Autopsy Autopsy vs GWS - like one of those trains in the subcontinent, far too many passengers

I have a question/some musings that maybe you good people can help me with.

Is it a positive that without Larkey and Curtis we didn't seem any less cr@p than normal?

Or is that because our true crapness is defending transition in middle of the ground and they have less impact on that?

I only realised this morning that Jy didnt play.

Are these musings just a symptom of my numbness to the whole thing?

PS> kudos for the title of this thread.

Is it a positive that without Larkey and Curtis we didn't seem any less cr@p than normal?

Or is that because our true crapness is defending transition in middle of the ground and they have less impact on that?

Defending ball movement between HB and HF is this side’s Achilles heel. Our best defensive attribute is dominating clearance. It’s totally unsustainable.

Clubs know for certain that if they keep the ball in motion, by foot or hand it doesn’t matter, we simply do not have the structure to cause a turnover or at worse a contest. The positioning of our defenders is utterly diabolical.

GWS went I50 14 times in the third quarter yesterday. Not at all an overwhelming amount. They scored on 11 occasions.

Simply impossible to win with this level of defensive ineptitude.

Our foot skills, athleticism, lack of leading ahead of the ball and lack of sync would not improve with the three mentioned players. A little harsh on Curtis but overall wouldn't make much of a difference.

Wayne Schimmelbusch, recognized as a great player in what could be described as an average side later in his career. He still gave everything week in, week out, and left nothing on the field. He rose above the side and tried the best of his ability.

Fast forward to the current era, and we have players admitting they only picked North for a paycheck, others saying the sides poor performances are holding them back. Here's a hint, if the sides not performing to the standard, then it's up to the players to change that from within.
If only we only there were enough players on our list with even 50% of Schimmas desire every time he stepped on the ground wearing the NM jumper - we would be so competitive. My concern is that too many of our players are becoming accustomed to losing and it's almost ingrained - that is what is going to prevent us from improving significantly - and new young recruits will be infected with the same malaise

Our training is not up to standard and it shows ion match day. Parker should lead on the training field. Tell them what is needed to succeed and he should be part of the assistant coach.

Not sure Parker can do much more than he already does on the training track. He's one man.

Defending ball movement between HB and HF is this side’s Achilles heel. Our best defensive attribute is dominating clearance. It’s totally unsustainable.

Clubs know for certain that if they keep the ball in motion, by foot or hand it doesn’t matter, we simply do not have the structure to cause a turnover or at worse a contest. The positioning of our defenders is utterly diabolical.

GWS went I50 14 times in the third quarter yesterday. Not at all an overwhelming amount. They scored on 11 occasions.

Yes, but it starts up forward with our inability to lock the ball in, and our own crap ball movement resulting in frequent turnovers which puts us on the backfoot straight away with so many open opposition players.

According to the coroner, the cause of death yesterday has been linked to the elusive serial killer known as 'Defensive Strategy' as all it's MO was all over the crime scene:
  • Lack of transition defense.
  • Slow defensive movements.
  • Predictable kick out.
  • Ease of ball movement from the contest.

The coroner also made mention that this type of incident isn't a one off and that same evidence have transpired not just the deaths in Tassie a few weeks ago, but since 2021.

Whilst police aren't ruling out other suspects such as Forward Entries and General Skills, they were encouraged by witnesses of the Trambath and Payne family who came forward presented really well.

Sources within the investigation believe they have the identity of this serial killer but it's pure speculation at this moment and are unwilling to provide further details, which has been their position even through some brutal deaths, thus far.

The call for justice is growing louder and louder by the families supporter that this culprit can be found but many are losing hope as this criminal or criminal group, continue to target this family with the body count standing at 41, 1 maimed and 10 survivors since 2023.

PS. The last two games I have watched with little to no emotion and for me, that's sad!!

Greater Western Sydney v North Melbourne​

10 Finn Callaghan GWS
8 Toby Greene GWS
6 Harry Himmelberg GWS
4 Tom Green GWS
1 Colby McKercher NMFC
1 Aaron Cadman GWS

We're also one of the worst football clubs at front half turnovers.

In the modern game it's so hard to score from back half as you have to transition the ball the entire field.

I'm thankful for these posts of yours as it's good to read someone who's not enamoured by slight "improvement" six years into the rebuild.

Also, to the poster who said all they'll take from this game is more Intel on who will be there when we make our push up the ladder... I reckon I've made that exact post 15 times since 2008. Just replace the names. Swallow, Ziebell, Cunnington becomes LDU, McDonald, Larkey becomes Sheezel, Wardlaw, Powell becomes FOS, Hardeman, McKercher becomes Payne, Trembath, Maley

And it certainly isn't simply personnel based either...

Yeah a few more players hungry for the contest would help, but they aren't closing down 25-30m of space that 2-3 oppo fwds find when our backs press up into the cheers squads behind the goals.

Its nuts.
I wonder, as a team do we run as many Km and match other teams for average speed? If anyone has those stats it would be great.

Id assume we're slower on the spread from a contest at the very least.

Greater Western Sydney v North Melbourne​

10 Finn Callaghan GWS
8 Toby Greene GWS
6 Harry Himmelberg GWS
4 Tom Green GWS
1 Colby McKercher NMFC
1 Aaron Cadman GWS
We make Himmelberg look competent every time we play this mob.

He’s a genuine shitman that turns into prime David Dench against us.

Absolutely.

I've noted at every organisation I've been involved with, sporting or otherwise, there is a critical mass of poor behaviour you hit and then it just infects the whole joint. It's very, very hard to turn it around.
I dont think we're all that far away. We need a better balanced midfield, some more burst around the stoppages would help. A second fwd/ ruck and cutting out at least half of our many brain farts. As i said at least 3 of GWS' first 7 goals were from our own mistakes that should be few and far between.

We stay with them longer, then belief starts to grow. Plus theres a tonne of improvement from returning players to youngsters stepping up.

I dont think we're all that far away. We need a better balanced midfield, some more burst around the stoppages would help. A second fwd/ ruck and cutting out at least half of our many brain farts. As i said at least 3 of GWS' first 7 goals were from our own mistakes that should be few and far between.

We stay with them longer, then belief starts to grow. Plus theres a tonne of improvement from returning players to youngsters stepping up.
So long as we have a decent number of our playing list content to just be AFL footballers with very little will to work to be better and do the hard stuff, we are very, very far away.

Were absolutely at a critical mass of comfort footballers.

The drive simply isn’t there to be an elite football side.

I thought the effort was there for the most part and particularly early. As i said we gifted them 3 of the first 7 from silly mistakes, not from a lack of effort. For the day we gifted them way more, too many players allowing their oppo goal side is a big one and many of those guys were busting a hump to get there.

Every team makes those mistakes, we just do it WAY more. Id say we should improve that by at least 5 goals a game just being a bit smarter. Plus easy another 5-7 goals from getting cattle back and youngsters improving.

For example Will Dawson is hugely important (yeah he needed a spell), but he allows Chom to play a role more suitable and has the size for some of those bigger units. Next year or two he should lock down his spot. Archer, Hardeman gives us more depth and smarts in defense. Whitlock, Pink, Logue as the second or third tall depending how you want to look at it. Chom more the interceptor.

I still hold hopes for Goater, Bergman and George. If those 3 can start pushing and applying pressure on spots its even better. They've all got talent, youth and moving into an age bracket to impact.

While thats sorting out we def need to get our mids working better and hopefully find a quick small fwd.

Add a free agent or two right now, the right sort of course, and we're close imo. 27 i expect to be playing finals for sure.

I realise the stats say that in many of the most important aspects of the game, we have improved since 2021.

However, I’d like to know if the group is able to implement the coach’s gameplan more successfully.

I’m not interested in how happy the group is compared to today, but I’m wondering if the gameplan is actually better now than it was under Noble.

Because that tenure and subsequent loss of JHF has to be the darkest, most embarrassing period in North’s history…or is it?

I realise the stats say that in many of the most important aspects of the game, we have improved since 2021.

However, I’d like to know if the group is able to implement the coach’s gameplan more successfully.

I’m not interested in how happy the group is compared to today, but I’m wondering if the gameplan is actually better now than it was under Noble.

Because that tenure and subsequent loss of JHF has to be the darkest, most embarrassing period in North’s history…or is it?
Do they?
4.5 wins and a percentage of 70 sounds familiar.

Spot on, every goal is reviewed, total bullshit, the ball up was that quick, there was no time for any semblance of a review, and of course, immediately swept under the carpet, and forgotten by the commentator's.
The one a few weeks ago, where Curtis got a boot to the ground ball and the ump made the soft call as a goal... They found a dozen angles, super slo-mo and rock-n-roll freeze frames before settling on one inconclusive shot where the foot was obscured to over-rule and declared a behind - touched by a hand that on every other angle was clearly behind the boot of Curtis. Yet on this occasion, one quick glance at a poorly framed shot and as you said, the ball was bounced in the centre to restart the game without so much as a by your leave!

I don't believe anything at all that the AFL says or does. I rate footy at this level as a rung below professional wrestling and at the moment, we're the ones that the crowd hates so the AFL feeds them with the results that satisfy the majority.

You just gotta know the product.

Autopsy Autopsy vs GWS - like one of those trains in the subcontinent, far too many passengers