List Mgmt. 2019 Draft and Trade Hypotheticals Thread - Part II

What I dont get with Carlton getting something back, is we have one of the items Carlton want in Papley, yet we are supposed to facilitate a deal giving them what they need to get both Papley and Martin. Surely we just agree to 9 and say to Carlton, you choose, either take Papley or Martin. Surely you take Papley every day of the week with that one.

Didn't they just give 12 and 18 to Saints?
Yep. I find it strange the GWS would trade up to pick 6 when surely they would be expecting us to bid on Green. That's defeats the purpose of them doing so.

What I dont get with Carlton getting something back, is we have one of the items Carlton want in Papley, yet we are supposed to facilitate a deal giving them what they need to get both Papley and Martin. Surely we just agree to 9 and say to Carlton, you choose, either take Papley or Martin. Surely you take Papley every day of the week with that one.

Helping Carlton who tried to vote us out of existence.

Yep. I find it strange the GWS would trade up to pick 6 when surely they would be expecting us to bid on Green. That's defeats the purpose of them doing so.
Maybe we said ‘no’ and the Saints were next best option?

Been away for a few days and this thread has grown a little. Was on page 8 when I last looked.
Anyhow my thoughts are this:
If Carlton want to drag away from us a player who still has 4 years of a contract to go - they can pay overs for him. Well over. If they believe it is pick 9 to us with a pick going back to them, I can live with that. The pick going back will be our fourth round pick - 59.
If we are so hell bent on getting Daniher we should offer them pick 9 and pick 25 and simply stick to that. If Dodoro goes to 11.59pm on Wednesday still saying No, then so be it. He can stay at Essendon next year. I'm sure if he proves next year that he is back to 100% fitness, we could package a deal that would be out of Essendon's reach from a salary cap point of view. With the 4 seniors retiring this year plus Tippett's salary finally off the books and Jones/Papley gone I'd suggest that we have a bucket load of cash to spend which could be factored moreso into 2021. If we are well below the cap next year, we can exceed it the following year.
We should not, under any circumstance, be giving Essendon pick 5. I would very much like to see Flanders or Kemp picked up in the draft this year.

We will buckle. Too many egos and status involved. We will do 5+9.

PA will start the BS machine, look at our new toy, we need your money, we are relevant look at us look at us.

When Daniher fails a new BS machine will start.

We will go back to the old days of Sydney and South and the drum players will slowly withdraw from the board.

All the new rules makes it harder and harder for you to build a team on 30 snd upwards and rookies.

We have 2 early picks and we threw it all at a broken toy.

If you dont know the dark days of early Sydney and South you will understand shortly.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

I've got to say, watching such a Swan in a Carlton jumper, having pure Swans blood in him, is going to hurt.
I'm actually quite angry with him, fair or not.
Deep down King, I really hope you are right & he gets to play regular Bullants footy with his mate Newman, bleeding that sh*thole club of 600 to 700 K per season.
Another wasted 4 years of development into a bloke who was digging holes before we came along.
Every player that leaves a club does not necessarily do so by choice. The Swans list managers made it very clear to Newman that he would be better off elsewhere. He was never in Longmire's good books so it is hardly his fault that he is no longer playing with us.

That Tom Mitchell is a giant at 182cm and and was the king of clearances in 2018.

That Lachie Neale is a midget at 177cm and was the king of clearances in 2019. 2nd in Avg.

Yep, you know your footy.

Premiership player and B&F Dion Prestia at 175cm and clearance leader for the Tigers.

Rowbottom is 186cm
Hewett is 188cm
Parker is 183cm

Size isnt everything. Facts says so.

People seem to be ignoring the fact that Serong is very strong and can play an inside as well as outside mid role. Personally I prefer Kemp but I think some like Serong because he supports the Swans. Not that that theory worked with Papley.

PA will start the BS machine, look at our new toy, we need your money, we are relevant look at us look at us.

We will go back to the old days of Sydney and South and the drum players will slowly withdraw from the board.

All the new rules makes it harder and harder for you to build a team on 30 snd upwards and rookies.

If you dont know the dark days of early Sydney and South you will understand shortly.

step away from the ledge

Yeah so he’s a restricted FA which means we can match and force a trade right?
Anyway I was just asking what people thought a fair trade was, not wanting to start a staring contest etc.
I believe a fair trade would be one pick in the top ten and a second round pick. That would be different if we were discussing this at the end of 2017 but he is a totally different proposition now to what he was then. Assuming we trade Papley to Carlton and get pick 9, I would suggest pick 9 and pick 25 (which is a very early second round selection) would be more than fair.
Talking of his free agency status, I'm not sure you would be able to match it. With the players you have brought in over the past two years, I'd suggest you have no free room in your salary cap. With all the players we are losing this year through retirement, going elsewhere and finally no longer having Tippett's salary in the cap, we have a truckload of spare cash. We can run next year with the minimum cap requirement meaning we can then go well above the following year. Our offer to Daniher could be front loaded accordingly giving Essendon no chance to match it.

Bit dramatic dont you think, we don't even have pick 9 to trade yet.

Every player that leaves a club does not necessarily do so by choice. The Swans list managers made it very clear to Newman that he would be better off elsewhere. He was never in Longmire's good books so it is hardly his fault that he is no longer playing with us.
Yes (first two sentences) and no. It is completely his fault that he is no longer playing with us. Massive attitude problem, disregard to following structure and team rules and an unwillingness to take a back seat. He went from a favorite to a flog in 12 months!

That would be totally irresponsible of the Swans to do that. I'm confident that they are not that stupid.

Essendon board says this might be happening
Pick 5 to GWS
Pick 6 to Swans + 2nd round 2020

Swans: Daniher
Bombers: Pick 6, 25 & 2nd 2020

Why is it melodrama!

You just had a tantrum about us using picks that we don't even have yet, and may not ever get, to make a trade that we haven't even done yet, and may never do, and told us all it is sending us back to the darkest days of the club. And you need me to explain to you how that is melodrama?

That would be totally irresponsible of the Swans to do that. I'm confident that they are not that stupid.
I hope Bandi, but the way it appears to be unfolding I can see it happening.

Once again I hope but reality keeps saying no.

I've been there.

Didnt see you there from 1982 to 1994, except for 'The doctors' years and there are others who suffered worse in the South days.

I am just now melancholy.

well a few things, and look each to their own, so not having a go

but

1- we havent made a single move yet, so even if you are right and this would doom us forever, it hasnt happened yet

2- its all guess work, maybe 5 and 9 are duds, maybe daniher is perfect for us

3- the comp is designed for all clubs to fall, we could all reach consensus on the exact move to make, but eventually the club will have a down patch, we will probably win a spoon

4- if we did fall to last and useless now it wont be forever

just my view,