Newman Cotchin Grigg
Grant Griffith Edwards
Reiwoldt Astbury Martin

Maric Lids Tuck

INT : Foley( Round 1 ND ), Conca, Vickery SUB : Ellis

Trade/ Free Agency
Chaplin ( Port ) , Grant ( Bulldogs )

Delistings
Webberly, Derickx, Browne, MacDonald, Connors, Moore(retired)
Miller and Maric both gone from rookie list

ND Type
Inside mids x 3, Tall forward x 1

Rookie
Mid, Ruckman , Tall defender

Surprises
Nathan Foley seeks trade.
Robin Nahas traded.

Interested in peoples view.
Best 22.
Likely Trade / Free Agency
Delistings
ND Type
Rookie Type
Surprises

Best 22
Morris Chaplin Houli
Batchellor Rance Grimes
Newman Cotchin Grigg
Grant Griffith Edwards
Reiwoldt Astbury Martin

Maric Lids Tuck

INT : Foley( Round 1 ND ), Conca, Vickery SUB : Ellis

Trade/ Free Agency
Chaplin ( Port ) , Grant ( Bulldogs )

Delistings
Webberly, Derickx, Browne, MacDonald, Connors, Moore(retired)
Miller and Maric both gone from rookie list

ND Type
Inside mids x 3, Tall forward x 1

Rookie

Surprises
Nathan Foley seeks trade.
Robin Nahas traded.
how much work would edwards have to do in that forward line- grant is not very good- rather have Jackson or jake

Best 22

B: Grimes Chaplin Morris
HB: Russell Rance Batchelor
C: Deledio Cotchin Grigg
HF: Martin Griffiths Edwards
F: Nahas Riewoldt Vickery
R: Maric Tuck Conca
INT: Ellis, Helbig, Houli, Foley

Likely Trade/Free Agency

Troy Chaplin - Port Adelaide
Jordan Russell - Carlton
Jayden Post traded to Bulldogs for second round pick

Delistings

Webberley, Derickx, Graham, McGuane, White, Macdonald, Connors, Brad Miller (VFL Development coach), Addam Maric

ND Types

Outside, quick, skilled midfielder who can kick goals (Kennedy/Gartlett)
More midfield depth
Ruckman

Rookie

Best performed Juniors and Mature age players who played well all season but missed out on the ND. Do not worry about athletic traits etc. Footballers who performed at that level but for whatever reason was not picked up in the draft. Keep it simple principle needs to happen in the rookie draft.

Surprises

Chris Newman hands captaincy to Trent Cotchin. Requests a trade.

Best 22
Morris Rance Houli
Newman Chaplin Grimes
Deledio Cotchin Grigg
Jackson Riewoldt Martin
Edwards Vickery Nahas

Maric Foley Tuck

INT : Ellis, Conca, Batchelor SUB : King

Trade/ Free Agency
Chaplin ( Port )

Delistings
Webberly, Graham, Moore, Conners, MacDonald, Derickx.
Maric, Miller, Heslin, Turner and Wright from the rookie list

ND Type
Best available. Ideally, inside midfielder x 1, outside midfielder x 1, Ruckman x 1, small forward x 1

Rookie

Surprises
None. Just good consistent drafting/trading

If we got rid of Nahas and picked up Grant I would spew. Talk about one step forward, two steps back. :rolleyes:
Grant is significantly more competitive in the air than Nahas , doesn't tend to get knocked off the ball as easy . I'f we could alternate the two of them without losing positioning within the ND , I'd do it in a heartbeat .

Grant is 192cm and Nahas is sub 180cm so of course he is going to be better in the air. When the ball hits the ground Nahas is much better.

Exactly and Nahas , like A . Marics deficiency in the air/marking is a very big liability . Whilst the fact he is easily moved off the ball severly diminishes his ground work . Plenty of shorter statured players have been alot better than Nahas in marking contests . Being a midget , which we all know is under 180 cms :D , may be a reason why he struggles in marking contests but most certainly shouldn't preclude his marking deficiencies from being criticized .

Best 25:

B: Steven Morris, Alex Rance, Dylan Grimes
HB: Jordan Russell, Troy Chaplin, Bachar Houli
C: Reece Conca, Trent Cotchin, Shaun Grigg
HF: Daniel Jackson, Tyrone Vickery, Brett Deledio
F: Shane Edwards, Jack Riewoldt, Dustin Martin
Foll: Ivan Maric, Shane Tuck, Nathan Foley
Int: Brandon Ellis, Chris Newman, Jake Batchelor
Sub: Robin Nahas

Emerg: Matt Dea, Jake King, Ben Griffiths

OR/

Best 25:

B: Steven Morris, Alex Rance, Dylan Grimes
HB: Jordan Russell, Troy Chaplin, Bachar Houli
C: Reece Conca, Brett Deledio, Shaun Grigg
HF: Daniel Jackson, Travis Cloke, Dustin Martin
F: Shane Edwards, Jack Riewoldt, Tyrone Vickery
Foll: Ivan Maric, Shane Tuck, Trent Cotchin
Int: Brandon Ellis, Chris Newman, Jake Batchelor
Sub: Robin Nahas

Emerg: Matt Dea, Jake King, Ben Griffiths

Trade/Free Agency:
Post, McGuane, Connors, (Nathan Foley) all on the trade table
Acquire Chaplin, Russell, (Travis Cloke)

Delist:

Connors, MacDonald, 2 of Graham/Derickx/Browne, McGuane, Moore, Post, Webberley, A Maric (r), Miller (r), Heslin (r), Wright (r), Turner (r).

Retain:

Darrou and Verrier.

ND Type:

3 x Mids (at least 1 fast paced mid), Medium Forward, Developing Ruck

Rookie Type:
Small Forwards, Developing Ruck, Coburg Standouts (i.e: Murphy, Wheeler)

Surprises:
+Foley and McGuane join GWS and GC respectively, freeing up cap space to make a major play for Travis Cloke.
+Newman refuses to hand over captaincy, leads Tigers to top 4.

Nahas is a very unique player, seems to be underrated by his own club and overrated by opposition clubs instead of the other way around, I for one reckon he is more worrying then Martin, is obviously behind Cochin, delidio and most of the time reiwoldt but after that Nahas would be up there... I realise he may not have a much upside as Martin but I would still love a Nahas at the dockers even though we have plenty of smalls.

Best 22
B: Grimes Chaplin Morris
HB: Houli Rance Newman
M: Grigg Tuck Conca
HF: Edwards Cloke Nahas
F: Martin Riewoldt Vickery
FOLL: I.Maric Cotchin Deledio
INT: Foley Batcherlor Jackson SUB: Ellis
Likely Trade / Free Agency:
In: Chaplin, Cloke and Russell, Caddy and Knights maybe
Out: McGuane
Delistings:
Connors, Derickx, Macdonald, Miller, Moore, Webberley, Turner, Henslin
ND Type:
Midfielders, Key Forward (if they don't get Cloke) and Medium Size Forward.
Rookie Type:
Coburg Players, Ruckmen, Small/Meduim Forward and 1 dud from another team as a gamble eg. A.Maric this year
Surprises :
A team is interested in McGuane, Newman stays captain for 1 more year and Cloke, Caddy and Chaplin all come to tigerland!

Exactly and Nahas , like A . Marics deficiency in the air/marking is a very big liability . Whilst the fact he is easily moved off the ball severly diminishes his ground work . Plenty of shorter statured players have been alot better than Nahas in marking contests . Being a midget , which we all know is under 180 cms :D , may be a reason why he struggles in marking contests but most certainly shouldn't preclude his marking deficiencies from being criticized .

I think the close to 40 goals he will kick this season more than makes up for his deficiency in the air.

Your opinion but personally I consider the whole package of what a player brings to the table rather than dismissing their deffeciencies , upon one offensive stat .

Nahas is a good goal kicking small forward. Should kick 35 goals this year. Comparing him to A Maric is an irrelevant argument.

Grant is a crap tall forward who can't mark, can't kick and is useless below his knees.

I really don't understand your logic?

Not sure why the comparison between Grant and Nahas is being made given they play totally different roles. However seeing as you brought up their marking ability despite Grant being 16cms taller than Nahas he averages less than 2 more marks per game. He also kicks/contributes significantly less goals per game than Nahas does as well.

If you're keen in having a lead up 4th tall forward may I suggest we see how O'Hanlon goes as he is only 3cms shorter than Grant but weighs 5kgs more and despite often playing as a sub in his 5 games his numbers compare well with those of Grant.

Best 22
Morris Chaplin Grimes
Batchelor Rance Newman
Russell Cotchin Grigg
Martin Griffiths Edwards
Vickery Riewoldt Nahas

Maric Deledio Foley

INT : Tuck, Helbig, Conca, SUB : Ellis/(1st ND pick)

Trade/ Free Agency
Chaplin ( Port ) , Russell ( Blues )

Delistings
Webberly, Derickx, Graham, MacDonald, Connors, Heslin, A.Maric, McGuane, Moore(retired)

ND Type
Ideally first 3 picks hopefully mids than can all go inside and out.

OR:
1x Inside-outside to replace Foley
1x Inside workhorse to replace Tuck
1x Outside speedster.

Best available after that.

Rookie
A couple "mature aged" mids ~19-23 to fit with our core group.
A state leagues leading goalkicker (worth a shot).

Surprises
None.

Not sure why the comparison between Grant and Nahas is being made given they play totally different roles. However seeing as you brought up their marking ability despite Grant being 16cms taller than Nahas he averages less than 2 more marks per game. He also kicks/contributes significantly less goals per game than Nahas does as well.

If you're keen in having a lead up 4th tall forward may I suggest we see how O'Hanlon goes as he is only 3cms shorter than Grant but weighs 5kgs more and despite often playing as a sub in his 5 games his numbers compare well with those of Grant.
Nahas is out marked and pushed off the ball allowing the opposition to set up and rebound without pressure more often than Grant .
O'hanlon I agree is a future option however , that's all that is in the cupboard and I don't think is capable of playing full season yet and won't be able to in 2013.
Have not stated Grant is a gun but he fulfills a need which we have little to no oter option , he can also play as a lead up
Forward which he has been forced to do often at the dogs due to his pace .
As much as I said it's possible Nahas could be traded And that I'd trade him for Grant , Grant would fulfill the roles MacDonald , Connors and rookies miller and Maric where meant to play and significantly better and would open up spots upon our list for more midfield depth .

...and in doing so you will rob our forward line of an actual AFL goal kicker. The only depth that getting Jarrad Gant on the list would create would be depth at Coburg.

The guy has only played 10 games this year and hasn't been injured. The Bulldogs decided that they would play ruckman like Cordy and Roughead as forwards in front of Grant because they were more effective.

Grant is 23 and weighs 82kg. He has kicked 8 goals this year and only average 4 marks per game.

How on any planet in this solar system is he an upgrade on Nahas?

jackie-chan-meme1.jpg

...and in doing so you will rob our forward line of an actual AFL goal kicker. The only depth that getting Jarrad Gant on the list would create would be depth at Coburg.

The guy has only played 10 games this year and hasn't been injured. The Bulldogs decided that they would play ruckman like Cordy and Roughead as forwards in front of Grant because they were more effective.

Grant is 23 and weighs 82kg. He has kicked 8 goals this year and only average 4 marks per game.

How on any planet in this solar system is he an upgrade on Nahas?

jackie-chan-meme1.jpg
Because he provides less of an opportunity to be our marked and pushed of the footy and therefore allowing the opposition to set up off half back .
Grant is not a number one KPP , hence why the bulldogs are playing Cordy and Roughhead .
Grant would be an upgrade most certainly on Miller and McGuanne as our 3rd tall forward and most certainly an upgrade on Connors , MacDonald and A.maric .
If Reiwoldt goes down next year would you prefer Grant or Nahas as a 3rd key forward target ?
If one of Nahas , Edwards go down next year, Grant can fill the void .
We don't have great 3rd tall forward depth nor great medium
Sized lead up or quick forwards. Grant would provide depth in all 3 areas .
I appreciate he is of a light frame, but he does have some qualities which we don't have upon our list and if on our list this year would have played 10 games in front of A.maric and most likely given us greater competition in the air and on the ground and instead of players like Josh Hunt continually taking mark after mark against short people and brushing them aside upon the ground we may have gotten a contest and won close games . Likewise instead of having Brad Miller leading no further than 15 Mtrs from goal , because that's all he can kick , Grant may have led further up the groud and forced defenders to make a decision rather than sit back and block space .

Grant would likely out mark Nahas 9 times out of 10, but size for size, Grant is no better mark than Nahas.
When taking into consideration the two things which I would be judging them on in that forward role, Nahas wins hands down. Goals and forward pressure (tackles). I would include score involvements, but I've no idea where those stats would be found - would bet my bottom dollar Nahas wins that hands down also.

Because he provides less of an opportunity to be our marked and pushed of the footy and therefore allowing the opposition to set up off half back .
Grant is not a number one KPP , hence why the bulldogs are playing Cordy and Roughhead .
If Reiwoldt goes down next year would you prefer Grant or Nahas as a 3rd key forward target ?
If one of Nahas , Edwards go down next year, Grant can fill the void .
We don't have great 3rd tall forward depth nor great medium
Sized lead up or quick forwards. Grant would provide depth in all 3 areas .
This is such a stupid question. I can't believe the comparison that you are making between the two. Nahas is a crumbing small forward that provides defensive pressure. If Riewoldt was to go down, we would bring in Astbury/Griffiths/Post/Elton to perform that role. Nahas wouldn't even be brought up in conversation, because that's not his role in the team. Likewise, if Nahas was to go down, his role wouldn't be performed by Grant because he isn't capable of doing so.

You make some baffling statements RP, but this one has to be the best of them.

Roar Passion you need to give it up. I dont think there is anyone on this board that would agree for a straight swap for Nahas and Grant doing the goal crumbing role unless it was Terry Wallace. That would be the crappiest trade if we followed your idea. Glad we arent.

I just understand the hate for Nahas - he isnt perfect but he kicks goals and makes stuff out of nothing. I dont often recal him stuffing up heaps of goal shots/turnovers either.