Preview Changes vs Dogs

I'll be the first to admit I was quick to jump on Ziebell earlier but I think LA has had a decent enough year to stay in another week.

Not having seen any stats, Basti was another that has had a relatively solid year that seemed fairly non existent today.

Btw, who took Masten out of the game? If it was one of the above, I'll withdraw my comments.

Basti took Kerr out of the game..

Spud out??? I must have been watching a different team this year. Spud was a little more wasteful today but imo has been back close to his best this season.

Also a bit surprised at the lack of mullett love too. I reckon he's been pretty good with his limited opportunities this year & is reasonably polished for a 7 (part-)gamer. To me he's looked as at home as any of our young guys did in their first 7 games.

Out - Pedo, Tarrant, Harper

In - Goldy, Hansen / Milky, Mullett (sub = someone else)

Assume Scotty Mc may miss again this week, hives aren't cool.

I'd agree with giving Harper a spell if we were up against top 4 opposition. But against the Dogs he must play.

Out: Taz, Pedo, LA
In: Hansen, Goldy, Warren

Why do people want Mullet dropped? When he came on at the start of the last quarter he had 2 kicks in 20 seconds into our forward 50. Would be stiff to be dropped with limited game time. Didn't think he was our worst or close to it.

Tarrant and/or Pedo I think will be cut next week.
McMahon won't play next week.

Ins would be from Goldy, Hansen, Grima.

We missed McMahon today, he would have done a better job on Hill. Assuming he won't be right for a while.
In: Goldy, Warren, Hansen, Speight
Out: Edwards, Tarrant, Anthony, Pedersen

I'd also like to get Grima or Cam Delaney back in...we look one tall short down there with Spud doing his best, but a tad undersized.

True no doubt going forward we can kick it better but dropping Anthony who is maybe a mid range player is not going to solve issues. Our big blokes in particular need to impose themselves in games that matter.

It solves a massive issue!

If you choose to squib every contest and play like girl you get dropped!

If you let players like Anthony get away with this shit then you find other players will start to question why they have to throw their body on the line when it's their turn.

It makes me sick to watch such a weak individual run around in that jumper when you have other players like Swallow and Patch getting smashed from pillar to post to win a contest for their side.

It's putrid and cringeworthy!

Basti was one of the positives for us. Kept Kerr to 12 possessions and got 18 himself.

Couldn't agree more.

Despite what the stats said, McIntosh was ****ing killed by Cox today, in every sense of the word.

Can't fathom the reasoning behind Goldstein not being able to play the sole ruck role in pre-season, yet McIntosh gets the nod for that very role in the season proper (disregarding Goldy's form).

Blind freddy can see Todd is an infathomably better ruckman than Hank.

You give Todd a whole game, ala 2011, he will be back to his 15/40 disposals/hitouts ratio.

Some ruckman can't play the second ruck role well, unfortunately, it happens to be both of ours.
Agree.

Hamish has no leap and is next to useless at the centre bounce, it's pretty much the same result as having Pedo in there.

Goldstein is a top 3 tap ruckman at least. We need to use this invaluable commodity as much as we can.

Agree.

Hamish has no leap and is next to useless at the centre bounce, it's pretty much the same result as having Pedo in there.

Goldstein is a top 3 tap ruckman at least. We need to use this invaluable commodity as much as we can.

Hamish up forward against Dogs to stretch their backline.
Goldy in middle.

Anyone bagging Hamish is kidding themselves... he would be in the top 5 Bnf so far this season!1!!
Wasn't bagging Hamish or saying he should be dropped, was just agreeing with the fact that his ruck work is very average. He has earnt a spot for now but it's going to be a constant battle for him to stay there, you'd say he needs to average around 1.5 goals and 6 marks a game to justify his selection.

Goldy needs to start rucking for at least 75% of games.

Sat behind the goals today. The forward line is just to stagnant. Im a Tarrant fan but he doesnt know what to do and just gets in Petries way.

Milky and his relentless leading must come in. Even if he doesn't get it he clears space for Petrie.

LA was pretty terrible as well. Some of those efforts were pretty embarrassing.

Out anthony, tarrent, spud,
In Goldstein, Hansen, greenwood, speight or mckenzie
It's a Sunday game so that's my squad. Spud is solid but he doesn't take care with his dissposal.

Wow, there's been some out-and-out taint stained posts in the thread, but this?

Last night, at the Perth function, Scott said they view Tarrant as a very important part of the long-term structure.
He said people had to remember Taz has played about a dozen games.

Out: Edwards, Tarrant, Anthony, Pedersen

I don't know which scottywiper to go with here.

Given that he ended up wearing the Sub jacket, it's fair to say the wheels fell off at some point. All the same, in light of Brad's comments, it will be interesting to see how it plays out at the selection table this week.

On Liam, he will undoubtedly receive a bake during the video reviews. But despite his well-documented pursuits in the field of jibbery, I'm not sure he's any kind of lock for ommission.

Edwards? Okay, now you're just being silly.

In Scotts post match presser he said he was happy with Edwards on Hurn in the first half, so I don't see him getting dropped despite not doing much as it seems he was given a role to drag Hurn away from the play.

Quote, "terrific".

Kind of a moot point anyway. Be very surprised if our leading goalkicker was in the gun at this stage.

Wow, there's been some out-and-out taint stained posts in the thread, but this?

Yep, rubbish call. Firrito has been very good.

And yes, thread is heavy with the stench of posting after a loss.

If I'm reading it right, the one definite out at this stage is....

The_Thinker_with_a_Laptop.embedded.prod_affiliate.11.jpg

Yep, rubbish call. Firrito has been very good.

And yes, thread is heavy with the stench of posting after a loss.

If I'm reading it right, the one definite out at this stage is....

The_Thinker_with_a_Laptop.embedded.prod_affiliate.11.jpg

That's quite funny. :)

I keep thinking of the Cop Shop theme, but not the actual tune just the section where they'd return from an ad break - and liken that to a day in the life of the North board after a loss.

I think we are a week behind On these changes. Match committee is getting far too clever and cute. Good vfl should get rewarded, poor afl should be dropped.
Godly in for pedo- aa ruckman for a backup forward. H to play forward and ruck 20%
Hansen in for tarrant- he should be doing a milky in the vfl- Hansen can hold a mark and play forward or back
Milky in for Harper- can play but just not getting enough
Greenwood in for wright- we need his clearance and bullocking work in the middle. Too many soft goals conceded from clearances
Cruize possibly for Anthony- better user, harder at it
Mullet is a good sub

Really, mate?

I'll take the bloke who repeatedly puts his head over the footy over the guy who repeatedly hears footsteps, regardless of how much footy they win. Jack's still had 20+ in three of four games too.

The worst 20+ possy games I've seen. Littered with 20 metre scrubby around the corner kicks. As TFW said he has been completely ineffectual.

If Anthony actually had a target to hit up forward then maybe some of his long kicks could be effective but when you're full forward is playing across the centre then it's pretty hard to hit a target up forward. I guess he could kick it backwards or sideways as the coach wants us to play so all the forwards can run back to position.

Notice how West Cost keep 6 defenders all the time while we run around in small packs handballing to each other in attempt to move the ball forward. All this does is give you more opportunities to turn the ball over and allow the opposition to set their defence. Anthony may be soft but the our game plan is softer.

Quote, "terrific".

Kind of a moot point anyway. Be very surprised if our leading goalkicker was in the gun at this stage.

Q why is our leading goalkicker playing a pure negation role?

A ????

As for spud, I thought he was huge down back.

Goldy comes in for Tarrant. Harper can't get near it atm. My waters are telling me that Mckenzie might get a run this week.