Create your 2016 state of origin teams

I don't know whether I can improve on the teams that people have already posted.

All I know is that, looking at some of these teams, I've never been more upset about our lack of state of origin. In the past I haven't really thought about it too much.

But one of the Victorian teams posted vs one of the WA teams posted at the MCG on a Saturday arvo?

latest

Who does Eddie Betts qualify for?

Yeah, the prevailing Origin rule when the concept ended was state/territory resided in most between the ages of 10-17.

Under those circumstances Betts is either a West Aussie or Victorian (represented Metro as a junior).

If we went by birthplace as punters often want to do in these threads, Graham Cornes would be a Vic, Shane Crawford would be a Croweater and the earth would tilt off its axis.

Western Australia
B
: Neville Jetta, Alex Rance, Jeremy McGovern
HB: Elliot Yeo, Harry Taylor, Heritier Lumumba
C: Stephen Hill, Matt Priddis, Stephen Coniglio
HF: Michael Walters, Josh Kennedy, Jeff Garlett
F: Mark LeCras, Lance Franklin, Jesse Hogan
R: Nic Naitanui, Nathan Fyfe, Patrick Cripps
INT: Daniel Wells, David Swallow, Tom Mitchell, Cale Hooker

Out: Heretier Lumumba
In: Nathan Wilson

More/quicker run off half back, longer and more accurate kick, better current form etc etc.

Vic Country > Vic Metro > Western Australia > South Australia > NSW/ACT > Queensland > Tasmania > Northern Territory (do they even have a team? Bit rough having them on there own.
Tasmania > Queensland > Northern Territory.

NT would combine with QLD
Queensland should have enough numbers to make their own team. I'll combine NT and Tassie. Both have similar populations. It would still be the smallest population team by miles only 800 000 population, but I think it could beat a few teams and be competitive against everyone which is pretty amazing.

Northern Tasitory:
FB: Thurlow, May, K. Kolodjashnij
HB: Birchall, Pearce, Howe
C: Motlop, Robinson, Anderson
HF: M. Weller, N. Riewoldt (c) :cool:, Hampton
F: Brown, J. Riewoldt, Cockatoo
R: Bellchambers, Hall, C. Rioli

Interchange: Lonergan, McDonald-Tipungwuti, Harwood, L. Weller

Coach: Bolton

Unlucky to miss out:
Jake Neade, D. Rioli, Garland, Webster, Lovell

Tasmania > Queensland > Northern Territory.

Queensland should have enough numbers to make their own team. I'll combine NT and Tassie. Both have similar populations. It would still be the smallest population team by miles only 800 000 population, but I think it could beat a few teams and be competitive against everyone which is pretty amazing.

Northern Tasitory:
FB: Thurlow, May, K. Kolodjashnij
HB: Birchall, Pearce, Howe
C: Motlop, Robinson, Anderson
HF: M. Weller, N. Riewoldt (c) :cool:, Hampton
F: Brown, J. Riewoldt, Cockatoo
R: Bellchambers, Hall, C. Rioli

Interchange: Lonergan, McDonald-Tipungwuti, Harwood, L. Weller

Coach: Bolton

Unlucky to miss out:
Jake Neade, D. Rioli, Garland, Webster, Lovell
Neade>Hampton. Garland or Grima would get a gig in that defence, it's too small.

Howe plays as a third tall with his leap. I would rather him in there than Garland or Grima personally and then have an extra running rebounding player. Alex Pearce and Steven May are both really good tall defenders. Hampton is pretty good, but couldn't squeeze him in defense. I haven't watched enough of Port Adelaide, so I could take your word for it that Neade is better though. I just went based on numbers of game, and Neade's stats this year aren't that amazing.

Garland, Mohr/Schade, Grima

That's would be the best FB line for tassie atm

Then Birchall, Pearce, thurlow for the HB line
Kade Kolodjashnij? Runner up B&F for Gold Coast last year. Has had stomach issues this year, but at his best needs to be in that defense.

Garland, Mohr/Schade, Grima

That's would be the best FB line for tassie atm

Then Birchall, Pearce, thurlow for the HB line
That's too tall.
Howe plays as a third tall with his leap. I would rather him in there than Garland or Grima personally and then have an extra running rebounding player. Alex Pearce and Steven May are both really good tall defenders. Hampton is pretty good, but couldn't squeeze him in defense. I haven't watched enough of Port Adelaide, so I could take your word for it that Neade is better though. I just went based on numbers of game, and Neade's stats this year aren't that amazing.

Kade Kolodjashnij? Runner up B&F for Gold Coast last year. Has had stomach issues this year, but at his best needs to be in that defense.
Howe would get monstered by Queensland or NSW. With Birchall, KK, Thurlow and even Pearce you don't need the extra runner.

That's too tall.

Howe would get monstered by Queensland or NSW. With Birchall, KK, Thurlow and even Pearce you don't need the extra runner.
Howe monstered Geelong and Western Bulldogs two weeks in a row. Queensland without NT and Tassie players isn't that scary.

Make a QLD team without Northern Territory players and without stealing Tasmanian players, then I'll judge.

This is a team I created a couple of years ago. It has obviously changed a bit since then but you will get a general idea

B: Lee Spurr, Lachlan Keeffe, Rory Thompson
HB: Courtenay Dempsey, Daniel Merrett, Brendan Whitecross
C: Jarrod Harbrow, Dane Beams, Josh Thomas
HF: Ricky Petterd, Charlie Dixon, Dayne Zorko
F: Andrew Raines, Nick Riewoldt, Kurt Tippett
R: Zac Smith, David Armitage, Rohan Bail
I/C: Clay Beams, Charlie Cameron, David Hale, Clay Cameron

This is a team I created a couple of years ago. It has obviously changed a bit since then but you will get a general idea

B: Lee Spurr, Lachlan Keeffe, Rory Thompson
HB: Courtenay Dempsey, Daniel Merrett, Brendan Whitecross
C: Jarrod Harbrow, Dane Beams, Josh Thomas
HF: Ricky Petterd, Charlie Dixon, Dayne Zorko
F: Andrew Raines, Nick Riewoldt, Kurt Tippett
R: Zac Smith, David Armitage, Rohan Bail
I/C: Clay Beams, Charlie Cameron, David Hale, Clay Cameron
I can see Tassie beating them. Hale isn't still playing, Nick Riewoldt is playing for Tassie. Bad forwardline issues for QLD. Tassie is going to be rebounding quickly.

Tassie + NT smashes them! The two least funded and cared about states. No funding, no academies, no population, no problem :D

I can see Tassie beating them. Hale isn't still playing, Nick Riewoldt is playing for Tassie. Bad forwardline issues for QLD. Tassie is going to be rebounding quickly.

Tassie + NT smashes them! The two least funded and cared about states. No funding, no academies, no population, no problem :D

I don't think the majority of the football population is going to agree with you.

The majority of the football population tipped Geelong to beat Carlton. We have team Bolton! Who is Queensland's coach? David Hale :$ He has done wonders with Freo :D

Vic Country > Vic Metro > Western Australia > South Australia > NSW/ACT > Queensland > Tasmania > Northern Territory (do they even have a team? Bit rough having them on there own.

Sorry, I reckon W.A. would win it (biased I know)

I mean, a ruck combo of Nicnat/Sandi, ball players such as Fyfe/Priddis and then that forward line... Any entry in the FWD50 would result in a score... Kennedy, Franklin and Hogan just clunking marks with LeCras and Walters crumbing. Not too mention the silky delivery from Bennell, Hills, Wells etc. It'd just be too potent for any team to match up on up forward that W.A. Could easily win even if they let a score of 100+ past them.

NSW/ACT

B: Duryea, Hartley, Rampe
HB: Suckling, Davis, Mills
C: Smith, Miles, McVeigh
HF: Heeney, Bruce, Steele
F: Bruest, Walker, Hawkins
R: Witts, Jack, Hopper
Int: Gilbert, McGylnn, Vandenberg, Williams
We'd give a good account of ourselves with that team. Plenty of goals in that forward line.

Sorry, I reckon W.A. would win it (biased I know)

I mean, a ruck combo of Nicnat/Sandi, ball players such as Fyfe/Priddis and then that forward line... Any entry in the FWD50 would result in a score... Kennedy, Franklin and Hogan just clunking marks with LeCras and Walters crumbing. Not too mention the silky delivery from Bennell, Hills, Wells etc. It'd just be too potent for any team to match up on up forward that W.A. Could easily win even if they let a score of 100+ past them.

Games are won and lost in the midfield and there's no way a WA team could contain a midfield containing Dangerfield, Pendlebury, Ablett, Selwood, Mitchell, Hannebery, Parker, Treloar, Gray, Shiel, Ward, Gaff, Shuey, Sloane... I've probably named a few too many but that midfield is ridiculously deep.

My WA side
FB McGovern Rance Jetta
HB Wilson Taylor Sheppard
C S.Hill Priddis(C) Coniglio
HF Walters Franklin Wells
FF LeCras Kennedy Hogan
R Naitanui Fyfe P.Cripps
I Sandilands(VC) A.Swallow T.Mitchell Wellingham
Coach Worsfold.

SA

B: Luke Brown (ADE) - Heath Grundy (SYD) - Sam Fisher (STK)
HB: Rory Laird (ADE) - Phil Davis (GWS) - Corey Enright (GEE)
C: Lachie Neale (FRE) - Jack Viney (MEL) - Brodie Smith (ADE)
R: Sam Jacobs (ADE) - Scott Thompson (ADE) - Bryce Gibbs (CAR)
HF: Ryan Griffen (GWS) - Justin Westhoff (POR) Chad Wingard (POR)
F: Eddie Betts (ADE) - Mathew Pavlich (FRE) - Paul Puopulo (HAW)
Int: Scott Lycet (WCE) - Bernie Vince (MEL) - Brad Ebert (POR) - Hamish Hartlett (POR)

Decent defence and midfield but the forward line wouldn't trouble VIC/WA even with Betts and Wingard.

I've also claimed Viney as he lived for several years before being drafted and probably wouldn't make the VIC team anyway.

The old rules that said Jason Dunstall was somehow a Victorian?
Up until the mid-90s, when it was corrected, the Big 3 had the right to players from minor states over and above that state.

As a result Dunstall could play for Victoria, Carey could play for SA, and people such as John Longmire, Brett Allison and Bernard Toohey played for and against Victoria (playing for NSW/ACT) in the same year.
Darren Pritchard was even selected for Victoria on the same weekend that his native Tasmania played, because the Big 3 took priority.

SA

B: Luke Brown (ADE) - Heath Grundy (SYD) - Sam Fisher (STK)
HB: Rory Laird (ADE) - Phil Davis (GWS) - Corey Enright (GEE)
C: Lachie Neale (FRE) - Jack Viney (MEL) - Brodie Smith (ADE)
R: Sam Jacobs (ADE) - Scott Thompson (ADE) - Bryce Gibbs (CAR)
HF: Ryan Griffen (GWS) - Justin Westhoff (POR) Chad Wingard (POR)
F: Eddie Betts (ADE) - Mathew Pavlich (FRE) - Paul Puopulo (HAW)
Int: Scott Lycet (WCE) - Bernie Vince (MEL) - Brad Ebert (POR) - Hamish Hartlett (POR)

Decent defence and midfield but the forward line wouldn't trouble VIC/WA even with Betts and Wingard.

I've also claimed Viney as he lived for several years before being drafted and probably wouldn't make the VIC team anyway.

What's the criteria for qualification? I ask because Phil Davis is from Canberra where he learned to play his junior footy before moving to Adelaide while still young. I've seen his name in a number of South Australian sides in this thread, I've also seen his name in a number of NSW/ACT sides as well.

I always think it's great that our captain can go back and visit his old school and talk to the kids there when we play/have community camps etc in Canberra. Calls himself a Canberra boy.

Create your 2016 state of origin teams