's a better structure than the rebound focused one we use now.

Abandon trying to squirt handballs around until we can use the footy well by foot. For the past 3 games this has killed us. Dunkley, Smith and Wallis are all good at banging it onto their boot quickly. Bont usually tries to find a better option but unless there's a clear one try to get him going long instead. Macrae and JJ are slightly cleaner but can go long quick as well so suited for the wing. It's been so long since McLean played mid but hopefully he still knows how to win the ball so we use him as a mid as well. Like Richmond we gain territory quickly, but I'm hoping we can pile on the clearances better than they can.

Bruce and Cordy won't be marking a whole lot but they're pretty good at making a contest and bringing it to ground. West, Jong and maybe Porter are all good at throwing their bodies around. Daniel and Weightman are a question mark but one's a composed user and excellent at ground level and the other's a goal sneak. The aim is to pressure, stop them getting the ball and stop them from using the ball cleanly. If we get a shot on goal good but if we lock it in that's fine as well. Unfortunately the opposition are going to mark a fair bit but I'm hoping that we've set up the defence well enough that we can absorb that. It's pretty much the 16 style and there's a reason for that, it works.

Wood replaces Richards when he comes back as a more solid defensive player. Hunter replaces JJ as a better ball winner and well suited to quick kicks instead of precise ones. Duryea gets in as well, I'd probably drop Porter for the extra defender. I don't think this is top 8 worthy but it's easier to play, less reliant on being in amazing form and to move role players in and out based on form. In my ideal world we don't have to persist with this style once players like Bont hits their stride and we can rely on better ball use instead of rushed kicks and would bring back finishes like Lloyd and Dale. But this should at least stop us getting smashed every week and gives a solid base to evolve from when we get better.

Our team is simply too young and lacks leadership/impact/aggression from the few older blokes we do have.

That’s beveridges choice to go in so young though maddog. We’re not an expansion team.

He’s chosen to leave out guys like McLean, Libba and trengove. Mature, physical players.

And he’s chosen to play young lightweights like Gardner and vandermeer.

Age of our team is absolutely no excuse.

I don’t want to hear any “drop hunter” bollocks when he’s back either. We missed him dearly last night.

Duryea, Wood, Hunter, libba, McLean and Trengove instantly make us more mature, physical and competitive (appreciate the majority are/were unavailable).

Jacobs is still a decent enough tap ruckman, but offers nothing around the ground. He got 5 touches for the whole game, and was smashed by Goldy (who is admittedly having a massive year so far) in the hitouts.

If English is going to redeem himself, it needs to come in the next two weeks. Doesn't matter if he loses the taps to Jacobs, but Marshall offered a lot more around the ground in addition to flogging English (along with Ryder) in the middle. That can't keep happening

Out - Gardner
In - trengove

Out - gowers
In - McLean

Out - Lloyd
In - liberatore

Out - jong
In - west

Out - vandermeer
In - Schache

I want to see Naughton go back.

FB: Williams Keath Crozier
HB: JJ Naughton Daniel
C: Richards Macrae Lipinski
HF: McLean Bruce Bonti
FF: west Schache Wallis
R: Trengove Dunkley Smith
IC: libba, suckling, Dale, English

No more bullshit Drink

Jong out?
Maybe I was watching a different game...

I would really like Naughton to be in the game more. He is a skillful player but the role he is playing means he is often out of the play for long periods.

I think he should play a more Harry Taylor type role. Start across half back and drift forward when appropriate.
Centre half back is his position at the moment. Intercept marking and he can provide run. He and Keath would be a formidible duo.

Naughton may turn into a great full forward, but he isn't one right now.

Why have one of your best players frozen out of the play so often. And with the way we deliver the ball into forward 50, it makes it even tougher.

Our back line is under sized and our forward line ain't working. Time for a change.

KM

Jacobs is still a decent enough tap ruckman, but offers nothing around the ground. He got 5 touches for the whole game, and was smashed by Goldy (who is admittedly having a massive year so far) in the hitouts.

If English is going to redeem himself, it needs to come in the next two weeks. Doesn't matter if he loses the taps to Jacobs, but Marshall offered a lot more around the ground in addition to flogging English (along with Ryder) in the middle. That can't keep happening

English had 12 disposals and 4 marks
Marshall had 11 disposals and 6 marks

Marshall had help so again it’s wrong to suggest Marshall offered more around the ground.

Other than the ruck(which no one will deny is his main job Obviously) he pretty much broke even and against two rucks that isn’t too bad.

Hopefully Bev gives him some help soon because I think he is still two years 40 more games from being able to hold his own against the best

Even though I wouldn't drop him, I can under why some have called for Jong to be dropped.

His effort was terrific and he got in the right spots but he absolutely burnt us a few times in transition when he fumbled the ball, it always undoes a lot of the good stuff he does. But there are too many to drop before him.

I find the calls for Daniel to be dropped to be egregious, he is one guy I feel confident we might score with when he has the ball. Clean and usually makes the right decisions.

Also we miss Hunter badly.

Even though I wouldn't drop him, I can under why some have called for Jong to be dropped.

His effort was terrific and he got in the right spots but he absolutely burnt us a few times in transition when he fumbled the ball, it always undoes a lot of the good stuff he does. But there are too many to drop before him.

I find the calls for Daniel to be dropped to be egregious, he is one guy I feel confident we might score with when he has the ball. Clean and usually makes the right decisions.

Also we miss Hunter badly.

I’m pretty sure the other team are happy when Daniel has the ball in the back pocket also because they feel confident they will need up scoring on turnover or when he slows the play down of dinky kicks it ten mts sideways.

Jong is in his last year surely and his body will break down So why waste games on him? For the same reason I think they move Suckers and Dicko on.

This year is done so play the kids. I only put Libba in coz he has mongrel that no one else does or I’d finish him up too unfortunately

I’d legit play Libba or Duryea injured before Gowers or Dale

I’ve always thought that the play the kids argument doesn’t stand up to logical scrutiny.

The tragic history of rebuilding clubs shows that playing kids who aren’t ready above older players who are, is a great way to destroy both your younger players’ confidence and the culture of your club.

Play the best team, the players will all respect that even if they miss out individually.

FB: Keath Trengove Cordy

HB: Duryea Crozier Johannisen

C: B Smith Bont Lipinski

HF: Daniel Naughton West

FF: Lloyd Bruce Dickson

F: Sweet, Dunkley, Macrae

I/C: Le Young, McLean, Libba (if fit), Jong or Schache

If Libba not fit: choose who you want

Would anyone change anything here?

I’ve always thought that the play the kids argument doesn’t stand up to logical scrutiny.

The tragic history of rebuilding clubs shows that playing kids who aren’t ready above older players who are, is a great way to destroy both your younger players confidence and the culture of your club.

Play the best team, the players will all respect that even if they miss out individually.

Normally I’m not big on it either but as I said Are we really a lot worse by playing West and Weightman as opposed to Suckers and Dicko?

I wouldn’t drop a mature bloke if he was going really well but while they are just middling or worse take the opportunity t get games into kids in a season that is a mess and already over

FB: Keath Trengove Cordy

HB: Duryea Crozier Johannisen

C: B Smith Bont Lipinski

HF: Daniel Naughton West

FF: Lloyd Bruce Dickson

F: Sweet, Dunkley, Macrae

I/C: Le Young, McLean, Libba (if fit), Jong or Schache

If Libba not fit: choose who you want

Would anyone change anything here?

English in the side. He can rotate between forward and the ruck. He's not gonna get better if he's not playing, he just needs backup.

Does anyone else worry about us not being hard enough and then seeing people want to bring Schache back in?