List Mgmt. The 2018 Draft & Trade Hypotheticals Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter RUNVS

Also anyone who believes the cap is a "hard" cap are kidding themselves. Players are bought things all the time. "Take 200k less salary a year with us and we will buy you 600k worth of property"

True but if we are not chasing anyone even after letting Hanners go then our cap is being sucked dry.

I mean we only signed Lloyd at the very last minute who i thought would be a priority signing so it felt like we had to scramble around for some extra cash.

Yeah like not recruit Tippett based on 1 final
Not give buddy 9 years
Not sign every mid to 800k

Etc

Drafted good kids but some of our contracts

Even horse why was he extended for so long when he was? Why is every contract so long
Which mids are on 800k? Please provide a link to this as im really curious as to how we can have so many players on 800k.

Every club wants 2-3 top line mids unless everything falls your way that takes more than one trade/draft period.

That’s where our list is. You need to bat 7-10 deep in your midfield we barely bat 5 deep

Can’t make that magically appear.

You can at least not try and trade in yet another defender! Go after mids, mids and more mids. Do it until you have a top line midfield.

Out: hanners, rohan, Newman, towers

In: Clarke, duryea, VDb

Lol at improvement. If it were the other way around and we were getting our outs, we’d be booking 2019 grand final tickets. A half arsed Rohan, towers and hanners is better than them. VDb is the only decent one
Have you taken account the best part of a million bucks that will be cleared from our cap by the swapping of these three players? So whilst the three ins may not be huge improvements on the three outs (though I'd argue vandenBerg is), the cap space cleared will go a long way with helping list management.

I can’t see it happening but if it did, I would laugh at the Saints. They take Hanners so we get their no.1 target in Shiel.

Why would GWS let a star leave that wants to stay in Sydney? They may as well let Kelly leave as he will go to Vic regardless
Salary cap must be becoming an issue at GWS, best to trade Shiel this year than next when he's off contract.

Well to accommodate you I'll own up as a "Longmire yes man".
My reason is actually different to what you actually want it to be to suit your argument.
For me it's about club stability from top to bottom. It's also about being confident that the club have things in control & are all about having things in place where we have successors in place for important positions such as when Roos stepped aside for Horse & when Colless stepped aside for Pridham & now with Ireland stepping aside for Harley. I am pleased to also be a club "yes man" as well for this reason as I personally don't believe that I have been given a valid reason to kick up a stink about too much other than a few things that haven't gone our way. Trade ban being a significant road block put in front of our club.

So yes man, I am one of your so called "Longmire yes men" & pretty happy about at this point in time & believe me, when I think it's time for him to go then you'll know about it because I would like to think I'll mention it on here. Just not the right time with 2 years to run on his contract.
Yep, I'm a Longmire yes woman Ted, for the same reasons you list.

Jack deserved a extension in 2016 not sure about 3 years.
When he signed his extention he was 28 years old, co-captain and playing good footy, why would three years have been too long? Makes him 32 by the end of his contract, no one could have foretold what would unfold over the next couple of seasons.
Maybe those of you on here that own an infallible crystal ball should donate it to the club.

You can at least not try and trade in yet another defender! Go after mids, mids and more mids. Do it until you have a top line midfield.

We have been doing that though...
Most of the players we have been linked to are mids/runners. Most of the players we have been drafting have been mids.

When was the last time we traded for a defender?

If you are right about the list then why do we never have cap space?

Over paying people big time?

I've mentioned a few times before why I believe we don't have cap space & although I like the reason & wouldn't change it for the world, it has come back to haunt us.
Buddy Franklin being signed after we signed Tippett! That's it right there. Don't worry about right or wrong or success or fail, the fact is Bud takes 12% of our total cap according to his reported contract. So this thins out our list rather quickly & when some other key elements of our list are missing or carrying niggles, we look a mess & it happens in clusters. 0 & 6 after 6 games to start off 2017. Later this year after the bye, we won 2 of 6 games, by only 2 points & 6 points. Then we failed badly in the final. But look King that's just how I see it & doesn't mean I'm close to being correct in my opinion.
Do I expect that we will improve in 2019? I think we improve by just getting a few players back from injury, Naismith being the first & then a more favourable draw than in 2018. But again, as many have pointed out, I have no idea.

If a player is from vic and they want to go to vic then that’s up to them. Might be less if them but there’s been plenty wanting to go back home to WA SA and Qld over the years aswell.

I’m sure you don’t let your employer or other stakeholders control the aspects of your life lol. We will always have this disadvantage and we just need to suck it up. That’s why we have an academy.
We don't have much of an advantage, if any, with our academy when ever other team also has one.

Most of the players we have been linked to are mids/runners. Most of the players we have been drafting have been mids.

Talia?

I've mentioned a few times before why I believe we don't have cap space & although I like the reason & wouldn't change it for the world, it has come back to haunt us.
Buddy Franklin being signed after we signed Tippett! That's it right there. Don't worry about right or wrong or success or fail, the fact is Bud takes 12% of our total cap according to his reported contract. So this thins out our list rather quickly & when some other key elements of our list are missing or carrying niggles, we look a mess & it happens in clusters. 0 & 6 after 6 games to start off 2017. Later this year after the bye, we won 2 of 6 games, by only 2 points & 6 points. Then we failed badly in the final. But look King that's just how I see it & doesn't mean I'm close to being correct in my opinion.
Do I expect that we will improve in 2019? I think we improve by just getting a few players back from injury, Naismith being the first & then a more favourable draw than in 2018. But again, as many have pointed out, I have no idea.

I can see where you are coming from

Regardless of how we got where we are or where we rank all we can do is go forward

I like our list on the whole especially with what’s coming through

Maybe 2019 is a step back to go forward

I’m just not going to go doom and gloom or over the top cheery when I don’t know the list or plan for 2019

Which mids are on 800k? Please provide a link to this as im really curious as to how we can have so many players on 800k.

Provide a link to any salary other than guesses

The media reported Hannebery jack and Kennedy were on 800k

Maybe they aren’t

So guess if it’s not true we must have heaps of cap space?

Club hasn’t made a move yet

I’d suggest we wait until trades happen before we are critical

This is easily our worst trade period ever.

Also, I can't wait until trade period actually opens on Monday.

We have been trying with Moore...not needed. Get a mid.

Seems like every second flog has a trade page

Listed towers as part of our mass exodus and said Parker is on the table for the dons and Kennedy wants out

Give me strength

Hate this time of year media wise

Overrating our side big time. Need more than Shiel. Need at least 2-3 top line mids badly

In fairness, if we can release Mills and Jones into the midfield next year alongside a decent recruit (I won't try to put a name to that) then it could be better almost immediately.

Add Naismith back and we have an improvement in the Ruck in terms of hit outs albeit at a cost around the ground but counterbalanced by either Reid's return or Sinclair at FF

Keep forwards, forward (you know, have someone to kick to) and there's improvement.

I still think that puts us in the 5-8 bracket at best given the rumoured moves to opposition clubs but all will be revealed in the fullness of time.

Are you happy with the Harley appointment?

I don’t think he has done his trade long enough and it will end up a very bad decision

Just my opinion

Well I'm not sure just yet because he hasn't even sat down in his new seat yet, but he is now in charge of a club that pays one fellow 12% of it's cap to so that means he needs to make brutal decisions with our list. At first glance it seems he has. Where we are usually the "nice guy" club where we keep an injured AJ on as a rookie even though he can't get on the field until late in the season or we keep Gary Rohan on the list because he's had a tough year off field. It seems to me he is the one in control of some brutal decisions & I'd say he has asked questions of a few players on considerable coin who we are not getting our worth from. Hanners & Rohan need to give more basically or we are prepared to trade them. Not unlike the Wingard scenario at Port IMO.

Let's see what comes of his tenure in the hot seat Punts. I think I like it so far as we needed to do something.

I can see where you are coming from

Regardless of how we got where we are or where we rank all we can do is go forward

I like our list on the whole especially with what’s coming through

Maybe 2019 is a step back to go forward

I’m just not going to go doom and gloom or over the top cheery when I don’t know the list or plan for 2019

I do think Horse will see out his contract & it's not all doom & gloom. Heck, we had one hell of a draw in hindsight on top of all the other sh.t.

I just hope the club goes for a flag or goes to a way to develop a list for the flag and feels it has the supporter base that will understand going back to go forward

Not keen to tread water