Willie Rioli "on leave" from Port Adelaide after social media post

You miss the bit where he made the threat off the field?
So you accept that the two previous empty threats made by Willie, and that the AFL knew about, are just part of the game?

Why do you think the bootlickers in the AFL media brought up those two previous empty threats if it's all to do with this latest one, which I have no reason to believe that Willie will follow through with?

So you accept that the two previous empty threats made by Willie, and that the AFL knew about, are just part of the game?

Why do you think the bootlickers in the AFL media brought up those two previous empty threats if it's all to do with this latest one, which I have no reason to believe that Willie will follow through with?

No I don't accept that.

Nobody else in the league does it except one dickhead.

So that shows it is most definitely not part of the league.

LIke many things like this they at the time might have thought they will keep it quiet if it's a once off. Once they they learned it's not a once off the benefit of the doubt was lifted and they thought this idiot needs to be exposed.

yes, this is new account you have created is definitely not a fan of Port Adelaide or someone connected to Port Adelaide/Willie Rioli.

just a coincedence that you have started an account for this thread and you are not a port adelaide fan

The other incidents are absolutely relevant as he’s clearly a repeat offender. He should be suspended for a while as most believe he should but he won’t be.. so stop playing the victim. Your club has got off very easy here, as they did with the medical thing a few years back.
As Will Schofield said, threats against players/families are rife on the field. None of the clubs or players involved had any interest in pressing it any further.

How do you think the media found out about this? Did the clubs via staff or players let them know or where they always aware and decided not to bring it to attention because AFL media is after all, quid pro quo.
The media did a call around in a bid to dig up some more dirt.

Do you think maybe they considered it resolved because they thought it was just a one off and wasn't indicative of Willie as a person? That the club would pull him into line and there was no use to bring the AFL into it when they could sort it out between themselves ?
No, because despite what came out, neither club wanted to be involved in any further discussions/investigations.

Clearly there was a complaint from the player. That is why both clubs at the time were made aware of it. The player (victim) probably did not want to push it further to the AFL for their own privacy and protection. The media has gone to great lengths to make sure no one has leaked the name of the other players involved. That could change but clearly the media believes that leaking the players names to the public will have a negative impact.
Not clear at all - again, go listen to the coaches press conference - Scott wanted nothing to do with this.
Rioli does not deserve racist abuse. Unfortunately, a story like this gives racists a reason to be pricks. But not punishing a player because they might (likely will) get abused from a bunch of dickhead bogans is not OK either nor does it solve anything.
Never said he doesn't deserve to be punished - but the media (as always) have blown this out of proportion. I've said the same thing for Clayton Oliver and other players going through a difficult time. I'd rather let it play out in the background and just report on it once the AFL has ruled.

One of Willie's was off the field though.

View attachment 2309264
No shit mate but people using that as evidence of a 'pattern' is mary poppins stuff, you can argue if the penalty fits for sending a message post game or should've it been harsher but on-field verbal shittery is as old as the game itself.

Thinking the booing of Goodes wasnt racist and Rachele was a flog?

How are all of your takes always the opposite of the truth?
Rachele was acting like a flog during the showdown. I didn't really care, but the club did. You might want to take it up with them if you didn't think he should have been punished. All I know is that he took it on the chin and has come back a far better player who is concentrating on improving his game rather than agitating Port supporters. I think that's the right thing. The results also back that up.

You are the one claiming it was racist. It's up to you to prove it was. I can't prove a negative, so it's not up to me to prove it wasn't.

You are going to have to explain why only Goodes was getting booed and not the other dozens of indigenous players.
You are going to have to explain why white guys get booed as well, and how that's different.

So, go ahead and prove your assertions.

I like this post but unfortunately one additional factor with Willie is that he is turning 30 years old in June whilst Rachele is only in his 4th season of AFL. Not saying it rules him out of finding career best from, but his age and injury history will make that outcome less likely.

I also think that both the backlash and actions that caused it were far less severe in Rachele's case. All he had to worry about was not dropping marks or over celebrating goals. Willie has far more significant bad habits to worry about and by extension far more intense backlash.
There's also the fact that all players have different personalities. I dont know Willie, but maybe he is a bit of a hothead. That's not bad in and of itself, but it needs to be tempered. It's up to the club and coaching staff to sit down with him and let him know the boundaries.
There's been plenty of good hotheads in the past who were also super players.
Sometime a little bit of that is what motivates players to perform.
It just needs to be managed.

Perhaps we are all flogs at times ...

Anyway, nice move by Willie to take himself out of the next game, issuing a public apology. Hope he can get back on track because he's great to watch, and boy oh boy do Port need him to be a competitive unit.

We will soon find out if Glen GoodyTwoShoes Whately leads the AFL around by the nose if they adopt his proposed solution that was put together without knowing the full facts.
Yep, and who knows, this might motivate him to perform better. It could help him.

There's also the fact that all players have different personalities. I dont know Willie, but maybe he is a bit of a hothead. That's not bad in and of itself, but it needs to be tempered. It's up to the club and coaching staff to sit down with him and let him know the boundaries.
There's been plenty of good hotheads in the past who were also super players.
Sometime a little bit of that is what motivates players to perform.
It just needs to be managed.

Boundaries = If it can be viewed as a criminal matter don't do it.

"Using a carriage service to harass, menace, or cause offense is a criminal offense in Australia, punishable by up to 5 years imprisonment."
"It is an offence to threaten to kill another person, the maximum penalty is 10 years imprisonment."
"A "threat to inflict serious injury" is a criminal offense under Section 21 of the Crimes Act 1958. The maximum penalty is 5 years imprisonment."

Hinkley has practically come out and said “no one should be allowed to sledge Rioli on his return due to the crackdown because of… Willie Rioli” hahah

In a number of ways their statement was for their supporters like you, to point the spotlight away from Rioli and the club. And you’ve taken that hook, line and sinker by the looks of it. And it did so by in part throwing opposition players that have been threatened by Rioli under the bus.

Rioli’s experience of racism via social media, or that of his family members at football clubs in the past, should not be minimised. But that is distinct to what he has done on field in threatening multiple players. Linking the two in this situation is really poor.
So ignore the part where I call out Rioli’s unacceptable behaviour, in order to make a point that I’ve fallen for a ploy not to recognise said behaviour.
The club statement specifically calls out on field as well. Good on you for ignoring that bit as well.

I guess I’ve learned my lesson to only believe those who go public immediately with their complaints, and not believe those who don’t.
I’m clearly biased by past experiences relating to our club where opposition players have made disgusting comments (racial and otherwise) against players (including Port Adelaide) and everyone went down the “contrite / accept apology / learned my lesson / move on” route and then it happens again with the same players, and everyone went down the same “nice” route. Only reason to do that was not to inflame the situation and upset the supporter bases further I assume.
I now see what the other side of that coin looks like, when a player takes their response too far the other way. They become the problem apparently.

Ports culture and direction seem utterly rudderless, from the outside looking in, at the moment.

This is just another prime example of it. By all means back your player in privately, but I find it very hard to believe not a person at the club wasn't aware of this already and hadn't approached him and pulled him into line.

Smacks of a lack of genuine leadership and speaks more to the juvenile way some at the club continue to act when the blow torch is applied.

The less said about the AFL and the way it handles these situations the better.

Ports culture and direction seem utterly rudderless, from the outside looking in, at the moment.

This is just another prime example of it. By all means back your player in privately, but I find it very hard to believe not a person at the club wasn't aware of this already and hadn't approached him and pulled him into line.

Smacks of a lack of genuine leadership and speaks more to the juvenile way some at the club continue to act when the blow torch is applied.

The less said about the AFL and the way it handles these situations the better.
Yep, clearly because a player exhibits behaviours that are way out of line, that the club must have just knowingly just let him do whatever and didn’t make any attempts to understand, to moderate his behaviour or discuss methods to bring this into a suitable ongoing position.

And specifically how Port Adelaide, a team with a long, proud history of their involvement with indigenous groups, with the most indigenous players on an AFL list currently, with probably the highest AFL representation historically along with the WA clubs, have NO idea or experience on how to manage these situations.

I’ve learned something today, thanks for that.

Yep, clearly because a player exhibits behaviours that are way out of line, that the club must have just knowingly just let him do whatever and didn’t make any attempts to understand, to moderate his behaviour or discuss methods to bring this into a suitable ongoing position.

And specifically how Port Adelaide, a team with a long, proud history of their involvement with indigenous groups, with the most indigenous players on an AFL list currently, with probably the highest AFL representation historically along with the WA clubs, have NO idea or experience on how to manage these situations.

I’ve learned something today, thanks for that.
Who said anything about indigenous groups or players?

I certainly didn't point in that direction nor was my post meant to. It's now clear that what Willie has done isn't an isolated incident, there are 100% players and staff at the club who would have been aware of this, and instead of pulling him up for it or making clear its far from appropriate, it continued.

Couple this with recent social media posts that toed the line of what a strong footy club would want their players getting involved in, we now find ourselves where we are. For me i'd blame the club as much as the player for letting it develop.

The Port playing group strike me as the types who are up and about and all chirp when it is going well but can't find a hole to jump in quick enough when it gets tough, as witnessed by recent results.

This is all opinion based in the end, but this is what it looks like to me.

Who said anything about indigenous groups or players?

I certainly didn't point in that direction nor was my post meant to. It's now clear that what Willie has done isn't an isolated incident, there are 100% players and staff at the club who would have been aware of this, and instead of pulling him up for it or making clear its far from appropriate, it continued.

Couple this with recent social media posts that toed the line of what a strong footy club would want their players getting involved in, we now find ourselves where we are. For me i'd blame the club as much as the player for letting it develop.

The Port playing group strike me as the types who are up and about and all chirp when it is going well but can't find a hole to jump in quick enough when it gets tough, as witnessed by recent results.

This is all opinion based in the end, but this is what it looks like to me.
They’re each our opinions, we agree on that. Thanks.

Boundaries = If it can be viewed as a criminal matter don't do it.

"Using a carriage service to harass, menace, or cause offense is a criminal offense in Australia, punishable by up to 5 years imprisonment."
"It is an offence to threaten to kill another person, the maximum penalty is 10 years imprisonment."
"A "threat to inflict serious injury" is a criminal offense under Section 21 of the Crimes Act 1958. The maximum penalty is 5 years imprisonment."
I get that, I'm talking about what leads up to it getting that far.
If Willie had of been pulled up by the club for the earlier events, and told not to carry on like that, then he may well of not done the last one.
From what I can read of Ports statement, they were giving him an out by saying he has to deal with alot of backlash and we don't understand what stress that puts on an indigenous player like him.
I seems like they have been pussy footing around him and making excuses for his actions.

The players he threatened never said anything racial to him, so that's a wash, and every single player gets called out on social media for not having a good game.
Any instances of people racially abusing them are highlighted pretty quick and the people are criticised heavily in the media and public discourse. I haven't seen any of that come up around him lately.

It was a piss weak reaction by Port. They didn't need to add the qualifier to make excuses for his actions.
He was a flog, got caught, and should have just accepted the punishment.
Port should have called him out prior to it getting to that point, and not given him cover.

I get that, I'm talking about what leads up to it getting that far.
If Willie had of been pulled up by the club for the earlier events, and told not to carry on like that, then he may well of not done the last one.
From what I can read of Ports statement, they were giving him an out by saying he has to deal with alot of backlash and we don't understand what stress that puts on an indigenous player like him.
I seems like they have been pussy footing around him and making excuses for his actions.

The players he threatened never said anything racial to him, so that's a wash, and every single player gets called out on social media for not having a good game.
Any instances of people racially abusing them are highlighted pretty quick and the people are criticised heavily in the media and public discourse. I haven't seen any of that come up around him lately.

It was a piss weak reaction by Port. They didn't need to add the qualifier to make excuses for his actions.
He was a flog, got caught, and should have just accepted the punishment.
Port should have called him out prior to it getting to that point, and not given him cover.
Agree with all of this.

My take is that Port very much are a weak club, with even weaker leadership.
Little club with big chip on their shoulder.
Is it any wonder the AFL need to step in to assist running the club at board level.

It is just a shame in this instant the AFL was just as weak.

How do you know they're empty threats? Maybe the victims didn't know if they are or not

Willie Rioli "on leave" from Port Adelaide after social media post