Autopsy Roast/Toast R1 vs Carlton & Changes for R2 vs Port

BOG

I forgot Carlton had fans. Haven't heard from them since 2000 when "Koutaaaaa" was a thing and "woooooof" Christou. Welcome back Carlton fans. It's only been 23 years since we saw you. And how are you gonna celebrate 30 years of not winning anything next season?

They are perhaps the biggest bandwagoners in the AFL their crowds were bloody woeful for 15+ years and ill tell you CB once they become mediocre again their fans will drop off like flies.

Exactly. So they had 6 players missing & im not sure if we had anyone missing.
Probably not. Well, apart from from the guys we lost during the game. And we've got a few who may improve us if they're not in the team.

Even with their 6 missing players in the side, they are still beatable.

Where the * are the left foot kickers? I think Nankervis was the only one on Thursday night

It’s too one sided

Another reason to play both Cumberland and Clarke.

I dont think gibcus is much of a loss

miller can do most things he does but better and hes better one on one

He is a big loss G. A young player on the rise and started the season better than i thought he would considering he had missed a whole year. Miller has experience on him and can cover him but we'd rather have all hands on deck as it gives us more flexibility in positional changes.

Credit to Maurice: he covered a lot of ground before ruining Lynch’s marking attempt.

atrocious play from him. Why is he even leaping? He is the rover ffs, stay to the ground at all times. His best is fleeting & damaging, but his fundamentals, still, are bloody awful at times. Got to do way better, smarter mate

TigerImposter your boy Miller will never get a better opportunity than now to cement himself as a genuine AFL standard defender.

I hope he proves you right because we need him now more than ever.
Yep. Permanent role. Defining moment for him.
Yeah he's probably our best winger. Time to look to the future though IMO.

We are, he’s got 3 sons & a daughter

If we don’t get him to 100 games we are brain dead.
And add to that Mansells unforgivable miss
It was shocker but no one on here seems to remember Lynch’s miss. Easy shot and would have extended our lead to 2 and a half goals. Owies shows how to do it a couple of minutes later. Match losing moment.

IMG_3172.png

Not motlop, marchbank and martin they would be in and out of our side. Dont make them out to be like some sort of stars.

Marchbank fit would, be a walk up start, especially if we want to play Balta forward. If we had him i would actually be far more ok with Balta forward, as we would at least have a real alternative taking the role that can assist Young. He is not a elite option or anything, but i think he would be a starting backman in our side, especially if Balta was playing forward.

And i reckon Motlop and Martin would always be in on our side atm, if form permitted. And we would be a better team, but still not challenging anything

...Add Weitering & Walsh to our side however...... yeah, don't forget they were missing them too....

Depends on how we want our wingers to play.

If we want them able to get back into D50 and fill leading lanes/intercept mark then Pickett/KMac are better options.

If we want them to be like Langdon at Melbourne who sits out in space as an outlet then Daniel is better as his ball use and pace would open the game up

Macca and Pickett have been playing the wings for years … we have been ridiculously easy to score against via simple ball movement from our F50 for years. These guys provide minimal offensive threat, and they don’t help with stifling ball movement and I rarely see them clogging our defence.

They’ve been great servants, but they are so-so footballers and 32yo and 30yo …. get Banks, Ross, Clarke, Short, Rioli or even Hugo onto the wings .. I don’t care who, but let’s go into 2025 with 2 new faces having established themselves on the wings …. Please !!

Macca and Pickett have been playing the wings for years … we have been ridiculously easy to score against via simple ball movement from our F50 for years. These guys provide minimal offensive threat, and they don’t help with stifling ball movement and I rarely see them clogging our defence.

They’ve been great servants, but they are so-so footballers and 32yo and 30yo …. get Banks, Ross, Clarke, Short, Rioli or even Hugo onto the wings .. I don’t care who, but let’s go into 2025 with 2 new faces having established themselves on the wings …. Please !!

Unfortunately the match committee do care about "replace with who" part, as it dictates the results, which dictates their jobs.

I don't disagree with you - but the answer of "replace with who" needs to be answered before we can move on from anything

I would actually try just for shits and giggles Short on one wing & Dan Rioli on the other. Move Baker down back again. Look a lil like below.

B: Grimes Balta Young
HB: Vlaustin Broad Baker
c: D.Rioli Taranto Short

I'd add Banks to the bench and have him rotating off HBF & wing too. that backline looks pretty suspect tbh, but its all we really have. Gibcus going down is a short & long term disaster really.

Lynch is the equal of either of their 2 key forwards when on song, better than McKay. Curnow has kicked 13 goals in 8 matches against us, so maybe my view of him is a little tainted by how easily our backs have nullified him over the years. Balta looks a real wild card up forward as well, what is his ceiling, he was very good on Thursday.

Walsh, Weitering and Dockerty are big injuries, Martin? He averaged 11 disposals and kicked 17 goals, so not exactly lighting it up. Marchbank has played 4 and 8 games in the last 2 years. Carroll is 18 years old, Silvani can't get a game. and Motlop goes okay but hardly a star.

Martin barely got out of second gear, Lynch's first game in 18 months and Nank tired badly in the last, when De Koning took over, before that he was giving him a bath. We were 3 down before half time coming off a 5 day break.

We beat them at clearances, so maybe besides Cripps they are not as good as they think they are. How did we do that with Prestia out, Taranto quiet, Dow average/good, Hopper quiet in the last half. Their midfield is pretty one paced, compared to last weeks Rowell, Anderson, Miller, even Flanders were yard above Carlton mids, in speed, quality and youth.

They have won 6 games in a row by under a goal, maybe they are a bit overrated.

I really couldn't care less how Carlton is rated. All in know is, we are definitely rated worse than them.

And i would honestly suck a cowboys dick for us to win 6 games by under a goal in a row. Im not even certain we will win 6 games this year. They have won 6 close games i a row, but it came after YEARS of losing the close ones when it most mattered. That is actually the biggest KPI you can get to a team being ready to compete. Balmey said this himself

Some rough comments on Mansell in here.

The miss was bad, but he should never have been put straight in after four weeks out with no match practice at all. He ran his arse off and played a huge role in stopping their rebound - he would have been completely spent.

Yeah Steven morris 2.0

Ran he’s arse off too

I really couldn't care less how Carlton is rated. All in know is, we are definitely rated worse than them.

And i would honestly suck a cowboys dick for us to win 6 games by under a goal in a row. Im not even certain we will win 6 games this year. They have won 6 close games i a row, but it came after YEARS of losing the close ones when it most mattered. That is actually the biggest KPI you can get to a team being ready to compete. Balmey said this himself
I'm not dismissing them, just not sure they are what they think they are. And I'm not sure we are as bad as the footy world thinks we are, although injuries could take us down pretty easily.

Selection eh?

I hated that Yze's starting point is pretty much the team from last year. ...so far 4 or so changes each week.

Backline with Gibcus and Young was OK. Grimes, Broad slightly off the pace but Vlas & Rioli are good.

Midfield with TT, JH, Pres and Dow seemed off. But they have played well from the 2nd half of round zero.

Ross, Banks had a crack at wing. Banks didn't keep his spot. Campbell a new face. MRJ is better than last year. Mansell is not.

Baker, Bolton Balta fwd is a work in progress. All do great stuff and then shocking.

Nank, Lynch and Dusty huge INs and we nearly won. shouldda, coulldda.

Miller and Brown/tresize not bad replacements.

Kmac II for Prestia .

Last edited by a moderator:

ppl love the blame game bro

They are perhaps the biggest bandwagoners in the AFL their crowds were bloody woeful for 15+ years and ill tell you CB once they become mediocre again their fans will drop off like flies.
So 2025 then? 😂😂😂

I liked this tap down by MRJ to Bolton in the middle. And a soft free to Lynch! Umpires must have forgotten that Lynch actually plays for Richmond ;)

Rioli no idea as to be a crumbing forward....oh wait I'll contest the incoming ball with Lynch...

Autopsy Roast/Toast R1 vs Carlton & Changes for R2 vs Port