Opinion Changes vs Port

• Thread starter Thread starter Vooligan

And perhaps thats where the issue lies where do stats really coun?t - if a guy takes the easy option every time then they come in at at 100% however if someone takes the game on and tries to break the lines with a precise kick which doesn't come off he scores less - give me a game breaker like Danger, or Sloane over some one safe!

Not blind yet - had a few!
Nope not convinced on Jaensch - what does he give us? Laird is much more damaging and I am so much more comfortable with the ball in his hands. Jaensch cannot defend one on one therefore he is not a defender -he constantly gets caught out and it costs our team goals! He gives away crucial goals and his one big bomb doesn't make up for it.
Jaensch was always an attacking player for Sturt and so was Martin in their early days- Wing or half forward. It was only once Crows tried to make them defenders because of their kicking skills that they were put in the backlines. Yes they can kick the ball but their natural instinct is not to defend but to run off their man. Martin at the moment is just scared of doing anything wrong. He just needs to go with his first option and go long and noty the shiort sideway kick and he would be alright

LJ is an interesting player. He's not quite as one dimensional as Jack Anthony, but he's not far off. Really needs to lift his intensity to survive. 3 goals is a good return, but his second efforts and defensive pressure are still well below standard. Pods was, sadly, even less effective.

His ability to just sit on the ball and not pick it up at one stage was awesome too, especially when it resulted in a Geelong goal

Listening to Sando's presser, Laird seems to be the only realistic player to come back in from injury. Didn't rule Reilly out, but was nowhere near as convincing about his chances. Would mean Dougie is no chance.

I would replace Martin with Laird, Porpoise with Jenkins. Although, I would have no issue if the only change is Laird for Porpoise, with Jaensch moving into a HFF position.

Haven't read what everyone else has been saying, but I dislike jaensch as much as the next bloke, but tonight he was very very good and I would hate to see him dropped to make way for laird or Reilly.

Martin was useless, and pods and McKernan deserve another chance considering they were consistently chopped out by the 3rd defender.

Kerridge very impressive, as was grigg etc.

Porpoise did some very good things but didn't get enough of the ball. His game tonight wasn't as good as his pre season games, but it was still 1m* better than 2013, so he will definitely stay.

Only ins should be laird and Douglas if fit. Martin out. I realise it's not a like for like but switch up positions a bit and we should be right for next week

Listening to Sando's presser, Laird seems to be the only realistic player to come back in from injury. Didn't rule Reilly out, but was nowhere near as convincing about his chances. Would mean Dougie is no chance.

I would replace Martin with Laird, Porpoise with Jenkins. Although, I would have no issue if the only change is Laird for Porpoise, with Jaensch moving into a HFF position.
Any other pearls of wisdom from the coach?

I agree Jaensch didn't look too bad apart from a few poor 1 on 1 defensive errors.

I can see them dropping Lyons for not using his fresh legs to utilise his raw and blistering pace and run over the top of Geelong. Seriously, if this guy makes it, he will have done it the hard way. He really should be looked at to replace Thompson, who is a real liability. They have very similar attributes as football players, however one is slowing down and struggling to take the ball cleanly.

I agree with you about Thompson. He just doesn't look competitive anymore. Meanwhile Lyons got 9 possessions in a single quarter. Not a bad return.

OUT: Martin (absolutely laughable in all aspects)
IN: Laird

To those calling for McKernan to be dropped - pull your heads out of your arses. He was better than at least 12 others tonight. No, he isn't perfect, but he's a strong presence and Jenkins has done absolutely nothing to warrant a recall. If Jenkins is to come in, it'll be for Podsiadly who was clearly impaired after having his arm crushed.

Porplyzia gets one more chance. ONE MORE. I wouldn't be upset if he was dropped though, although it would surprise me considering how much Sando publicly talks him up. Shit he was bad. Like Martin-bad. Career potentially over if he doesn't turn it around by about Round 5.

Shaw probably gets another go. We can only hope Port select Butcher which will give Sam someone to play on. Talia has to go to Hoff and Truck to Schulz. If Butcher gets dropped for a small I'd make a late change and drop Shaw for a small. Not Ellis-Yolmen though. Not a fan.

Lyons looked decent at the stoppages after coming on. Give him a full game and give someone like B Crouch, Laird or Jaensch the bib.

Playing Crouch was clearly a mistake. Looked awful. Has to stay in now though or the selectors will look like knobs.

Thommo. ****. He simply can not run. It's sad. Stays in though. Need his strength in the packs against Boak.

Jaensch is not a favourite of mine and that sideways handballing bullshit turnover in the 3rd quarter made me lose my shit, but he did enough tonight to play another game. Unless the coaches can prove he was responsible for Bartel getting all of his 'look at me, it's my 250th and i have a brownlow and 3 flags but apparently tonight nobody wants to go near me' goals. Then drop the ****er.

I'm assuming Douglas and Reilly (and all the others) will miss. Also assuming Johnston won't get suspended. I've seen bigger hits in under 8s.

Wholesale changes are probably coming for Rounds 3 and 4. I only see two max this week though, mainly due to the lack of fit and viable options to replace anyone.

I agree Jaensch didn't look too bad apart from a few poor 1 on 1 defensive errors.

I can see them dropping Lyons for not using his fresh legs to utilise his raw and blistering pace and run over the top of Geelong. Seriously, if this guy makes it, he will have done it the hard way. He really should be looked at to replace Thompson, who is a real liability. They have very similar attributes as football players, however one is slowing down and struggling to take the ball cleanly.

LOL. Maybe we should drop Truck for the same reason.

Thommo. ****. He simply can not run. It's sad. Stays in though. Need his strength in the packs against Boak.

I know he won't be dropped, but Boak will just run rings around him if they line up on one another. He might be able to wrestle with an opponent well but as soon as it hits the deck he has zero pace. He also struggles to get free when tackled. It's unfortunate to see him like this.

Not blind yet - had a few!
Nope not convinced on Jaensch - what does he give us? Laird is much more damaging and I am so much more comfortable with the ball in his hands. Jaensch cannot defend one on one therefore he is not a defender -he constantly gets caught out and it costs our team goals! He gives away crucial goals and his one big bomb doesn't make up for it.

Mate, what the **** are you on about?

You've consistently bagged the bloke page after page and yet you have not one piece if hard evidence and keep dribbling out your backside.

Give it a rest. He plays next week and the coaches would be stupid not to select him after that performance.

Seriously whose dumb idea was it to put porps in the midfield?

11 touches

Club needs to get back to basic football logic and stop trying to be cute making players into something they're not

If we want some mongrel in the side than M Crouch and Laird have to come in. From what I saw of Crouch's pre season always went hard. Reminds me of a young Thomo. And Laird is just a trooper. I'll never forget that smother against Freo. Guts.

In: Laird, M Crouch
Out: Martin, Shaw

Jaensch is not a favourite of mine and that sideways handballing bullshit turnover in the 3rd quarter made me lose my shit, but he did enough tonight to play another game. Unless the coaches can prove he was responsible for Bartel getting all of his 'look at me, it's my 250th and i have a brownlow and 3 flags but apparently tonight nobody wants to go near me' goals. Then drop the goose.

Pretty sure Smith was on Bartel when he did damage.

I reckon Jaensch was among our best.

I believe Lewis over JJ was a selection mistake. If weather is fine, need to rectify this. Louies 3 goals did not offset his mistakes and lack of overall pressure and flair.
Havent you heard? The guy kicks straight....:rolleyes: (sarcasm included). He offers very little

IN: Matt Crouch
OUT: Martin/lyons

We dont have the cattle to make changes at the moment due to injuries. If we did, there would be 4 or 5 changes

People calling for jaensch to be dropped are kidding themselves. Offers more attack than laird and brown.

If you want to single out a defender tonight, look no further than sam shaw

Geelong in Geelong was a very tough ask, and expecting to win well that is not optimistic its unrealistic.

Of course you never know either. We hit the front in the 4th, and fought back from deficits through out.

Not sure the sky is falling off that performance*

It might be falling for other reasons, but not for losing at KP

I'm with Sanders. Hardly concerning stuff. Esp with the outs.

Put dougie tex otten reilly in for martin pods shaw porps and things would change quickly.
A few structure issues that saw us burnt by turnovers.
Still learning this handball game as well.

Laird in
Odd of props or Martin out.
Jaensch fwd. Laird back.

Thought we played three excellent quarters of footy to show a ton of upside this year. That final term was a disaster, and we MUST get around Dangerfield when he is being treated like that.

The umpires were horrific in the last quarter. So bad.