Preview Changes vs North

• Thread starter Thread starter timtamWB

Did Cook eat all your pizza?*

*Anyone else remember the funny Cook/Terry Wallace story?
I was in the dunny having a piss at a bar, doggies had played earlier that day, we had a good win, he walked up next to me, i recognised him and simply said good game today mate. He pulled out his old fella, turned to me and said "yeah you want to suck it", i told him to **** off and walked straight out of there. What a w***er. True story.

Nah. I can name and recognise pretty much every performing best 22 player on most team's list. Just you guys have so many generic, mids/flankers of about the same size that I'm starting to think there's a cloning machine at Arden st.

Lol, Bulldogs are pretty much all the same size, including you're ruckman this week. If any team has a cloning machine it's the Bulldogs.

LOL, you support Norf.

#saveboomer !

It's an outrage that he's being suspended for slamming Liam Picken off the ball and then trying to choke him! We're the victims! Again!

Im not sold Cordy. His current size and his agility is lacking compared to others. I think he lacks natural athleticism. I think he will be eyed as a big defender in years to come, when he bulks up and fitness improves. Currently Hamling Biggs Roarke and smith could run rings around him. My thinking is he will be a long term project based on getting bigger. A defender to take on big forwards, not the agile type which we have a few of now. Id be putting money on that he packs on 6 or so kilo through the preseason.

Also no Hrovat? Could he be on the trade table at season's end?

No point he has zero value, who would give us anything for him honestly?regarfless what I think I don't think 90% of fans from other teams would even have heard of him.

An interesting game this week and I love the changes Bev has made

I think with the changes they will still pip is by a couple goals but only due to us being in Perth last week.

Next year will show that these two teams are miles apart with the Roos going backwards carrying the overated fossil Boomer and the young dogs move forward

So you know most players from all teams but can't distinguish North players after seeing us 6 times live? A little hard to believe. But anyway, I show myself out. Hoping for a cracking game.

Sent from my LG-D802 using Tapatalk
I'm not sure why you're so offended. I never said those players were bad, just that they were similar and don't stand out.
You are Ruckman?
Do you even english dude?
Also 2009 called they want their (as opposed to there or they're) observation about the Bulldogs back.

Our 200cm ruckman?

I hope you're not a carpenter by trade
The funny thing is that the team we have named includes a midfield with players ranging from 194cms to 167cms. Yeah we're all the same size...:rolleyes:

Maybe I am a bit naive, but I am not sure why so many think we will lose to Norf. We do have the 6 day break (again) we have it every year against Norf, but we have made a lot of changes to cover fatigue.

Yes they have a good ruck, but Natanui is simply a freak not an accumulator like Goldy. The media keeps banging on that Norf have won the last seven games, a little exploration shows that these wins with the exception of Freo, have all come against the bottom eight. They played Freo, at home with no Pav and an injured Fyfe and won by 11 points. Blind Freddy can see Freo are not the team that we played against earlier in The year (and were level with at the 25 mark of the final quarter).

North's last seven wins have come against Saints, Melbourne, Carlton, Brisbane, Essendon and Geelong (Etihad). Impressive?

Their losses have come against Sydney, Gold Coast, Collingwood, Hawthorn 60 points, Freo away by 72 points and Adelaide 77 points.

The only teams challenging for finals that Norf have beaten us Richmond, and Eagles at Ethiad.
But they have beaten Geelong twice reasonably comfortably.

Chin up guys the only teams we have not beaten this year is Hawthorn, Freo and Geelong.

Well I've had my suspicions for a while now but now I'm convinced. Despite Bev's multiple comments about there being no limits to the goals for this season and that there is serious consideration being given to playing finals, I suspect that he's not really too concerned about where we finish this year. The evidence is strong that he sees that this year is all about gaining as much information as he can about his players, to understand their strengths and weaknesses, to test them in all types of situations and roles and then to further develop them into the next stage of his grand plan.
He is working through the list to ascertain who will be capable of being a part of that 'grand plan' and who will not.
Some decisions appear to have already been made regarding this as we see in the relegation or non-selection of certain players.
To me Bev is a bit like an extremely innovative scientist who is involved in all types of experimentation to make that amazing discovery or perhaps even a Pythonesque Knight in search of the Holy Grail. It's a fascinating thing to watch, never dull, full of excitement, awe and trepidation. As Bulldog supporters we live in interesting times.

Maybe I am a bit naive, but I am not sure why so many think we will lose to Norf. We do have the 6 day break (again) we have it every year against Norf, but we have made a lot of changes to cover fatigue.

Yes they have a good ruck, but Natanui is simply a freak not an accumulator like Goldy. The media keeps banging on that Norf have won the last seven games, a little exploration shows that these wins with the exception of Freo, have all come against the bottom eight. They played Freo, at home with no Pav and an injured Fyfe and won by 11 points. Blind Freddy can see Freo are not the team that we played against earlier in The year (and were level with at the 25 mark of the final quarter).

North's last seven wins have come against Saints, Melbourne, Carlton, Brisbane, Essendon and Geelong (Etihad). Impressive?

Their losses have come against Sydney, Gold Coast, Collingwood, Hawthorn 60 points, Freo away by 72 points and Adelaide 77 points.

The only teams challenging for finals that Norf have beaten us Richmond, and Eagles at Ethiad.
But they have beaten Geelong twice reasonably comfortably.

Chin up guys the only teams we have not beaten this year is Hawthorn, Freo and Geelong.
Good summary DrB. I'm pretty upbeat about this week. Sure we might be a bit fatigued coming back from Perth but six have come in to the side so that's nearly a third who won't have that problem.

North have been winning but aren't in the white hot form that West Coast are (especially at Subiaco) and if you look at our changes they are mostly for the good:

OUT ...... IN ............. IMPACT
Campbell Roughead neutral or a + (Roughead a good match up for Goldstein)
Talia Z Cordy - (Zaine is promising but is a first gamer)
Daniel Honeychurch + (Daniel needs a break)
Jong Picken +++ (Picken one of our best players)
R Smith M Boyd +++ (Boyd has had one of his best seasons, replaces a first gamer)
Pearce Webb + (Webb has some definite class and likely to get 12-15 possessions if not the sub)

So apart from the fact that these guys are fresh, we are clearly better off.

I just hope Grant and Morris are definitely fit to play. I thought Tom Boyd might be a chance but that would probably be too many talls for our game plan.

So you know most players from all teams but can't distinguish North players after seeing us 6 times live? A little hard to believe. But anyway, I show myself out. Hoping for a cracking game.

Sent from my LG-D802 using Tapatalk

I'm actually North's list manager, and the only ones I can ever remember are "Bomber" Harvey and Stewart Wiggins.

Edit: Sorry, it's Shane Wiggins. My bad.

I'm not sure why you're so offended. I never said those players were bad, just that they were similar and don't stand out.

You are Ruckman?
Do you even english dude?
Also 2009 called they want their (as opposed to there or they're) observation about the Bulldogs back.

Mine was a pre-emptive text mistake.

However "do you even English" response is classic literature.

Im not sold Cordy. His current size and his agility is lacking compared to others. I think he lacks natural athleticism. I think he will be eyed as a big defender in years to come, when he bulks up and fitness improves. Currently Hamling Biggs Roarke and smith could run rings around him. My thinking is he will be a long term project based on getting bigger. A defender to take on big forwards, not the agile type which we have a few of now. Id be putting money on that he packs on 6 or so kilo through the preseason.

He's going to be a ripper mate.

No point he has zero value, who would give us anything for him honestly?regarfless what I think I don't think 90% of fans from other teams would even have heard of him.

I'd never heard of Biggs and Hamling either...

Carlton, Essendon and Saints would look at him.

Cordy is as agile as you get for a key defender, just look at the highlights package for his inclusion on the dogs site (its just one game of course but still) he dances around midfielders multiple times. He's also got great closing speed and a big leap. Not sure his athleticism is the problem.

Have you actually seen him live?

Because I find it difficult to believe that anybody that has would come to the same conclusions that you have.