Preview Changes for the Giants game

HF: Vince, Walker, Petrenko

That could be the laziest half-forward line of all time.
I would hardly call Petrenko lazy. There are plenty of things you could criticise him for atm (not in the best form), but laziness certainly isn't one of them.

does being a teenager make them a better footballer?
Must do. Apparently all other clubs would have played Kerridge, Shaw, Lyons etc. in round 1, damn it Sando.:mad: Can't believe Thommo survived this week over Kerridge, absolute disgrace ay AFGM?

Kerridge in for 1 game and then straight out for the next. We really do have a strange way of developing young talent. You can sort of see why some interstaters might not feel they need to show loyalty when their contract is up for renewal.
FFS, he only played because he was the only emergency who travelled as his team had the bye! 6 handballs in 1.5 quarters is doing nothing to help his cause for the next week. Will be a ripper, but **** sakes, he doesn't deserve to be picked atm.

My guess is Sando plans to rest Jacobs in the 2nd half. Our most important player, and the one who we dont have a replacement for.

He's feeling conservative as a first year coach and is playing it safe. Wants to make sure we have the game in the bag before making the change.
He could have Tippett Ruck the 2nd half, but kicking a bag and building his confidence (which would have taken a hit after his well publicised goalkicking troubles) is more beneficial so we need another Ruckman. Tough call for Lynch who I agree has done everything right, but a full run in the 2's wont hurt him.

does being a teenager make them a better footballer?

If you refuse to play first and second year draft picks that are lighting it up in the SANFL (e.g.Lyons, Shaw) so you can add games to Doughty, Reilly and Callinan against GWS then we are really developing the squad.

Surely we can give some of these guys a rest against GWS to allow some of the kids to get experience. The five teams competing for the top 4 spots are able to do this.

Instead lets bring in Lyons against Carlton at Etiad, make him a substitute, bring him on at the end of the third quarter when we are getting our arse kicked and when he doesn't have an impact it's back to the SANFL for you son.

If Kerridge was in any of about 15 other clubs he would have played in round 1. Are we trying to set the record for playing the lowest number of teenagers in the competition? So far we are leading by a mile.
Oh ok, if you say so. I take it you have in depth knowledge about each and every team in the competition? And I don't just mean their best 22s, I mean the entire list. Cmon, you continue to sprout crap without any form of proof, how about backing it up for once?

If you refuse to play first and second year draft picks that are lighting it up in the SANFL (e.g.Lyons, Shaw) so you can add games to Doughty, Reilly and Callinan against GWS then we are really developing the squad.

Surely we can give some of these guys a rest against GWS to allow some of the kids to get experience. The five teams competing for the top 4 spots are able to do this.

Instead lets bring in Lyons against Carlton at Etiad, make him a substitute, bring him on at the end of the third quarter when we are getting our arse kicked and when he doesn't have an impact it's back to the SANFL for you son.
You clearly should never go near a professional football club... well, ever.

Lynch was dropped because he isn't lightning fast. Of course Walker was challenging Usain Bolt when we traded for the ranga. Is this the worst treatment of a youing kid in the history of the Crows? He is played in the fluorescent green all preseason but continues to make an impact every time he comes on. So he is the substitute in game one, gets a short run and has 7 possessions and a goal. So he starts as the sub in game 2, Douglas jags a hammy and in 3 quarters Lynchy gets 17 posessions and 2 goals. So FINALLY he starts last week, kicks 2 goals to half time and is subbed off and dropped.

Let's hope he isn't easily disheartened.

Then there's Kerridge, given limited time in the MMC and looks great but he overlooked for a 29 year old rookie. Finally makes the 22, is used as the sub, comes on when we're getting hammered.................so back to the SANFL for you son.

Nice work.

Happy to see Shaw FINALLY get a start (please don't play him as a sub), but he should have been in there three weeks ago.

Nuff said.

I agree poor handling, just trying to come up with some kind of reasoning for it. It certainly isn't performance based.

So Taylor Walker plays and will probably kick 6 - The back slappers will be out in force - he gets on the turps - and off we go again. The only hope I see for this lad is to change clubs - at the moment he is fantastic when he has time(Mostly Bottom 4 or 5 sides only) but when you play the stronger/more experienced clubs and he has to work/play without time he is out of his depth. He is a filthy cheat(the way he plays) - always looking to force his opponent under the ball when there is a 50/50 and trying to get the easy kick out the back rather than going at the football. His approach to one ball late in the game last week was an absolute disgrace.

I hope for Adelaide's sake they can sort him out but I am not liking their chances. What I saw of him last week he should not be playing this week - how do you change his approach when he continues to play after non-competitive performances like last week.

So Taylor Walker plays and will probably kick 6 - The back slappers will be out in force - he gets on the turps - and off we go again. The only hope I see for this lad is to change clubs - at the moment he is fantastic when he has time(Mostly Bottom 4 or 5 sides only) but when you play the stronger/more experienced clubs and he has to work/play without time he is out of his depth. He is a filthy cheat(the way he plays) - always looking to force his opponent under the ball when there is a 50/50 and trying to get the easy kick out the back rather than going at the football. His approach to one ball late in the game last week was an absolute disgrace.

I hope for Adelaide's sake they can sort him out but I am not liking their chances. What I saw of him last week he should not be playing this week - how do you change his approach when he continues to play after non-competitive performances like last week.

A cheat? Wow, just wow. So forcing yuor opponent under the ball is cheating?

When i used to play, i called that "good footy"

He's 21 years old FFS. Trade him? Wow, have i just been trolled?

I guess we should have dropped doughty last week and played Kerridge on Rioli. Oh wait, Doughty kept Rioli fairly quite, a win in my book. He would have kicked 6 on Kerridge.

Like a few people have pointed out in this thread, and your other thread, there needs to be a balance between experience and youth. We have 1 player 30+ and 6 who are 28 or older. Are you trying to say that over the course of the next 4 years the natural development of the current kids (thompson, Shaw, Crouch, Kerridge) / new draftees we wont be able to fill the 6 positions left empty by retired or delisted players? At the completion of the next 4 years we will then have 7 players aged 28 or older, probably less with Symes and maybe Knights moving on.

Adelaide dont have 8 players who are all going to retire in the next 2 years so please stop acting like it. Several people have debunked your posts including myself in the other thread and you just sidestep and ignore because it doesnt agree with you.

If we werent playing GWS perhaps Johncock would have played? I didnt know about this injury which suggests its not that serious. Lynch is also unlucky to be dropped. Otten has been in poor form. So theres 2 questionable omissions, and they are being replaced by Jaensch, Smack and Shaw, arguably players in the 23-26 in our list. What more do you want.... Theres no benefit from playing kids who are not ready for AFL, will just end up out in 2 weeks time with soreness (C Smith and a few others this week) or get so smashed because they are out of their depth. Let them develop their bodies through training with the club. Its not like if they arent playing in the crows 22, they arent learning anything...

Taylor doesn't get the balance right - forcing your opponent under the ball is great when you don't turn side-on and stop five metres before the fall of the ball to do it - how many times do you see him trying to do that rather than going on a direct lead to the kick/or on a 45 degree lead to the kick(more preferably) Taylor Walker is a fantastic kick of the footy/and a good reader of what is happening ahead - unfortunately unless he s prepared to work harder and play the percentages he is going to be one of the great under-achievers.

I hope for his sake and Adelaide's that he can and that includes staying off the turps and putting the team and club before himself and his ego.

The SANFL is a world away from the AFL. The club sees these players everyday, not just game day. We as the general public will never truely know what goes on. Player A might be better than Player B in training all week, player B rips it up in the SANFL but player A has an ordinary game in the AFL. Everyone says selection mistake, but if roles were reversed would player B rip it up in the AFL? Probably not.

We hardly let the new coach settle in and we are already using words like "mistakes". Sure no-one is perfect bit what about bedding away a good start to the season before we make swathes of changes? Imagine the uproar if we rested 4 senior players and had rookies playing who then could find themselves out of their depth and then lose to GWS. That would be a season ending game in terms of team dynamics. Best way for the players to lose faith in the coach.

4669812732_5407c2534c_z.jpg

)
Oh ok, if you say so. I take it you have in depth knowledge about each and every team in the competition? And I don't just mean their best 22s, I mean the entire list. Cmon, you continue to sprout crap without any form of proof, how about backing it up for once?

Geelong (last years premiers) have played Guthrie (19), Smedts (19) and Horlin Smith (19)

Collingwood (last years runners up) have played Fasola (19), Paine (18) and Yagmour (18)

West Coast have played Darling (19) and Gaff (19) and Brad Hill (18) for Hawthorn.

This ignorea bunch of 20 year olds have have hardly played a game before this year (Seedsman, Rounds, Sinclair, Stevens) And these are the teams challenging for the flag.

Do you want a list for the teams hoping to slip into the top 8 like us.

Sufficient evidence BACCS?

Clearly grasping at straws. 3 games is hardly constitutes a refusal to play people. It's hardly enough time for a new to assess how he will use each player in the context of the structure that he thinks will win the most games with the players he has.

I guess we should have dropped doughty last week and played Kerridge on Rioli. Oh wait, Doughty kept Rioli fairly quite, a win in my book. He would have kicked 6 on Kerridge.

That was a big win P.A, we were thrashed but Dogga kept Rioli relatively quiet. This will be important for the development of our squad for our next crack at the flag. I guess the clashes between Cyril and Dogga over the next five years will be classics.

If we are going to get our arse kicked by the top 4 or 5 teams then we should at least get games into our kids.

I look forward to your justifications in 6 weeks time.

Yep. Especially when Tippett goes to the ruck... our forward line stucture fails as Walker is leading the line- his contested work still isn't up to it yet. If Smack really is in then it'll allow us to have a better structure- 2 genuine marking targets who can both ruck and Taylor plays more a roaming 3rd tall role which seems to be his go at the moment.

Spot on mate.

And does this mean Otten hasn't been playing as a shut down defender, and has been in terrible form? ;)

If Kerridge was in any of about 15 other clubs he would have played in round 1. Are we trying to set the record for playing the lowest number of teenagers in the competition? So far we are leading by a mile.
Utter, utter rubbish. I doubt there's a single club where Kerridge would have got a game if they were in the enviable position of having all of their best 22 players available. Kerridge isn't in our best 22 and until he is he won't be guaranteed an automatic selection every week.

Selecting teenagers for the sake of selecting teenagers is just plain stupid. Players get selected on merit at the AFC, always have - and hopefully always will.

)

Geelong (last years premiers) have played Guthrie (19), Smedts (19) and Horlin Smith (19)

Collingwood (last years runners up) have played Fasola (19), Paine (18) and Yagmour (18)

West Coast have played Darling (19) and Gaff (19) and Brad Hill (18) for Hawthorn.

This ignorea bunch of 20 year olds have have hardly played a game before this year (Seedsman, Rounds, Sinclair, Stevens) And these are the teams challenging for the flag.

Collingwood has significant injuries and is running out of options. Yagmoor played 1 poor game, and then has been dropped anyway. Paine had 2 average games, then was dropped and now there are 2 more injuries (Shaw and Thomas) on top of Ball and co, and has been named.

Smedts will have missed 2 games by the end of this round. And Horlin-Smith is only on his 2nd game. And Geelong is in the position that they have to rotate in search of the next star with an ageing squad/losing players at the end of the year. Notice they got thumped by North last game?

Darling was drafted as a Priority Draft after a poor season and played all last year, so he is young in age but experienced in games.Gaff was Drafted in the same year at pick 4. I don't know how many almost 20 year olds we have that are as high picks as these two.

Your evidence is full of holes and insufficient.

)

Guess what.. every single one of those players has been selected on merit, being deemed to be one of their club's 22 best players available for selection. Some of them are genuinely in their team's best 22 (most notably Darling & Gaff), the others were given opportunities by virtue of injuries to more senior players.

We don't have a long injury list. Right now, Pizza Boy & Johncock are the only best 22 players who are unavailable. Big difference - and a key factor which you continually choose to ignore.

)

Yes, not like those clubs don't have big injury lists (besides West Coast and the Hawks). None of those Collingwood guys would have played if they had a fit list like the start of last year, same with Geelong (although Geelong are having to phase new guys in as their team ages, just like we have had to do over the past few seasons). Darling is in his 2nd year and was playing in a wooden spoon side at the start of last season, it wasn't hard to crack the side, especially given how young their list is. Gaff is a pick 4 who is a jet and would be playing in any side, just like Crouch will when eligible. Collingwood are getting flogged atm playing these guys, along with Geelong. Hill will be lucky to play 5 games, and I think you will struggle to find a Hawks fan who would disagree. The Collingwood guys especially have looked like deers in headlights, they struggled severely with a step up forced too early by injuries.

Our back 6 six this week composes 4 guys who have played less than 20 games, is that good enough for you?

Preview Changes for the Giants game