Changes for Brisbane

• Thread starter Thread starter Lawrst

He wasn't on Davey all night. They kept rotating and it changed when Brown went off. I was at the game and watched Jaensch closely and he did well defensively. Im not going to watch the replay but i didn't see a goal kicked on him.
To be fair I thought Jaensch had a pretty good game. As I said somewhere else, he was the only backmen that looked like he could pinpoint a team mate by foot.

There was one moment in the North East pocket, where one of our defenders took a mark, and Jaensch ran past him to receive a handball. He ran past the left shoulder of our guy, received, and then doubled back onto his preferred foot. He got caught, and I think it eventually cost us a goal. I had to look twice to make sure it was Jaensch and not Dickie Douglas.

Slippery Pete Maxim no. 1 - If you are going to run past a guy to get a handball, kick on the side you receive it from. If you can't kick on that side, then don't run past him.

I know it's only one minuscule moment in the game but it shows he wasn't switched on. Schoolboy errors like that can't be tolerated.

There was one moment in the North East pocket, where one of our defenders took a mark, and Jaensch ran past him to receive a handball. He ran past the left shoulder of our guy, received, and then doubled back onto his preferred foot. He got caught, and I think it eventually cost us a goal. I had to look twice to make sure it was Jaensch and not Dickie Douglas.

Slippery Pete Maxim no. 1 - If you are going to run past a guy to get a handball, kick on the side you receive it from. If you can't kick on that side, then don't run past him.

I know it's only one minuscule moment in the game but it shows he wasn't switched on. Schoolboy errors like that can't be tolerated.
You're the one trying to convince me he's an afl footballer. Remind me not to call you next time I need vigorous defence.

Really? You need me to list them?

Ok then here's some, Garlett, Betts, Ballantyne, Thomas, Davey, Nahas

"Numerous"- so including those that you've named + a few more than you haven't (to give some room for error) I'll say roughly about 10. Hardly what I would call numerous.

"who tackle, get possessions and kick goals"- Of those that you've named only Nahas consistently performs well in all 3 of those categories. The rest often don't consistently do well enough in at least one aspect.

The only two others that consistently fill those criteria off the top of my head are McGlynn and Rioli (though his move into the midfield may have affected his stats). So you are expecting Petrenko to become a part of an elite group of maybe 5 players that play his position? There are only a handful of players that play as "small forwards" and even less that "tackle, get possessions and kick goals" I think that is unreasonable to place these expectations on him. He is a role player, and unlike most others in the team he understands his place and plays within his role.

It would be interesting to see how Petrenko ranks among other small forwards for "pressure acts", "1%er's" and "shepherds" (my bet would be top 5 in the league but I could be off the mark). If you are looking for a well rounded small forward then you should probably also add these criteria to your analysis. Rioli is probably the only player in the league that would rank consistently well in all these areas in addition to the ones that you mentioned earlier. FYI he also ranked top 20 (19th) in the whole league for goal assists (out of the small forwards only Hill, Leroy Jetta, Betts and Rioli do better).

ok this may be harsh on the 3 players I have dropped (Stiffy,Martin,Pets)
I woulnn't take the chance on Brown (inj)
Replacements (Riley,Calinan,Tambling,Crouch)
I would put Hendo into a F/Pocket as the 3rd tall if (Inj Johnston to take his place)
Instruct Calinan to stay within 10 mts of Walker if he goes up Field
B....Ottens......Talia...........Rielly
H/B.Tambling...Rutten.......V.B
Mid..Douglas...Thompson..Mckay
H/F..Vince.......Jenkins......Porplyzia
F.....Calinan.....Walker.......Henderson

R...Jacobs,Dangerfield,Sloane

Int..Crouch,Riley,Wright,(Jaensch)

Emerg Johnston,Martin Pets

I watched that bit of play. Reilly kicked out and Talia who had made space in the pocket took an easy mark. This clear option and pass is not usually part of the Crows repertoire and was immediately memorable! But I digress.....Talia facing north had Jaensch running past on the boundary side and he duly fed him a hand pass.....but then Talia did not provide a shepherd on the lone Essendon challenging player. I dont know if Yaensch had to wait for options upfield but he decided to come back on his right foot to the centre side of Talia who was just hovering. By this time Yaensch is under pressure from the closing Essendon player and he is forced to loop over a hand pass to Talia. By this time a second Ess player has closed to pressure space around Talia, who tries a slow dummy and gets pinged HTB. We had made good position and play and we should have been able to pass down the outer wing into attack if players upfield had been leading to position/space. As I said I couldn't see if we were victims of our usual slow spreading, so that may have forced the fiddle around. I'm just posting this as I saw it and in no way is it meant to be a defence of Yaensch, but he could have played on with his left foot, and Talia should have provided a block/shepherd. Anyway the Ess guy palmed off to someone going past and the goalkick was intercepted uncontested by Reilly back near the square, who then switched sides, passing in front of a well clear Sloan running to the opposite NW flank. The kick went out of bounds.

This bit of play stuck with me as it epitomised the slow decision making/lack of spread/run to create, the lack of intensity to attack with speed, and the basic errors which marked our approach to the game.

ok this may be harsh on the 3 players I have dropped (Stiffy,Martin,Pets)
I woulnn't take the chance on Brown (inj)
Replacements (Riley,Calinan,Tambling,Crouch)
I would put Hendo into a F/Pocket as the 3rd tall if (Inj Johnston to take his place)
Instruct Calinan to stay within 10 mts of Walker if he goes up Field
B....Ottens......Talia...........Rielly
H/B.Tambling...Rutten.......V.B
Mid..Douglas...Thompson..Mckay
H/F..Vince.......Jenkins......Porplyzia
F.....Calinan.....Walker.......Henderson

R...Jacobs,Dangerfield,Sloane

Int..Crouch,Riley,Wright,(Jaensch)

Emerg Johnston,Martin Pets
Johncock was far from our worst...

Can't think of any good reason to drop him for front-runner Callinan

What did people think of Ottens game? I thought he showed some real signs of improvement. An inform (like pre knee injury) Otten would transform our backline. I hope his form is returning.

Yeah, he was good (ish). One of very few positives.

Interesting to see what happens when Shaw is up and running.

Otten looked a lot more bulked up and is quite a good size now. Reckon he would make a decent centre half back.

I had him best for us. Did a ton of great defensive work (15 1%s!!!!) and was mostly composed with the footy.

I thought Otten was ok when I saw him live but then I watched him in the replay and saw excellence of his performance. One of the best games that he has played in recent memory. He reading of the play was second to none and I had him as our second best defender on the night (not far behind Talia). Easily in our bests for the night. If he can keep up that sort form he will play a lot of footy this year.

Also, I think the decision not to play crouch was us trying to be clever. Ie not debut him round 1. Not that it would have made a difference, but potentially reflective of an arrogant mind set going into that game that we could have it our way.

I thought Otten was ok when I saw him live but then I watched him in the replay and saw excellence of his performance. One of the best games that he has played in recent memory. He reading of the play was second to none and I had him as our second best defender on the night (not far behind Talia). Easily in our bests for the night. If he can keep up that sort form he will play a lot of footy this year.
I thought our defense looked slow and had no run. Note that 98% of our problem was the midfield, but someone like shaw atleast gives some movement back there.

Has shaw really done anything to make him a first pick? I cant remember, happy with Otten down back.

Otten looked a lot more bulked up and is quite a good size now. Reckon he would make a decent centre half back.

I thought he actually looked a little slimmer than previous years and that this was his focus in preseason was to shed a few kg's to regain his pace.

Listed on AFC website at 192cm and 90kgs. Too small to go against the best KPF's in Buddy (196cm -100kg) / Cloke (196cm & 108kg) / Jonothan Brown (195cm - 102kg) / Nick Riewoldt (193cm & 96kg).

Also noticed that Brodie Smith is listed at 194cms. Is this correct? Didn't realise he was that tall.

Anyone else think we're a good chance to go in unchanged (assuming Luke Brown is fit)?

You may be right. I would say Sando will probably give all those invovled the chance to redeem themselves. Maybe only Crouch for Brown if he doesn't come good.

There is room for both Otten & Shaw if they are both in form.

Obviously wont be wholesale changes ,but will be very annoyed if no changes to improve our defence and if Brown fit then Jaensch out for Tambling.
Up forward must get in some more height and goal kicking ability.
Petrenko out for Johnston or Lynch.
Think they will try to get Crouch in but what mid are you going to drop .
Bit early in season but Vince needs to do a lot more .

Obviously wont be wholesale changes ,but will be very annoyed if no changes to improve our defence and if Brown fit then Jaensch out for Tambling.
Up forward must get in some more height and goal kicking ability.
Petrenko out for Johnston or Lynch.
Think they will try to get Crouch in but what mid are you going to drop .
Bit early in season but Vince needs to do a lot more .

Rather they moved Stiffy back, took Jaensch out and put Crouch on the bench

I thought he actually looked a little slimmer than previous years and that this was his focus in preseason was to shed a few kg's to regain his pace.

Listed on AFC website at 192cm and 90kgs. Too small to go against the best KPF's in Buddy (196cm -100kg) / Cloke (196cm & 108kg) / Jonothan Brown (195cm - 102kg) / Nick Riewoldt (193cm & 96kg).

Also noticed that Brodie Smith is listed at 194cms. Is this correct? Didn't realise he was that tall.

I know a couple of guys who play for different Clubs - I wouldn't put much faith in those figures they list.