Preview Changes vs Dogs

Oh FFS.

Ziebell has been redundant for three weeks, still radiating in his goal against Geelong and we should drop a bloke in LA that has been near enough the most consistent ball winner for the year.

I have to say, I'm not a Pedo fan. Stop gap. And just not very good.

Holy Crap..... I think the port would have got spilt on the rug from the tumbler and little Persian Cat got a swift kick as it walked by...

This is the most emotion i have seen from TFW in 6 years and even more than when i have pissed him off..

Zieb's and Pedo Red Carded Hehehehe...

Anthony – do a post check. Been concerned about his approach to the contest and even his attack on the loose ball (waits for the easy bounce to him) for a long time. Yesterday no surprise at all. Does the side have any kind of non-negotiable playing standards? What do the leadership group spruik internally? Surely Anthony’s squibbing was at odds our values? Surely...?? Why wasn’t he locked in the VFL and only played when he addressed these things? Nothing’s changed. He’s got some decent attributes but the bloke is mid-20s and should be setting the standard for the kids. He isn’t.

Tarrant – f*** me. There’s gifting games for development – and there’s throwing games with stupidity. One of the slowest (both in mind and foot) players we’ve had going for a while. Little physical impact. Was never in any sort of consistent solid VFL form. That’s 2 games he was given as a treat. Time to go back and kick the door down. Can see the merit in the feeding games principle but there has to be some common sense applied.

At the least:
OUT: Anthony, Tarrant, Harper
IN: Mckenzie, Goldstein, Warren

Ahhhh this is funny.....I got abused and banished like no other for stating this 2 years ago....

Yep nothing has changed.... Mister scared turnover king himself and Tarzan who plays like Jane.....!!!!

When will people learn to wait at least 12 hours after a loss before you post stupid comments.

A couple of points:
  1. We are still developing as a team and our current game plan and team selection is designed to accelerate that development.
  2. LA is frustrating with his turnovers and lack of physical intensity but he knows how to find the ball and do nothing with it. Gives the word soft a new meaning and would rather let his teamates get smashed than mess up his hair. Let's keep him and send a message to the playing group that its ok not to compete when it's your turn:thumbsu:
  3. We lost the game because of our poor clearance work and Weagles drawing high free kicks. Losing the clearances stuffed up our forward structure and lead to the lopsided I50s.
  4. Tarrant is looking lost out there ... time for a change.
  5. Edwards is one dimensional so I'd prefer other options.
  6. We look 1 KPD short.
  7. Warren & Garlett deserve a go.
In: Goldstein, Hansen, Warren
Out: Tarrant, Pedersen, Anthony
Firrito L Delaney Thompson
Atley Hansen Wright

Bastinac Ziebell Wells
Goldstein Swallow Cunnington

Adams Petrie Harvey
Thomas McIntosh Warren

Macmillan Mullett Harper

Edited

Lindsay to play in Liam's position , so Liam out .
Ben Warren to play forward in Lindsay's position .
Tarrant out for good , bring back Goldy
Pedo out to reward Hanson for good form .

history shows returning to Melb from Perth is tuff to do so changes are needed for this reason and poor form , seems a lack of hunger .

One thing that confuses me is when you have two ruck men who have shown in the past that they can (a) get hit outs to our advantage (b) take marks when in the forward line cannot be named in the same team. IF Goldy had been selected against West Coast and both of the tall men were told not to venture outside the fifty, WCE would have had to THINK about their tactics. On Sunday it was simply Glass to Petrie then each defender matched up on a similar sized opponent. As we went in a 'wave' down the field no WCE defender was lost or confused about what to do. If Goldy or Big H had been left there at least there may have been a new pattern for them to work against. All the pre-match talk was about how NM were to cope with the TALLS on the Eagles forward line. We had a chance to provide a bit of a problem for the Eagles but we went with Tarrant who is not a tall marking forward. I hope we think about a better forward plan to play the Dogs. They don't have tall back men so lets exploit this. It also takes the pressure off Drew and Azza.

Warren – I say he, Thomas and Edwards can co-exist. This sort of application, form and improvement needs a go. Appears to no longer be a one trick pony (his words). All of the these 3 can work their way up the ground as avenues into the forward line and Warren has the capacity to bruise anyone in his path.

Petrie - .. is it time yet? Can we question Bambi? Love the big fella. Yes there are midfield issues, gameplan issues etc. Drew’s in shit form tho. I suggested giving him a spell for the GC game to freshen him up and wish we had. Things just aren’t clicking for Drew, there’s no value in dropping him to VFL but his poor form is a reality. But if he doesn’t turn it on v Dogs or Port then we’re in for some interesting reviews.

Anthony – do a post check. Been concerned about his approach to the contest and even his attack on the loose ball (waits for the easy bounce to him) for a long time. Yesterday no surprise at all. Does the side have any kind of non-negotiable playing standards? What do the leadership group spruik internally? Surely Anthony’s squibbing was at odds our values? Surely...?? Why wasn’t he locked in the VFL and only played when he addressed these things? Nothing’s changed. He’s got some decent attributes but the bloke is mid-20s and should be setting the standard for the kids. He isn’t.

Tarrant – f*** me. There’s gifting games for development – and there’s throwing games with stupidity. One of the slowest (both in mind and foot) players we’ve had going for a while. Little physical impact. Was never in any sort of consistent solid VFL form. That’s 2 games he was given as a treat. Time to go back and kick the door down. Can see the merit in the feeding games principle but there has to be some common sense applied.

McKenzie – flipside of Tarrant. While his form is decent rather than extraordinary and physically he’s a while off – what he does have is absolutely required right now. Without McMahon we have fk all effective long disposal out of the back half. Would like to see Brad given a taste and players block for and feed him the pill to let a kid with clearly outstanding vision and disposal set us up a bit. It’d be nice to give him longer but the position is vacant and his application has been accepted.

Black – see Tarrant. Is there a particular reason this kid isn’t getting spoon fed the games? Offers a lot more than Robbie imo and has actually shown glimpses.

Lachie – Glad he put up a bests performance. I have faith he’ll still make it with us. Not against him taking Tarrant’s spot.

Harper – looks shot at the moment. Absolute gem, gonna be the best but maybe time for a consolidating run in the VFL. Don’t think this will happen though.

Others: Greenwood, Garlett, Goldstein – happy for any of these to come straight in.

At the least:
OUT: Anthony, Tarrant, Harper
IN: Mckenzie, Goldstein, Warren

Very good post, 100% agree with all points :thumbsu:

King Corey is spot on.

Harpers a love child, but wouldnt mind him being sent back to the ressy's to earn his spot back, while giving possibly Mckenzie a taste. See how he goes, dont think there is that much risk in that move, both highly rated youngsters, and Brads been performing.

I especially agree on playing Black ahead of Tarrant. He's a better talent, I'd rather blood him in the 1s ahead of Robbie.

Big week for selections, a lot of questions to be asked and we should be selecting our best 22 and the Dogs can work around our structure.

I'm just desperate to find a place for Benny Warren, done everything asked of him and this really is his last chance on our list. I can appreciate he creates structural headaches though and Edwards has certainly earned his spot.

I'll concede Tas was right about McIntosh, he was completely out played by Cox in the ruck and we need Goldstein back, but I like McIntosh as a relief/forward. Pedersen appears the obvious omission for me, barely noticed him yesterday.

I'm going to assume McMahon is still unavailable, poor fella and we are missing him no doubt.

The only changes I'm certain on are:
In: Goldstein, Hansen
Out: Pedersen, Tarrant

Guys on shaky ground are Harper, Anthony and Mullet; I know Anthony finds the footy but jeez I'd rather play Speight or Garlett at the moment. Harper loves Etihad so I want to see him play 3+ quarters next week.

Those questioning Petrie's form, sure he isn't at the height of last season but I thought he really battled hard yesterday in a game where our midfield was beaten pretty badly.

Harper is on shaky ground but the Dogs at Etihad is exactly the sort of game he could break open. We absolutely need his class and poise.

those players who r on so called shakey ground are but part of a losing side, the junior players would be on the outter cos the senior players got beaten. Dropping them does players no favor and may even alienate them. Those on shakey ground should be given a few more chances so that when they stuff them up, they will know the areas they have to work on and willingly swallow their pride and go back to vfl and improve.

As to player like Petrie, dropping him is no use, send him to full back where he will use his size and strength to be a rock. Allow this as an opportunity to free up the forward line to allow Tarrant to blossom and to bring in another quick key forward like Hansen or Black. Warren is another player i like to see cos his effort and skill in 2010 showed he is a hard presenting skilled medium forward.

B: Firrito Thompson Wright
HB: Atley Delaney MacMillan
C: Wells Ziebell Cunnington
HF: Harper Edwards Harvey
F: Thomas Petrie Speight
R: McIntosh Swallow Bastinac
I: Adams Anthony Goldstein Pederson
E: Mullet Tarrant Warren

Speight Goldstein IN
Mullet Tarrant OUT

Wow.

Just... wow.
Well he is Radical...

LOL at people ITT forecasting 5 changes this week with no injuries!
We lost by 4 goals to the league leader on their turf on the other side of the country. That hardly screams panic stations. Even 4 changes would be a stretch.

Speight Goldstein IN
Mullet Tarrant OUT

Speight got 10 touches in the VFL in a 40 point win, hardly calls for a recall.

i just reckon he suits our gameplan and at Etihad can be very damaging.
even if he is the sub but id prefer him to start. he can make the dogs defence accountable and hurt them the other way.

those players who r on so called shakey ground are but part of a losing side, the junior players would be on the outter cos the senior players got beaten. Dropping them does players no favor and may even alienate them. Those on shakey ground should be given a few more chances so that when they stuff them up, they will know the areas they have to work on and willingly swallow their pride and go back to vfl and improve.

As to player like Petrie, dropping him is no use, send him to full back where he will use his size and strength to be a rock. Allow this as an opportunity to free up the forward line to allow Tarrant to blossom and to bring in another quick key forward like Hansen or Black. Warren is another player i like to see cos his effort and skill in 2010 showed he is a hard presenting skilled medium forward.
You lost me when you mentioned "quality" key forward and Hansen in the same sentence

Speight Goldstein IN
Mullet Tarrant OUT
McKenzie is a better chance than speight this week, he has been solid in every game he has played at vfl level. Speight has had a quieter last 2 weeks but i expect him to come back into contention soon

Lindsay to play in Liam's position , so Liam out .
Ben Warren to play forward in Lindsay's position .
Tarrant out for good , bring back Goldy
Pedo out to reward Hanson for good form .

history shows returning to Melb from Perth is tuff to do so changes are needed for this reason and poor form , seems a lack of hunger .

I like it.

I think this would mean our best possible team is in. Then just let them settle for a few weeks.

Maybe one other swap when Mcmahon gets fit.

McKenzie is a better chance than speight this week, he has been solid in every game he has played at vfl level. Speight has had a quieter last 2 weeks but i expect him to come back into contention soon

Yeh either one of them deserves the run.
Hopefully not as sub.

LA wont be dropped.

Long term however players like Mullett and JMac will be far superior simply because they kick the ball better and make better decisions.

At the moment neither have the strength to run a game out like Anthony, but the day is coming IMO.

This week who knows, it seems a bit of a chook raffle down there at the moment. I would actually like to see Tarrant get another game against weaker opposition. Perhaps we can have a structure that supports Tall forwards this week.

If McMahon is still out then I doubt there will be to many changes. Goldstein for Pedo would seem the most likely.

Definite outs: Tarrant (surely you cant perservere any longer); Pedo (had his chance and didnt grab it)

Definite in(s): Goldy. Hansen

Possible outs: Mullet, Harper (My fav player, but might need a spell)

Possible ins: McKenzie (lets give this kid a go); Gartlett; Greenwood; Warren (but dont know if there's room for him if hansen comes in)

Ps- dont think LA will get dropped.. He's had a decent year and would be a knee-jerk reaction to demote him. Having said that, i was at the game and didnt see the incident everyone is harping on about.. so could be wrong here.