Autopsy 8 point loss to Essendon

Amartey McDonald and Papley won’t make ****en any difference if the plan is forwards stagnant and get behind 2 opposition defenders and midfielders kick high to the sky.

Buddy may have turned crap into gold but he isn’t coming back.

Those forwards have actual forward craft though. It’s been a while since I’ve seen such a talentless swans forward line exposed today.

I don't think Buller has shown enough to deserve a senior game but we may as well give him 2-3 weeks to see what he has. Hamling is not a forward. The only other player in the 2's that looks close is Ladhams TBH. Can't drop Rampe and hard to drop Lloyd as we have no depth with our injuries.

Green worries me in the 2's has not stepped up - I know he is young but still not improving. I would target Ned Reeves from Hawthorn as a 2nd ruck. Hard to see them keep Ladhams on forever. Grundy was ok today though. He hardly ever gets a free which is a worry. Hope Lizard is ok.

Yeah with ball in hand it was ugly but that summed up most of our players, at least he showed some grit when we needed to lift.

Yep look he chases hard I’ll give him that and it certainly stands out

To the Swans coach that came on BF and said that tackling didn't matter.

Stuff you

It has ruined our season as the boys have no hunt for the ball, no desire to run defensively and are just getting outworked because they only run offensively

Those forwards have actual forward craft though. It’s been a while since I’ve seen such a talentless swans forward line exposed today.

Yeah but if the plan is bomb to contest after contest which one of them makes much difference, maybe Papley can crumb a bit, McDonald and Amartey aren’t contested beasts

2 goals in one half we were always struggling after that. 2nd quarter right up there with about as bad I have seen the swans for a long time.
Started to improve as the game went on Grundy started to get the edge over Goldstein. Once the Lizard got moving and Bice started to try and run it out of defense and we showed some urgency we should have run over Essendon. McCartin probably had his best game of the year.Sheldrick should get a start next week.
Considering a makeshift forward line and missing our best defender we are always going to be vulnerable let alone missing the other injured players. We still had chances to win the game.
If our goal kicking doesn't improve though it won't matter it's embarrassing.
Not sure if there will be any significant changes next week, Paton I just don't see anything. Maybe Ladhams gets another crack or we take a chance on Adams who doesn't sound like he's anywhere near match fitness. Buller maybe ?

We have far superior players but they had a better team (for a limited time only). I thought their green shirt players also helped a bit too. Didn't make the difference IMO but sure didn't help. Let's be kind we're talking about a team who's supporters haven't seen their team win a final for 21 years.
I actually think Scott outcoached Cox today. They game planned us. Look at the first quarter by a simple move of bringing Martin up the ground where Paton isn't comfortable (It should have been Bice or Roberts the whole time on him though so don't know what the Swans were doing).
They took Roos' advice and shut down Heeney in the middle and Chad as well in the first half. Job done. They proved the theory correct. Who else is going to lift the Swans in the midfield whether it be in the centre or the wing? Paddlebum tries his Rowbottom off every game but isn't the greatest with ball in hand so then at the moment you have Grundy who is like a new born giraffe when he gets it in the clear, McInerney who kicks the ball as well as a new born giraffe, Ollie Florent that is like that lighter that won't work, shows a spark, but just doesn't light up and then you have Jake Lloyd who is the giraffe that gave birth to both Grundy and McInerney, but is tired and ineffective.

Has to be the most frustrating game of footy Ive watched this club play how
Many tvs just got smashed ..
Our 3 worst kicks r the blokes we give the Ball to
Juzzy Lloyd and Robert’s and it’s killing us
Warner takes far too long to warm up and actually impact .
Hayward just kills me
Play sheldrick for a full game least he has a go and shows abit of mongrel
Give him some games
Paton is horrid
Hamling forward is a no
Game plan is well I can’t even work out what that is so hard to bloody watch right now and Essendon have as many injuries as us and r horrid ..
Bad bad loss that
Long year this is gunna be .the 20 or 30 minutes of good footy we play a week just isn’t gunna cut it

Something I've noticed for a while is our lack of method in the contest, even when the boys crack in which they truly did at times tonight, there's very little method in the madness. It's all very messy with no clean hands. Sheldrick feels like the one for me, that might be the skill set he offers that others don't that we so desperately need.

A couple of rule changes need to happen. Firstly if you say you are going to have a shot at goal then you have to do so. You can’t sit there milk thirty to pass it backwards.

Secondly if the afl is serious about htb then they need to get rid of prior opportunity - it’s bizarre watching vafa where the ammos have less time and as a consequence there is zero confusion as to what has occurred.

Thirdly the not fifteen rule is a complete farce. It’s paid routinely against us and very rarely against. It’s just beyond belief even in those circumstances that we keep going ultra short.

The decision to pay that dangerous tackle may well have been there but ffs umpires just make random calls all day and that was straight up random. There are too many umpires in the afl atm and the level of umpiring is atrocious

Onto the team and structure. I’m not a massive Gus fan but he’s got to play next week. He’s better than what we have inside. When the heat’s on our inability to move the ball forward is depressing. If Adams is right I’d bring him in as well - the midfield is unable to move the ball, and we are basically asking heeney to do it all day when in reality he may well be our only avenue to goal currently.

I’m not a massive fan of criticising players for skill errors but today is going to be an exception. Roberts Lloyd Warner mcinerney florent - all of you are in space at times and you just kick it to the outnumbered player and act shocked - like dumbstruck that the bomb to the one on three didn’t work.

Rampe - honestly mate we are five goals down and you tell Cleary to kick it to the wing to get a stoppage - what actually is the point of playing to not concede - I’d actually prefer you to try and win at some point before the 25 minute mark in the last.

Our forward line is a straight up mess and it doesn’t help that not a single one is reliable as a set shot. Hayward at the end of the first mclean on his only touch - mate they’ve got to kick them - mclean is a statue and unable to compete on the ground - if hes going to play hes got to kick the goals when they come because hes not doing anythign else

Mcinerney - seriously mate - there’s 3 guys between you and the goals and you shoot two metres off the ground. Is there any chance of trying to clear them ? And when you are free and running into fifty omfg actually balance and kick - youre faster than the guys chasing you can get set

Heeney ffs either play in boots or don’t play. Falling over every damn time is putting a lot of pressure on your team mates.

Blakeys spoil in the last is the very reason why he has to play in the backline - we are so slow down there and he transforms that. But dude when you are running 75m with the ball maybe the five metre dink isn’t the best option - super impressive run super game but just kick it to the advantage of the forward.

Overall shocking game putrid umpiring and in the end ran out of time because it’s hard to go from 3.4 22 to 80 in a quarter to get a win.

I don’t want to hear any complaining about the umps. We deserve for them to shaft us match after match after match after match.

27-9 frees against last week then a record 7 50m penalties. Long may it continue.

Until our ‘nice’ CEO and leadership team rip the AFL over this prolonged disgraceful biased umpiring, we deserve to keep copping it. Sorry but this needs to be in the media not behind closed doors.

My melt is not this match alone but a systemic bias that we as a club keep putting up with.

When young kids tell you why do they hate us and suggest we refuse to take the field, we have a problem.

Weak zone defence for most of the game.

A senior coach who was weak at the selection table & panicked during the game.

Some players who can’t hit the side of a barn.

And if Sheldrick doesn’t start next week, I’ll fair dinkum start the Sack Cox thread myself (mods: fair warning!)
I agree. How can you do such a terrible Zone Defence? It is quite unachievable, except by us. The reason for that? Because the zone was a bad idea in the first place

Autopsy 8 point loss to Essendon