List Mgmt. COLLINGWOOD Trade and F/A Discussion 2023

Is there a attached risk with tassie kids as now with the new franchise on the way? They'll be raiding clubs of any Tassie born talent with a big go home factor and cash to splash. Seen there is a few this year.
Yeah it's an interesting one.
I think clubs will just back themselves in to keep them. Gotta go with best available, even if its from tassie. It's great that Tassie is now producing more kids from their system.

Is there a attached risk with tassie kids as now with the new franchise on the way? They'll be raiding clubs of any Tassie born talent with a big go home factor and cash to splash. Seen there is a few this year.
Just because a kid's from Tassie doesn't mean they'll want to come home. Plenty of Tasmanians choose to leave the state to pursue opportunity each year and don't return at all after building a life elsewhere. Seriously, the greatest export of Tasmania is young people who want out.Tassie kids will be attractive to recruit and some will come home naturally. In saying that, you'll still see Tasmanians spread throughout the competition. Give the kids a carrot to remain in Melbourne and they'll remain in Melbourne. I've seen ex-AFL players return home - eg. Thurlow, Thorp, etc - but also know blokes who stay - Kolodjashnij, Chugg, etc.

Yeah it's an interesting one.
I think clubs will just back themselves in to keep them. Gotta go with best available, even if its from tassie. It's great that Tassie is now producing more kids from their system.
The Devils have been huge. Kids in Tassie often debut at sixteen/seventeen against senior bodies in the TSL, play Devils footy on top of that. Kids are very interconnected there and drive the standards. Tassie has always been a footy mad place but hasn't always got the attention it deserves because of isolation, lack of opportunity, etc.

The program seems to have grown in the last couple years; with their U18 team toward the top of the ladder both years. First time I thought, wow, there seems to be some talented kids in this program.

Just because a kid's from Tassie doesn't mean they'll want to come home. Plenty of Tasmanians choose to leave the state to pursue opportunity each year and don't return at all after building a life elsewhere. Seriously, the greatest export of Tasmania is young people who want out.Tassie kids will be attractive to recruit and some will come home naturally. In saying that, you'll still see Tasmanians spread throughout the competition. Give the kids a carrot to remain in Melbourne and they'll remain in Melbourne. I've seen ex-AFL players return home - eg. Thurlow, Thorp, etc - but also know blokes who stay - Kolodjashnij, Chugg, etc.
Agree 100%, the senior comp is a great start for the kids,and its great lots are coming through.

Heard the afl is going to be VERY generous with the Tassie teams concessions to make sure they aren't terrible at the start like GWS/GC. Probably a lot of cap relief, they probably will be able to get a couple back home on big coin. But james sicily was pretty funny when he basically admitted there isn't much going on down there and wouldn't want to play for them

Agree 100%, the senior comp is a great start for the kids,and its great lots are coming through.

Heard the afl is going to be VERY generous with the Tassie teams concessions to make sure they aren't terrible at the start like GWS/GC. Probably a lot of cap relief, they probably will be able to get a couple back home on big coin. But james sicily was pretty funny when he basically admitted there isn't much going on down there and wouldn't want to play for them
Hobart is a pretty good place to live these days.
Bit like the way Geelong and surf coast has evolved as a destination over last 15 years

Has the same manager as Ginni...

Sounds like a good kid, who made a mistake and reaped the benefits of it when he got back to playing footy
The article does read like this. Alcohol issues might have seen Arie suspended from the Devils but these aren't his only disciplinary issues. Some of his actions have crossed a line off-field and he does have have a bit of a reputation for being a "bad kid".

If he wants it enough, he could well be the best Devils player in this year's crop. He trains at the same gym as me and has put in a solid amount of work. What is clear is that he's got to have the right support network around him. Eg. Fly.

The big benefit was playing TSL. When he returned to the boys' league, he thrived.

Hobart is a pretty good place to live these days.
Bit like the way Geelong and surf coast has evolved as a destination over last 15 years
And playing in front of their friends and fam, like geelong entice players; could be a selling point.
It'll be interesting to see whether players like it or not. Huge culture shift from the rest of Australia. They will live in the spotlight as Tassie is very interconnected.

Playing in front of friends and family would be somewhat enticing. That said, would you rather play in front of regular crowds of 20,000 but knew you had mum and dad there or 90,000+ at the G?

Lol. Because Geelong is such a long way to travel for their family & friends. Bloody hell, Beau's mum drives from Darwin to watch her son play.
Indeed. Haven't you seen the traffic lol Lets consult Ollie.

The big advantage Tassie has over GC/GWS is they've got fans of the game in the state. Most people follow footy to some degree in Tassie so you don't need to get people on board. Player wise, the experiments of Gold Coast and GWS have provided a clear framework. I'd expect them to copy the GWS model, although Gold Coast's was originally expected to be more successful. Probably one of the best ideas is to have a gated community for the young players to support each other and let the club have some support in place.

Players will either love or hate Tassie. Some will love the country lifestyle. If you're earning $$$, you'll need an outlet for that cash somewhere that hopefully isn't drugs or gambling. There's not much nightlife, either.

Totally agree. One of our ex players is from Tasmania Graham Wright. Didnt seem to bother him.

Reckon Bailey Smith is a chance to end up at the Pies when his contract is up.

No. Tyreek Hill, fastest player in the NFL top speed 37 km/h. No WADA testing
Thierry Henry 39 km/h. - Arjen Robben 37 km/h top speed with WADA supervision and testing.

JFC, you realise that NFL players wear full pads when playing, right?

And you are somehow asserting that NFL players are NOT “phenomenal athletes for their size” because the NFL is not a signatory to the WADA code.

And yet to lend weight to your case, you point out that a soccer player with a playing BMI of approximately 23.48, ran faster in… checks notes 1998… than Tyreek Hill did IN FULL PADS with a BMI of 28.06 in 2016.

So the crux of your argument is that “NFL players are not phenomenal athletes for their size because there are a couple of instances from 25 years ago of phenomenal athletes from other sports running faster, albeit at a lower BMI and not wearing the same equipment“.

GTFOOH.

JFC, you realise that NFL players wear full pads when playing, right?

And you are somehow asserting that NFL players are NOT “phenomenal athletes for their size” because the NFL is not a signee to the WADA code.

And yet to lend weight to your case, you point out that a soccer player with a playing BMI of approximately 23.48, ran faster in… checks notes 1998… than Tyreek Hill did IN FULL PADS with a BMI of 28.06 in 2016.

GTFOOH.
In any case, we were discussing tight ends, and what great athletes they are - fast, strong and versatile.
The real NFL speedsters tend to be wide receivers & corners.
Willie Gault & Ron Brown were both part of 4 x 100m relay teams that set world records & Cliff Branch ran a 10.0 second 100m before choosing football over athletics

And you are somehow asserting that NFL players are NOT “phenomenal athletes for their size” because the NFL is not a signatory to the WADA code.

So the crux of your argument is that “NFL players are not phenomenal athletes for their size because there are a couple of instances from 25 years ago of phenomenal athletes from other sports running faster, albeit at a lower BMI and not wearing the same equipment“.

GTFOOH.
Are you that immeasurably ignorant ?
You don't think there is a serious reason why countless athletes around the world, elite athletes, are continuously trying to cheat the system with steroids ? Elite athletes are knowingly putting their health at serious risk in order to get results. Whole countries and clubs go into full on illegal supplement programs ?
Illegal supplement benefits far far far outweigh any 9 kg padding disadvantage.
Have you ever conversed with people that have juiced up ?
You GTFOOH boy.

Full list in 2023:

Tasmanians in the AFL / AFLW | AFL Tasmania.

A couple of retirements and delistings but numbers will increase in 2022 with at least four, probably five players picked up.
I class Levi Casboult as a Tasmanian, since he was born and bred there, lived there until he was 15, and I'm surprised the Tassie football authorities don't "claim" him!

Is there an attached risk with tassie kids as now with the new franchise on the way? They'll be raiding clubs of any Tassie born talent with a big go home factor and cash to splash. Seen there is a few this year.
But let’s be honest, who the fk would want to go back to Tassie after managing to escape there???