D2 Division 2 2024

Hawthorn have played Melbourne High the last 3 years I believe. Fairly common I would have thought to play a team at the same level in a practise match, gives you a gauge of where you might be for the coming year.

When I played that was always the case.
Fair enough. We've always looked for teams in the Div below and above as a general rule

How's preseason going???
Practice Matches??? The Citz have locked in Melbourne High and PEGS.
When is the draw out???
Last year a citz mate who plays ressies (0 training's attended before the game haha) played a 6 quarter game against old yarra and said they got slapped by 100ish (Missing raiti and a few other forwards on the day) It's Danger of playing a side above your division, nobody really gets much out of it if the result is lopsided

Fixture released on the website.
The Citz had about 25 players that day (about 3 x 1s players) while Yarra had about 60 mainly due to the day and location of the game changing about 10 times prior to the game.
The week after they beat Melb High by about 15 goals so it can go both ways.

Round 7 Longmire37

3 umpires, security on the gates, multiple cameras set up to capture the footage, player and umpire escorts, chopper in the sky. Half the VAFA administration there for lunch.

All roads lead to Rathmines.
GY, you might not be far off. Word is the VAFA investigator has recommended a closed venue for these games!!!
My mate Canvass might have conniptions.....and blame Raiti for it as a matter of course.

I reckon SMD are the favourites.

Agreed, Whitefriars up there as well, depends if Wood stays, he would be getting all kinds of cash thrown at him by EFL clubs, A massive choke from them not making finals last year.

Brunswick are always strong in D2. Melbourne High to round out the 4

Agreed, Whitefriars up there as well, depends if Wood stays, he would be getting all kinds of cash thrown at him by EFL clubs, A massive choke from them not making finals last year.

I agree on the top 3 but I think/hope SMS, Elsternwick and Hawthorn will also be around the mark for finals.

Any predictions for Season 2024?
My prediction for top 3 is SMD, Friars & Brunswick. 4th Spot between MHSOB Elsternwick & Hawthorn. Have seen a fair amount of transfers on VAFA site for SMS, they are my dark horse for the year.

Should be a good year, I think it will be a competitive season. Except for Bulleen if last year is repeated.

I see Wood played in Hawthorn’s intraclub on Thursday, assume he’s been picked up by Box Hill?

I think there will be a clear top 3
Elsternwick just leading the middle pack
Clear bottom 3

WF (if wood plays)
Brunswick- will this be the year they make the jump, have been around the Mark since coming down
SMD

Elsternwick
- doing the flag double last year shows great depth (look at what Parkside did the last year)
SMS- have a fair few clearances coming in
MHSOB
Hawthorn-
I think the strength of there forward line will get ahold of some teams

BT
Aquinas
Wattle park

I think there will be a clear top 3
Elsternwick just leading the middle pack
Clear bottom 3

WF (if wood plays)
Brunswick- will this be the year they make the jump, have been around the Mark since coming down
SMD

Elsternwick
- doing the flag double last year shows great depth (look at what Parkside did the last year)
SMS- have a fair few clearances coming in
MHSOB
Hawthorn-
I think the strength of there forward line will get ahold of some teams

BT
Aquinas
Wattle park

Wasn't South melbourne the double premier in 2022? But Parkside were unbelievable in 23', not sure they had any players 26+ years old in the senior team, u19s and thirds flying as well

Hawthorn @ home should win a few, hard deck for away teams to come to, but I remember they were slapped a few times in 2019 there because its so easy to score on

Aquinas were quite young last year, B.T even more so, they should improve

Wasn't South melbourne the double premier in 2022? But Parkside were unbelievable in 23', not sure they had any players 26+ years old in the senior team, u19s and thirds flying as well

Hawthorn @ home should win a few, hard deck for away teams to come to, but I remember they were slapped a few times in 2019 there because its so easy to score on

Aquinas were quite young last year, B.T even more so, they should improve
Look it could have been, either way Parkside we’re a cut above last year in both sides

Have Aquinas been advised which ground they are playing on this year? Or has the school told them the top oval is off limits.

That bottom oval/goat track is a horrendous ground at the best of times.

Have Aquinas been advised which ground they are playing on this year? Or has the school told them the top oval is off limits.

That bottom oval/goat track is a horrendous ground at the best of times.
Too dangerous for footy. Ankles aweigh.
Aquinas Bottom oval is the worst oval in the comp by far
Surely unsafe to play on
A good mate said they have moved to manson reserve in wantirna (St andrews cricket club)

New facilities and 2 ovals there (one fenced I think)