Nightmarish violence at Dreamtime at the G

If there are specific games causing issues consistently than perhaps moving them 2pm Sunday will help to alleviate issues.

The bigger the game the more likely for crowd problems but these games should also attract a big crowd and TV audience at any time.

Crowds at Optus Stadium have their own problems.

https%3A%2F%2Fprod.static9.net.au%2F_%2Fmedia%2F2019%2F01%2F25%2F21%2F36%2F190125-waca-stadium-racist-banner-1.jpg

Not sure if this is the message the AFL wants for a Dreamtime game.
That was the cricket supporters, white mans game.

We are talking footy here:

1653292062506.png

I know people will hate it but I don't think a booze ban would stop me going.

I like a couple of beers (one with a pie) at the G but generally tap out 2.cos the beer sucks

Footy would still be footy without it.
Unless they wanna switch to a 3% stout. And if you wanna drink enough of that to be a dickhead, karma will catch you quickly :p
You got to take into account that the game at the moment is driving people to drink also, so a booze ban could see a lot of people leaving games early and that wouldn't be a good look for the AFL, so booze is here to stay to help people get through games.

I've also noticed more people a loving the odds and not the game at the moment, so the AFL is turning people into gamblers also.

That was the cricket supporters, white mans game.

We are talking footy here:

View attachment 1407463

That's not an isolated incident mate.

What about this one?

Just because a stadium can show a few fancy lights doesn't mean the crowds are any less racist.

That's not an isolated incident mate.

What about this one?

Just because a stadium can show a few fancy lights doesn't mean the crowds are any less racist.

I stand by what I said, bring back the Dreamtime at Optus.

Atmosphere was amazing.

I stand by what I said, bring back the Dreamtime at Optus.

Atmosphere was amazing.

Why would two Victorian teams fly across the country to play in front of a smaller crowd?

Is this another #VICBIAS rant?

I know people will hate it but I don't think a booze ban would stop me going.
The a booze ban may help, but not by much. The problem reading the article is people pre-loading before the game. They only sell mid strength stuff at the night games already.

Apart from cracking down and preventing entry to the game of those appearing overly intoxicated I'm not sure how to stop that (I think they already do, but happy to be corrected).

Weird interpretation of what happened by the reporter.

"the victim was floored by the blow, then tries to get to his feet before quickly losing his balance and collapsing to the ground"

He was hit by two other cowards as he tried to get up!
I saw that on the vid. Those scum could see he was already reeling and still took shots at him. To me, they should get an extra charge if possible.

I noticed on the train and the walk from Richmond station for the ANZAC eve game the number of people pre-gaming it pretty strongly was higher than I've ever seen before, and that's just those coming via train, not accounting for those in the pubs. That's not saying it's only Tigers, but it's the game I noticed more than others.

The cops might have to station a few people at Richmond station and unfortunately nab a few people getting off the train with empty six packs.

The price of beer and the quality of it at the MCG might only encourage people to get hammered before hand. Cut alcohol completely at the game and some people might be off their faces arriving. Plus it further encourages sneaking stuff in.

If they said beers were going to be $5 a pop and full strength at the game but you had to blow under 0.05 to get let in I wonder how the crowds would behave. You'd have to think you'd make it to half time at least in decent shape. Cut the service at 3/4 time too.
I was pretty much going to say the same as you regarding the drinking.

I haven't noticed anything different/dangerous/antisocial at Richmond games. The only thing I have really noticed is it feels like there are less attending. I think we tend to notice those different to our own teams but I'm not an expert in social studies by any means.

One thing I do feel is the expense of drinking at the MCG. $12 for mid strength at night games and $9 for full strength at day games. I think (well, I'd like to see proof I guess) that if the prices were similar to pubs it would get people to the game earlier rather than loading up in pubs and rolling in at the bounce. Once people are in the venue I think it would be easier to manage them within the bars and sales outlets. As for breath testing on entry - I hope not. It's already a pain to enter the MCG as a club member. I hope they don't make an already slow process even slower.

I think outright banning would cause more to load up at the Cricketers and Royal prior. To ban drinking in seats can also cause dangerous drinking by trying to drink as much as possible in the breaks of play. When Football Park finally let you drink in your seat they did put lids on the beers so they wouldn't spill but it also did mean that the bars weren't full of people loading up at quarter/half/three quarter time. How often does beer actually spill onto people? I reckon it's happened to me once - at the 2017 preliminary final when I was in the cheer squad area. I did sort of expect this in a more aggressively supported area. Who knows - maybe I'm just lucky to only have worn one beer.

There was one main change to Saturday night that hasn't happened at previous Dreamtime games - the VFL was at the MCG rather than Punt Road. Whether this was an issue as well I don't know.

Yeah, I go all the time. We don't play many Friday night or Saturday night games in Melbourne in case you hadn't noticed. Sure, there are bad apples in every group. But the Hawthorn fans are pretty tame compared to the large quota of ferals who make up the Big 4 "armies". So I think you're just clutching at false whataboutisms, rather than acknowledging what every Victorian policeman knows who works on duty at the MCG.

Yep, been going to games since 1991, many as a neutral, and this has been consistent over those 30+ years, the worst incidents I've seen all involve the Vic big 4, although in my experience it has been Rich/Coll/Carl at the top, people touting Essendon supporters as being really bad surprises me

I was at the game, and I was heading to a food vendor in the underground part of the Shane Warne/Olympic Stand about an hour before the bounce. There was 2 young-ish (18-23yo) guys being escorted out by police... didn't see what sparked the arrests/eviction but they were off their chops. Methinks they'd hit it pretty hard before the game... I don't think they were supporters of either side (not wearing any Richmond or Essendon colours) but just there to have fun/stil trouble, who knows!?
Being a big occasion game, a lot of groups hit up the pubs early before going to the game, and there were a lot that I saw who were struggling before the first bounce. Some I would've thought should have been turned around at the gate.
As for what was going on in the stands, the pitch invaders and what transpired after game... I can't say as I wasn't anywhere near those.
There was a VFL curtain raiser between the two clubs beforehand,maybe that was the issue? Getting on the sauce for that game and then blind drunk before the AFL game started.

Love the oppo supporters piling on the big four clubs for being the worst. Plenty of calls to take marquee games off those clubs as a result. Just curious what is an acceptable number of incidents before that happens... if I learn of five at Hawthorn-Geelong on Easter Monday, or ten at North Melbourne v WB on Good Friday do we take those games away from those teams?

It's the idiot fans, not the clubs.

Then why was this the only game over the weekend to have this kind of violence and mass ejections?

It's not like other games weren't held under the same conditions.

are you alleging that a Carlton fan has NEVER gotten too pissed at the footy and started something stupid?

piss off mate.

every single club in the game has fans who cant hold their piss and does dumb s**t at games. Every. Single. Club.

are you alleging that a Carlton fan has NEVER gotten too pissed at the footy and started something stupid?

piss off mate.

every single club in the game has fans who cant hold their piss and does dumb s**t at games. Every. Single. Club.

Nobody said all clubs don't have a few.

People are saying some clubs have far more than others do.

Utterly disgusted.

I hope they find the waste of space who hit my mate and lock him up up for good.
Your mate was the one hit with a didgeridoo?

How bad were his injuries?