Preview Changes: R6 2019 vs St Kilda

• Thread starter Thread starter Scorpus

JJ is so used to being on the end of our fast ball movement, he actually has no idea how to impact a match without that type of ball movement.

Lynch is an interesting one. He also needs our game plan to work otherwise he’s almost non effective. He’s slow, and not a great athlete in terms of jumping and overall lateral movements. Would really like to see a mid size athletic and quick forward in this position to see how much of a difference it would make.
Sounds like Davis to me

Didn't change the damn start time--I know that.

Another 2:35am beauty :rolleyes:

When I hit 10 year member status I expect the club to schedule a game to accommodate my time zone thank you very much! :)

Without Cameron & Mcgovern doing the chasing and being our best contested marks up forward we can't afford to have the 4 tall setup. Jenkins is out which is a good start, but I think Lynch is the one who needs to be dropped next as he offers nothing defensively and needs it on a platter to perform.

Didn't change the damn start time--I know that.

Another 2:35am beauty :rolleyes:

When I hit 10 year member status I expect the club to schedule a game to accommodate my time zone thank you very much! :)

Do you have a partner, and are they like "what the **** is that sport he's watching in the middle of the night"?

When JJ got his rib injury early against the Hawks at the G in 2017 we scored more points with 21 players than our average with JJ and the full rotations prior. While out, we averaged more points without JJ than with. It’s a small sample, but it’s the only sample. He’s a recipient of everyone else’s performance not a creator of our performance. He was a fair bit different last year, but he’s regressed to being an even poorer version of his usual downhill skiing type this year. Lynch not far behind as a pure downhill skier, and that’s where Sanders and I disagree vehemently.
That cliff is a reasonably high one too.

Last year he probably had a career year, kicking over 40 goals without Walker for large chunks of the year. People would be right to assume we wouldn't get that standard again, but this fall has been extremely drastic.

Do you have a partner, and are they like "what the **** is that sport he's watching in the middle of the night"?

Naaw been divorced for nearly a decade, so I get to do what I want. ;)

This!
Ex-basketballer, all of Jenkins' instincts are non-footy, to which he reverts under pressure.

You mean like Greenwood and Doedee?

You mean like Greenwood and Doedee as well?
No.
Nice try, but a waste of sarcasm. Maybe look, before you leap? Here's why:
Both Greenwood and Doedee played footy as juniors, which would have honed their footy skills in their most formative, instinct-creating years.
Jenkins did not.
In particular, Greenwood " ... was a talented junior footballer, representing Tasmania at the national under-16 championships in 2007 " (Wikipedia). Doedee had a flair for basketball and footy; he's a natural athlete, could play anything if he wanted.
Post-basketball, Jenkins played footy for the Bendigo Bombers in 2011, then was traded to Crows with Pick 41 in exchange for Pick 31. Btw, in 2015/16/17 I was a Jenkins supporter, and defended him against accusations of being soft and lazy eg in 2015 he took more contested marks than any other Adelaide player.
What the hell has happened to that?? He peaked in 2016 and his decline has been obvious in 2018/19.
Actually, I expected him to improve, but he hasn't. His latest comments on SEN radio about leadership and being dropped reveal what a foot-in-mouth, big-headed non-leader he is.
If that doesn't convince you, look at how well our forward line played vs GCS without Jenkins in it.

Yep.

We also had three tall key defenders and couldn't stop Gold Coast's only tall forward from having six shots on goal

1. Where did he have them?
2. Luko isnt a tall?
3. They barely kicked a goal, defence is the one area that has been good all year.

No.
Nice try, but a waste of sarcasm. Maybe look, before you leap? Here's why:
Both Greenwood and Doedee played footy as juniors, which would have honed their footy skills in their most formative, instinct-creating years.
Jenkins did not.
In particular, Greenwood " ... was a talented junior footballer, representing Tasmania at the national under-16 championships in 2007 " (Wikipedia). Doedee had a flair for basketball and footy; he's a natural athlete, could play anything if he wanted.
Post-basketball, Jenkins played footy for the Bendigo Bombers in 2011, then was traded to Crows with Pick 41 in exchange for Pick 31. Btw, in 2015/16/17 I was a Jenkins supporter, and defended him against accusations of being soft and lazy eg in 2015 he took more contested marks than any other Adelaide player.
What the hell has happened to that?? He peaked in 2016 and his decline has been obvious in 2018/19.
Actually, I expected him to improve, but he hasn't. His latest comments on SEN radio about leadership and being dropped reveal what a foot-in-mouth, big-headed non-leader he is.
If that doesn't convince you, look at how well our forward line played vs GCS without Jenkins in it.

I just don't think you need to make the jibe at basketball players. Jenkins is soft because it's who he is, not because he played basketball.

1. Where did he have them?
2. Luko isnt a tall?
3. They barely kicked a goal, defence is the one area that has been good all year.
Peter Wright won his position. 15 possessions 7 marks and 3.3 was a very good return in the circs.

Missed a couple of very gettable set shots too. Could easily have been 4 or 5 goals

Nah, if we move the ball with flair and not like we are constipated then we will win this game. Looks like last week the team got the chance to do a massive hard bog to release some pressure
Poetry mate :D:D I laughed too much

Peter Wright won his position. 15 possessions 7 marks and 3.3 was a very good return in the circs.

Missed a couple of very gettable set shots too. Could easily have been 4 or 5 goals

One of Wrights best games that I can recall seeing.

IIRC a lot of his shots were from a fair way out and on the boundary?

Putting this in perspective with the easy goals we've given up at times in the last 18 months, I'm not worried one bit.

Not sure how Kelly is getting grief too...didnt he shut Sexton right out of the game?

He will click eventually.

Did get a couple cheapies, but he looked like a presence for the first time in a while.

IIRC a lot of his shots were from a fair way out and on the boundary?

Putting this in perspective with the easy goals we've given up at times in the last 18 months, I'm not worried one bit.

Not sure how Kelly is getting grief too...didnt he shut Sexton right out of the game?

Thought Kelly was ok.

I think sometimes our board has such fixations on certain players that unless they have absolute blinders there will always be calls for them to be dropped. Even then any praise is highly conditional.

Thought Kelly was ok.

I think sometimes our board has such fixations on certain players that unless they have absolute blinders there will always be calls for them to be dropped. Even then any praise is highly conditional.

Mackay is the perfect example. Has a ripper and all you hear is "oh he wont do that for another 8 weeks now".
Has an element of truth but jeeze, just appreciate that he had a ripper.

In fact I think he's proven this year that he's best 22 (at the end of last year I had him out).

Jenkins already sulked and leaked his demotion to SEN.

Imagine if this continues and trade speculation heats up. SEN will be all over it. Watch it happen.

On SM-G950F using BigFooty.com mobile app
except SEN reported it as fact Thursday morning
JJ in his interview said he didnt get a phone call until late Thursday, late enough that he said was starting to think he would find out on the news like everyone else

except SEN reported it as fact Thursday morning
JJ in his interview said he didnt get a phone call until late Thursday, late enough that he said was starting to think he would find out on the news like everyone else
SEN reported it on Friday morning, prior to us announcing our final team. Jenkins would have clearly leaked it to his new employer.

It certainly was with the young speedy guys coming through.
At times he's been best 22 due to lack of depth in that area.
His form this year has been pretty solid. 2 very good games, 2 OK ones and a stinker that almost the entire team had.

Sunday was different though, he was actually at the forefront of the charge rather than joining in on the ski trip.