Autopsy Round 20, 2023 vs Adelaide

Wines - looks like he just doesn't care

To me he looks almost traumatised with ball in hand. He and Trav have both been pretty 'iffy' with their disposal. 10yrs later what's changed?

We're missing the point focusing on individual players and their short-comings. Just like we're missing the point focusing on effort.

It's our system that's at fault and it all boils down to the stubborn pigheaded yob who sits on the pine imitating a Joe Bloggs in the crowd.

Beyond ludicrous it's gimly comical bordering on high farce this expensive fraud has played us along for so long.

I hate this campaigner with a passion. Get *'ed and * off.

As bad as the 2017 second showdown - not in terms of the final scoreline, but the method and approach was near identical and deserved a similar shellacking.

The biggest concern was that they've reverted to Hinkley ball of dominating inside 50s bombing it aimlessly and high with no actual method to the madness. It is a complete reversal from how they entered the forward 50 prior to the bye.

This team is going nowhere under Hinkley.

As bad as the 2017 second showdown - not in terms of the final scoreline, but the method and approach was near identical and deserved a similar shellacking.

The biggest concern was that they've reverted to Hinkley ball of dominating inside 50s bombing it aimlessly and high with no actual method to the madness. It is a complete reversal from how they entered the forward 50 prior to the bye.

This team is going nowhere under Hinkley.

Yep if rankine was playing it would of been 10 plus

Rioli and hopefully Lycett back next week (+ maybe some others).
Geelong has two major injuries; Tom Hawkins and the versatile Mark Blicavs as subbed out.
Let’s be honest bevoman we are not a serious team.

We’re certainly not worthy of 2nd spot.

I’m so disappointed that our senior players made no effort to change the course of that game.

I don’t think it matters who geelong put out against us.

It will just be too hard for this pi$$ weak team of ours.

The word humiliation comes to mind after last night.
Burton’s dropped mark leading to a goal to kick start it all. A 5 game Irishman made to look like Glen Jackovich by his crippled opponent. Walker waltzing past Allir and dobbing a left footer from 50. Sloane getting 2inches off the ground, treating Boak with contempt to take a ‘speccy’
The fact we were second and being talked about as a serious premiership threat succumbing easily to the bitter rival and 14th placed team for the second time this year.
Don’t know about the players but that felt ‘21 PF levels of humiliation.

Someone, preferably our forward coach, needs to sit Finlayson down and explain to him that if he attempts another snap shot from outside 30m from goal, he can spend the next month in the sanfl.

No Marshall, Finlayson, DBJ, McEntee, Farrell, JHF, Huston, Mackenzie or Burton.

Allir and SPP were out of sorts.

Thought Visentini rucked hard but you don’t win too many when a third of the team doesn’t rock up.

Adelaide also worked harder. Wanted it more. Hopefully this is just the pre-finals dip.
Could tell 10 minutes into the game we were NOT THERE. Hard to say but Cows were harder, ran in numbers to help a team-mate etc.

Someone, preferably our forward coach, needs to sit Finlayson down and explain to him that if he attempts another snap shot from outside 30m from goal, he can spend the next month in the sanfl.
This is the least of his issues. How about his sheer lack of any kind of effort when the ball is heading in his direction, him staying down every time hoping for it to fall out the back to him, or his first instinct to sook and complain and throw is hands in the air rather than apply a second effort or chase? Much bigger concerns for me personally.

The word humiliation comes to mind after last night.
Burton’s dropped mark leading to a goal to kick start it all. A 5 game Irishman made to look like Glen Jackovich by his crippled opponent. Walker waltzing past Allir and dobbing a left footer from 50. Sloane getting 2inches off the ground, treating Boak with contempt to take a ‘speccy’
The fact we were second and being talked about as a serious premiership threat succumbing easily to the bitter rival and 14th placed team for the second time this year.
Don’t know about the players but that felt ‘21 PF levels of humiliation.
Spot on.. it was humiliating. My phone hasn’t stopped.. got nothing.. absolutely no reply..

Against a very ordinary crows side too.. they talk up their kids but we got smacked on the back 30 plus year olds and/or hacks

No way they can sweep this under the carpet.. I wanna see changes next week changes that say we are sick of this crap and aren’t putting up with it anymore..

This is the least of his issues. How about his sheer lack of any kind of effort when the ball is heading in his direction, him staying down every time hoping for it to fall out the back to him, or his first instinct to sook and complain and throw is hands in the air rather than apply a second effort or chase? Much bigger concerns for me personally.
There was a lead in the southern pocket where a pass from drew? Maybe missed him and he stamped his feet and sooked and then decided to chase.. should have been dragged.. and told u do that again you are in the sanfl.

But as bad as that was he was infinitely better than Marshall..not sure what’s happened to him but has he won a one
On one contest in the last 5 games.. he seems to be the easiest fwd to play against..move him up the ground, stick him in the middle do something..

Our flakey flankers were out in full force last night. They came out in the last quarter of the Collingwood game and kicking for goal a couple of quarters before that.

Its gonna happen again, winter comes, an injury or two, banged up, wet weather footy means can't play our dry weather footy but try to do it, and we drop off.

2014 10-1, then a close loss away from home to go 10-2, then end up 14-8.

2018 11-4, then a close loss away from home to go 11-5, then end up 12-10

2023 14-2, then a decent loss away from home, followed up by a close one at home, currently 14-5, looking at going 15-8.

Our list management team and recruiters get lauded because they pick nice players, but we have refused to recruit enough proper KPD's, not shortie's who can play tall, who can settle the side down when the going gets tough. The bloody crows were smart enough to look at Ireland and found one there plus two off the rookie list and draft one so they have plenty of coverage when injuries happen.

What really pisses me off is playing injured players. Dixon/ Lycett/ Wines/ Boak & now Butters. Good clubs don’t do that.
Those guys should have rested or been sent straight in for surgery asap, they might be able to play now or be right for preseason.
Only if you're trying to win a premiership and not torching the list until you get a signature on a contract extension.

They should print this billboard size, take down the flags we've won and put it up there instead.

Its the perfect visual for last nights performance
“Flag”mate.
We’ve won 1 and we ain’t winning another anytime soon

Our flakey flankers were out in full force last night. They came out in the last quarter of the Collingwood game and kicking for goal a couple of quarters before that.

Its gonna happen again, winter comes, an injury or two, banged up, wet weather footy means can't play our dry weather footy but try to do it, and we drop off.

2014 10-1, then a close loss away from home to go 10-2, then end up 14-8.

2018 11-4, then a close loss away from home to go 11-5, then end up 12-10

2023 14-2, then a decent loss away from home, followed up by a close one at home, currently 14-5, looking at going 15-8.

Our list management team and recruiters get lauded because they pick nice players, but we have refused to recruit enough proper KPD's, not shortie's who can play tall, who can settle the side down when the going gets tough. The bloody crows were smart enough to look at Ireland and found one there plus two off the rookie list and draft one so they have plenty of coverage when injuries happen.
Port Adelaide ............. champs until July.

Chumps at the back end of each season.

Could tell 10 minutes into the game we were NOT THERE. Hard to say but Cows were harder, ran in numbers to help a team-mate etc.
Could tell in the first 30 or so seconds.

Two ground ball fumbles.
Scrappy Croms kick forward goes straight through Alliir's hands to Keays on his own - goal.

Game over right there!
Hoist the white flag and bend over. 🏳️