Changes v Freo Anchors

Bicks I'd like to know before the game starts, if we win will you credit the selectors but if we lose will you blame the intensity?

When has Adelaide ever pulled a swifty with selection? Thommo is probably going to play. If they were going to play ducks and drakes, why name Rutten? That's an omission that would have taken Freo by surprise. Switching Thompson at the last moment is so predictable. Personally, I think having him in is crazy. The space at Subiaco plus Thommo's immobility is an accident waiting to happen. No problem with the selections otherwise. Resting Rutten is good.

I love this forum. Geez if we were in a bar there would be fist fights left right and centre.

I guess the keyboard warriors will be quivering in the corner. lol.

Play on. Advantage.

Pretty sure there was high contact umps, you know a duckwood style maneuver.

Don't mind these selections, a good game to give Hartigan a taster for AFL, kid is going to be dropped next week irregardless so this is preparing for the future.

Grigg is the same, that was only a taster of AFL footy, surely he gets another go in a week or two, expect him to start against Melbourne at the very least.

Tambling is playing for his career so it is only fair he gets 3 weeks... i wouldn't cry or be the slightest bit annoyed if he was dropped and delisted tomorrow to be honest but we'll see how he goes, see if he makes a convert out of me.

Kerridge for Thompson would be the only change i'd make.

Bicks I'd like to know before the game starts, if we win will you credit the selectors but if we lose will you blame the intensity?
Oh dear, you really got it bad huh???

As opposed to, if we lose this or any match for that matter it could just be the fact we were beaten by a superior side on the day not your usual "mantra" of we lost because the selectors didn't pick Elite Crow's preferred team...

Thommo in can't be legit. His last 3 or 4 weeks have been embarrassing and there's nowhere to hide at Pattersons. Unless it's a cunning ploy to put off potential FA suitors by hanging him out to dry when he's in terrible nick.

Ultra proactiv picks this week! Can we afford it? Must be superconfident that we've got our game plan sorted and players up and going now.

Resting Rutten!? Can we afford to do that? Apparently so!

Going for the kill in the ruck and up forward. 2 against Sandi, or three against Sandi and Clark. Plus a pretty tall forward line vs a short backline with at least one ruckman sized player there at all times, frequently there will be two, backed up by Lynch and probably Otten, which is not a bad setup as Lynch / Otten can play as talls or smalls so if it comes in a little bit wet and windy we're not stuffed tho if it comes in a lot wet and windy we might be. Also if Otten is rotated out of forward line, perhaps into midfield or even down back for a bit, there is any number of small and mid players we can put up forward for a stint, Rory, Thommo, Porps (will be there anyway), Wright (ditto), Lyons if he's in. Cameo's can be done by Vince and Hendo if needed. Heck, while Im getting carried away i, I wouldnt mind a look at Crouch, Laird or even Browny, Smith and Tambo up there, heaps of potential options I guess, specially if their forwards arent on top cos we've go the midfield covered. If Kedge comes in for Thommo he's another option.

Oh one last thing, Grigg unlucky to go out and Smack 100000x luckier to be straight back in. Guess he wasnt injured tho, should be fresh and champing at the bit.

Firstly I'd like to apologise for my absence this week. I flew out at the crack of dawn on Monday for 5 days sampling the fine wines of Margaret River and the Great Southern wineries of WA ( well 4 days after the 6.30 a.m. Virgin flight was delayed until after 5 p.m.:mad:).

I've slipped into the Albany Library to sort out my fantasy footy team, comfortable in the knowledge that we are finally playing the KIDS (and I'm luvin it). Was it someone impersonating Sando that said in the post match presser on Sunday night that he had a feeling that replacing an injured Thommo with a "fit" Mitch Grigg in the third quarter would give the team a lift (no shit sherlock). Following a 30 possession game by Sam Kerridge at Sturt surely the change had to be Out - Thompson In - Kerridge.

Was it someone who had invaded Sando's body who said that Thommo had struggled against Collingwood due to the 6 day break. HELLO, we are travelling to Perth and playing after a 6 day break!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We are unlikely to win on Saturday but we can still make the 8 if we win the remaining games. Even the Eagles in Perth is winnable now that Whoosha has put the cue in the rack. Surely we rest Thommo and Truck and have them ready for the Showdown.

Really nice debut Mitch, now piss off back to theSANFL with Sam and the other young boys.

Where are the guys with torches when you need them the most.

Hey guys just a quick question...

With last weeks sub being replaced by your second ruck this week, who do you think will get the vest? Looking at your team sheet, I would guess that it's between Lyons or Tambling?

Also, Thompson being named could just be to put some doubt in Fremantles mind about who to put Crowley on. Although I would have thought he would go to Sloane anyway with Thompsons form and Dangerfield out.
Guy called Douglas has been playing pretty well also.

Thommo in can't be legit. His last 3 or 4 weeks have been embarrassing and there's nowhere to hide at Pattersons. Unless it's a cunning ploy to put off potential FA suitors by hanging him out to dry when he's in terrible nick.

Anyone at all the slightets it concerne dthat we probably have the slowest looking side ive seen on papero for years...

Very iffy team on paper, without Tex and Danger we just look so bottom 4-ish..... Dont be seduced by last week....

Brenton Sanderson@SandoAFC
16m
Stiff that @Mitch_Grigg38 misses out this week. Great debut & will be good player for us. Victim of team balance, 2 ruck
One poor/out of form ruckman is better than two poor/out of form ruckmen.

Think we've made an error here. The extra runner would be much more beneficial given the weather, night game, size of the ground. McKernan won't touch it.

I fear we have gone too tall. I can understand the reasoning and i don't have the vitriol towards the Grigg non selection (although i am upset at it)

But the weather forecast is for rain for the next 7 days. On a wet day, and their lack of talls, we may pay the price

I reckon if it pisses down Saturday, Smack won't play and a small will come in

I really hope that Thommo is rested too. The poor buggar needs a break.

If it pisses down, Grigg and Kedge in. if its dry, just one of them in (Grigg please)

Yep bringing in a key position to replace an injured key position player is crazy brave. But you know what will happen next week don't you? Rutten in, Hartigan out.
And do you really call Grigg's game a debut? Starts as sub and only had decent game time due to injury. 12 possessions in a qtr and a half and is dropped. That's just dumb.

Oh no. Why would anyone bring Rutten back when you can continue playing a complete rookie with 1 games experience. Crazy!!!

Do you whinge your guts out at home as well as on here EC?? "Yeah, I know you cooked me great crumbed prawns Mrs EC, but I wanted baked beans." :)

Also, it wasn't rocket science to work out that McKernan would be brought back in after playing good footy in his last game before suspension, plus no way could you expect Jacobs to ruck solo against Sandilands on the vast expanse of Paterson Stadium.

Grigg did well in his limited time last week, but he isn't a KPP or a ruckman, and I agree with the selectors in their thoughts on these 2 selections. That meant that someone had to go, and logically that had to be Grigg this week. I'm sure we'll see him again this year - maybe as soon as next week, maybe even this week.

The one selection that defies logic is Thompson, if Thommo's groin was bad enough to bench him 6 days before this coming game. If so, he'd never even get close to running out a game at Paterson. IMO either he'll be playing virtually as a full-time forward with Lyons taking his spot in the mid-field, or he won't be playing at all, although chosen, with Grigg taking his place.

Will you blame not picking Grigg if we lose?:p
Well that depends, if Thommo hobbles or we are exposed by playing one too many talls and its a close loss then there ar grounds. But my post was a dig at Bicks silliness when he used a win last week to vindicte the selectors ignoring the fact we've lost more than we've won this year.

Changes v Freo Anchors