R22 v Dees Pre-match Discussion Thread

Truck Rutten said:
Pfeiffer has missed most of the season with a back injury. He wouldn't have played too many games since then. Look, hopefully we don't need to go for any left field selections, and I think NC is probably a bit conservative to anyway. As someone said in another thread "Blighty would", and I can just imagine the great man unleashing Bernie in the finals.

Why not?

With the injury list growing by the day, the next 3 or 4 week may well be another defining moment in the history of the Adelaide Football Club.

99% of the football public have written us off and virtually said we cannot make any impact on the finals in 2006 and the rest are just waiting for us to fall over. I would love to see a Darren Pfieffer or Bernie Vince given a go as we have nothing to lose.

What’s the worse possible out come? We lose and get knocked out of the finals or we defy everyone’s expectations and write a new chapter of AFC history with the selection from left field.

crows98 said:
Why not?

With the injury list growing by the day, the next 3 or 4 week may well be another defining moment in the history of the Adelaide Football Club.

99% of the football public have written us off and virtually said we cannot make any impact on the finals in 2006 and the rest are just waiting for us to fall over. I would love to see a Darren Pfieffer or Bernie Vince given a go as we have nothing to lose.

What’s the worse possible out come? We lose and get knocked out of the finals or we defy everyone’s expectations and write a new chapter of AFC history with the selection from left field.

Mate, if we get any more injuries this week we may have no choice but to play these guys.

jmorg1 said:
I want to know where the Bernie Vince I saw tearing it up in the PS has gone.

He's spent nearly two months on the sidelines with a knee injury. He looked alright on the weekend for the central reserves, he wasn't slow. Just needs to get some game time back into his legs :thumbsu:

Truck Rutten said:
Pfeiffer has missed most of the season with a back injury. He wouldn't have played too many games since then.
Pfeiffer has had 5 senior appearances for the season and has kicked 6 goals. He’s played everywhere too, up forward, down back and on the wing. Good old fashioned utility who can play anywhere.

SpringChoke said:
Maric - I would expect Hudson will be picked before him
Overall a good post :thumbsu: Just on this ...why not Maric? Has at least played and by reports Hudson is struggling to lift off the ground.
Meesen - May have been an outside chance but no contract, no game. On your bike boy.
:thumbsu: :thumbsu: I like your thinking

Has anyone else got the feeling that Thompson will play a cracker and get fired up???

I reckon he has it in him, and can see him doing it aganist his old club this week!!!

I hope he does, Edwards and Goody need the help.....

Glenno23 said:
Has anyone else got the feeling that Thompson will play a cracker and get fired up???

I reckon he has it in him, and can see him doing it aganist his old club this week!!!

I hope he does, Edwards and Goody need the help.....

I really hope so mate. As others have said, he seems to be curtailing his natural aggression somewhat this season. Maybe under instruction from the coaching panel, because of the undisiplined free kicks he is prone to giving away. Maybe this is just what you get with Scotty, and we just have to deal with it. I'd rather see the Thommo of last year giving away the odd free kick, but playing like a man possessed, than what we've been seeing lately.

Play him on a HFF with the odd run on the ball, and just tell him to go for it, and play his natural game :thumbsu:

Truck Rutten said:
I really hope so mate. As others have said, he seems to be curtailing his natural aggression somewhat this season. Maybe under instruction from the coaching panel, because of the undisiplined free kicks he is prone to giving away. Maybe this is just what you get with Scotty, and we just have to deal with it. I'd rather see the Thommo of last year giving away the odd free kick, but playing like a man possessed, than what we've been seeing lately.

Play him on a HFF with the odd run on the ball, and just tell him to go for it, and play his natural game :thumbsu:

Unleash the beast from within.

Call me negative or what ever you like but I have a feeling that we will lose again this week to Melbourne as we will still be playing placid football but then we will turn it all around and find a winning formula. Look out because if the sleeping giant awakes who ever is in its path will get crushed.

We will not go out in straight sets, we have to much pride (pun intended) for that, book mark this thread.

Ins :Hudson, Torney, Porplycia, Stevens, McGregor?, Massie?

Outs:Hentschel, Hart, McLeod, Douglas, Biglands?,

Some very tough desicions have to be made this week, it's not the time of the year to bring in a youngster to play his first game of footy (eg Douglas), he will be a very good player but to expect him to get up to speed with only two games left in the season is unfair, we need experienced players in the team atm. Hudson is playing good footy for North and must get picked. Don't know why Torney can't get a game, the same with Porps and Stevens was unlucky to get dropped in the first place, just my opinion.

LBJ23 said:
Ins :Hudson, Torney, Porplycia, Stevens, McGregor?, Massie?

Outs:Hentschel, Hart, McLeod, Douglas, Biglands?,

Some very tough desicions have to be made this week, it's not the time of the year to bring in a youngster to play his first game of footy (eg Douglas), he will be a very good player but to expect him to get up to speed with only two games left in the season is unfair, we need experienced players in the team atm. Hudson is playing good footy for North and must get picked. Don't know why Torney can't get a game, the same with Porps and Stevens was unlucky to get dropped in the first place, just my opinion.

Knights will come out before Douglas, based on their respective performances on the weekend.

Is it worth bringing in Maric and using Biglands as a pinch hitting forward? I would have said bring in Hudson instead but considering our outs, I don't think we can go into the finals with too many underdone - Perrie, Welsh and Bock.

SpringChoke said:
Is it worth bringing in Maric and using Biglands as a pinch hitting forward?
I wouldn’t have thought so.

McGregor, Perrie and Welsh can do the job with Bode and Thompson chipping in as well. Rhett Biglands is a very good option on the spur of the moment but to try and win a game with him as a focal point in attack is bordering on dangerous.

My forward set up would be

FF: Welsh McGregor Bode

HF: Johncock Perrie Thompson.

I would try and pull a smoky and move Johncock forward as his form on the last line of defence has been very ordinary. Move him forward and hope he can jag 3 or 4 gaols, and if he iosnt doing much he can always go back.

Back 6

HB: Torney Bock Van Berlo

FB: Bassett Rutten Stevens

SpringChoke said:
Is it worth bringing in Maric and using Biglands as a pinch hitting forward? I would have said bring in Hudson instead but considering our outs, I don't think we can go into the finals with too many underdone - Perrie, Welsh and Bock.
3 ruckman is a huge mistake IMO, as none are good enough to play as KPP for an extended time.

If Kenny isn't fit, bring in Stevens.

IN: Stevens, Porplycia, Torney, Massie or McGregor (depends on fitness)
OUT: Hentschel, Mcleod, Hart, Douglas

B: Johncock, Rutten, Bassett
HB: Torney, Stevens, Massie
C: Mattner, Goodwin, Doughty
HF: Thompson, Perrie, Mcgregor
F: Bode, Bock, Welsh
R: Clarke, Shirley, Edwards
I: Biglands, Van Berlo, Porplycia, Reilly

I would love to see biglands and clarke swap between ruck duties and just sitting in the goal square... saw Adelaide Vs Western Bulldogs... clarke actually had a good game and got some touches and contested marks.

Also like too see shirley start on the bench, goodwin on the ball and mattner playing in the center with reilly on the wing.

if bock has no impact in the first half or quater even, swap him with stevens.

Van Berlo has been gettin alot of the ball, i can see him developing into a bode-type player. Good tackler saw him do alright in a couple of games.

crows98 said:
I wouldn’t have thought so.

McGregor, Perrie and Welsh can do the job with Bode and Thompson chipping in as well. Rhett Biglands is a very good option on the spur of the moment but to try and win a game with him as a focal point in attack is bordering on dangerous.

My forward set up would be

FF: Welsh McGregor Bode

HF: Johncock Perrie Thompson.

I would try and pull a smoky and move Johncock forward as his form on the last line of defence has been very ordinary. Move him forward and hope he can jag 3 or 4 gaols, and if he iosnt doing much he can always go back.

Back 6

HB: Torney Bock Van Berlo

FB: Bassett Rutten Stevens
I don't think we can afford to play Stiffy forward with Macca out. We need his rebound, along with Bassett & Mattner to get drive out of the backline, with the remaining defenders playing more shut down roles.

Is it worth resting Goody, Edwards and possibly Rutten this week? These three will be critical come finals. I know it's extreme but desperate times call for desperate measures. We just can't afford anymore injuries to key players.

SpringChoke said:
Is it worth resting Goody, Edwards and possibly Rutten this week? These three will be critical come finals. I know it's extreme but desperate times call for desperate measures. We just can't afford anymore injuries to key players.

I know where you're coming from, but I really think getting a win and a boost to the boys confidence is important this week. I know we're still going to finish top 2 regardless, but I'd much rather go into the first final with a win under the belt, rather than 3 consecutive losses.

SpringChoke said:

I also know where you are coming from but if we start playing with fire, we are going to get burnt.

The luck the AFC have had in the last 48 hours with injuries has been atrocious and if Goodwin, Edwards and Rutten were to miss to try and avoid any injury, they would get hit by a bus driving to the game.

Keithy George said:
Hey guys

I still reckon you'll topple us this week as AAMI stadium is like kryptonite for us.

One for you Adelaide boys to watch is Matthew Bate for us who will probably come back from injury. He's a very tough match-up and plays off a wing.

With Whelan out for us we are left without a decent match-up for Bode (whom I can't believe is now a good player) :eek:

Cos you need a pep talk, Keithy :D

Performance is predicated purely by personnel. These are the changes to the Dees team that lost by 9 goals to the Crows last year at AAMI. IMO, we're better off by every single one of them - save Moloney, but even that's arguable. There's no less than 12 changes ! (This list is based on the assumption that Neitz and Bate return this week.)

OUT

Steven Armstrong
Clint Bizzell
Nathan Brown
Ryan Ferguson
Chris Johnson
Paul Johnson
Brent Moloney
Shannon Motlop
Alistair Nicholson
Philip Read
Guy Rigoni
Paul Wheatley

IN
Clint Bartram
Matthew Bate
Cameron Bruce
Nathan Carroll
Brad Green
Ben Holland
Mark Jamar
Travis Johnstone
Nathan Jones
James McDonald
David Neitz
Jared Rivers

Here my preview for asthecrowsfly.com everyone

Adelaide takes on a devastated Melbourne side after they could only conjure up a draw at Skilled Stadium last week against the Cats. If the Demons want a top 4 spot and a double chance for the finals they will need to beat Adelaide, it’s simple as that. Last week both teams were similar in the fact they were leading, but let the game slip away. Adelaide have been looking to jump out of some real bad form whilst Melbourne have been up and down on a consistent basis.

Mind Games

The Adelaide media have been playing mind games with the Adelaide Crow heads, with quite a few football “experts” writing them off. Michelangelo Rucci wrote a very bias article in regards to the Adelaide Football Club’s chances of being premiership bound in 2006. It’s going to take a big effort to think straight past this and get up to win this week. I honestly don’t think Craig will be looking at this game from a winning perspective, he’ll be looking to get the structure right heading into the finals series. Of course, we want to win, but it’s a matter of using our players wisely and finding the right position we’re going to get the most out of each.

Wearing thin

I think it’s been well-documented how injury prone we’ve been for the past month of football, it’s really hurt us on the scoreboard with 3 losses from the past 4 matches.

Now, let’s take a look at our current injury list.

Mark Ricciuto – At the moment looking towards first week of finals, but Wednesday (30th of August) will under go blood test. First media speculation has been Ross River Virus, but no results have determined this for sure yet.

Andrew McLeod – Probably one of the most disappointing injuries for us, would not be likely to play until that final day in September (Providing we make it)

Ben Hart – He’s confident of making his return in the first week of finals, but once again nothing is certain yet. (Also just announced he will be returning in the 2007 season with contract negotiations after the finals)

Brett Burton – Could at best make a return for the first week of finals, if not then the second round.

Trent Hentschel – Season

There are some serious issue with the quality of players which are out for this weeks clash with the Demons. Some serious experience missing and a top 4 spot on the line for the Demons gives them much more to loss out of the match. However, this could definitely work in favour of Adelaide, the fact there’s such a hunch on the back of the Melbourne players to win will make this no easy task.

A Matter of TEAM Performance

This week and the finals ahead is a matter of everyone, not just our seniors stepping up. Nathan Bock slipped into the backlines perfectly last week and played a very good match, popping up in some good moments. He may be required as a tall forward, in replacement of the injured Trent Hentschel. It’s going to be a matter of filling in some lost places up forward for the us, there’s no doubting that’s the weakest spot. The forward line structure will need to be sorted out very smart and quickly, with the loss of Mark Ricciuto, Trent Hentschel and Brett Burton all key figures makes for slim pickings. This forward line will need to be one built around Scott Welsh and Ian Perrie, two players as in the past have been able to win matches off their boot. If both find form, the Demons will find it very hard to stop Adelaide. It’s going to be a crumb fest down forward for us, but we just need to have the right deliverance into the forward line for our players.

The midfield loses Andrew McLeod, he’s a massive part of our midfield and it’s built around him quite a bit. This gives a chance for one of our younger guns to step up and gain some well-needed experience. After all, with Melbourne playing this match for a higher finals spot, it’s going to be played at a very high-pace. Chris Knights, Bernie Vince, Richard Douglas will all come under this category, if they can manage to improve with their bigger role then it’s a major plus for the clubs future. Simon Goodwin, Tyson Edwards, Scott Thompson, Brent Reilly and Marty Mattner are all going to play a huge role in leading the younger in-experienced players on the field.

Slump out, Form In

This match will be looked at in a way which we can boost from this slump we’ve gone into, and find some form. Form doesn’t just appear, we need some stability in the line-up and with injuries that’s going to be hard to find. We haven’t coped well with the in and out inclusions which the squads been coming under. Everything has been thrown out of whack with key senior players making an exit from the field, we play a much more linked up fluent game, but that’s been affected with the likes of McLeod out. It comes down to a matter of finding steady ground this week, if we can come together and play some slower more level headed football, then we will work out way back to our feet. At times we’ve been criticised when we slow the play down, but its been shown that it helps us when things tighten up and we re-build. This will be deployed sometime on Saturday against Melbourne, it’s something that we’ve built into our game plan and works well.

Previous Meetings

Since 2002

Matches Played: 7
| Adelaide: 5 - Melbourne: 2 |

Adelaide at Aami Stadium in recent years have had the wood over Melbourne, they’ve beaten them in the last three matches at Aami by an average of 66 points. Previous stats generally don’t make much difference, but this will be in the minds of the Demon players, they’ll have bad memories from Aami Stadium to overcome.

Written by SBR

Published On: asthecrowsfly.com

Big game ahead, but even bigger finals series :thumbsu:

Trav 20 said:
Performance is predicated purely by personnel. These are the changes to the Dees team that lost by 9 goals to the Crows last year at AAMI. IMO, we're better off by every single one of them - save Moloney, but even that's arguable. There's no less than 12 changes ! (This list is based on the assumption that Neitz and Bate return this week.)

OUT

Steven Armstrong
Clint Bizzell
Nathan Brown
Ryan Ferguson
Chris Johnson
Paul Johnson
Brent Moloney
Shannon Motlop
Alistair Nicholson
Philip Read
Guy Rigoni
Paul Wheatley

IN
Clint Bartram
Matthew Bate
Cameron Bruce
Nathan Carroll
Brad Green
Ben Holland
Mark Jamar
Travis Johnstone
Nathan Jones
James McDonald
David Neitz
Jared Rivers

Gee. Zuz.

No wonder your team stunk that day. Can you bring over your 2005 team please? No sense risking any of those other guys... :D

Trav 20 said:

What about the year before when you were similarly belted by 12 goals when we were rubbish?