Changes Vs Port Adelaide

• Thread starter Thread starter Vooligan

And Neade can be part of their midfield rotation. Would love to see that midget line up in the middle.

Sure he can tackle and run (up forward or on a flank), but a decent bit of body contact will stop that in the middle.

Tell me which part of the ground that tackle is?

Lol
He doesn't need the rest and we do rate him, but the facts are he is still young and raw. Redden has only played 11 games (including the 1st two this season).

Meanwhile Renouf is actually a decent ruckman, probably undervalued by many including most Port supporters (myself included)... however, in 2012 he was one of the form ruckman in the middle part of the season before getting injured, which limited him to 10 games. In those 10 games (which included a few settling in games against Tigers & Crows when he was coming back from an earlier injury) he racked up 253 HOs at an average of 25.3 per game. That is quite respectable for someone not rated by many. Sure he is no Jacobs who averaged 31.0 HOs per game in 2012... but something else to consider is Time-On-Ground. Renouf averaged 75.3% TOG and Jacobs averaged 87.7% TOG... which would bring their effectiveness a lot closer... Jacobs still in front though. :)

There are other measures to consider such as HO to Adv, around the ground work like disposals, marks etc... which without checking I'm sure Jacobs would be in front. Jacobs is clearly a better ruckman! My point is that Renouf is far from a spud, and out of our 3 rucks, statistically he is our best even though most of us don't rate him that way.

He's had a good couple of weeks at SANFL level and deserves his chance. Redden is unlucky, but nothing wrong with reminding him that his position wont simply be handed to him each week.

Cheers

Lol.. Will seriously be interested to see how renouf goes..considering the hawks got rid of him, who have a massive shortage of rucks, yet port think he is their best ruck..

Tell me which part of the ground that tackle is?

On the wing.

It is not at the centre bounce and he had free run at the player to execute the tackle. As I said his tackling technique is very good. Body weight has very little to do with tackling when you have good technique.

It was suggested he could go through the middle. To me, and most people with some idea of the game, that generally means he can play in the middle at the centre bounce. Where there is congestion and you will cop three or four knocks before getting near the ball. He is too light, heck Richie Douglas could probably bump him out the way and still keep his feet.

That vision actually proves my point more than disproves it...........

I've just had a quick scroll of the port board, you would have thought that Port had knocked off Collingwood and Geelong away from home in the first couple of rounds

You can only beat the opposition in front of you however at the same time you can only measure improvement under pressure situations. The week will be Port's first pressure test and it will be interesting to see how they stand up

I've just had a quick scroll of the port board, you would have thought that Port had knocked off Collingwood and Geelong away from home in the first couple of rounds

You can only beat the opposition in front of you however at the same time you can only measure improvement under pressure situations. The week will be Port's first pressure test and it will be interesting to see how they stand up
Tell me about it, a lot of their posters are suggesting this weekend won't be a real test and they will get their true test against Gold Coast and West Coast.

Lol.. Will seriously be interested to see how renouf goes..considering the hawks got rid of him, who have a massive shortage of rucks, yet port think he is their best ruck..
Irrespective of what he did at Hawthorn or why they let him go the statistics I provide are of his most recent form. Statistically he is our best ruck.

So your best ruck is a player that couldn't keep his spot in a team lacking quality ruckman? Actually he couldn't only not keep his spot he got traded.. If we're talking seriously do u actually rate renouf

He might be your best ruck but he is probably not in the best 15 rucks in the comp, this is where your concerns will start on Sunday

Like Jacob did last Showdown I expect big Sauce to dominate your rucks and give Danger, Thommo, Crouch, Sloane, Wright & co first look at it and if it plays out this way it will place your young defence under Huge pressure

kaysee what I don't understand most is why they've gone with Lobbe and Renouf in the same side. It's like us playing Jacobs and Graham. Playing one of those with the majority of the time in the ruck alongside Redden resting up forward/on the bench seems to make more sense - that would at least give him a bit of relief after two weeks shouldering the ruck. Can't imagine missing games when he is fit does much for his development.

Hopefully it is to our benefit, though I'm, guessing the aim of this strategy is to wear Jacobs down.

On the wing.

It is not at the centre bounce and he had free run at the player to execute the tackle. As I said his tackling technique is very good. Body weight has very little to do with tackling when you have good technique.

It was suggested he could go through the middle. To me, and most people with some idea of the game, that generally means he can play in the middle at the centre bounce. Where there is congestion and you will cop three or four knocks before getting near the ball. He is too light, heck Richie Douglas could probably bump him out the way and still keep his feet.

That vision actually proves my point more than disproves it...........

Made you look.....

If you googled "zone" and "flood" like your mate wants me to, you would realise it gets congested everywhere. When you see him play you'll learn that's when he thrives.

That vision does show however that he can compete with any size body. If you think he is too small than you are a sizest.

'Tagging' isn't the word I'd use. How about we just put a 'defender' on him, because for Rounds 1 and 2 Westhoff has been floating around the ground like a seagull with no opponent. Assuming Rutten goes to Shulz, I'd just stick Talia on him and see how The Hoff (aka Kouta, aka The Dictator) handles an actual contest.
Westhoff is a good player mate, and it wasn't Port supporters who brought up the Kouta comparison. I hate Port as much as you, but the 'Westhoff is a spud' jokes are getting old and really aren't all that relevant anymore. I would think he makes the majority of best 22s in the comp atm, and I would definitely take him at the Crows. He is the classic utility.

Made you look.....

If you googled "zone" and "flood" like your mate wants me to, you would realise it gets congested everywhere. When you see him play you'll learn that's when he thrives.

That vision does show however that he can compete with any size body. If you think he is too small than you are a sizest.

Did not look congested in that footage you showed.

You reckon he could line up at a centre bounce?

He might be your best ruck but he is probably not in the best 15 rucks in the comp, this is where your concerns will start on Sunday

He was during the period when he was playing in 2012. The rucks (and your top mids) are an obvious concern, which is why I mentioned them in one of my 1st posts here IIRC without looking back.
kaysee what I don't understand most is why they've gone with Lobbe and Renouf in the same side. It's like us playing Jacobs and Graham. Playing one of those with the majority of the time in the ruck alongside Redden resting up forward/on the bench seems to make more sense - that would at least give him a bit of relief after two weeks shouldering the ruck. Can't imagine missing games when he is fit does much for his development.

Hopefully it is to our benefit, though I'm, guessing the aim of this strategy is to wear Jacobs down.
Might be my weary eyes (long day, lots of code and numbers absorbed) but your 1st statement has lost me a little.

We should play 2 rucks to share the load (stay fresher) against Jacobs as you suggested. We've been doing that so far all year with Lobbe and Redden (Renouf was coming back from injury/ops). Now that Renouf has strung some games and form together we're (probably) bringing him in to replace Redden. We will still have 2 rucks, one will either rest up forward or on the bench. I was the Port poster who suggested Westhoff has the ability to play up field on the flanks through the midfield if we need extra run (but no mention of Kouta)... he logged the most KMs on the field on the weekend.

Did not look congested in that footage you showed.

You reckon he could line up at a centre bounce?
I reckon he would win more frees than selwood because he is hard at it, and short, and footy aint what it used to be with any high contact. He probably won't line up through there, but he could perhaps if we need a spark.

If winning frees is the objective of the centre bounce, may as well put Wantsfrees in there.

Im not sure what the story with Redden is, but Lobbe was given probably the biggest ruck thrashing of all time last Showdown. If we went in with just him again, I can see it happening again. If its going to be wet, meaning there may be more stoppages, then two ruckman is probably the way to go.

The posters I quoted seemed interested in the Redden/Renouf. Of course if you, yourself, are not interested you have the option of not replying.:thumbsu:

As am I.

none of ur rucks stand a chance v jacobs so who cares who u guys play in ruck

Like Jacob did last Showdown I expect big Sauce to dominate your rucks and give Danger, Thommo, Crouch, Sloane, Wright & co first look at it and if it plays out this way it will place your young defence under Huge pressure

So changing topics now (I don't simply wish to bang on about Port here, just answering Qs)... aside from the obvious quality Crows players (Jacobs, Thommo, Dangerfield, Sloane, and Walker) who else is travelling well IYO? Who would be up there in the B&F count outside of those named players?

Cheers.

So changing topics now (I don't simply wish to bang on about Port here, just answering Qs)... aside from the obvious quality Crows players (Jacobs, Thommo, Dangerfield, Sloane, and Walker) who else is travelling well IYO? Who would be up there in the B&F count outside of those named players?

Cheers.

Talia and Richard Douglas would be the two that stand out for me based on Rds 1 & 2.

Otten is also slowly working himself back into form and currently leads the league in 1%'s.