No Oppo Supporters General AFL discussion and other club news

Gulden was free for you guys to bid on. You bid on Campbell and if straight after bidding on Campbell you bid on Gulden then Gulden would be in Brown and Gold right now. No one bid on him until something like pick 32.
You know clubs don’t bid on players when they should, look at Daicos.

It’s like hawks recruiting pre threepeat. Bigfooty whined endlessly that the expansion drafts had handicapped potential challengers, but such as hill smith Puopolo were available to most clubs

Yeah we arn’t real adventurous in the rookie draft any more unless they come from BH.

Hawthorn rookies

Sewell
Breust
Campbell
Osborne
Young
Gilham
Suckling

Then after the 2008 flag we really haven’t used it to bring new players into the club it’s a few from the 2008 flag we have used it as a redrafting tool.

Take out just Heeney and Gulden and those guys are struggling to make the finals.
Interesting take - which can’t be proven, but anyhow….

FWIW - they’ve already got to where they are without Parker and Mills.

Gulden was free for you guys to bid on. You bid on Campbell and if straight after bidding on Campbell you bid on Gulden then Gulden would be in Brown and Gold right now. No one bid on him until something like pick 32.

Despite playing really well at an U18 level recruiters did not rate him due to his height.
We all know how the Northern club rort works, so just enjoy the leg up your club gets.

If I were a Swans fan I would be more worried about why they have had their arses kicked in the last 3 Grand Finals they have played in.
Or maybe getting to the bottom of why suddenly, half of them sleep with the light on.

The AFL bend over backwards to help you, and this is how you repay them.

Shafted Fitzroy to make room for a team which has managed…..one flag? Mind you that’s more than freo, who seem to be aiming for Footscray hawthorn or north maiden droughts

Not only that, but for the first few years, Port Adelaide only survived financially courtesy of a $15million loan from the SANFL, a loan which was never repaid. Port Adelaide's financial situation for years was worse than Fitzroy's ever was.

We all know how the Northern club rort works, so just enjoy the leg up your club gets.

If I were a Swans fan I would be more worried about why they have had their arses kicked in the last 3 Grand Finals they have played in.
Or maybe getting to the bottom of why suddenly, half of them sleep with the light on.

The AFL bend over backwards to help you, and this is how you repay them.

It’s finals in general

Drafting is a breeze when you have so many academy players to fill in the holes. Only have one first rounder and need a tall and a mid, no worries just draft a tall and get the mid from your academy.
Can’t argue with what you said however my comment was in relation to the article stating that our recruiting team had caught onto the fact that the Swan recruiters were rumoured to be heavily into Newc in the MSD that we ended up selecting him.

Keep in mind Newc put a big price on his head to ward off anyone else taking him so we could select someone with our first pick and then get him with our 2nd selection. We can sit here and knock the Swan recruiters all we like but just like the Cats recruiting team they know their 💩

Not sure they could call them Kangaroos as the grey and red one that are on the mainland aren’t in Tassie.
We don’t want them, but we have a few varieties of Kangaroo/Wallabies down here. Main ones are:

Forester Kangaroo
Benetts Wallaby
Rufus Wallaby

Alternate nativ animals generally?

West coast big reds
Fremantle quokkas
Adelaide stingrays (sorry Steve Irwin)
Port Adelaide great whites
Sydney galahs
West Sydney cockies
Brisbane Brumbies
Gold Coast bushturkeys
Footscray Dingos
Geelong echidnas
Richmond flying foxes
Carlton possums
Essendon koalas
Collingwood magpies
St kilda snappers
North kangaroos
Melbourne rosellas
Hawthorn lyrebirds

Throw in the lizard, Campbell and Mills....its an impressive leg up and really helps build a list.

Gold Coast will be very hard to beat soon with the same leg up.
The leg up that the academies give is that a) you don’t have to trade against other teams to get them b) once you end up getting them into your club it then allows you to gamble with your later picks in the ND which other clubs might’ve needed to trade away to get highly sorts after kids

The reality is that the NSW + QLD teams with these academies whilst still needing to select these kids get to see them and know that if they’re any good that they don’t have to bid against anyone else to secure them. Whilst not seeming like a huge leg up it actually is especially if the kids coming out of these academies are any good.

There’s that and also the fact that they also get to choose from the pool of kids that everyone else gets to choose from and in some cases have also then gone on to select (or bid on) kids that were in other teams next generation academies (NGA).

No one can sit here and knock their recruiting team BUT the leg up they get does allow them to gamble in other areas and more importantly not have to over pay to select high rated kids from their academies. This allows them to lay down the skeleton of the team and regenerate and gamble on other selections where other recruiters get absolutely no margin for error.

It will likely take a Swans vs Suns or GWS vs Suns grand final with a low attendance for the AFL to realise that something needs to change but by that time all those teams will have a full arsenal of gun players in place for the next 10 years. Then we get to see the new Tassie team come in… yay 🤮

Can’t argue with what you said however my comment was in relation to the article stating that our recruiting team had caught onto the fact that the Swan recruiters were rumoured to be heavily into Newc in the MSD that we ended up selecting him.

Keep in mind Newc put a big price on his head to ward off anyone else taking him so we could select someone with our first pick and then get him with our 2nd selection. We can sit here and knock the Swan recruiters all we like but just like the Cats recruiting team they know their 💩
We grabbed him with our first selection, not second.

I’m pretty sure that’s only because he wouldn’t have lasted to our second selection.

Especially once a couple of clubs kicked up a stink about it our hand was forced.

"Sonsie, kicking it like a Premiership star!"

He didn't play in their Premierships.
I’m so numb to bad calls by the commentators that I tune them out constantly.

Was such a bad call that even mentally tuned out I picked up on it.

The leg up that the academies give is that a) you don’t have to trade against other teams to get them b) once you end up getting them into your club it then allows you to gamble with your later picks in the ND which other clubs might’ve needed to trade away to get highly sorts after kids

The reality is that the NSW + QLD teams with these academies whilst still needing to select these kids get to see them and know that if they’re any good that they don’t have to bid against anyone else to secure them. Whilst not seeming like a huge leg up it actually is especially if the kids coming out of these academies are any good.

There’s that and also the fact that they also get to choose from the pool of kids that everyone else gets to choose from and in some cases have also then gone on to select (or bid on) kids that were in other teams next generation academies (NGA).

No one can sit here and knock their recruiting team BUT the leg up they get does allow them to gamble in other areas and more importantly not have to over pay to select high rated kids from their academies. This allows them to lay down the skeleton of the team and regenerate and gamble on other selections where other recruiters get absolutely no margin for error.

It will likely take a Swans vs Suns or GWS vs Suns grand final with a low attendance for the AFL to realise that something needs to change but by that time all those teams will have a full arsenal of gun players in place for the next 10 years. Then we get to see the new Tassie team come in… yay 🤮
Not only do they not overpay but they get to use a bunch of lower picks, that if used most likely get you a journeyman, on a first round pick which is more likely to make it.

Hayden Young……yes please
#bringhimhome