Are ‘zones’ or ‘starting positions’ going to make the game better?

Allow anyone to contest the ruck and throw the ball up as fast as possible, Let players run 20 meters per bounce.

That's it, Those changes alone will make a difference, No need to make big changes.

Potentially look at dropping interchange to 50.
The current ruck rule is so easy to fix. Don't nominate ruckman. Just have the umpire ball it up and if more than 2 people go for it pay the free kick. Keeps the rucks relevant.

anyone who has ever watched under 8's play football will know how frustrating zones are to watch especially when a kid does a fantastic mark or kick or similar but is pinged for over stepping the "zone" by a metre.

And this is why zoning won't work, the fans will vote with their feet and remotes.

Pay the WAFL/SANFL handsomely to adopt the rules for a season. Trial it at the lower levels first.

Just remember, contested/congested football isn't the devil.

If we go to a completely uncontested fast game style then we get the boring s**t we saw in the preseason - AFLX.
WAFL and SANFL reserves could a place where you can trial rules.

Allow anyone to contest the ruck and throw the ball up as fast as possible, Let players run 20 meters per bounce.

That's it, Those changes alone will make a difference, No need to make big changes.

Potentially look at dropping interchange to 50.

Don't know about the others you have mentioned, but I think you are right on the ruck. Any issues the AFL are imagining about congestion seem to have arrived since they took away the third man up which teams used to get the ball clear of congestion.

If they just realised the whole nomination thing is bad, it would fix a lot of this. On that topic, watching a player let the ball bounce rather than attack it because ruckmen couldn't get to it is hardly a spectacle.

To add to that, I don't think a bit of congestion and arm wrestle for momentum is a bad thing. The problem of congestion seems to be accentuated by zone blocking down field discouraging teams from just kicking the ball clear to a contest. If this blocking players out of marking contests and dumping players well before the ball comes was actually called, it would improve the game a lot. It's probably one of the most frustrating aspects as a fan because when you have a forward 50 entry you want to see the defence at least beat you in a contest.

The brisbane vs hawks game should be the blueprint we want. Brisbane aint the greatest team rolling around but in that game it was free flowing, high scoring and ENTERTAINING even though it was Brisbane. We want to see the best players doing the best things which means kicking goals, taking marks and roughing other people up.

Every time there is a marking contest there should be a contest if there are zones, it isn't just about guys running around with no one on them.
Sorry I can’t recall that game

Maybe just totally remove prior opportunity.

If you get tackled and dont legally dispose the ball you are pinged.

Swans style would end instantly and it is dead set easier to umpire and for fans to understand.
Yep, teams standing around a loose ball waiting for the opposition to pick it up so they can get a free will make the game heaps better

Attendances on track to be the best in the 18 team era and memberships are at record levels, yeah interest in the game is falling. :rolleyes:

Thats why they are bringing in zones? That makes sense.
It has to be all about goals these days...Kids have the attention span of a goldfish. God forbid you get to see a hard contested, Low scoring game of footy.

Yep, teams standing around a loose ball waiting for the opposition to pick it up so they can get a free will make the game heaps better

Players would adapt. They would not take possession but kick, punch or flick the ball to a team mate in space. You know just like the Tigers did in the play of the week. Rioli tapped it on, then kicked it off the ground, then Reiwaldt slapped it inside 50. Pretty exciting football IMO.

But if you are happy watching 40 blokes standing in a 20 m circle jumping on each orher for half a game then we so nothing.

I think the zone starting positions are a good idea and are much needed to bring the game style back to something that resembles Aussie rules football.

Out of interest, have we had a poll on the main board to see what percentage of members dislike the current game style and want change, what percentage dislike it but want it to evolve on its own, and what percentage enjoy the congested mess?