List Mgmt. Next club to face a rebuild.

I'm a big believer in continually topping up through the draft when you're in the premiership window unless a generational talent is available and wanting to come to your club.

Managing the salary cap is becoming such an important part of the AFL landscape with salary trading on the horizon. I think the best clubs lock away their core stars - between 5 - 6 stars distributed across all the lines, complemented by a blend of B and C grade players who know and execute their role.

If you get a solid depth of role players, you have the luxury of targeting the draft to continually replenish the stocks and gradually integrate into the side when they're ready. Targeted mature aged players and bargain basement players from other clubs helps with this. The role player is so underrated in modern footy.

I question the success of playing bulk 18 - 20 year olds in a side, I reckon it impacts their development getting smashed around. But equally so, I question clubs who remove themselves from the top end of the draft for years.

So with only three more drafts until Tasmania starts taking draftees which club has mistimed their rebuild.

Clubs have been planning and actioning rebuilds before the next expansion team dilutes the draft as has happened previously.

North has been rebuilding forever and if they cant keep good players coming out of contract they will be treading water.

Hawks started what four drafts ago?

Eagles started two or three drafts ago.

So which club will be looking to rebuild next? And have they made an error of judgement with the timing of the 19th club entering the competition?
Tassie won't get the same sort of start up assistance GC and GWS got. The AFL don't want the club, or need it to be successful.

The 'you can top up forever' thing only works if you get generational footballers walking in the door through trade/FA or academy/father son rorts.

Melbourne won't be the next one but we'll have to do one well before 2030. We're developing a solid core of B graders below 25 but aside from Pickett and Windsor there is no genuine stars, we need to target elite young talent either through the draft or the trade period.

Eventually........eventually.......Geelong will drop back to the pack...if not soon then at some stage they will. No team can avoid it.

Poor clubs need full rebuilds.

Good clubs with poor squads can stay competitive whilst continuing to build each year - both their list and performance.

I'm not sure which clubs fall into this category.

North are at risk of trying it all again.
Adelaide are on the edge (but tbh I don't know their list profile well enough).
Essendon I'm still not completely sold on, think there still might be some pain to come.

Pies gonna be in trouble soon imo.
Elliott, Pendlebury, Mitchell, Sidebottom gone.

In terms of contending yes but they still have a big talented group in the 27-28 age range who they can do a quick rebuild around.

They will dip for sure but should get back up if they manage to bring in the right people.

We are drafting players now who weren't even born when we started our march in 2004.

Yeah that's fine, but eventually, whenever that will be, Geelong will drop down the ladder. It happens to all clubs at some point in time and simply cannot be avoided. However, whilst being at the top end of the ladder - a club simply must make the most of it.

Yep we dropped down the ladder last year :thumbsu:

Collingwood have a single top 10 pick under the age of 28 on their list.
N.Daicos.

Pendlebury, Sidebum, Howe, Cox and Mitchell hang them up over the next 18 months, they could very well plummet like a stone.

Add Crisp, WHE, Elliott and Mihocek.

9 of our best 18 is 30 plus and showing signs.

Our VFL team was beaten by a team who hasn't won a game in over 2 seasons.

Traded away firsts rounders like confetti Inc pick 2 for picks in 20s and 30s...o_O

Add Crisp, WHE, Elliott and Mihocek.

9 of our best 18 is 30 plus and showing signs.

Our VFL team was beaten by a team who hasn't won a game in over 2 seasons.

Traded away firsts rounders like confetti Inc pick 2 for picks in 20s and 30s...o_O

You're the reigning premier though, and still should be at least top 6 this year.

Don't think there is any shame in having an old list as long as the club eventually accepts it and rebuilds (Unless of course you have insane luck like Geelong with two generational players joining you through trade/FA).

Martin will go again at about 500k a season.
Grimes may have to remain given Gibcus just tore his ACL and may not become the highly touted player he is predicted to be by Richmond fans.

The one who looks to have come along nicely is Rioli Jnr.
There is not much else coming through though.
That big forward Lefau looks lively but he turns 26. Not exactly young.
I think Tom Brown will be A grade. Sonsie is a chance too but he dominates in the middle in the seconds only to be played at HFF in the seniors and that is a specialist position. Unfortunately, Clarke was one of our best youngsters in the magoos earlier this year but then did an ACL. McAuliffe looks promising as a big inside mid with pace. Where we struggle is KPP especially up forward. Fawcett has not got on the park because of a back injury but may be back in a month.

Poor clubs need full rebuilds.

Good clubs with poor squads can stay competitive whilst continuing to build each year - both their list and performance.

I'm not sure which clubs fall into this category.

North are at risk of trying it all again.
Adelaide are on the edge (but tbh I don't know their list profile well enough).
Essendon I'm still not completely sold on, think there still might be some pain to come.
what the hell is this post?

You seen how Carlton went from 2002-2022?

Don't remind me, that was a long and painful time to be a Geelong supporter.
Thank god for the start to this season, was struggling big time with last year.
Season over in August, oh the pain of it all.

what the hell is this post?

You seen how Carlton went from 2002-2022?

Is it rocket science?

We were rubbish a rubbish club in 2002, therefore rebuilt under Ratten, ended up capitulating under Mick at the end of 2015. The results of hiring Mick, the politicking and backstabbing meant we were a rubbish club again.. so we started a rebuild in 2016 - cleaned out the entire list and staff.

I don't think we've been a poor club since then. We've made some poor decisions but the foundations were there. Now I'd like to think we're a good club, if we have some success; I hope that we're good enough to always be thereabouts (like Geelong, Sydney, Collingwod) rather than bottom out.

Is it rocket science?

We were rubbish a rubbish club in 2002, therefore rebuilt under Ratten, ended up capitulating under Mick at the end of 2015. The results of hiring Mick, the politicking and backstabbing meant we were a rubbish club again.. so we started a rebuild in 2016 - cleaned out the entire list and staff.

I don't think we've been a poor club since then. We've made some poor decisions but the foundations were there. Now I'd like to think we're a good club, if we have some success; I hope that we're good enough to always be thereabouts (like Geelong, Sydney, Collingwod) rather than bottom out.
Thanks mate for giving me a great example.

"I don't think we've been poor since then"
1714272863656.png

Yes.

Yes you were.

FA doesn't really work in AFL like other sports.
Teams here need to pay a minimum in cap . Means bottom/young sides are overpaying players through necessity to hit minimum cap and actually leaves less to attract the big FA.

The offer is never really large enough to attract a game changing player who knows they may have a few years of a build to come.
It's why most head to a contender rather then get the extra 200-300k from the 'rebuild' team.

A low team IMO really would need to offer double the contract to get the gun FA over a top team.
It's simply not viable to do it in the current set up.

The rest I totally agree with you
I think the way to solve this is to not only eliminate the minimum spend (or at least lower it a significant amount), but to ditch the top tier of compensation pick. Even if they had the cap space, North had no incentive to re-sign Ben McKay because they got pick 3 in return which is huge overs. An end of first round pick or beginning of second round pick would have made it a more difficult decision.